DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11994219 (Assignee Kabushiki Kaisha Riken teaches in claims 1-13 what is stated in claims 8-9 of the current application) in view of references that reject claims 1-3 and 6/15, and also references which are stated in the NPL document PCTJP2022046957 (see documents 1-9). Applicant should compare limitations of current claims with claims of Patent 11994219 and limitations provided in JP2002323133.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urabe (JP2021060048A) in view of Phillips (US. 2614899).
Urabe discloses a piston ring (e.g. 50, figure 2) comprising an annular main body portion having an inner peripheral surface (e.g. surface opposite of 53), an outer peripheral surface (e.g. surface having 56), a first side surface (e.g. top surface of 50 in figure 2) and a second side surface (e.g. bottom surface of 50 in figure 2) substantially orthogonal to the inner peripheral surface, the outer peripheral surface of the piston ring comprising a first curved surface (e.g. 1st curve surface 52 adjacent to the top surface) provided on a side of the main body portion toward the first side surface, the first curved surface being convexly curved outwards in a radial direction of the main body portion (e.g. see figures 2), a second curved surface (e.g. 2nd curve surface 52 adjacent to the bottom surface) provided on a side of the main body portion toward the second side surface, the second curved surface being convexly curved outwards in the radial direction of the main body portion (e.g. see figures 2 and 2) and an intermediate surface formed to extend in a width direction of the main body portion so as to connect the first curved surface to the second curved surface, wherein (e.g. see ring in figure 2) the intermediate surface has a flat portion and a width of the intermediate surface in the width direction is between 0.05 mm and 0.30 mm (e.g. see width of “g”, “In the top ring 50, the virtual actual contact width g is formed to be 0.05 mm or more, preferably 0.10 mm or more, and more preferably 0.15 mm or more. More preferably, it is formed to be 0.3 mm or more, more preferably it is set to be larger than 0.3 mm, and even more preferably it is 0.4 mm or more”). Regarding claim 2: Wherein the flat portion has a width dimension of 50% or more of the width of the intermediate surface in the width direction (e.g. that is the case as seen in figures). Regarding claim 3: Wherein at least one of a first wedge angle and a second wedge angle is 1.5° or less, the first wedge angle being an angle formed between the intermediate surface and a first virtual line in contact with the first curved surface at a first boundary between the first curved surface and the intermediate surface, and the second wedge angle being an angle formed between the intermediate surface and a second virtual line in contact with the second curved surface at a second boundary between the second curved surface and the intermediate surface (e.g. that is the case since the angle is very tiny or almost zero between the curved surfaces and the intermediate surface, see figure 2 and 16 also see figures of oil ring with rails by way of example).
Urabe discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose a first connection surface which is an incline surface that connects the first side surface to the first curve surface and a second connection surface which is an incline surface that connects the second side surface to the second curve surface (e.g. in short 1st incline surface between the 1st side surface and the 1st curved surface and 2nd incline surface between 2nd side surface and the 2nd curved surface).
Phillips discloses a piston ring (figure 4) with a flat surface (22), a first curve surface (e.g. 25), an incline surface (e.g. incline surface 23) connecting the first curved surface to a first side surface (e.g. 27), a second curve surface (e.g. 26), an incline surface (e.g. incline surface 24) connecting the second curved surface to a second side surface (e.g. surface opposite of 27). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the piston ring of Urabe to have incline surfaces between the side surfaces and the curve surfaces as taught by Phillips with reasonable expectation of success to provide adhesion of coating and also to avoid sharp edges to scratch the cylinder wall (e.g. Phillips see column 2, lines 40-42).
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Urabe and Phillips teaches the first connection surface is a portion at which a corner formed the first side surface and the outer peripheral surface is chambered and the second connection section is a portion at which a corner formed by the second side surface and the outer peripheral surface is chamfered (the incline surfaces as stated above).
Regarding claim 12: The combination of Urabe and Phillips teaches the first and second connection surfaces that extends in an entire circumferential direction of the main body (e.g. the incline surface as taught above extends an entire circumference).
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Urabe and Phillips teaches that the incline surfaces protrude in the radial direction (e.g. the incline surface extend toward the outer surface of the piston ring).
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Urabe and Phillips teaches the first and second connection surfaces have no curved surfaces (e.g. the incline surface are flat surfaces).
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Urabe and Phillips teaches that the first and second incline surfaces are flat surfaces (e.g. the incline surfaces are flat surfaces).
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urabe in view of Sasaki et al (JP2003328852A).
Urabe discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose an inner cut surface extending obliquely relative to the width direction so as to connect the first side surface to the inner peripheral surface. Sasaki teaches 1st embodiment of piston ring with inner surface, outer surface opposite the inner surface, top surface, bottom surface opposite the top surface and the top and bottom surface being orthogonal to the inner surface (e.g. figure 3 or 6), also teaches a second embodiment of piston ring with inner surface, outer surface opposite the inner surface, top surface, bottom surface opposite the top surface, the top and bottom surface being orthogonal to the inner surface and an inner cut surface (e.g. inner cut surface shown in figures 9 or 10) that joins the inner surface to the top surface. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the piston ring of Urabe to have a inner cut surface as taught by Sasaki with reasonable expectation of success, since having a ring with inner cut surface (e.g. see figures 9 or 10 of Sasaki) is art equivalent with a ring without cut surface (e.g. figures 1 or 3 or 6 or 7 or 8 of Sasaki) to provide same or similar seal function.
Regarding claim 7: The limitation of claims 7 is taught by the combination of Urabe and Sasaki which provide each and every structural limitation which is capable of torsion angle of the piston ring in a predetermined cylinder mounting state is 5 to 90 arcminute (e.g. intended use or method limitation given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus claim when the structure of the piston ring is taught, see MPEP 2113-2114).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urabe in view of Shimizu et al (US20180038483, compare figures of Shimizu to the current application figures).
Urabe further discloses the piston ring according to claim 1 and an oil control ring including a pair of side rails (e.g. 73a-73b, figure 3) and a spacer expander (e.g. expander having 74m) disposed between the pair of side rails, wherein each side rail has an outer peripheral rail surface (e.g. surface having 85), an inner peripheral rail surface (e.g. surface opposite 85), a first side rail surface (e.g. top surface of 73a), and a second side rail surface (e.g. e.g. bottom surface of 73a opposite the top surface), the inner peripheral rail surface has a vertically symmetrical shape in a cross section in an axial direction (e.g. figure 3 shows this), the inner peripheral rail surface has an inner tip portion (e.g. inner tip portion that contacts ear of the spacer expander), the spacer expander includes a plurality of ear portions (e.g. 74m), plurality of rail facing portions (e.g. other portions of the spacer expander that are not the plurality of ear portions and adjacent to the plurality of ear portions) facing the rail surface (e.g. top and bottom surfaces of the rails that face the facing portions of the spacer expander), the inner peripheral rail surface abutting on the ear portions, the plurality of ear portions satisfying a following condition W/H is > 1.5 (e.g. compare the width top 74m in figure 3 to height of bottom 74m in cross-section, the width is at least 1.5 larger than the height), wherein W represents a width of each of the ear portions at a position moved by 0.05 mm from a highest position of each of the ear portions in a direction of a corresponding one of the rail facing portions, and H represents a height difference between a highest position of a region in each of the rail facing portions, the region being adjacent to the corresponding one of the ear portions and the highest position of each of the ear portions but fails to disclose the inner tip portion satisfying the following condition in the cross section in the axial direction: 0.7 < R1/LhO < 1.1, wherein R1 represents a radius of curvature of a curve forming the inner tip portion, and LhO represents a height of the side rail. Iwata discloses plurality of rails, a spacer expander between the plurality of rails, an inner surface of each of the plurality of rails having a inner tip portion that satisfy a condition in the cross sectional in the axial direction 0.7 < R1/LhO < 1.1 (e.g. this is the case as comparing the surface 13 in Shimizu to surface 103g of the current application), wherein R1 represents a radius curvature of a curve forming the inner tip portion and LhO represents a height of the rail (see figure 4 of Shimizu). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inner tip portion of Urabe to have the relationship as taught by Shimizu with reasonable expectation of success to provide proper contact between the ear portions and the inner tip of the rail (e.g. proper curvature would provide excellent contact to prevent the rails from twist and having a particular shape is non-limiting, see description of 13 in Shimizu US 20180038483).
The combination of Urabe and Shimizu teach wherein the inner peripheral rail surface of the side rail is continuously curved along an inner tip portion, a first peripheral edge portion and a second peripheral edge portion of the side rail, wherein a radius of curvature of the inner tip portion is a first radius of curvature, a radius of curvature of the first peripheral edge portion is a second radius of curvature that is smaller than the first radius of curvature, and a radius of curvature of the second peripheral edge portion is a third radius of curvature that is smaller than the second radius of curvature (as shown in figure below Shimizu teaches 1st radius, 2nd radius and 3rd radius, where 2nd radius is smaller than 1st radius and 3rd radius is smaller than 1st radius).
See figure having 1st radius, 2nd radius and 3rd radius:
Examiner is also providing evidence that when a single radius is provide the figure would appear as the one in reference US20190360585A, see figure 3 below. The radius of the inner peripheral surface is made of one radius.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner is providing many references that teach at least claim 1 (see form 892, US2004119242, US20170175893, US20110100318, US20180031127, US20180038483, US20040061291, US20210164568, JP2021060048A, WO2019069748, DE4429649, DE3833322). It is further noted that applicant should review all rejections provided in US application 18/550701 which teach the limitation of current claims 8-9. Assignee and/or applicants should review US 20150167844 which teach the concept or relationship of width relative to height of the ear portions of an spacer expander, see figures 1-3.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675