DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the legal phraseology “means” in line 10. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (United States Patent Application US 2017/0015515A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki discloses A sheet material feeding device comprising: a housing; (Figure 3: Housing 111)a first roll housed in the housing; a second roll housed in the housing; (Figure 3: First roll 106, Second roll 108)a first roll support member that supports the first roll; and a second roll support member that supports the second roll, (Figure 1: Support member 116 and roll bearings 117 with eccentric flange 119)wherein the sheet material feeding device is configured to clamp a sheet material by the first roll and the second roll and transport the sheet material in accordance with rotations of the first roll and the second roll, and the sheet material feeding device further comprises a release mechanism configured to release the sheet material clamped, wherein the release mechanism includes: an eccentric cam;(Paragraph 0045: "As shown in FIGS. 1 to 4, the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 includes a rotatable eccentric cam 127 coupled to the cam piston 112, and an eccentric cam bearing 128 that supports the eccentric cam 127. Enlarged views of portions A in FIGS. 3 and 4 are shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, respectively. The eccentric cam 127 has a substantially columnar shape, and is supported by the eccentric cam bearing 128 so that an axis 127b of the substantially columnar shape is to be displaced from an axis of rotation 127a. When the eccentric cam 127 is rotated around the axis of rotation 127a of the eccentric cam 127 by a motor or the like, the axis 127b is positioned on a side opposite to the cam piston 112 with respect to the axis of rotation 127a in FIG. 5, and thus the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction in FIG. 3 to allow each of the cam bearings 113 to roll into the second recessed portion 112c of the cam surface 112a. In FIG. 6, the axis 127b is positioned on the same side as the cam piston 112 with respect to the axis of rotation 127a, and thus the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction in FIG. 4 to allow each of the cam bearings 113 to roll into the first recessed portion 112b of the cam surface 112a. In this way, the cam piston 112 is moved horizontally in response to the eccentric cam 127 rotating around the axis of rotation 127a to enable the sheet material 120 to be clamped or released at high speed. Using the eccentric cam in this way enables response from rotation of the eccentric cam to clamping and releasing of the sheet material to be performed at high speed, as well as enabling adjustment of the eccentric cam to be performed to stop rotation thereof halfway, for example.") a bearing arranged along a side surface of the eccentric cam;(Figure 3: Bearing 128 along cam 127) a guide arranged so as to be able to contact the bearing; (Figure 5: Support guide surrounding bearing 128 connected to cam piston 112)and a block arranged so as to be able to contact the guide and connected to one roll support member of the first roll support member and the second roll support member, (Figure 4: Cam bearings 113 and roll support member 116)and the release mechanism is configured to rotate the eccentric cam to move the guide in a horizontal direction relative to the block by means of the bearing, thereby moving the one roll support member connected to the block in a vertical direction.(Paragraph 0045: "As shown in FIGS. 1 to 4, the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 includes a rotatable eccentric cam 127 coupled to the cam piston 112, and an eccentric cam bearing 128 that supports the eccentric cam 127. Enlarged views of portions A in FIGS. 3 and 4 are shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, respectively. The eccentric cam 127 has a substantially columnar shape, and is supported by the eccentric cam bearing 128 so that an axis 127b of the substantially columnar shape is to be displaced from an axis of rotation 127a. When the eccentric cam 127 is rotated around the axis of rotation 127a of the eccentric cam 127 by a motor or the like, the axis 127b is positioned on a side opposite to the cam piston 112 with respect to the axis of rotation 127a in FIG. 5, and thus the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction in FIG. 3 to allow each of the cam bearings 113 to roll into the second recessed portion 112c of the cam surface 112a. In FIG. 6, the axis 127b is positioned on the same side as the cam piston 112 with respect to the axis of rotation 127a, and thus the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction in FIG. 4 to allow each of the cam bearings 113 to roll into the first recessed portion 112b of the cam surface 112a. In this way, the cam piston 112 is moved horizontally in response to the eccentric cam 127 rotating around the axis of rotation 127a to enable the sheet material 120 to be clamped or released at high speed. Using the eccentric cam in this way enables response from rotation of the eccentric cam to clamping and releasing of the sheet material to be performed at high speed, as well as enabling adjustment of the eccentric cam to be performed to stop rotation thereof halfway, for example.")
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 1, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses further comprising: a first motor coupled to the first roll and configured to rotate the first roll; and a second motor coupled to the second roll and configured to rotate the second roll.(Figure 2: First motor 102 and second motor 103)
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 1, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses further comprising: a first motor coupled to one roll of the first roll and the second roll and configured to rotate the one roll; a first gear provided in a roll axis to which the one roll is fixed; and a second gear provided in a roll axis to which the other roll of the first roll and the second roll is fixed, wherein the first gear and the second gear engage with each other and the other roll rotates in accordance with a rotation of the one roll by means of the first motor.(Paragraph 0035: "The embodiment of the sheet material feeding apparatus of the present invention will be described with reference to FIGS. 1 to 7. A schematic view of a sheet material feeding apparatus 101 is shown in FIG. 1. The sheet material feeding apparatus 101 includes a housing 111, a first roll (upper roll 106) accommodated in the housing 111, and a second roll (lower roll 108) that is accommodated in the housing 111 and is arranged vertically below the upper roll 106. The upper roll 106 and the lower roll 108 are brought into contact with a sheet material 120 to clamp it, and then the upper roll 106 and the lower roll 108 rotate to feed the clamped sheet material 120. The sheet material feeding apparatus 101 includes a first motor (upper motor 102) provided with a rotatable first motor shaft (upper motor shaft 104), and a second motor (lower motor 103) provided with a rotatable second motor shaft (lower motor shaft 105). The upper motor shaft 104 is coupled to the upper roll 106 through an upper roll shaft 107, and the lower motor shaft 105 is coupled to the lower roll 108 through a lower roll shaft 109. Coupling by that way allows the upper roll 106 supported by upper roll bearings 117 to be rotated with respect to the housing 111 by the upper motor shaft 104, and the lower roll 108 supported by lower roll bearings 118 to be rotated with respect to the housing 111 by the lower motor shaft 105, and thus the rolls 106 and 108 are rotated by the motor shafts 104 and 105, respectively. As a result, the sheet material with large weight also can be fed, and thus the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 with high feeding capacity can be provided.")
Regarding Claim 4, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 1, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the bearing comprises an inner ring portion fixed along the side surface of the eccentric cam and an outer ring portion arranged so as to be able to contact the guide.(Figure 5: Cam bearing 128 being a ring with an inner and outer surface)
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 1, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses further comprising an elastic member disposed between the housing and the one roll support member, wherein when the sheet material is released, the guide and the block are pressed against the eccentric cam and the bearing via the one roll support member by means of the elastic member.(Paragraph 0044: "The cam piston 112, as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, can be moved horizontally and vertically to the axis of the lower roll 108. In FIG. 3, when the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction, each of the cam bearings 113 rolls along the cam surface 112a of cam piston 112, and then engages with the second recessed portion 112c of the cam surface 112a. Engagement of the cam bearing 113 and the second recessed portion 112c allows the roll support member 116 including the cam bearings 113 to be moved vertically downward while pressed downward by the elastic members 114 and 115 by a depth of the second recessed portion 112c from the first recessed portion 112b. As a result, the lower roll 108 is moved vertically downward to enable the sheet material 120 to be released. In FIG. 4, when the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction, each of the cam bearings 113 rolls along the cam surface 112a of cam piston 112, and then engages with the first recessed portion 112b of the cam surface 112a. Engagement of the cam bearing 113 and the first recessed portion 112b allows the roll support member 116 including the cam bearings 113 to be moved vertically upward against elastic force of the elastic members 114 and 115 by a height of the first recessed portion 112b from the second recessed portion 112c. As a result, the lower roll 108 supported by the roll support member 116 is moved vertically upward to enable the sheet material 120 to be clamped. In FIGS. 1 to 4, although the two elastic members are arranged, one elastic member as well as three or more elastic members, are available. The elastic member may be a diaphragm.")
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 5, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the elastic member is an air spring or a coil spring.(Paragraph 0024: "The elastic member is also provided to operate only on vertical movement of the second roll, as well as to achieve an effect of enabling reduction in horizontal runout of the second roll caused by inertial force generated when the second roll is rotated and horizontal inertial force generated when the sheet material is fed. Providing a plurality of elastic members can further increase the effect.", wherein the disclosed elastic members act similarly to a spring)
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 5, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the release mechanism is configured to rotate the eccentric cam so as to extend the elastic member in the vertical direction in order to move the one roll support member in the vertical direction so as to clamp the sheet material.(Paragraph 0045: "As shown in FIGS. 1 to 4, the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 includes a rotatable eccentric cam 127 coupled to the cam piston 112, and an eccentric cam bearing 128 that supports the eccentric cam 127. Enlarged views of portions A in FIGS. 3 and 4 are shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, respectively. The eccentric cam 127 has a substantially columnar shape, and is supported by the eccentric cam bearing 128 so that an axis 127b of the substantially columnar shape is to be displaced from an axis of rotation 127a. When the eccentric cam 127 is rotated around the axis of rotation 127a of the eccentric cam 127 by a motor or the like, the axis 127b is positioned on a side opposite to the cam piston 112 with respect to the axis of rotation 127a in FIG. 5, and thus the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction in FIG. 3 to allow each of the cam bearings 113 to roll into the second recessed portion 112c of the cam surface 112a. In FIG. 6, the axis 127b is positioned on the same side as the cam piston 112 with respect to the axis of rotation 127a, and thus the cam piston 112 is moved in the arrow direction in FIG. 4 to allow each of the cam bearings 113 to roll into the first recessed portion 112b of the cam surface 112a. In this way, the cam piston 112 is moved horizontally in response to the eccentric cam 127 rotating around the axis of rotation 127a to enable the sheet material 120 to be clamped or released at high speed. Using the eccentric cam in this way enables response from rotation of the eccentric cam to clamping and releasing of the sheet material to be performed at high speed, as well as enabling adjustment of the eccentric cam to be performed to stop rotation thereof halfway, for example.")
Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 5, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the release mechanism is configured to provide a gap between the block and the guide when the sheet material is clamped.(Figure 4: Second recessed portion 112c)
Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 1, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses further comprising a third motor, wherein the release mechanism further includes a shaft coupled to the third motor and configured to rotate the eccentric cam, and the sheet material feeding device is configured to rotate the shaft in response to a rotation of the third motor so as to move the one roll support member in the vertical direction.(Paragraph 0046: "The sheet material feeding apparatus 101 receives the external signal 126, and the eccentric cam 127 may be rotated in response to the external signal 126. For example, the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 may receive the signal 126 from a press apparatus that presses the sheet material 120 fed from the sheet material feeding apparatus 101. The control device 121 receives the external signal 126 to enable the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 to clamp or release the sheet material 120 to feed it to a processing apparatus so as to synchronize with a working process of the processing apparatus that works the sheet material 120 by rotating the eccentric cam 127 using a motor or the like to move the cam piston 112 horizontally to move the lower roll 108 supported by the roll support member 116 vertically.")
Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki teaches the sheet material feeding device according to claim 9, as seen above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the third motor is configured to stop rotating the eccentric cam so as to stop transporting the sheet material, with a signal from an outside of the sheet material feeding device while the eccentric cam is rotating.(Paragraph 0046: "The sheet material feeding apparatus 101 receives the external signal 126, and the eccentric cam 127 may be rotated in response to the external signal 126. For example, the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 may receive the signal 126 from a press apparatus that presses the sheet material 120 fed from the sheet material feeding apparatus 101. The control device 121 receives the external signal 126 to enable the sheet material feeding apparatus 101 to clamp or release the sheet material 120 to feed it to a processing apparatus so as to synchronize with a working process of the processing apparatus that works the sheet material 120 by rotating the eccentric cam 127 using a motor or the like to move the cam piston 112 horizontally to move the lower roll 108 supported by the roll support member 116 vertically.")
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application US 2019/0366416A1 (Suzuki, Kengo): Suzuki teaches a similar plate material feeding device comprising a housing, lower roll, upper roll, roll support members, a slider and a clamping member as seen in Figure 1.
United States Patent Application US 2012/0113488A1 (Machida, Takashi): Machida teaches a similar sheet feeding apparatus comprising a feed roller, a separation member, a stopper, a driving unit, and a control unit as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651