DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I claims 16-30 and 33 directed to a woven fabric for manufacture having an area weight from 50 to 300 g/m2. Accordingly, claims 31-32 are withdrawn from consideration at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al., U.S. Patent Number 4,320,160.
Regarding claims 16-19, 23, 25-26, 28-29, 33, the abstract discloses a fabric structure for fiber reinforced plastic. Figure 1 shows a woven fabric. Table 1 discloses that the fabric has an area weight of 169 g/m2.
Column 6, lines 13-14 and column 6, lines 30-37 discloses auxiliary yarns 3’ which can include glass fibers, polypropylene or polyamide fibers. Figure 1 also shows that the auxiliary fibers 3’ run parallel to one another [unidirectional] in the warp direction. Examiner is corresponding the auxiliary fibers 3’ to Applicant’s a) unidirectional reinforcing fibers arranged in the warp directing comprising glass fibers.
Column 2, lines 38-44 discloses reinforcing yarns 2 running parallel in the weft direction. Column 6, lines 23-29 discloses that the reinforcing filamentary yarns include carbon fibers composed of multifilament yarns having an average diameter in the range of 3 to 15 µm Carbon fiber is electrically conductive. Examiner is corresponding reinforcing yarns 2 to Applicant’s b) electrically conductive fibers.
Column 6, lines 13-14 and column 6, lines 30-37 discloses auxiliary yarns 3 which can include glass fibers, polypropylene or polyamide fibers. Figure 1 also shows that the auxiliary fibers 3 run parallel to one another [unidirectional] in the warp direction. Examiner is corresponding the auxiliary fibers 3 to Applicant’s c) flow passages.
Column 7, lines 46-47 discloses that a resin is intruded into spaces of the auxiliary filamentary yarns.
Figure 1 shows the auxiliary yarns 3 being transverse to the reinforcing yarns 3’.
Applicant’s claim 1 does not require an additive as the range for the additive can include 0%..
Regarding claim 20, Nishimura is silent to the flow passages elements having a diameter of 50 to 350 µm. Nishimura discloses that the auxiliary yarns [include Examiner’s interpreted flow passage elements] for integrally fixing the reinforcing yarns characterized that elongation break of the auxiliary yarns is at least two times higher than the elongation at break for the reinforcing fibers. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the diameter of the auxiliary yarns to 50 to 350 µm for the benefit of providing enhanced strength of the auxiliary yarns for integrally fixing the reinforcing yarns through enhanced elongation at break.
Nishimura is silent to the unidirectional reinforcing fibers being present in the amount of 30 to 75% by weight; the electrically conductive fibers being present in the amount 20 to 50% by weight and the flow passage elements being present in the amount of 2 to 10%by weight. Column 1, lines 48-57 discloses that the fabric for an FRP including two yarn groups composed of reinforcing fibers and auxiliary fibers is excellent in specific strength and specific modulus. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would optimize the unidirectional reinforcing fibers being present in the amount of 30 to 75% by weight; the electrically conductive fibers being present in the amount 20 to 50% by weight and the flow passage elements being present in the amount of 2 to 10%by weight for the benefit of enhanced strength and modulus of the fabric.
Regarding claim 21, Nishimura is silent to the spacing distance between the flow passages being positioned from one another of 2 to 8 mm from each other. Figure 1 of Nishimura shows the flow passage elements being spaced apart from one another. Nishimura discloses that the auxiliary yarns [include Examiner’s interpreted flow passage elements] for integrally fixing the reinforcing yarns characterized that elongation break of the auxiliary yarns is at least two times higher than the elongation at break for the reinforcing fibers. One of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the spacing distance between flow passage passages being 2 to 8 mm apart from each other enhanced strength of the auxiliary yarns for integrally fixing the reinforcing yarns.
Regarding claim 22, column 6, lines 13-14 and column 6, lines 30-37 discloses auxiliary yarns 3 which can include glass fibers, polypropylene or polyamide fibers wherein the filament yarns are composed of 100 to 800 filaments. Figure 1 also shows that the auxiliary fibers 3 run parallel to one another [unidirectional] in the warp direction. Examiner is corresponding the auxiliary fibers 3 to Applicant’s c) flow passages.
Regarding claims 24 and 27, column 5, lines 23-26 discloses that the carbon fibers are composed of 1,000 to 30,000 filaments.
Regarding claim 30, Nishimura teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach that the woven fabric has a resistance in the range < 20 ohm in warp and/or weft direction measured on a sample of 12 cm x 12 cm. It is reasonable to presume that the woven fabric has a resistance in the range < 20 ohm in warp and/or weft direction measured on a sample of 12 cm x 12 cm is inherent to Nishimura. Said presumption is based upon Nishimura’s disclosure of abstract discloses a fabric structure for fiber reinforced plastic. Figure 1 shows a woven fabric. Table 1 discloses that the fabric has an area weight of 169 g/m2. Column 6, lines 13-14 and column 6, lines 30-37 discloses auxiliary yarns 3’ which can include glass fibers, polypropylene or polyamide fibers. Figure 1 also shows that the auxiliary fibers 3’ run parallel to one another [unidirectional] in the warp direction. Examiner is corresponding the auxiliary fibers 3’ to Applicant’s a) unidirectional reinforcing fibers arranged in the warp directing comprising glass fibers. Column 2, lines 38-44 discloses reinforcing yarns 2 running parallel in the weft direction. Column 6, lines 23-29 discloses that the reinforcing filamentary yarns include carbon fibers composed of multifilament yarns having an average diameter in the range of 3 to 15 µm Carbon fiber is electrically conductive. Examiner is corresponding reinforcing yarns 2 to Applicant’s b) electrically conductive fibers. Column 6, lines 13-14 and column 6, lines 30-37 discloses auxiliary yarns 3 which can include glass fibers, polypropylene or polyamide fibers. Figure 1 also shows that the auxiliary fibers 3 run parallel to one another [unidirectional] in the warp direction. Examiner is corresponding the auxiliary fibers 3 to Applicant’s c) flow passages.
Column 7, lines 46-47 discloses that a resin is intruded into spaces of the auxiliary filamentary yarns. Figure 1 shows the auxiliary yarns 3 being transverse to the reinforcing yarns 3’.
Applicant’s claim 1 does not require an additive as the range for the additive can include 0%.
Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786