DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a capacity ratio of the negative electrode layer to the positive electrode layer…” in lines 8-10. However, it is unclear as to what or when values or parameters are used or measured for this calculation/relationship of capacity.
Claim 6 recites “wherein metal sodium precipitates inside the negative electrode layer upon completion of charging of the battery” in lines 2-3. However, it is unclear whether the precipitation occurs after the charging, or if the charging stops when precipitation occurs.
Claims 2-5 are rejected for being dependent thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2019/0341611) in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 2019/0252682).
Regarding claim 1, Yamauchi discloses a sodium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte ([0059]). The electrode has a positive electrode on one side of the electrolyte, and the other [negative] electrode on the other side of the electrolyte ([0094]). The electrolyte can be a solid electrolyte ([0061], [0068], [0089]-[0091]).
However, Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose a capacity ratio of the negative electrode layer to the positive electrode layer (negative electrode layer/positive electrode layer) being not less than 0.10 and not more than 1.10.
Takeuchi discloses a secondary battery including a positive electrode plate 12 and a negative electrode plate 16 wherein a ratio C/A of the capacity of the negative electrode plate 16 to the capacity C of the positive electrode plate 12 is preferably in a range of 1.0<C/A<1.6 (abstract, [0044]). Takeuchi teaches if the ratio is within the range, the expansion/contraction of the electrodes accompanied by intercalation and deintercalation of the carrier ions can be reduced ([0044]). Takeuchi teaches that this can be applied to sodium batteries ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the C/A ratio of positive/negative capacities of Takeuchi with the electrodes of Yamauchi for the purpose of reducing the expansion and contraction of the electrodes.
In addition, it would have been obvious to optimize, by routine experimentation, the capacity ratio of negative/positive (including in the range of not less than 0.10, and not more than 1.10) as taught by Takeuchi in the battery of Yamauchi for the purpose of obtaining the desired balance between expansion/contraction and total capacity of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as et forth above. Yamauchi teaches that the positive electrode includes an active material composed of crystals represented by general formula Nax(Ni1-aMa)yP2Oz (where M represents at least one transition metal element selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cr, Mn, and Co and the following are satisfied: 0.6≤x≤4, 0.3≤y≤2.7, 0≤a≤0.9, and 6≤z<7.5) ([0022]). Yamauchi provides examples of Na1.33Ni1.67P2O7.33, Na1.82Ni1.39P2O7, Na2NiP2O7, and more (see Tables 1-2, Examples 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yamauchi teaches that the negative electrode can be hard carbon ([0060]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yamauchi teaches a solid electrode including β’’-alumina ([0089]-[0091]), or β-alumina or NASICON ([0052], [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yamauchi teaches that the negative electrode active material is capable of inserting and extracting sodium ions during charge and discharge ([0060]), and therefore the metal sodium is moved [precipitates] in the negative electrode layer upon completion of charging of the battery.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2019/0341611) in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 2019/0252682), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (CN 113793979, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yamauchi teaches that the positive electrode includes an active material composed of crystals represented by general formula Nax(Ni1-aMa)yP2Oz (where M represents at least one transition metal element selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cr, Mn, and Co and the following are satisfied: 0.6≤x≤4, 0.3≤y≤2.7, 0≤a≤0.9, and 6≤z<7.5) ([0022]). Yamauchi provides examples of Na1.33Ni1.67P2O7.33, Na1.82Ni1.39P2O7, Na2NiP2O7, and more (see Tables 1-2, Examples 1-3). Yamauchi teaches that the negative electrode can be hard carbon ([0060]).
However, modified Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose a thickness ratio of the negative electrode layer to the positive electrode layer (negative electrode layer/positive electrode layer) is not less than 0.05 and not more than 0.45.
Zhu discloses a sodium ion secondary battery with a sodium supplement/replenishment source, that replenishes active sodium lost during first charge-discharge process (abstract, [0024]). The replenishment adds sodium to compensate for capacity loss, and results in a battery with superior overall performance, improving the battery's initial coulombic efficiency, cycle performance, and storage performance ([0024]). Zhu teaches the material thickness ratio TN/P is the ratio of thickness of the negative electrode to positive electrode, and is in the range of 0.16-5.72 ([0040]). The material thickness ratio can be 0.16-0.22, 0.22-0.32, 0.32-0.42 and 0.42-0.52 ([0040]). Zhu teaches that by limiting the thickness ratio in this range, the amount of sodium replenished can be controlled, resulting in a sodium-replenished secondary battery with optimal overall performance ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the material thickness ratio of TN/P (including the ranges of 0.16-0.22, 0.22-0.32, 0.32-0.42 and 0.42-0.52) as taught by Zhu with the battery of Yamauchi for the purpose of having a sodium replenishment thereby improving the battery's initial coulombic efficiency, cycle performance, and storage performance.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2019/0341611) in view of Zhu et al. (CN 113793979, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Yamauchi discloses a sodium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte ([0059]). The electrode has a positive electrode on one side of the electrolyte, and the other electrode on the other side of the electrolyte ([0094]). The electrolyte can be a solid electrolyte ([0061], [0068], [0089]-[0091]). Yamauchi teaches that the positive electrode includes an active material composed of crystals represented by general formula Nax(Ni1-aMa)yP2Oz (where M represents at least one transition metal element selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cr, Mn, and Co and the following are satisfied: 0.6≤x≤4, 0.3≤y≤2.7, 0≤a≤0.9, and 6≤z<7.5) ([0022]). Yamauchi provides examples of Na1.33Ni1.67P2O7.33, Na1.82Ni1.39P2O7, Na2NiP2O7, and more (see Tables 1-2, Examples 1-3). Yamauchi teaches that the negative electrode can be hard carbon ([0060]).
However, modified Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose a thickness ratio of the negative electrode layer to the positive electrode layer (negative electrode layer/positive electrode layer) is not less than 0.05 and not more than 0.45.
Zhu discloses a sodium ion secondary battery with a sodium supplement/replenishment source, that replenishes active sodium lost during first charge-discharge process (abstract, [0024]). The replenishment adds sodium to compensate for capacity loss, and results in a battery with superior overall performance, improving the battery's initial coulombic efficiency, cycle performance, and storage performance ([0024]). Zhu teaches the material thickness ratio TN/P is the ratio of thickness of the negative electrode to positive electrode, and is in the range of 0.16-5.72 ([0040]). The material thickness ratio can be 0.16-0.22, 0.22-0.32, 0.32-0.42 and 0.42-0.52 ([0040]). Zhu teaches that by limiting the thickness ratio in this range, the amount of sodium replenished can be controlled, resulting in a sodium-replenished secondary battery with optimal overall performance ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the material thickness ratio of TN/P (including the ranges of 0.16-0.22, 0.22-0.32, 0.32-0.42 and 0.42-0.52) as taught by Zhu with the battery of Yamauchi for the purpose of having a sodium replenishment thereby improving the battery's initial coulombic efficiency, cycle performance, and storage performance.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725