In the amendment filed on 02/12/26, applicants have amended claims 1 and cancelled claims 3-4. The 112 and 102-rejection over WO’339 have been withdrawn. However, claims 1-2, 5-12 and 14-20 have been found rejectable under 103 over WO’339 in view of Osawa (US 7,488,389) and EA 029349B1.99.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12, 14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021/204339 in view of Osawa (US 7,488,389), EA 029349B1 and CN 216368561U.
As to claim 1, WO'339 discloses (see Figs 1-4) a system (1) for coating an item
(12), comprising: a coating compartment (chamber 2), a support (shelve 14) arranged
within an interior of the coating compartment (2), wherein the support (14) is adapted to
receive the item, a reservoir containing a liquid coating solution (see page 11, lines 24-
26), the liquid coating solution comprising a coating agent mixed with a liquid bio-
solvent (see page 11, lines 27-31), a nozzle (sprayer 18) connected to the reservoir,
arranged within the interior of the coating compartment (chamber 2), and adapted to
selectively distribute the liquid coating solution to the item (see page 7, line 30-page 8,
line 2; page 8, line 27-page 9, line 10), a control unit (electrical means 17 and electronic display and input device 16) adapted to operate the system in a coating phase and a following evaporation phase (see claim 1 and 10 introduction of mist and supplying/extraction of air in controlled by electronic display and input device 16), an electric motor configured to rotate the support (see page 11, lines 12-16) and a climate property adjustment arrangement (heat generating units 6 and means for supplying air 4) connected to the control unit (16) and adapted to selectively adjust a climate property within the coating compartment (2), wherein: the nozzle (18) is activated by the control unit (16, 17) and distributes the liquid coating solution for at least a portion of the coating phase (see page 10, line 27-page 11, line 10; page 11, lines 17-23; claims 9, 10 and 14), a position of the nozzle is adjusted under the control of the control unit (14, 16) relative to the item for at least a portion of the coating phase (rotatable sprayers 18, see page 8, lines 11-14, the rotatable sprayers capable of adjusting the direction of spraying when the position of nozzles are adjusted), the support is rotated during the coating phase by the electric motor (see page 11, lines 12-16), and the climate property adjustment arrangement (4, 6) is activated for at least a portion of the evaporation phase (see page 10, line 27-page 11, line 10; page 11, lines 17-23; claims 8 and 10). WO'339 lacks specifically teaching the liquid coating solution distributed as a mist in a direction toward the item, the direction of the mist is adjusted by adjusting a position of the nozzle, the direction of the mist being dependent on the position of the nozzle relative to the support, and an actuator mechanically connected to the nozzle and electrically connected to the control unit, although rotatable sprayers 18 capable adjusting the direction of the mist/spraying are taught (see page 8, lines 11-14). However, the use of actuators to rotate nozzles within a chamber is known in the art; for instance; as taught by Osawa (see Figs 1-2, for an actuator (driving parts 12 and 14) controlling a position of the nozzle relative to the support and electrically connected to the control unit, wherein operation of the actuator controls a position of the nozzle relative to the support (see column 5, line 62- column 6, line 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include actuators mechanically connected to the nozzles and electrically connected to the control unit in WO339 to attain the desired rotational/angular positioning of the nozzles relative to the item treated within the chamber in evenly forming a uniform film on the target as taught by Osawa (see column 9, lines 1-3). With respect to the nozzle activated to distribute the coating solution as a mist and the position of the nozzle relative to the support direction of the mist, EA’349 teaches the liquid coating solution distributed as a mist in a direction toward the item (see Abstract and English translation on page 3 for nozzle creating mist and impregnating mist into the area of product in a predetermined position). CN’561 also teaches the position of the nozzle adjustable relative to the support/workpiece, the direction/position of the mist being dependent on the position of the nozzle relative to the support (see Abstract and English Translation on page 5 for adjustable atomizing nozzle 55 relative to the workpiece adjusting the spraying, the plate 74 is rotated by the driving moto 72). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the direction of the mist by adjusting the direction of the nozzle/atomizing nozzle in WO’339 to quickly and efficiently finish the spraying work of the workpiece piece and for comprehensive spraying operation as taught by CN’561 (see Abstract and English Translation on page 5).
As to claim 2, WO'339 teaches (see Figs 2-4 and page 2, lines 9-15) the climate
property adjustment arrangement (air condition unit) comprises at least one of: an
electrical heating means (heat generating units 6) adapted to increase a temperature
within the interior of the coating compartment, and an air circulating arrangement
(means for supplying air 4) adapted to circulate air within the interior of the coating
compartment.
With respect to claim 5, WO'339 teaches an air duct (means for supplying air 4)
having a first end (on top side of the chamber 2) connecting the air duct with an interior
of the coating compartment at a first position of the coating compartment (see Fig 3).
As to claim 6, in WO'339 the air duct (4) has a second end (at the bottom side of
the chamber) connecting the air duct with the interior of the coating compartment at a
second position of the coating compartment, the second position being different from
the first position (see Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, in WO'339 (see Figs 2-4 and page 2, lines 9-15) the climate
property adjustment arrangement (air condition unit) comprises the electrical heating
means (heat generating units 6) and the air circulating arrangement (means for
supplying or extracting air 4), and the electrical heating means (6) is arranged in
conjunction with the air circulating arrangement for circulating heated air within the
interior of the coating compartment.
As to claim 8, in WO'339 (see Figs 2-4) the air circulating arrangement (means
for supplying or extracting air 4) is capable of forcing air from within the interior of the
coating compartment into the air duct.
Regarding claim 9, the air circulating arrangement (4) is activated for at least a
portion of the coating phase (drying items, see page 9, lines 12-17).
As to claim 10, in WO'339 the air circulating arrangement generates a first air
volume flow during the coating phase and a second air volume flow during the
evaporation phase, the first air volume flow being lower than the second air flow volume
(see page 11, line 24-page 12, line 8).
Regarding claim 11, in WO'339 the electrical motor is capable of being activated
for at least a portion of the evaporation phase (see claim 1 and page 10, lines 33-34 for
creation of mist; page 11, lines 12-16 for a motor).
As to claim 12, WO'339 teaches the item is a body part item or a bag (see
Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, WO'339 teaches air tank comprising an air tank holding
compressed air (see page 11, lines 32-33 for a source of pressurized gas/air provided
with an air compressor), wherein the air tank is connected to the reservoir and provided
for atomizing the liquid coating solution using the nozzle (see page 11, lines 27-33 and
claim 1 for mist created).
Regarding claim 16, in WO'339 the liquid capable of comprising bio-solvent
comprises at least one of water and alcohol (solvent based organic and in organic
solvent base or water based, see page 4, lines 8-11; and page 6, lines 14-17).
As to claim 17, in WO'339 the electrical heating means (6) is controlled by the
control unit to keep an average temperature within the coating compartment above a
temperature exterior of the compartment during the evaporation phase (see page 7,
lines 13-16, page 7, line 27-page 8, line 2; and page 10, lines 26-32).
As to claim 19, WO'339 teaches (see Figs 3-4) at least one air directing portion
(part of means for supplying air 4) arranged within the coating compartment and
arranged to direct an air flow generated by the air circulating arrangement towards the
item (see Figs 3-4).
As to claim 20, in WO'339 the evaporation phase is between 20-100 seconds
(see pages 9-10 for 60-90 seconds method of impregnation fluid/mist).
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO2021/204339 in view of Osawa (US 7,488,389) EA 029349B1 and CN 216368561U as applied to claim 1 further in view of WO-2014135166A1.
As to claim 15, WO'339 teaches an electrical control means (16, 17), but lacks
teaching a valve connected to the control unit. However, WO'166 teaches a valve
connected to the control unit for selectively distributing the liquid coating solution to the
item (see claims 5 and 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a valve in WO'339 to
issue impregnating agent at different times as taught by WO'166 (see page 6, lines 17-
22).
As to claim 18, WO'339 teaches the air circulating arrangement comprises a fan
(see page 6, lines 21-24), but lacks teaching a filter. However, WO'166 teaches (see
Fig 1) filter unit (51) for the extraction unit 50. It would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include
a filter in WO'339 to neutralize any odors as taught by WO'166 (see page 11, lines 2-3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 5-12 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/