DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 24, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-5, 13, 17 and 52 have been amended changing the scope and contents of the claim.
Applicant’s amendment filed August 20, 2026 overcomes the following objection/rejection(s) from the last Office Action of March 25, 2026:
Objections to the claims for minor informalities
Rejection of the claims under 35 USC § 112(b)
Rejection of the claims under 35 USC § 102
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Invoked despite absence of “means”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a motion assembly configured to” in claim 1 (and claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 17, 20, 22-26)
EXAMINER NOTE: Based on the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation above, the examiner considered corresponding 35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 112(a) rejections. Upon review of the claims nod specification it was determined 35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 112(a) rejections were not needed. The examiner further notes that the paragraphs cited below are referenced to the applicants PG Publication.
Term
Element
Structure/Algorithm (if necessary)
Motion assembly
Element 400 (see paragraph 0169)
Structure: paragraph 0180, “The motion assembly 400 of the imaging device 100 is configured to achieve relative movement between the source-auxiliary detector pair and the subject 200;” paragraph 0196, “In this example, the detector unit 122 may include a motion assembly 400 having a detector frame 450 on which one of the detectors 120 may be translatable and/or rotatable from an angled position, e.g., see detectors 120A, 120B, 120C and 120D spatially arranged in FIG. 20 , to a planar position relative to the subject's body 210, see e.g., location of detector 120E. For example, the detector 120B (although any of the detectors 120 may be movable) may be translatable from beneath the movable platform or tray 480 to the position of the detector 120E shown in FIG. 20 . More preferably, the detector 120B may translate via the motion assembly 400 on the detector frame 450 being operated by the controller 140 to a position in any one of FIGS. 22 to 24 , in the enabled configuration for acquiring the second set of images;” paragraph 0204, “The controller 140 may be configured to operate the motion assembly 400 (e.g. the platform 480 and/or the actuators/positioners 153, 156 moving the one or more sensors 110 and detectors 120 for continuous relative movement while the source-detector pair or the source-auxiliary detector pair (embodiments of FIGS. 18 to 24 ) obtains the second set of images at each of plurality of image angles”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-10, 13-14, 17, 20, 22, 25-26 and 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2014/0177785 to Funk (hereinafter Funk), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,031,888 to Ivan et al. (hereinafter Ivan).
Regarding independent claim 1, Funk discloses An imaging device for acquiring in vivo images of a region of a subject's body (abstract, “The present invention pertains to an apparatus and method for medical imaging comprising rotating two X-ray source-detector pairs around an axis of rotation simultaneously to quickly acquire image data and form a computed tomography (CT) dataset.”), the imaging device comprising:
at least two energy sources (paragraph 0020, “In FIG. 1 a first source 14 and a first detector 16”… “A second source 15 and a second detector 17 may be similarly positioned relative to one another”);
at least two energy detectors for detecting energy from the at least two energy sources passing through the region of the subject's body located between the energy sources and the energy detectors (paragraph 0020, “In FIG. 1 a first source 14 and a first detector 16”… “A second source 15 and a second detector 17 may be similarly positioned relative to one another;” see Figure 1; ), wherein a first source-detector pair is located in a first plane, and a second source-detector pair is located in a second plane, wherein the first plane and the second plane intersect through the region of the subject's body to be imaged (Figure 1; paragraph 0030, “An isocenter may or may not be located at the midpoint between a source and detector in a source-detector pair. It may be desirable that a human patient can be positioned at the isocenter of the system so that rotations occur around the patient and the targeted patient volume remains in focus even if the angle between the source-detector pairs changes. In point-source systems imaging performance may be optimized by positioning a patient nearer to the detector than to the source. Therefore, in an embodiment of the present invention comprising point-source systems, source-detector pairs may be connected to one another in a manner that creates a system isocenter closer to the detectors than to the sources. For example, with reference again to FIG. 1, the system may be configures such that point of overlap 18 is nearer to first detector 16 and second detector 17 than first source 14 and second source 15 along first axis 11 and second axis 12, respectively. ”);
a motion assembly configured to achieve relative movement between at least one of the source-detector pairs and the subject (NOTE: Motion assembly was interpreted under 112(f) and the structure from the specification is being mapped as such; paragraph 0029, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the distances and orientations of two X-ray source-detector pairs may be maintained by the sources and detectors being mounted on two medical C-arms. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing an X-ray source and X-ray detector mounted on opposing ends of a medical C-arm in one embodiment of the present invention. A second C-arm holding a second source-detector pair may also be affixed at joint 22. Rotation of the C-arm 21 may occur around a rotation axis through a joint 22 and an isocenter 19 of the system; in the view of FIG. 3, first source 14 and first detector 16 may be rotated into or out of the page. Both C-arms can rotate around a common axis of rotation through a shared isocenter;” paragraph 0033, “The rotation of source-detector pairs around an isocenter, e.g. the change in an angle between the source-detector pairs, may be electronically controllable. For example, an embodiment of the present invention may include an electronically controlled mechanical motor, set of motors, actuators, or other means of rotating the source-detector pairs. ” motion assembly is read as the electronically controlled mechanical motor, set of motors, actuators, or other means of rotating the source-detector pairs); and
a controller (paragraph 0033, “The rotation of source-detector pairs around an isocenter, e.g. the change in an angle between the source-detector pairs, may be electronically controllable. For example, an embodiment of the present invention may include an electronically controlled mechanical motor, set of motors, actuators, or other means of rotating the source-detector pairs.”) configured to:
operate the energy sources and detectors while stationary, to acquire a time series of in vivo images of the region of the subject's body (paragraph 0006, “Additional image data can also be acquired from the source-detector pairs while stationary and positioned at a predetermined angle relative to one another, and the computed tomography dataset can be used for registration of this image data. ”); and
operate the motion assembly and at least one source-detector pair to achieve relative movement between the at least one source-detector pair and the subject to obtain a second set of images at each of a plurality of image angles in the plane of the source-detector pair (paragraph 0033, “The means of rotation may be coupled to an electronic input unit allowing a user to select rotation parameters to be implemented during imaging. Optional input values may also include frame rate, e.g. the frequency at which images are captured, total number of degrees to be rotated, or other imaging-related parameters”).
Funk fails to explicitly disclose as further recited. However, Ivan discloses wherein the time series of in vivo images are processed to generate functional information of the region (abstract, “ A fluoroscopy device (D) is mechanically coupled to the diagnostic scanner for generating and displaying at least substantially real-time fluoroscopic projection image representations on a display monitor (60).” Column 2, line 12, “A fluoroscopic imaging subsystem generates fluoroscopic image representations of the object. The fluoroscopic imaging subsystem includes an x-ray source for transmitting x-rays, a flat panel image receptor for detecting the x-rays and generating signals indicative of the detected x-rays, and a support member for supporting the flat panel image receptor in a stored position remote from the patient support and an operating position proximate the patient support.”); and
wherein the second set of images are used to construct a geometric structure image of the region (abstract, “A first image reconstruction processor (18) reconstructs a tomographic image representation from signals generated by the first radiation detectors.”).
Funk is directed toward, “The present invention pertains to an apparatus and method for medical imaging comprising rotating two X-ray source-detector pairs around an axis of rotation simultaneously to quickly acquire image data and form a computed tomography (CT) dataset (abstract)” Ivan is directed toward, “. A first image reconstruction processor (18) reconstructs a tomographic image representation from signals generated by the first radiation detectors. A fluoroscopy device (D) is mechanically coupled to the diagnostic scanner for generating and displaying at least substantially real-time fluoroscopic projection image representations on a display monitor (60) (abstract).” As can be easily seen by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Funk and Ivan are directed toward similar methods of endeavor of medical image analysis. Further, Ivan allows for obtaining different modality images using the same system. One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware different imaging modalities reveal different information about the body. For example, fluoroscopy reveals motion information while CT or MRI reveal stationary images of anatomy. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ivan in order to obtain multiple different image types of a patient to accurately determine a diagnosis.
Regarding dependent claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Ivan further discloses wherein the functional information of the region is at least one of changes in motion, location and/or size of the region (abstract, “ fluoroscopy device (D) is mechanically coupled to the diagnostic scanner for generating and displaying at least substantially real-time fluoroscopic projection image representations on a display monitor (60)” fluoroscopy measures moving body structures over time).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would easily be aware that some diseases cannot be diagnosed by a single still image. Said differently, some diseases are characterized by the motion of an organ, the flow of blood, or the joint movement. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ivan in order to ensure the patients anatomy is best understood for a plurality of diagnoses options.
Regarding dependent claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the second set of images are obtained at image angles covering an arc in the plane of the source-detector pair of no more than one of:
180 degrees, 160 degrees, 140 degrees, 120 degrees; 100 degrees; or 80 degrees (paragraph 00038, “Source-detector pairs may be rotated through any total number of degrees possibly ranging from one to 360 degrees. Reconstructed CT image quality may be enhanced for numbers of degrees greater than 180. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 180 and 185, 185 and 190, 190 and 200, 200 and 205, 205 and 210, or 210 and 215 degrees, inclusive. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 215 and 230, 230 and 245, 245 and 260, 260 and 275, 275 and 290, 290 and 305, or 305 and 320 inclusive. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 320 and 325, 325 and 330, 330 and 335, 335 and 340, 345 and 350, or 355 and 360, inclusive”).
Regarding dependent claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the controller is configured to operate the at least one source-detector pair and the motion assembly to obtain the second set of images such that it acquires less than one of: 200 images; 120 images; 100 images; 80 images; 50 images; 40 images; 20 images; or 10 images (paragraph 00038, “Source-detector pairs may be rotated through any total number of degrees possibly ranging from one to 360 degrees. Reconstructed CT image quality may be enhanced for numbers of degrees greater than 180. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 180 and 185, 185 and 190, 190 and 200, 200 and 205, 205 and 210, or 210 and 215 degrees, inclusive. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 215 and 230, 230 and 245, 245 and 260, 260 and 275, 275 and 290, 290 and 305, or 305 and 320 inclusive. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 320 and 325, 325 and 330, 330 and 335, 335 and 340, 345 and 350, or 355 and 360, inclusive;” if one angle correlates to one image, a user can design the system to meet any of these conditions based on how much imaging data is actually needed; paragraph 0044, “In this embodiment of the present invention, the number of subsets utilized may range from one to the number of views acquired, e.g. the number of angles at which an image dataset is acquired, inclusive. The number of subsets utilized may also be 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, or 25. The number of views within a subset may be any number of views between two views and the number of views acquired, inclusive. ”);
and/or the controller is configured to operate the motion assembly for continuous relative movement while the source-detector pair obtains the second set of images at each of the plurality of image angles (paragraph 00038, “Source-detector pairs may be rotated through any total number of degrees possibly ranging from one to 360 degrees. Reconstructed CT image quality may be enhanced for numbers of degrees greater than 180. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 180 and 185, 185 and 190, 190 and 200, 200 and 205, 205 and 210, or 210 and 215 degrees, inclusive. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 215 and 230, 230 and 245, 245 and 260, 260 and 275, 275 and 290, 290 and 305, or 305 and 320 inclusive. Some embodiments of the present invention may rotate source-detector pairs through a total number of degrees between 320 and 325, 325 and 330, 330 and 335, 335 and 340, 345 and 350, or 355 and 360, inclusive”)).
Regarding dependent claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the motion assembly comprises a source frame supporting the source of the at least one source-detector pair (See Figure 3; paragraph 0029, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the distances and orientations of two X-ray source-detector pairs may be maintained by the sources and detectors being mounted on two medical C-arms”), wherein the controller is configured to control linear motion of the source along the source frame to obtain the second set of images (paragraph 0032, “Furthermore, an apparatus to which the two C-arms are affixed may rotate the C-arms around other axes to widen the range of possible patient positions. For example, with reference to FIG. 3, joint 22 may be moved vertically or along a curved track;” moving the arm vertically along the joint 2 is read as linear motion).
Regarding dependent claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the source frame is one of:
a straight frame;
or a curved frame (See Figure 3; paragraph 0029, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the distances and orientations of two X-ray source-detector pairs may be maintained by the sources and detectors being mounted on two medical C-arms;” a C-arm is read as a curved frame).
Regarding dependent claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the motion assembly comprises a detector frame supporting the detector of the at least one source-detector pair (paragraph 0029, “Rotation of the C-arm 21 may occur around a rotation axis through a joint 22 and an isocenter 19 of the system; in the view of FIG. 3, first source 14 and first detector 16 may be rotated into or out of the page. Both C-arms can rotate around a common axis of rotation through a shared isocenter.;” paragraph 0032, “A patient may be positioned on a bed or table or otherwise secured within the crook or “C” of the C-arms while imaging occurs. Furthermore, an apparatus to which the two C-arms are affixed may rotate the C-arms around other axes to widen the range of possible patient positions. For example, with reference to FIG. 3, joint 22 may be moved vertically or along a curved track.”), wherein the controller is configured to control linear motion of the detector along the detector frame to obtain the second set of images (paragraph 0032, “Furthermore, an apparatus to which the two C-arms are affixed may rotate the C-arms around other axes to widen the range of possible patient positions. For example, with reference to FIG. 3, joint 22 may be moved vertically or along a curved track;” moving the arm vertically along the joint 2 is read as linear motion).
Regarding dependent claim 13, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses further comprising a supplementary source on the source frame (paragraph 0020, “Embodiments of the present invention may feature two or three X-ray sources;” the third source is read as the supplementary source), wherein the controller
is configured to control linear motion of the supplementary source along the source frame to obtain the second set of images (paragraph 0032, “Furthermore, an apparatus to which the two C-arms are affixed may rotate the C-arms around other axes to widen the range of possible patient positions. For example, with reference to FIG. 3, joint 22 may be moved vertically or along a curved track;” moving the arm vertically along the joint 2 is read as linear motion), wherein provision of the supplementary source reduces the distance required to be travelled by any source to obtain the second set of images at each of the plurality of image angles (paragraph 0020, “Embodiments of the present invention may feature two or three X-ray sources;” the third source is read as all 3 sources being equidistant (i.e. 2 sources have to travel 180 degrees, 3 sources each only need to travel 120 degrees (i.e. reducing distance to travel)).
Regarding dependent claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control movement of the supplementary source in synchrony with the source of the source-detector pair (paragraph 0035, “A CT dataset or image may instead be acquired by rotating a C-arm on opposing ends of which are mounted an X-ray source and an X-ray detector such that the X-ray source and detector can rotate around the patient, sliding an O-arm around the patient within which source and detector rotate, or by similarly lower-profile methods;” paragraph 0038, “Source-detector pairs may be rotated through any total number of degrees possibly ranging from one to 360 degrees;” paragraph 0029, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the distances and orientations of two X-ray source-detector pairs may be maintained by the sources and detectors being mounted on two medical C-arms;” in order to maintain distances between the pairs (or in this case triad) they must all move in synchrony).
Regarding dependent claim 17, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the source frame provides one or more couplings for angular and linear motion of any source coupled to the source frame (paragraph 0029, “ A second C-arm holding a second source-detector pair may also be affixed at joint 22. Rotation of the C-arm 21 may occur around a rotation axis through a joint 22 and an isocenter 19 of the system; in the view of FIG. 3, first source 14 and first detector 16 may be rotated into or out of the page. Both C-arms can rotate around a common axis of rotation through a shared isocenter;” paragraph 0032, “For example, with reference to FIG. 3, joint 22 may be moved vertically or along a curved track.”), and wherein the controller is configured to control angular and linear motion of any source coupled to the source frame (paragraph 0029, “ A second C-arm holding a second source-detector pair may also be affixed at joint 22. Rotation of the C-arm 21 may occur around a rotation axis through a joint 22 and an isocenter 19 of the system;” paragraph 0032, “For example, with reference to FIG. 3, joint 22 may be moved vertically or along a curved track.” the movement of the arms containing the source and detectors is read as being controlled by a controller).
Regarding dependent claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein two or more source-detector pairs are movable by the motion assembly to obtain the second set of images (paragraph 0020, “FIG. 1 is a diagram representing two source-detector pairs of an embodiment of the present invention. Embodiments of the present invention may feature two or three X-ray sources and two or three X-ray detectors. In FIG. 1 a first source 14 and a first detector 16 are positioned such that the face of first source 14 and the face of first detector 16 may be parallel and separated by a distance long enough to accommodate a patient or subject for imaging. A second source 15 and a second detector 17 may be similarly positioned relative to one another; the face of second source 15 may be parallel to the face of second detector 17 with a distance long enough to accommodate imaging subjects maintained between them;” paragraph 0029, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the distances and orientations of two X-ray source-detector pairs may be maintained by the sources and detectors being mounted on two medical C-arms. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing an X-ray source and X-ray detector mounted on opposing ends of a medical C-arm in one embodiment of the present invention. A second C-arm holding a second source-detector pair may also be affixed at joint 22. Rotation of the C-arm 21 may occur around a rotation axis through a joint 22 and an isocenter 19 of the system; in the view of FIG. 3, first source 14 and first detector 16 may be rotated into or out of the page. Both C-arms can rotate around a common axis of rotation through a shared isocenter.”).
Regarding dependent claim 22, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Ivan discloses wherein the motion assembly comprises a movable platform operable by the controller to control movement of the subject relative to the one or more source-detector pairs to obtain the second set of images (column 2, line 9, “when the object is positioned within the examination region, and a patient support adapted for movement through the examination region.” Column 2, line 5, “ A patient couch 28 is slidably secured to the patient beam 26 for back and forth movement through the examination region 12 along the beam 26. It should be appreciated that at least the patient couch can be configured to pan laterally relative to a longitudinal axis of the gantry bore. The table 24, beam 26, and couch 28, cooperate to define a patient support which is adapted for movement through the examination region.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be aware moving a patient slowly through an imaging device is more efficient than having to rearrange the source and detector pairs manually to capture images. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ivan in order to ensure the system can smoothly and efficiently capture a plurality of images at different angles with as little manual input or manipulation possible.
Regarding dependent claim 25, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses further comprising:
an auxiliary energy detector for detecting energy from one of the energy sources providing a source-auxiliary detector pair (paragraph 0020, “FIG. 1 is a diagram representing two source-detector pairs of an embodiment of the present invention. Embodiments of the present invention may feature two or three X-ray sources and two or three X-ray detectors;” the third pair is read as the auxiliary energy detector).
Regarding dependent claim 26, the rejection of claim 25 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the motion assembly is further configured to achieve relative movement between the source-auxiliary detector pair and the subject (paragraph 0020, “FIG. 1 is a diagram representing two source-detector pairs of an embodiment of the present invention. Embodiments of the present invention may feature two or three X-ray sources and two or three X-ray detectors;” paragraph 0029, “FIG. 3, first source 14 and first detector 16 may be rotated into or out of the page. Both C-arms can rotate around a common axis of rotation through a shared isocenter.”), and wherein the controller is further configured to operate the motion assembly and the source-auxiliary detector pair to achieve relative movement between the source-auxiliary detector pair and the subject to obtain the second set of images at each of the plurality of image angles in a plane of the source-auxiliary detector pair (paragraph 0020, “FIG. 1 is a diagram representing two source-detector pairs of an embodiment of the present invention. Embodiments of the present invention may feature two or three X-ray sources and two or three X-ray detectors;” paragraph 0029, “FIG. 3 is a diagram showing an X-ray source and X-ray detector mounted on opposing ends of a medical C-arm in one embodiment of the present invention. A second C-arm holding a second source-detector pair may also be affixed at joint 22. Rotation of the C-arm 21 may occur around a rotation axis through a joint 22 and an isocenter 19 of the system; in the view of FIG. 3, first source 14 and first detector 16 may be rotated into or out of the page. Both C-arms can rotate around a common axis of rotation through a shared isocenter.”).
Regarding independent claim 52, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses A method for acquiring in vivo images of a region of a subject's body (abstract, “The present invention pertains to an apparatus and method for medical imaging;” paragraph 0020, “ In FIG. 1 a first source 14 and a first detector 16 are positioned such that the face of first source 14 and the face of first detector 16 may be parallel and separated by a distance long enough to accommodate a patient or subject for imaging. ”), the method comprising the steps of:
providing an imaging device according to claim 1 (see claim 1; abstract, “The present invention pertains to an apparatus and method for medical imaging comprising rotating two X-ray source-detector pairs around an axis of rotation simultaneously to quickly acquire image data and form a computed tomography (CT) dataset.”);
operating the controller to acquire the time series of in vivo images of the region of the subject's body simultaneously or at the same time from each of the detectors (abstract, “The present invention pertains to an apparatus and method for medical imaging comprising rotating two X-ray source-detector pairs around an axis of rotation simultaneously to quickly acquire image data and form a computed tomography (CT) dataset;” paragraph 0006, “Additional image data can also be acquired from the source-detector pairs while stationary and positioned at a predetermined angle relative to one another, and the computed tomography dataset can be used for registration of this image data;” paragraph 0047, “Acquiring two views simultaneously can spare the additional dose of contrast agent which may be administered if time were taken to move an X-ray system from one angle to another.”);
operating the controller to acquire the second set of in vivo images of the region of the subject's body for each of the plurality of angles (paragraph 0033, “The means of rotation may be coupled to an electronic input unit allowing a user to select rotation parameters to be implemented during imaging. Optional input values may also include frame rate, e.g. the frequency at which images are captured, total number of degrees to be rotated, or other imaging-related parameters;” second set is read as images obtained at the second set of angles at the rotated degrees);
constructing, using a processor, a geometric structure image based on the second set of images obtained from the detectors for each of the plurality of angles (paragraph 0073, “Similarly, a CT data set can be used for registration of bi-planar images or as a prior for reconstruction of a three-dimensional image, if the bi-planar images are tomosynthetic;” the reconstruction is read as constructing a geometric structure).
Ivan further discloses constructing, using a processor, functional information based on the time series of images acquired from each of the detectors (abstract, “A fluoroscopy device (D) is mechanically coupled to the diagnostic scanner for generating and displaying at least substantially real-time fluoroscopic projection image representations on a display monitor (60)”);
constructing, using a processor, a hybrid image in which the motion measurement and the geometric structure image are combined (column 8, line 17, “The fluoro-image output could also go to the diagnostic system and be displayed with the volumetric images on the display 20.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be well aware outputting combinations of data makes review easier so that a user can see all relevant data at one time without flipping between multiple screens or files. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Ivan in order to ensure a user can be presented with all information to consider in one output, making diagnosis more efficient.
Regarding dependent claim 53, the rejection of claim 52 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses comprising the step of, prior to operating the controller to acquire the images, positioning the subject in the imaging device between the energy sources and detectors (paragraph 0020, “ In FIG. 1 a first source 14 and a first detector 16 are positioned such that the face of first source 14 and the face of first detector 16 may be parallel and separated by a distance long enough to accommodate a patient or subject for imaging;” in order to obtain the image of the patient, the patient must be between the source and detector; paragraph 0032, “A patient may be positioned on a bed or table or otherwise secured within the crook or “C” of the C-arms while imaging occurs. ”).
Regarding dependent claim 54, the rejection of claim 52 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses wherein the imaging device is configured for use with one or more of x-ray imaging (paragraph 0012, “FIG. 3 is a diagram showing an X-ray source and X-ray detector mounted on opposing ends of a medical C-arm in one embodiment of the present invention.”), ultrasound imaging, and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI); and/or the region of the subject's body to be imaged includes at least part of the lungs of the subject, and the hybrid image provides visible elements designating geometric features of the lungs (NOTE: due to “or” the limitation is not required).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funk and Ivan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk further discloses further comprising a third source-detector pair located in the first plane (paragraph 0020, “FIG. 1 is a diagram representing two source-detector pairs of an embodiment of the present invention. Embodiments of the present invention may feature two or three X-ray sources and two or three X-ray detectors. ”).
However, Funk and Ivan fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a third source-detector pair located in the first plane. However, Funk does disclose the need for increased efficiency and speed (see paragraph 0035, “An X-ray source and arc of X-ray detectors may be positioned opposite one another inside the gantry and rotated at a high speed to acquire images from a series of different angles or views”). Having redundant source and detectors in the same planes, allows for acquiring images from the angles faster in that each source and detector pair has to do half as much work as it did before. The examiner takes official notice, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Funk and Ivan to allow for iterative source and detector pairs in the same plane, to acquire images of a patient faster, allowing more patients to be imaged in a specified time period.
Claim(s) 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funk and Ivan as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,039,282 to Maschke (hereinafter Maschke).
Regarding dependent claim 23, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk and Ivan fail to explicitly disclose wherein the movable platform is operable to rotate the subject around a cranio-caudal axis between the sources and the detectors.
However, Maschke discloses wherein the movable platform is operable to rotate the subject around a cranio-caudal axis between the sources and the detectors (column 4, line 3, “Furthermore a patient positioning table can be provided which can be moved translationally and/or rotationally in space. It can be adjusted manually or in a motor-driven manner in terms of its height, length and transverse direction, and can be fixed to the floor, wall or ceiling by way of a suitable supporting structure. An optional inclination in the x-, y- and/or z-direction is also possible, while the patient positioning table can also optionally rotate about a central point; a circular or elliptical rotational movement about a fixed point is also conceivable. In particular the use of an articulated-arm robot having at least four, preferably six, degrees of freedom is suitable for moving the patient positioning table, said articulated-arm robot, in particular if having six degrees of freedom, enabling translational and rotational movements in or about any spatial direction axis and consequently allowing an arbitrary positioning of the patient positioning table in space.”).
As noted above, Funk and Ivan are directed toward similar methods of medical imaging. Further, Funk is directed toward “The present invention pertains to an apparatus and method for medical imaging comprising rotating two X-ray source-detector pairs around an axis of rotation simultaneously to quickly acquire image data and form a computed tomography (CT) dataset (abstract).” Maschke is directed toward “An imaging apparatus having a ring-shaped gantry is provided (abstract)” and “The radiation detectors 12, 13 can be of the same type, although preferably they are of different types. While the radiation detector 12 can be a conventional computed tomography detector consisting of a multiplicity of individual detectors arranged adjacent to one another, the radiation detector 13 can be for example a planar solid-state radiation detector based for example on aSi or similar (column 5, line 1).” As can be easily seen by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Funk, Ivan and Maschke are directed toward similar methods of endeavor of medical imaging. Further, Maschke allows for a movable patient platform (column 4, line 3). One of ordinary skill in the art can easily conceive that often medical imaging can be long, and sick or injured patients aren’t able to move into specific positions or keep themselves in desired positions for long periods of time potentially causing motion artifacts. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Maschke to allow for the system to adjust patient positioning to be optimal for imaging, without a patient having to maintain an uncomfortable position on their own for a lengthy amount of time.
Regarding dependent claim 24, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Funk and Ivan fail to explicitly disclose wherein the movable platform is operable to rotate the subject around a dorso-ventral axis.
However, Maschke discloses wherein the movable platform is operable to rotate the subject around a dorso-ventral axis (column 4, line 3, “Furthermore a patient positioning table can be provided which can be moved translationally and/or rotationally in space. It can be adjusted manually or in a motor-driven manner in terms of its height, length and transverse direction, and can be fixed to the floor, wall or ceiling by way of a suitable supporting structure. An optional inclination in the x-, y- and/or z-direction is also possible, while the patient positioning table can also optionally rotate about a central point; a circular or elliptical rotational movement about a fixed point is also conceivable. In particular the use of an articulated-arm robot having at least four, preferably six, degrees of freedom is suitable for moving the patient positioning table, said articulated-arm robot, in particular if having six degrees of freedom, enabling translational and rotational movements in or about any spatial direction axis and consequently allowing an arbitrary positioning of the patient positioning table in space.”).
As noted above, Funk and Ivan are directed toward similar methods of medical imaging. Further, Funk is directed toward “The present invention pertains to an apparatus and method for medical imaging comprising rotating two X-ray source-detector pairs around an axis of rotation simultaneously to quickly acquire image data and form a computed tomography (CT) dataset (abstract).” Maschke is directed toward “An imaging apparatus having a ring-shaped gantry is provided (abstract)” and “The radiation detectors 12, 13 can be of the same type, although preferably they are of different types. While the radiation detector 12 can be a conventional computed tomography detector consisting of a multiplicity of individual detectors arranged adjacent to one another, the radiation detector 13 can be for example a planar solid-state radiation detector based for example on aSi or similar (column 5, line 1).” As can be easily seen by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Funk, Ivan and Maschke are directed toward similar methods of endeavor of medical imaging. Further, Maschke allows for a movable patient platform (column 4, line 3). One of ordinary skill in the art can easily conceive that often medical imaging can be long, and sick or injured patients aren’t able to move into specific positions or keep themselves in desired positions for long periods of time potentially causing motion artifacts. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Maschke to allow for the system to adjust patient positioning to be optimal for imaging, without a patient having to maintain an uncomfortable position on their own for a lengthy amount of time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY JOAN NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661