DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on June 17, 2024, Claims 1-26 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 6/17/2024 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-17, 19-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (WO 2021/142604 A1) in view of Kazmi et al (US 2014/0094188 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ma teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for supporting positioning of the UE in a non-terrestrial network, the method comprising [0005, 0043 for one or more satellites of a NTN (non-terrestrial network) and 0091 for using UE with PRS for neighboring cells]:
receiving configurations for downlink (DL) positioning reference signals (PRS) associated with a plurality of space vehicles (SVs) in the non-terrestrial network [0043 and 0093 for determining positions using a 3D coordinate system],
receiving the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs using the discontinuous measurement gap set [0086 for using Figure 5 for supporting wireless nodes, and 0113 for extended PRS periodicity];
performing positioning measurements using the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs [0005 for measuring the ToA of the PRS sequence also 0083];
and transmitting location information based on the positioning measurements to a location server [0094 for using LMF for location (positioning) and time differences].
Ma fails to explicitly teach wherein the configurations comprise a discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs, wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SV comprises a plurality of separate measurement gaps.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches performing positioning measurements using the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs [0032-0033 for using measurement gaps for inter-frequency and inter-RAT measurements];
and transmitting location information based on the positioning measurements to a location server [0034 for activating primary and secondary cells and 0086-0088 for transmits its positioning reference signal on a serving frequency fs, while each of the neighboring cells].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to estimate the device's position with respect to the different cells (Kazmi, 0085).
Regarding Claim 7, Ma teaches user equipment (UE) configured for supporting positioning of the UE in a non-terrestrial network, comprising [0091 for using UE with PRS for neighboring cells and 0119 for using a WWAN transceiver]:
at least one wireless transceiver configured to wirelessly communicate with entities in the non-terrestrial network [0119 for using a transceiver];
at least one memory [0119 for memory];
and at least one processor coupled to the at least one wireless transceiver and the at least one memory and configured to [0119-0120 for preforming operations (processing means)]:
receive, via the at least one wireless transceiver, configurations for downlink (DL) positioning reference signals (PRS) associated with a plurality of space vehicles SVs in the non-terrestrial network [0093 for estimating UE positions with a plurality of satellites],
receive, via the at least one wireless transceiver, the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs using the discontinuous measurement gap set [0086 for using Figure 5 for supporting wireless nodes, and 0113 for extended PRS periodicity];
perform positioning measurements using the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs [0005 for measuring the ToA of the PRS sequence also 0083];
and transmit, location information based on the positioning measurements to a location server [0094 for using LMF for location (positioning) and time differences].
Ma fails to explicitly teach wherein the configurations comprise a discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs, wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SV comprises a plurality of separate measurement gaps.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches wherein the configurations comprise a discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs [0032-0033 for using measurement gaps for inter-frequency and inter-RAT measurements];
wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SV comprises a plurality of separate measurement gaps [0034 for activating primary and secondary cells and 0086-0088 for transmits its positioning reference signal on a serving frequency fs, while each of the neighboring cells].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to estimate the device's position with respect to the different cells (Kazmi, 0085).
Regarding Claim 13, Ma teaches a method performed by a network entity for supporting positioning of a user equipment (UE) in a non-terrestrial network, the method comprising [0005, 0043 for one or more satellites of a NTN (non-terrestrial network) and 0091 for using UE with PRS for neighboring cells]:
and providing to the UE configurations for downlink (DL) positioning reference signals (PRS) associated with a plurality of space vehicles (SVs) in the non-terrestrial network [0056 for network entity with 0103 for using NTN for propagation delays between UE and satellite],
Ma fails to explicitly teach receiving a request for measurement gaps for positioning measurements in the non-terrestrial network, wherein the configurations comprise a discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs, wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs comprises a plurality of separate measurement gaps for each positioning occasion.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches receiving a request for measurement gaps for positioning measurements in the non-terrestrial network [0053-0054 for an indication that the user equipment is going to perform an inter-frequency measurement for positioning and that the inter-frequency measurement requires measurement gaps],
wherein the configurations comprise a discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs [0032-0033 for using measurement gaps for inter-frequency and inter-RAT measurements];
wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs comprises a plurality of separate measurement gaps for each positioning occasion [0034 for activating primary and secondary cells and 0086-0088 for transmits its positioning reference signal on a serving frequency fs, while each of the neighboring cells].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to estimate the device's position with respect to the different cells (Kazmi, 0085).
Regarding Claim 20, Ma teaches network entity configured for supporting positioning of a user equipment (UE) in a non-terrestrial network, comprising [0091 for using UE with PRS for neighboring cells and 0119 for using a WWAN transceiver]:
an external interface configured to wirelessly communicate with entities in the non-terrestrial network [0119 for using a transceiver];
at least one memory [0119];
and at least one processor coupled to the external interface and the at least one memory and configured to [0119-0120 for performing operations (processing means)]:
receive, via the external interface, [0043 and 0093 for determining positions using a 3D coordinate system];
and provide, via the external interface, to the UE configurations for downlink (DL) positioning reference signals (PRS) associated with a plurality of space vehicles (SVs) in the non-terrestrial network [0007, 0107 for a second measurement gap configuration with a third neighbor cell].
Ma fails to explicitly teach a request for measurement gaps for positioning measurements in the non-terrestrial network, wherein the configurations comprise a discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs, wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs comprises a plurality of separate measurement gaps for each positioning occasion.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches receiving a request for measurement gaps for positioning measurements in the non-terrestrial network [0053-0054 for an indication that the user equipment is going to perform an inter-frequency measurement for positioning and that the inter-frequency measurement requires measurement gaps],
wherein the configurations comprise a discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs [0032-0033 for using measurement gaps for inter-frequency and inter-RAT measurements];
wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set for each positioning occasion for processing the DL PRS from the plurality of SVs comprises a plurality of separate measurement gaps for each positioning occasion [0034 for activating primary and secondary cells and 0086-0088 for transmits its positioning reference signal on a serving frequency fs, while each of the neighboring cells].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to estimate the device's position with respect to the different cells (Kazmi, 0085).
Regarding Claim 2, 8, 14, and 21, Ma fails to explicitly teach each positioning occasion is repeated with a first periodicity and wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set is repeated with the first periodicity.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches each positioning occasion is repeated with a first periodicity and wherein the discontinuous measurement gap set is repeated with the first periodicity [0226 for positioning occasion being 1, 2, 4 or 6 subframes].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to improve hearability (Kazmi, 0225).
Regarding Claim 3, 9, 15, and 22, Ma fails to explicitly teach at least two measurement gaps in the plurality of separate measurement gaps have different gap lengths.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches at least two measurement gaps in the plurality of separate measurement gaps have different gap lengths [0121 for neighboring cells transmitting at different time periods].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to allow neighboring cells to transmit positioning reference signals (Kazmi, 0121).
Regarding Claim 4, 10, 16, and 23, Ma fails to explicitly teach the discontinuous measurement gap set is configured with a positioning occasion periodicity, a measurement gap length for each separate measurement gap, and a gap separation between the separate measurement gaps.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches the discontinuous measurement gap set is configured with a positioning occasion periodicity, a measurement gap length for each separate measurement gap, and a gap separation between the separate measurement gaps [0129 for may be provided to or acquired by the eNodeB so that the eNodeB can overlap a configured measurement gap with PRS positioning].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to allow enhanced measurement gaps (Kazmi, 0129).
Regarding Claim 5, 11, 17, and 24, Ma fails to explicitly teach each separate measurement gap in the plurality of separate measurement gaps is associated with the DL PRS from a different SV.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches each separate measurement gap in the plurality of separate measurement gaps is associated with the DL PRS from a different SV [0086 for serving cell transmits its positioning reference signal on a serving frequency fs, while each of the neighboring cell, with 0093].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to estimate the device's position with respect to the different cells (Kazmi, 0085).
Regarding Claim 19 and 26, Ma fails to explicitly teach the network entity is one of a location server or a gNB.
Kazmi has a base station is configured to serve a wireless device in a serving cell on a serving frequency (abstract) and teaches teach the network entity is one of a location server or a gNB [0129 for may be provided to or acquired by the eNodeB so that the eNodeB can overlap a configured measurement gap with PRS positioning].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the reference signal calculations as taught by Kazmi for the purpose to allow enhanced measurement gaps (Kazmi, 0129).
Claims 6, 12, 18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (US 2019/0052996 A1) in view of Kazmi et al (US 2022/0225132 A1), as applied to claims 1, 7, 13, and 20 above, and further in view of Talib et al (US US20210297147 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, 12, 18, and 25, Ma fails to explicitly teach each SV in the plurality of SVs is in a different Earth orbit.
Talib has a method and an architecture for deploying non-terrestrial cellular network base stations (abstract) and teaches each SV in the plurality of SVs is in a different Earth orbit [0038-0039 with 0109 for using LEO, MEO, and GEO orbits].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Ma, further including the orbit calculations as taught by Talib for the purpose to have space borne base stations (Talib, 0038).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sahai et al (US 2019/0052996 A1) has embodiments facilitate UE location determination in systems with dense PRS configurations, reduced PRS periodicity.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648