DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of the elected and withdrawn claims do not present a serious search burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because as stated in the requirement for restriction dated 11/14/2025, and further established below, the features of the separate groups do not present a special technical feature to establish unity of invention. Further, the withdrawn claims require different search strategies, field of search, and claim scope analysis.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/31/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “and/or that an amount of the fluid” in line 3 should read -and/or an amount of the fluid-.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations which utilize “means” and their interpretation under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) are as follows:
“tempering means” in claim 6. However, no specific structure is disclosed to perform the function of “tempering”. Instead, the disclosure appears to only have generic boxes as the structure of the means (See Fig. 1 numerals 15 and 16).
“fluid supplying means” in claim 7. However, no specific structure is disclosed to perform the function of “fluid supplying”. Instead, the disclosure appears to only have generic boxes as the structure of the means (See Fig. 1 numeral 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In reference to claims 6 and 7:
Claim limitations “tempering means” and “fluid supplying means” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. As stated above, the disclosure appears to only have generic boxes as the structure of the means. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US20140327178A1).
In reference to claim 1:
Davis discloses a method for manufacturing a preform element used for manufacturing a rotor blade of a wind turbine (paras 0001, 0013), wherein the preform element comprises one or more components (para 0013) provided with at least one adhesive agent (para 0028), wherein the one of more components are arranged on a molding surface of a mold (Fig. 4), at least one bladder is arranged on top of the one or more components (Fig. 4) and at least one fluid is supplied to the at least one bladder for heating of the at least one adhesive agent (para 0013).
In reference to claim 2:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, Davis inherently discloses wherein first a heated fluid is filled into the at least one bladder, wherein after a heating period the at least one bladder is removed from the one or more components (the at least one bladder would inherently need to be removed from the one or more components in order to remove the component from the mold and/or to use the component. See MPEP 2112).
In reference to claim 3:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, Davis further discloses wherein the at least one bladder comprises at least two connections (Fig. 5), wherein the at least one fluid is continuously added and discharged from the at least one bladder through the at least two connections during heating of the at least one adhesive agent (paras 0030, 0035).
In reference to claim 5:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Davis further discloses wherein a liquid is supplied to the at least one bladder, the liquid being water (para 0037).
In reference to claim 6:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Davis further discloses wherein a temperature of a fluid supplied to the at least one bladder is set by a tempering means in dependence of a measured temperature of the mold measured by at least one temperature sensor (para 0036).
In reference to claim 8:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Davis further discloses wherein a plurality of bladders are arranged on top of the one or more components wherein at least two of the plurality of bladders are filled with a fluid at a different temperature (paras 0033-0036).
In reference to claim 9:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Davis further discloses wherein a bladder comprising at least one heat insulating surface is used, wherein the bladder is arranged in such manner that the at least one heat insulating surface is arranged opposite to the one or more components and the mold (para 0030, Fig. 3, as the partitions 60 extend away from the work surface to an opposite surface the partitions are interpreted as having a “heat insulating surface arranged opposite to the one or more components and the mold”. See MPEP 2111).
In reference to claim 10:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Davis further discloses wherein the one or more components are arranged on the molding surface within a vacuum bag (para 0029, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Broome (US20240066810A1).
In reference to claim 1:
Broome discloses a method for manufacturing a preform element used for manufacturing a rotor blade of a wind turbine (abstract), wherein the preform element comprises one or more components (abstract) provided with at least one adhesive agent (abstract), wherein the one of more components are arranged on a molding surface of a mold (Fig. 4 numeral 316 meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “mold”. See MPEP 2111.), at least one bladder is arranged on top of the one or more components (Fig. 4 showing bladder 300 arranged on top of component 126), and at least one fluid is supplied to the at least one bladder for heating of the at least one adhesive agent (para 0076).
In reference to claim 2:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Broome further discloses wherein first a heated fluid is filled into the at least one bladder (para 0076), wherein after a heating period, the heated fluid is removed from the at least one bladder (para 0074).
In reference to claim 3:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Broome further discloses wherein the at least one bladder comprises at least two connections (Fig. 8 numerals 337 and 342), wherein the at least one fluid is continuously added and discharged from the at least one bladder through the at least two connections during heating or cooling of the at least one adhesive agent (paras 0073, 0074, and 0076.
In reference to claim 6:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Broome further discloses wherein a temperature of a fluid supplied to the at least one bladder is set by a tempering means (in dependence of a measured temperature of the one or more components, the at least one adhesive agent, the at least one bladder and/or the mold measured by at least one temperature sensor (paras 0074, 0076).
In reference to claim 7:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Broome further discloses wherein an amount of the fluid supplied to the at least one bladder by a fluid supplying means and/or that an amount of the fluid kept in the at least one bladder during the heating and/or cooling of the at least one adhesive agent is set in dependence of a measured pressure at or in the one or more components measured by at least one pressure sensor (paras 0071-0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Graham (US20040113315A1).
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Davis does not disclose wherein at least one bladder arranged underneath the mold is used, wherein the bladder is expanded by the fluid in such manner that the bladder is at least sectionally in direct contact with a backside of the mold opposite to the molding surface. However, this is taught by Graham. Graham teaches a method for forming a composite component (abstract). Graham further teaches using a bladder arranged underneath the mold which is expanded by the fluid such that the bladder is at least sectionally in direct contact with a backside of the mold opposite the molding surface (paras 0192, 0196, Fig. 15) allows for relatively uniforms pressure and temperature distribution across the surface of the mold assembly and layup (para 0195). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Davis with the below the mold bladder of Graham in order to obtain a method which allows for relatively uniforms pressure and temperature distribution across the surface of the mold assembly and layup.
Conclusion
/ANDREW L SWANSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745