DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application Number PCT/JP2022/044500, being filed on December 2, 2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/721,455, filed on June 18, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed June 18, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 3 & 4 lack the proper cross-hatching which indicates the type of materials, which may be in an invention. Specifically, the cross hatching to indicate the conductor and insulative materials is improper. The applicant should refer to MPEP Section 608.02 for the proper cross-hatching of materials. Correction is required.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because throughout the abstract, it contains run on sentences, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should correct all instances of run on sentences, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al (Pub Num 2017/0154706, herein referred to Yamamoto). Yamamoto discloses a wiring member (Figs 1-9), that is sealed in a liquid tight state by a molded member to prevent water from entering the inside of the molded member (Paragraphs 10-11). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a wiring member (A) comprising a linear transmission member (11, 13, 13) and a resin molded portion (22, Paragraph 32) molded with at least a portion of the linear transmission member (11, 13, 13) in a direction in which the linear transmission member (11, 13, 13) extends used as an insert portion (Fig 3), wherein the resin molded portion (22) includes a first positioning portion trace (27) and a second positioning portion trace (25) located apart from each other in the direction in which the linear transmission member extends (Fig 3), wherein the first positioning portion trace (27) is a recess that extends in a direction traversing the linear transmission member (Fig 3), the second positioning portion trace (25) includes a pair of partial recessed portions (Fig 3) that extend in a direction in which the first positioning portion trace (27) extends (Fig 3), and wherein the pair of partial recessed portions (25) are formed apart from each other at positions closest to the linear transmission member (11, 13, 13) in a direction in which the pair of partial recessed portions (25) extend (Fig 3). With respect to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses that the first positioning portion trace (27) is provided as at least two first positioning portion traces (Fig 3), and the second positioning portion trace (25) is formed between the at least two first positioning portion trace (27) in the direction in which the linear transmission member (11, 13, 13) extends (Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (Pub Num 2017/0154706) in view of Liu et al (Pat Num 7,288,000, herein referred to as Liu). Yamamoto discloses a wiring member (Figs 1-9), that is sealed in a liquid tight state by a molded member to prevent water from entering the inside of the molded member (Paragraphs 10-11). Specifically, with respect to claims 3 & 7, Yamamoto discloses that the linear transmission member (11, 13, 13) includes a bent section (located at 24), wherein the resin molded portion (22) covers the bent section (located at 24). With respect to claim 4, Yamamoto discloses that the linear transmission member (11, 13, 13) includes a trunk section (11) and a first branch section (13) and a second branch section (2nd 13) branching from the trunk section (11), and the bent section (located at 24) is a section where the first branch section (13) is bent away from the second branch section (2nd 13, Fig 3). With respect to claim 5, Yamamoto discloses that the trunk section (11) includes a first electrical wire (multiple 10s), a second electrical wire (multiple 10s), and a trunk sheath (12) that covers the first electrical wire (multiple 10s) and the second electrical wire (multiple 10s, Paragraph 28), wherein the first branch section (13) includes the first electrical wire (multiple 10s), the second branch section (2nd 13) includes the second electrical wire (multiple 10s) and a branch side sheath (16) that covers the second electrical wire (multiple 10s), and the resin molded portion (22) covers the first electrical wire (multiple 10s) so as to be in direct contact with the sheath (16) of the first electrical wire (multiple 10s) in the bent section (located at 24) of the first branch section (13, Fig 3, Paragraphs 37).
However, Yamamoto doesn’t disclose the linear transmission member includes a bent section, the resin molded portion covers the bent section, and the first positioning portion trace and the second positioning portion trace are located on an inner circumference side of the bent section (claims 3 & 7), nor the wiring member according to wherein the second positioning portion trace is located closer to a center of the bent section in a direction in which the bent section extends than the first positioning portion trace (claims 6, 8, & 9).
Liu teaches a wiring member (Figs 1-9), which can buffer the bending stress to avoid breakage as bending (Col 1, lines 5-10), whose strength and flexibility are both increased to effectively protect the wiring member connection to ensure the constant power of the wiring member (Col 1, lines 55-62). Specifically, with respect to claim 3, Liu teaches a wiring member (Fig 6) comprising a transmission member (3) and a resin molded portion (23) molded with at least a portion of the transmission member (3, Col 6, lines 1-4) in a direction in which the transmission member (3) extends used as an insert portion (Fig 6), wherein the resin molded portion (23) includes a first positioning portion trace (larger centered 232s) and a second positioning portion trace (smaller outer 232s) located apart from each other in the direction (Fig 6), wherein the first positioning portion trace (larger centered 232s) are a recess that extends in a direction traversing the linear transmission member (3, Fig 6), the second positioning portion trace (smaller outer 232s) includes a pair of partial recessed portions (Fig 3) that extend in a direction in which the first positioning portion trace (larger centered 232s) extends (Fig 6), and the pair of partial recessed portions (smaller outer 232s on top and bottom surface) are formed apart from each other at positions closest to the linear transmission member (3) in a direction in which the pair of partial recessed portions (smaller outer 232s on top and bottom surface) extend (Fig 6) and wherein the linear transmission member (3) includes a bent section (Fig 6), wherein the resin molded portion (23) covers the bent section (Fig 6), and the first positioning portion trace (larger centered 232s) and the second positioning portion trace (smaller outer 232s) are located on an inner circumference side of the bent section (Fig 6). With respect to claims 6, 8, and 9, Liu teaches that the wiring member (3), wherein the second positioning portion trace (smaller outer 232s) are located closer to a center of the bent section (Fig 6) in a direction in which the bent section (Fig 6) extends than the first positioning portion trace (larger centered 232s, Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the wiring member of Yamamoto to comprise the first and second positioning portion traces configuration as taught by Liu because Liu teaches that such a configuration provides a wiring member (Figs 1-9), which can buffer the bending stress to avoid breakage as bending (Col 1, lines 5-10), whose strength and flexibility are both increased to effectively protect the wiring member connection to ensure the constant power of the wiring member (Col 1, lines 55-62) and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various wiring members comprising resin molded portions.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
February 9, 2025