Note
Applicant’s response filed on 06/11/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 1-20 are pending and claims 13-15 are withdrawn as non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer (US 5,162,145).
Claim 1: Schaefer teaches a windshield (col. 4, line 33) comprising an outside silicate glass sheet 1 (col. 4, lines 31-32), a filtering band 7 (col. 4, line 49) in a pattern form of 7a and 7b (col. 5, lines 6 and 21), a thermoplastic interlayer 3 (col. 4, line 36) and an inside silicate glass sheet 2 (col. 4, line 32) in the order thereof (Fig. 2). The outside silicate glass sheet 1 meets the claimed outer pane, the filtering band 7 along the engine side of the windshield meets the claimed transparent cover print, the thermoplastic interlayer 3 meets the claimed thermoplastic intermediate layer, the inside silicate glass sheet 2 meets the claimed inner pane. Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 is a transparent enamel layer (col. 4, line 55). Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 is at least arranged along an engine edge and extends from the engine edge in a direction of a roof edge of the windshield (Fig. 1). Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 projects at least partially into the A field of view (main field of vision) of the windshield (Fig. 1).
Schaefer teaches the transparent enamel can have a transparency of 0-40% (col. 1, line 43). Schaefer also teaches the degree of coverage in the end section of 7b reaches about 5% (col. 5, lines 26). Schaefer does not teach the claimed light transmission range in the main field of vision of the filtering band 7. However, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the light transmission, and the motivation would be to provide unobstructed, see through area of the windshield that a driver be able to see the road ahead clearly. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 2: With respect to the area of the filtering band 7, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the area of the filtering band, and the motivation would be to control light and heat radiations (abstract), to provide desired tinted effect (col. 2, line 21) and to enhance outside appearance (col. 2, line 25). A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 3: With respect to the area of the filtering band 7, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the area of the filtering band, and the motivation would be to control light and heat radiations (abstract), to provide desired tinted effect (col. 2, line 21) and to enhance outside appearance (col. 2, line 25). A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 4: Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 is a transparent enamel layer (col. 4, line 55).
Claim 5: Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 is provided between the outside silicate glass sheet 1 and the thermoplastic interlayer 3 (Fig. 2).
Claim 6: Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 (col. 4, line 49) is provided in pattern forms of 7a and 7b (col. 5, lines 6 and 21) formed of a plurality of dots (col. 5, lines 9-29). The dots in the filtering band 7 meets the claimed print region, and the area not covered by the dotes meets the claimed non-print region.
Claim 7: Schaefer teaches the coverage in the 7b area could be about 5% (col. 5, line 26) which overlaps with the claimed 1-60%.
Claim 9: Schaefer teaches the enamel is bakable and contains glass (col. 1, lines 40-41). It is well established that glass is made of silicon oxide.
Claim 10: Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 is a transparent enamel layer (col. 4, line 55). It is well established that enamel layer by nature is a porous structure. With respect to the pore size of the porous structure, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the pore size, and the motivation would be to control the adhesive property of the layer. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 11: Schaefer teaches the thermoplastic interlayer 3 can be made of polyvinyl butyral (col. 4, line 37).
Claim 16: With respect to the area of the filtering band 7, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the area of the filtering band, and the motivation would be to control light and heat radiations (abstract), to provide desired tinted effect (col. 2, line 21) and to enhance outside appearance (col. 2, line 25). A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 17: With respect to the area of the filtering band 7, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the area of the filtering band, and the motivation would be to control light and heat radiations (abstract), to provide desired tinted effect (col. 2, line 21) and to enhance outside appearance (col. 2, line 25). A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 18: Schaefer teaches the transparent enamel can have a transparency of 0-40% (col. 1, line 43). Schaefer also teaches the degree of coverage in the end section of 7b reaches about 5% (col. 5, lines 26). Schaefer does not teach the claimed light transmission range in the main field of vision of the filtering band 7. However, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the light transmission, and the motivation would be to provide unobstructed, see through area of the windshield that a driver be able to see the road ahead clearly. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 19: Schaefer teaches the filtering band 7 (col. 4, line 49) is provided in pattern forms of 7a and 7b (col. 5, lines 6 and 21) formed of a plurality of dots (col. 5, lines 9-29). The dots in the filtering band 7 meets the claimed print region, the area not covered by the dotes meets the claimed non-print region and the dots meet the claimed punctiform.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer (US 5,162,145) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nishikawa (US 2008/0129073 A1).
Schaefer teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 12: Schaefer does not teach the thickness of each of the outside silicate glass sheet 1 and inside silicate glass sheet 2. However, Nishikawa teaches a windshield comprising an exterior side glass 1 of 2 mm thickness, a laminated two interlayer films and an interior side plate glass 2 of 2 mm thickness (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and [0029]). Schaefer and Nishikawa are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the windshield art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Nishikawa, (i.e., proving glasses each having a thickness of 2mm) with the invention of Schaefer, and the motivation for combining would be to control noise and prevent shattering of the windshield).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Schaefer teaches the dots in the filtering band 7 are spaced apart 0.5-2 mm (0.05-0.2 cm). However, Schaefer does not teach or suggest the dots are spaced apart 1-50 cm as recited in claim 8 and 2-30 cm as recited in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument is based on that Schaefer does not disclose, teach or suggest the first partial region with a transparent cover print projects at least partially into the A field of view of the windshield according to ECE-R 43, and that there is no reference is made to ECE-R 43, to the definition of the A field of view under ECE-R 43, or to any disclosure in Schaefer that its filtering band is positioned within Zone A as that zone is technically defined. This argument is not persuasive for the following reasons. “A field of view” through a windshield generally corresponds to the main forward field of vision while driving. Schaefer teaches the degree of coverage in the end section of 7b reaches about 5% (Fig. 1 and col. 5, lines 26). The claimed term “partially” does not specify a specific dimension; thus term “partially” is broad in terms of limiting the area of the claimed first partial region X. Similarly, the filtering band 7 projects partially into the A field of view of the windshield (Fig. 1).
Applicant further argued that the filtering band 7 is placed in the upper area of the windshield, that is, adjacent to the roof edge (the top of the windshield as installed in the vehicle). This argument is not persuasive for the following reason. Filtering band 7 of Schaefer is also placed in the lower area of the windshield that is adjacent to the engine edge (see Fig. 1).
Applicant also argued that Applicant's first partial region X, by contrast, is arranged along the engine edge (M), i.e. the bottom edge of the windshield as installed in the vehicle, adjacent to the hood, and that the first partial region extends upward from the engine edge toward the roof edge; thus this is a fundamentally different region of the windshield from Schaefer's filtering band. This argument is not persuasive for the following reason. The claimed term “partially” does not specify a specific dimension; thus term “partially” is broad in terms of limiting the area of the claimed first partial region X.
Applicant’s argument is based on that if Schaefer's filtering band were positioned within Zone A, Schaefer's windshield product would fail the ECE-R 43 Zone A transmission requirement and could not be lawfully approved or sold as an automotive windshield. This argument is not persuasive for the following reason. Schaefer teaches the transparent enamel can have a transparency of 0-40% (col. 1, line 43) and the degree of coverage in the end section of 7b reaches about 5% (col. 5, lines 26). There is nothing that teaches the area of 7b is opaque.
Applicant’s argument is based on that Schaefer's bakable enamel achieves a transparency of 0 to 40% at most (col. 1, line 43) but the claimed minimum transmission for the windshield in the first partial region is 70%; therefore, the claimed value is not merely outside the preferred range taught by Schaefer, it is well beyond Schaefer's stated maximum, by a margin of at least 30 percentage points. This argument is not persuasive for the following reason. The 0-40% range of transparency is not the transparency of the windshield but it is the transparency of the enamel (see col. 1, line 43 of Schaefer). Scheafer also teaches the coverage of the enamel in 7b region is about 5% not a 100% coverage. Since Scheafer does not expressly teach the claimed light transmission range in the main field of vision of the filtering band 7, the Office showed that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the light transmission, and the motivation would be to provide unobstructed, see through area of the windshield that a driver be able to see the road ahead clearly. In addition, the current invention does not show the criticality of the claimed “at least 70%” range.
Applicant’s argument is based on that Schaefer does not teach that its print is colorless; and the "transparent enamel layer" mentioned by Schaefer corresponds to the matrix of the enamel, which further includes noble metals to color the enamel. This argument is not persuasive for the following reasons. Scheafer teaches, at least in one embodiment, the filtering band 7 has a clear optical appearance transparency (page 5, lines 19-20), wherein “clear” meets the claimed colorless.
For the above reasons claims 1-7, 9-12 and 16-19 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
BS
August 25, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785