Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on June 18, 2024. Claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IIDS) submitted on June 18, 2024 filed in accordance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12 and 14-17 of copending Application No. 18/268,905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application No: 18/721,437
Exemplary Claim 1
Co-pending Application No. 18/268,905
Claim 1
Claim 1: An apparatus configured to connect to a first server, the apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and
Claim 1: A server for a remote meeting conducted between a plurality of clients connected via a network, the server comprising: one or more processors: and
one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed, configures the one or more processors, to:
one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed, configures the one or more processors, to:
receive a first video stream of a captured image captured by a first camera connected to the first server; and receive a second video stream of a part of the captured image captured by the first camera, wherein a participant ID is assigned to the first video stream and a virtual participant ID is assigned to the second video stream
obtain a video stream from a predetermined camera positioned to capture a field of view at a physical location;
specify, from the obtained video stream, one or more partial video streams representing objects from with the obtained video;
store, in the one more memories, each of the obtained video stream and the specified one or more partial video streams in association with respective virtual participant ID information,
join each of the respective virtual participant ID information to a virtual meeting session, the virtual meeting session including a virtual meeting identifier which associated with an online meeting session which controls an online meeting between the server and one or more client devices located remotely from the physical location, wherein the virtual meeting session is different than the online meeting session; and
transmit, to the one or more clients join to and participating in the online meeting session, a link to the virtual meeting identifier and the respective virtual participant ID information associated with the virtual meeting identifier, the line enabling access, by each of the respective client devices, to the respective associated virtual participant ID information for each of the one or more of the obtained video stream and the one or more partial video streams representing objects from within the obtained video stream to generate a display on a respective client device associated with the user id information and the video associated with the virtual user id information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murata, US PGPUB 20240064271 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Murata discloses an apparatus configured to connect to a first server (Abstract, 0004), the apparatus comprising: one or more processors (Murata, 0009); and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed, configures the one or more processors, (see Murata, 0009) to: receive a first video stream of a captured image captured by a first camera connected to the first server (see Murata, 0037-0039); and receive a second video stream of a part of the captured image captured by the first camera (see Murata, 0052); wherein a participant ID is assigned to the first video stream and a virtual participant ID is assigned to the second video stream (see Murata, Table 1 and 2, 0052).
Regarding claim 2, Murata discloses the apparatus according to the claim 1, wherein the apparatus further configured to connect to a second server (see Murata, 0044-0045); wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors, to: receive a third video stream of a captured image captured by a second camera connected to the second server (see Murata, 0032); and receive a fourth video stream of a part of the captured image captured by the second camera (see Murata, 0032, 0044-0046, Table 1 and Table 2); wherein a participant ID is assigned to the third video stream and a virtual participant ID is assigned to the fourth video stream (see Murata, 0032, 0044-0046, Table 1 and Table 2).
Regarding claim 3, Murata discloses the apparatus according to the claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1), to: set a meeting session, wherein the first video stream is sent, via the meeting session, from the first server to the apparatus (see Murata. 0035); and set a virtual meeting session, wherein the second video stream is sent, via the virtual meeting session, from the first server to the apparatus (see Murata, 0044-0048).
Regarding claim 4, Murata discloses the apparatus according to the claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1), to: set a meeting session, wherein the first video stream is sent, via the meeting session, from the first server to the apparatus (inherent); receive, from the second server, a connection request (inherent to the invention); set a meeting session with the second server and a virtual meeting session with the second server, in a case where a connection is permitted in response to the connection request, wherein the third video stream is sent via the meeting session and the fourth video stream is sent via the virtual meeting session (inherent feature).
Regarding claim 5. Murata discloses the apparatus according to the claim 4, wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1), to: forward the received connection request to the first server, wherein the meeting session with the second server and a virtual meeting session with the second server are set, in a case where a connection is permitted by the first server in response to the connection request (see Murata, 0044-47).
Claim 6-10 list all the same elements of claims 1-5, but in method form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1-5 applies equally as well to claims 6-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Yang) EP 3585050 A1 in view of Desai, US PGPUB 20160134835.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Yang discloses an apparatus configured to connect to a first server, the apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed, configures the one or more processors, to: receive a first video stream of a captured image captured by a first camera connected to the first server (see Yang, Fig. 4, Col. 23, lines 16-36). However, Yang does not explicitly disclose and receive a second video stream of a part of the captured image captured by the first camera; wherein a participant ID is assigned to the first video stream and a virtual participant ID is assigned to the second video stream.
In the same field of endeavor, Desai discloses and receive a second video stream of a part of the captured image captured by the first camera; wherein a participant ID is assigned to the first video stream and a virtual participant ID is assigned to the second video stream (see Desai, 0047, Fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the teachings of Desai into the teachings of Yang for the purpose utilizing a processor for video content streaming, communicating, sharing and controlling video feeds with different devices that capture video feeds (see Desai, 0009). The motivation to combine that was utilized in claim 1, applies equally as well to claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 2, Yang-Desai discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Yang-Desai discloses the apparatus according to the claim 1, wherein the apparatus further configured to connect to a second server; wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors, to: receive a third video stream of a captured image captured by a second camera connected to the second server; and receive a fourth video stream of a part of the captured image captured by the second camera; wherein a participant ID is assigned to the third video stream and a virtual participant ID is assigned to the fourth video stream (see).
Regarding claim 3, Yang-Desai discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Yang discloses the apparatus according to the claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1), to: set a meeting session, wherein the first video stream is sent, via the meeting session, from the first server to the apparatus; and set a virtual meeting session, wherein the second video stream is sent, via the virtual meeting session, from the first server to the apparatus (see Yang, Co. 4, lines 29-40., Col. 6, lines 53-58 and Col. 7, lines 1-58 and Col. 8).
Claim 6-8 list all the same elements of claims 1-3, but in method form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1-3 applies equally as well to claims 6-8.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Desai as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Galloway et al. (Galloway), US PBPUB 20200045264 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Yang-Desai discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Yang-Desai discloses the apparatus according to the claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1), to: set a meeting session, wherein the first video stream is sent, via the meeting session, from the first server to the apparatus (see rejection of claim 1). However, Yang-Desai does not explicitly discloses receive, from the second server, a connection request; set a meeting session with the second server and a virtual meeting session with the second server, in a case where a connection is permitted in response to the connection request, wherein the third video stream is sent via the meeting session and the fourth video stream is sent via the virtual meeting session.
In the same field of endeavor, Galloway discloses receive, from the second server, a connection request; set a meeting session with the second server and a virtual meeting session with the second server, in a case where a connection is permitted in response to the connection request, wherein the third video stream is sent via the meeting session and the fourth video stream is sent via the virtual meeting session (Galloway, Fig. 9, Col. 12, claim 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the teachings Galloway with the teachings of Yang-Desai for the purpose not wasting resources such as memory during the initiation of a session (see Galloway, 0002).
Regarding claim 5, Yang-Desai and Galloway discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Yang-Desai and Galloway discloses the apparatus according to the claim 4, wherein the instructions, when executed, configures the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1), to: forward the received connection request to the first server, wherein the meeting session with the second server and a virtual meeting session with the second server are set, in a case where a connection is permitted by the first server in response to the connection request (see Galloway, Fig. 9, Col. 12, claim 16).
Claim 9 and 10 list all the same elements of claims 4 and 5, but in method form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 4 and 5 applies equally as well to claims 9 and 10.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C VAUGHN JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2481