DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response the amendment filed July 1, 2026, claims 1 and 9 are amended. Claims 2-3, 15 are cancelled and no new claims are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed July 1, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 102 has been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ritchart (US 20080154151 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teychene (US 20130211416 A1; previously cited by applicant) in view of Ritchart (US 20080154151 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Teychene discloses a hand-held device for applying a tag to animals and extracting animal tissue (see paragraph 0084: unit #21 that tags and collects animal tissue), comprising:
a first handle (see paragraph 0109 and Fig. 4B-4C: first handle #41);
a second handle (see paragraph 0109 and Fig. 4B-4C: second handle #42);
a first jaw portion configured to engage a first portion of an animal tag (see paragraph 0110 and Fig. 2A-2B, 4B-4C: first arm #411 engages first portion #22 of unit #21) and an animal tissue sampler for extracting animal tissue (see paragraph 0085-0089: collecting element/biopsy needle #225); and
a second jaw portion configured to engage a second portion of the animal tag and a container for storing animal tissue (see paragraph 0095-0099, 0110 and Fig. 2A-2B, 4B-4C: second arm #412 that engages #13 of unit #21 and collecting tube #33);
wherein displacing the first handle in a closing direction to an engaging position causes the first portion of the animal tag to engage the second portion of the animal tag (see paragraph 0110-0114); and
wherein displacing the first handle in the closing direction to a disposing position causes the animal tissue sampler to be disposed within the container (see paragraph 0110-0114).
Teychene does not disclose a spring; and wherein displacing the first handle in the closing direction to a loading position places the spring in a deformed state, wherein the spring in the deformed state is configured, when released, to dispose the animal tissue sampler within the container.
Ritchart teaches a spring (see paragraph 0056, 0059: driving spring powers carriage #50); wherein displacing a handle in the closing direction to a loading position places the spring in a deformed state (see paragraph 0059: moving cocking lever #54 towards fixed lever #55 compresses the drive spring), wherein the spring in the deformed state is configured, when released, to take a sample (see paragraph 0059: supplies spring powered forward motion to pierce tissue to take a biopsy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Teychene with the teachings of Ritchart to have included a spring because it would have resulted in the predictable result of using a potential energy device such as a spring for actuation to take a sample (Ritchart: see [0059]).
With respect to claim 4, all limitations of claim 2 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchart further teaches a housing and a first inner for retaining the animal tissue sampler (see paragraph 0095-0099: collecting tube #33 has a tube head #331 which provides a support on which cutting element #321 can press to cut the animal’s tissue where the housing is the tube itself and the first inner is the cutting element #321), wherein displacing the first handle in the closing direction to the loading position displaces the spring into a deformed state via relative movement between the first inner and the housing (see paragraph 0103).
With respect to claim 5, all limitations of claim 4 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches an arm comprising a beak configured to abut the first inner (see paragraph 0101: first joining portion #341 covers cutting element #321).
With respect to claim 6, all limitations of claim 5 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches wherein the beak of the arm abuts the first inner at an inclined contact surface (see Fig. 3B-3C).
With respect to claim 7, all limitations of claim 4 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches a second inner and a coupling, wherein the coupling couples the first inner and the second inner in a first configuration (see paragraph 0097: the pushing element #322 is the second inner where the coupling is where they meet at the tube head #331), and wherein the coupling allows movement of the first inner relative to the second inner in a second configuration (see paragraph 0097-0102, when they meet at the tube head #331 the sample will be clipped and/or fitted into the sampling tube).
With respect to claim 9, Teychene discloses a hand-held device for applying a tag to animals and extracting animal tissue (see paragraph 0084: unit #21 that tags and collects animal tissue), comprising:
a first handle (see paragraph 0109 and Fig. 4B-4C: first handle #41);
a second handle (see paragraph 0109 and Fig. 4B-4C: second handle #42);
a first jaw portion configured to engage a first portion of an animal tag (see paragraph 0110 and Fig. 2A-2B, 4B-4C: first arm #411 engages first portion #22 of unit #21) and an animal tissue sampler (see paragraph 0085-0089: collecting element/biopsy needle #225);
a second jaw portion configured to engage a second portion of the animal tag and a container for storing animal tissue (see paragraph 0095-0099, 0110 and Fig. 2A-2B, 4B-4C: second arm #412 that engages #13 of unit #21 and collecting tube #33); and
Teychene further discloses a locking means (see paragraph 0112: second arm #412 comprises means for locking the collecting tube #33 such as a lock ring #43), wherein displacing the first handle in the closing direction to a loading position places the locking means into a deformed state (see paragraph 0111-0112: when the lock ring #43 is deformed then the unit is fixedly joined to tool) and wherein displacing the first handle in a closing direction to an engaging position causes the first portion of the animal tag to engage the second portion of the animal tag (see paragraph 0111-0112: when lock ring #43 is not deformed then the unit is not joined to the tool and therefore open to collecting tube #33
Teychene does not specifically disclose a spring; and wherein the spring in the deformed state is configured, when released, to dispose the animal tissue sampler within the container.
Ritchart teaches a spring (see paragraph 0056, 0059: driving spring powers carriage #50); wherein displacing a handle in the closing direction to a loading position places the spring in a deformed state (see paragraph 0059: moving cocking lever #54 towards fixed lever #55 compresses the drive spring), wherein the spring in the deformed state is configured, when released, to take a sample (see paragraph 0059: supplies spring powered forward motion to pierce tissue to take a biopsy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Teychene with the teachings of Ritchart to have included a spring because it would have resulted in the predictable result of using a potential energy device such as a spring for actuation to take a sample (Ritchart: see [0059]).
With respect to claim 10, all limitations of claim 9 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches a first linkage (see paragraph 0077-0079: intermediate linking element #14 has a first portion #141), a second linkage (see paragraph 0077-0079: intermediate linking element #14 has a second portion #142), and a pawl (see paragraph 0077-0079: first joining portion #141 defines a shape to receive a tip #123), wherein the first linkage is connected to the first handle (see paragraph 0077-0079: intermediate linking element #14 has a first portion #141 that will connect to first arm), wherein the second linkage is connected to the first linkage (see paragraph 0077-0079: intermediate linking element #14 has a second portion #142 that will connect to first portion #141, wherein the pawl is connected to the second linkage (see Fig. 1A-1B), and wherein the first linkage, the second linkage, and the pawl are configured to pivot relative to one another (see Fig. 1A-1B).
With respect to claim 11, all limitations of claim 10 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches an obstacle configured to engage the pawl (see Fig. 1A-1B: #1421).
With respect to claim 12, all limitations of claim 10 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches further comprising an inner (see paragraph 0095-0099: collecting tube #33 has a tube head #331 which provides a support on which cutting element #321 can press to cut the animal’s tissue where the housing is the tube itself and the first inner is the cutting element #321), wherein displacing the first handle in the opening direction causes the pawl to engage the inner (see Fig. 2A-2C).
With respect to claim 13, all limitations of claim 12 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches a second inner and a coupling, wherein the coupling couples the first inner and the second inner in a first configuration (see paragraph 0097: the pushing element #322 is the second inner where the coupling is where they meet at the tube head #331), and wherein the coupling allows movement of the first inner relative to the second inner in a second configuration (see paragraph 0097-0102, when they meet at the tube head #331 the sample will be clipped and/or fitted into the sampling tube).
With respect to claim 15, all limitations of claim 9 apply in which the combination of Teychene and Ritchard further teaches wherein the spring in the deformed state is configured to dispose the animal tissue sampler within the container (see paragraph 0111-0112: when lock ring #43 is not deformed then the unit is not joined to the tool and therefore open to collecting tube #33).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teychene in view of Ritchard as applied to claims 7 and 13 above, and further in view of Tong (US 8148670 B2; previously cited).
With respect to claim 8, all limitations of claim 7 apply in which Teychene and Ritchard do not specifically teach wherein the coupling comprises one or more rollers, wherein the one or more rollers are partially retained within a groove of the first inner in the first configuration, and wherein the one or more rollers are not retained within the groove in the second configuration.
Tong teaches one or more rollers (see Fig. 6-7, set of balls #40), wherein the one or more rollers are partially retained within a groove of a first inner in a first configuration (see Fig. 7: balls #40 are retained within void #54 of lobes #52 in a first configuration) and wherein the one or more rollers are not retained within the groove in a second configuration (see Fig. 6: balls #40 are not retained within void #54 of lobes #52 in second configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Teychene and Ritchard with the teachings of Tong to have included rollers because it would have resulted in the predictable result of creating a locking mechanism (Tong: col 6 lines 17-27) to hold structural members in a secured, retracted position (Tong: see col 1 lines 7-8).
With respect to claim 14, all limitations of claim 13 apply in which Teychene and Ritchard do not specifically teach wherein the coupling comprises one or more rollers, wherein the one or more rollers are partially retained within a groove of the first inner in the first configuration, and wherein the one or more rollers are not retained within the groove in the second configuration.
Tong teaches one or more rollers (see Fig. 6-7 and col 6 lines 17-27: set of balls #40), wherein the one or more rollers are partially retained within a groove of a first inner in a first configuration (see Fig. 7 and col 6 lines 17-27: balls #40 are retained within void #54 of lobes #52 in a first configuration) and wherein the one or more rollers are not retained within the groove in a second configuration (see Fig. 6 and col 6 lines 17-27: balls #40 are not retained within void #54 of lobes #52 in second configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Teychene and Ritchard with the teachings of Tong to have included rollers because it would have resulted in the predictable result of creating a locking mechanism (Tong: col 6 lines 17-27) to hold structural members in a secured, retracted position (Tong: see col 1 lines 7-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.N.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791