DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) independent claims under combination of prior arts have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Maksumov (US pg. no. 20160127514).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10, and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Taking claim 5 as a representative,
1/the claims recite:
“the first data model includes a plurality of first data model properties, which are predetermined, including the property of the first data model and a plurality of first data model higher-order properties, which are predetermined, including the higher-order property of the first data model”
-The above limitation states “the first data model includes a plurality of first data model properties, which are predetermined, including the property of the first data model”.
It states the first data model includes first data model properties including the property of the first data model. This statement is not clear.
-further the above limitation recites:
“the first data model includes a plurality of first data model properties, which are predetermined, including the property of the first data model and a plurality of first data model higher-order properties, which are predetermined, including the higher-order property of the first data model” is not clear.
This statement seems a fragment. It is not clear if the limitation is claiming about the property of the first data model or first data model higher-order properties.
2/The claim further recites the following limitation:
“the second data model includes a plurality of second data model properties, which are predetermined, including the property of the second data model and a plurality of second data model higher-order properties, which are predetermined, including the higher-order property of the second data model”
-The limitation states “the second data model includes a plurality of second data model properties, which are predetermined, including the property of the second data model”. It states the second data model includes second data model properties including the property of the second data model. This statement is not clear.
-further the above limitation recites:
“the first data model includes a plurality of first data model properties, which are predetermined, including the property of the first data model and a plurality of first data model higher-order properties, which are predetermined, including the higher-order property of the first data model”
Is not clear if it is claiming about the property of the second data model or second data model higher-order properties. Hence, the claims as written are not clear and rendering the limits and bounds of the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maksumov (US pg. no. 20160127514), further in view of Mazur (US pat. No. 11750715).
Regarding claim 1. A relay device (fig. 1, 120 gateway device), comprising:
A first communication interface to communicate with a first device whose communication protocol is a first protocol ([0019-0020] and fig.4 discloses a plurality of network interfaces (e.g., network interfaces 192, 194, and 196) is provided to interface the gateway 170 to devices 142, 144, and 146. [0020] The gateway 170 is configured to facilitate communications between devices 142, 144, and 146 and the gateway 170 using different data protocols and data formats; fig.7 discloses interface 192 interfacing first device 142 with gateway 700 via first protocol);
A second communication interface to communicate with a second device whose communication protocol is a second protocol that is different from the first protocol ([0019-0020] and fig.4 discloses a plurality of network interfaces (e.g., network interfaces 192, 194, and 196) is provided to interface the gateway 170 to devices 142, 144, and 146. [0020] The gateway 170 is configured to facilitate communications between devices 142, 144, and 146 and the gateway 170 using different data protocols and data formats; fig. 7 discloses interface 194 to interface second protocol 164 of second device 144 with gateway 700);
A conversion table storage to store a first conversion table for a first data model corresponding to the first protocol and being application level format (fig. 7 discloses data 152 in first data format 153 is received from first device 142 via first protocol 162 through interface 192 at gateway 700. The first adapter module 704 of gateway 700 convert the first data format 153 (corresponds to being in application level format) to common data format 151. The conversion table used by the first data adapter module corresponds to first conversion table; [0025] discloses the data adapter modules 110 of the gateway 200 are configured to convert or change the format of incoming and outgoing data. In an example embodiment, the data adapter modules 110 may be configured to convert data between the first data format 153 (first data model) and the common data format 151 (The conversion table used to interconvert corresponds to first conversion table); convert data between the second data format 155 and the common data format 151 (The conversion table used to interconvert corresponds to second conversion table), Accordingly, in an example embodiment, three data adapter modules may be provided (table comprising mapping information for each data adapter module corresponds to conversion table). It will be appreciated that each of the data adapter modules 110 may be specifically customized for conversion of a particular data format to and from the common data format 151) and
a second conversion table for a second data model corresponding to the second protocol and being application-level format(fig. 7 discloses data 702 from second device 144 in second data format 155 via second protocol 164 is communicated to gateway 700 through interface 194. Second data adapter module 706 of gateway 700 interconverts between second data format 155 and common data format 151 (second higher-order format). The conversion table of data adapter module 706 to interconvert between the two formats corresponds to the second conversion table; [0025] discloses the data adapter modules 110 of the gateway 200 are configured to convert or change the format of incoming and outgoing data. In an example embodiment, the data adapter modules 110 may be configured to convert data between the first data format 153 (first data model) and the common data format 151 (The conversion table used to interconvert corresponds to first conversion table); convert data between the second data format 155 and the common data format 151 (The conversion table used to interconvert corresponds to second conversion table), Accordingly, in an example embodiment, three data adapter modules may be provided (table comprising mapping information for each data adapter module corresponds to conversion table). It will be appreciated that each of the data adapter modules 110 may be specifically customized for conversion of a particular data format to and from the common data format 151), the first conversion table being a table in which a property of the first data model is corresponded to a higher-order property of the property of the first data model (fig. 7 discloses data 152 in first data format 153 is received from first device 142 via first protocol 162 through interface 192 at gateway 700. The first adapter module 704 of gateway 700 convert the first data format 153 (corresponds to being in application level format) to common data format 151. The conversion table used by the first data adapter module corresponds to first conversion table; [0025] discloses the data adapter modules 110 of the gateway 200 are configured to convert or change the format of incoming and outgoing data. In an example embodiment, the data adapter modules 110 may be configured to convert data between the first data format 153 (first data model) and the common data format 151 (higher-order property), convert data between the second data format 155 and the common data format 151, and configured to convert data between the third data format 157 and the common data format 151. Accordingly, in an example embodiment, three data adapter modules may be provided. It will be appreciated that each of the data adapter modules 110 may be specifically customized for conversion of a particular data format to and from the common data format 151. Table comprising mapping information for each data adapter module to interconvert among data models correspond to corresponding conversion table)), the second conversion table being a table in which a property of the second data model is corresponded to a higher-order property of the property of the second data model (fig. 7 discloses data 702 from second device 144 in second data format 155 via second protocol 164 is communicated to gateway 700 through interface 194. Second data adapter module 706 of gateway 700 interconverts between second data format 155 and common data format 151 (second higher-order format). The conversion table of data adapter module 706 to interconvert between the two formats corresponds to the second conversion table; [0025] and fig. 6 discloses the data adapter modules 110 of the gateway 200 are configured to convert or change the format of incoming and outgoing data. In an example embodiment, the data adapter modules 110 may be configured to convert data between the first data format 153 (first data model) and the common data format 151 (higher-order property), convert data between the second data format 155 and the common data format 151, and configured to convert data between the third data format 157 and the common data format 151. Accordingly, in an example embodiment, three data adapter modules may be provided. It will be appreciated that each of the data adapter modules 110 may be specifically customized for conversion of a particular data format to and from the common data format 151. Table comprising mapping information for each data adapter module to interconvert among data models correspond to conversion table);
the property of the first data model(fig. 7 data 152 with first format 153), the property of the second data model (fig. 7 data 702 with format 155), the higher order property of the first data model (fig. 7 common data format 151), and the higher order property of the second data model(fig. 7 common data format 151), are predetermined, the higher-order property of the first data model and the higher-order property of the second data model share a common format ([0025] and fig. 6 discloses the data adapter modules 110 of the gateway 200 are configured to convert or change the format of incoming and outgoing data. In an example embodiment, the data adapter modules 110 may be configured to convert data between the first data format 153 (first data model) and the common data format 151 (corresponds to first higher-order property), convert data between the second data format 155 (second data model) and the common data format 151 (corresponds the second higher-order format), and configured to convert data between the third data format 157 and the common data format 151. Accordingly, in an example embodiment, three data adapter modules may be provided. It will be appreciated that each of the data adapter modules 110 may be specifically customized for conversion of a particular data format to and from the common data format 151. Table comprising mapping information for each data adapter module to interconvert among data models correspond to conversion table); and
a circuitry configured to:
in response to a communication frame from the first device being received wherein the communication frame includes the property of the first data model(fig. 7 discloses first device 142 sends data 152 in first format 153 (property of the first data model) using first protocol 162 to gateway 700 via interface 192; fig. 6 602 discloses gateway receives a communication using a first protocol from a first device, the communication including data in a first format), converting the property included in the communication frame into the higher-order property corresponded to the property by the first conversion table ( fig. 7 discloses first data adapter module 704 of gateway 700 converts the received data 152 to common data format 151 (higher-order property). The conversion table used by data adapter module corresponds to first conversion table; fig. 6, 606-608 discloses wherein a corresponding data adapter module (e.g., one of the data adapter modules 110) is selected to convert the data in the first format 153 to data in the common data format 151 (see operation 608 and FIG. 7), and convert the higher-order property into the property of the second data model corresponded to the higher-order property by the second conversion table (fig. 6, 602-616 discloses gateway receives data from the first data in first data format and first protocol at 602; at 604-606 gateway selects protocol adapter and data adapter for the first data format and the first protocol; At 608; convert the data in the first data format to a common data format; at 612-614 selects a second data adapter to convert the common format data to a second format; at 616 send the received data using a second protocol in a second data format to a second device; fig. 7 discloses data from first device 142 using first protocol in first format is converted to common format. The common format is converted to second format and communicated to second device 144 in second format using second protocol), and
in response to a communication frame from the second device being received wherein the communication frame includes the property of the second data model (fig. 7data 702 in second data format), convert the property included in the communication frame into the higher-order property corresponded to the property by the second conversion table (fig. 7 discloses data 702 in second data format 155 is converted to common data format 151 by second data adapter module 706 of gateway 700), and convert the higher property into a property of the first data model corresponded to the property by the first conversion table (fig. 6; fig. 7 fig. 6, 602-616 discloses gateway receives data from the first data in first data format and first protocol at 602; at 604-606 gateway selects protocol adapter and data adapter for the first data format and the first protocol; At 608; convert the data in the first data format to a common data format; at 612-614 selects a second data adapter to convert the common format data to a second format; at 616 send the received data using a second protocol in a second data format to a second device. The system is capable of interconvert data communication between the two devices both direction; [0020] discloses The gateway 170 is configured to facilitate communications (e.g., see communications 132, 134, and 136) between devices 142, 144, and 146 and the gateway 170 using different data protocols and data formats (e.g., see FIG. 3). To this end, the gateway 170 communicates with the first device 142, the second device 134, and the third device 136 and converts data 152, 154, and 156 (see FIG. 3) from the first device 142, the second device 144, and the third device 146, respectively into the common data format 151);
But, Maksumov does not explicitly disclose:
generate a communication frame conforming to the second protocol and including the property of the second data model obtained by the data model, and transmit the communication frame which is generated to the second device, and
generate a communication frame conforming to the first protocol and including the property of the first data model obtained by the data model conversion means, and transmit the communication frame which is generated to the first device;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mazur discloses generate a communication frame conforming to the second protocol and including the property of the second data model obtained by the data model, and transmit the communication frame which is generated to the second device (fig. 4 discloses receive data from industrial automation device (first device); convert the data from protocol used by the industrial automation device to a common protocol (higher-order property); retrieve common protocol data corresponding to the parameter from memory; convert the common protocol data into a protocol used by the control system; transmit the converted data to the control system (second device). The component that generates frame (packet) after conversion to transmit to the control system corresponds to communication frame transmission means);
generate a communication frame conforming to the first protocol and including the property of the first data model obtained by the data model conversion means, and transmit the communication frame which is generated to the first device (claim 3. discloses the second industrial automation device is configured to transmit the automation command to the first industrial automation device via the broker system (relay device), and wherein the broker system is configured to receiving the automation command in the second protocol from the second industrial automation device (second device); converting the automation command from the second protocol to the third protocol (higher-order/common format); converting the automation command from the third protocol to the first protocol; and transmitting the automation command in the first protocol to the first industrial automation device. The component that generates frame (packet) after conversion to transmit to the industrial automation device corresponds to communication frame transmission means);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Maksumov with Mazur. The modification would allow less inter-conversion of data among protocols by first converting to common format and performing the final conversion from the common format that reduces the number of conversions preformed among a plurality of protocols as a result enabling efficient utilization of resources for an efficient networking system.
Regarding claim 2. The combination discloses relay device according to claim 1,
Maksumov further discloses wherein the circuitry obtains the first conversion table from the first device, saves the obtained first conversion table in the conversion table storage, obtains the second conversion table from the second device, and saving the obtained second conversion table in the conversion table storage means (fig. 6, 602-616 discloses gateway receives data from the first data in first data format and first protocol at 602; at 604-606 gateway selects protocol adapter and data adapter for the first data format and the first protocol; At 608; convert the data in the first data format to a common data format; at 612-614 selects a second data adapter to convert the common format data to a second format; at 616 send the received data using a second protocol in a second data format to a second device. AT the beginning of establishing connection between the first device and the gateway and the second device and the gateway, negotiations happen how to translate the first protocol to the common format and vice versa and translating the common format to the second protocol and vice versa. The translation rule information exchanged in the negotiation of the first device with the gateway and the second device with the gateway to perform conversion between respective protocols and the common format corresponds to obtained conversion table).
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses a relay method, comprising:
All other limitations of claim 3 are similar with eth limitations of claim 1 above. Claim 3 is rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4. The combination discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program, the program causing a computer including:
first communication interface for communicating with a first device whose communication protocol is a first protocol (fig. 7, interface 192 and device 142 with first protocol),
second communication interface for communicating with a second device whose communication protocol is a second protocol that is different from the first protocol (fig..7 interface 194 and device 144 with second protocol), and
All other limitations of claim 4 are similar with the limitations of claim 1. Claim 4 is rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5. The relay device according to claim 1.
Maksumov discloses, wherein the first data model includes a plurality of first data model properties ([0046] the device data 528 may be “thermometer”, which may be a device that provides the service as described above. The properties of the data of the thermometer from device 142 corresponds to first data model property), which are predetermined, including the property of the first data model and a plurality of first data model higher-order properties, which are predetermined, including the higher-order property of the first data model ([0027] discloses [0027] Thus, data in various different formats, and communicated using various different protocols, can be stored in a common data format 151 and processed by various application module(s) 102; [0030] The data 152, 154, 156 may also include metadata. In example embodiments, the metadata may describe properties of the data 152, 154, 156, and/or the first format 153, the second format 155, and the third format 157. In example embodiments, the metadata provides information so as to facilitate conversion of the data into the common data format 151),
the second data model includes a plurality of second data model properties, which are predetermined, including the property of the second data model and a plurality of second data model higher-order properties, which are predetermined, including the higher-order property of the second data model ([0027] discloses data in various different formats, and communicated using various different protocols, can be stored in a common data format 151 and processed by various application module(s) 102; [0030] The data 152, 154, 156 may also include metadata. In example embodiments, the metadata may describe properties of the data 152, 154, 156, and/or the first format 153, the second format 155, and the third format 157. In example embodiments, the metadata provides information so as to facilitate conversion of the data into the common data format 151),
the first conversion table is adapted such that one or more of the plurality of first data model properties can be corresponded to a single one of the plurality of first data model higher- order properties, the second conversion table is adapted such one or more of the plurality of second data model properties can be corresponded to a single one of the plurality of second data model higher-order properties, and the plurality of first data model higher-order properties and the plurality of second data model higher-order properties share the common format ([0027] discloses data in various different formats, and communicated using various different protocols, can be stored in a common data format 151 and processed by various application module(s) 102; [0030] The data 152, 154, 156 may also include metadata. In example embodiments, the metadata may describe properties of the data 152, 154, 156, and/or the first format 153, the second format 155, and the third format 157. In example embodiments, the metadata provides information so as to facilitate conversion of the data into the common data format 151).
Regarding claim 6.The combination discloses relay device according to claim 1.
Maksumov discloses, wherein the first device is an air-conditioning device, a lighting device, or a sensor ([0023] discloses one or more of the devices 142, 144, and 146 may include components to monitor and/or control industrial machines, components that include sensors to sense operating parameters of machines, or the like).
Regarding claim 7. The relay device according to claim 1.
Maksumov discloses, wherein the first device is a home appliance, the relay device is adapted to a system for controlling home appliances including the home appliance, the second device is a controller that performs centralized control over the home appliances ([0056] discloses when the device 142 forms a component or part of an industrial machine (home appliance). As shown by way of example in FIG. 8, data 802 may be sent from the first device 142 to the gateway 170 where it is processed in accordance with the method 600. Thereafter, the data may be processed into fused data. The fused data may then be converted (see operation 804) and communicated (see operation 810) to a third device 146 (second device) in the form of a mobile device. The data may then be processed or viewed using a mobile application running on the mobile device. In an example embodiment, the mobile application may allow a user to control operation of one or more industrial machines), and the property of the first data model, the higher-order property of the first data model, the property of the second data model, and the higher-order property of the second data model indicate intrinsic functions of the home appliance ([0056] discloses when the device 142 forms a component or part of an industrial machine (home appliance). As shown by way of example in FIG. 8, data 802 may be sent from the first device 142 to the gateway 170 where it is processed in accordance with the method 600. Thereafter, the data may be processed into fused data. The fused data may then be converted (see operation 804) and communicated (see operation 810) to a third device 146 (second device) in the form of a mobile device. The data may then be processed or viewed using a mobile application running on the mobile device. In an example embodiment, the mobile application may allow a user to control operation of one or more industrial machines. Fig. 7 discloses the data communicated from device 142 to device 146 changes data format and protocol format corresponding to the first device 142 and device 146 where the first data format, the first common data format, the third data format and the third data format comprises data properties that corresponds to corresponds to intrinsic functions of the industrial appliance (home appliance) );
Regarding claim 8. The relay device according to claim 1.
Maksumov discloses, wherein the first conversion table further includes a first conversion formula for mutually converting a value of the property of the first data model to a value of the higher-order property of the first data model, and the second conversion table further includes a second conversion formula for mutually converting a value of the property of the second data model to a value of the higher-order property of the second data model (fig. 7 discloses data from device 142 in first data format is converted to first common data 152 with format 151 at data adapter module 704. Data 702 from device 144 is converted to second common data format by second data adapter module 706. The information used by the respective data adapter modules to interconvert different data formats corresponds to formula).
Regarding claim 19. The relay device according to claim 1.
Maksumov discloses, wherein properties of the first conversion table can have predefined granularities which are different from predefined granularities of properties of the second conversion table (fig. 7 discloses data adapter 704 and data adapter 706 to interconvert different types of data to common data format. The mapping information (conversion table) of the different data formats from the devices to a common data format by individual data adapter modules is different with differing granularity).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13, the claims have similar limitations of claims 2, 5, 6, 7, and 8 respectively that are rejected above. The claims are rejected on similar basis.
Regarding claims 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18, the claims have similar limitations of claims 2, 5, 6, 7, and 8 respectively that are rejected above. The claims are rejected on similar basis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445