DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of 4/22/2026 is received. Claims 1-7, 9, 12, 15, and 16 are amended, with claims 1-32 pending and claims 4, 8, 10, 11, 14, and 17-32 withdrawn to a non-elected invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the transparent layer connected to the tunnel extending through the gas space (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payre (FR 3108249 A1) in view of Taheri (U.S. 4,637,074) and Cook (U.S. 6,508,747). Payre discloses the invention substantially as claimed. For claim 1, Payre teaches a protection device for a head of a human comprising an inflatable airbag 4,4a, wherein the airbag covers at least a part of a face of the human when inflated (see Fig.2). Payre is silent as to the material of the airbag having an outer skin enclosing the gas space and doesn’t teach the airbag when inflated comprises a see-through area positioned in front of the human’s eyes, the see-through area being a hole extending through the gas space and bounded by the outer skin so as to form a tunnel though the inflated airbag. Taheri teaches an inflatable protection device covering at least part of the face of a human, the airbag formed of an outer skin (outer layer of transparent plastic as in col.4, lines 6-12) enclosing a gas space. Cook teaches an inflated one piece protective head gear 36 including an airbag portion 32 covering the wearer’s face and including a see through area being a hole extending through the gas space as in Figures 4 and 5. Modifying Payre’s inflatable airbag to include the hole as claimed, would result in the hole bounded by the outer skin so as to form a tunnel though the inflated airbag, as Payre is modified by Taheri to include the outer skin enclosing the gas space. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Payre's airbag to form with an outer skin enclosing the gas space and the airbag when inflated comprising a see-through area positioned in front of the human’s eyes, the see-through area being a hole extending through the gas space and bounded by the outer skin so as to form a tunnel through the inflated airbag, as Taheri teaches the outer skin is transparent for viewing therethrough and is also durable and distensible as is necessary for an airbag intended to be inflated and deflated and Cook teaches that an inflated face covering having a see-through area being a hole extending through the gas space is known in the art, allowing for the airbag wearer to see through the hole.
For claim 2, the modified Payre teaches the protection device of claim 1, wherein the airbag when inflated covers substantially the whole face of the human (see Fig.2).
For claim 3, the modified Payre teaches the protection device of claim 1, wherein the airbag when inflated does substantially not cover any other part of the head of the human, as Figure 2 shows the housing from which the airbag is deployed and the inflated airbag 4 does substantially not cover any other part of the human's head.
For claim 12, the modified Payre teaches the protection device of claim 1 further comprising an inflator 5 (inflation means comprising compressed gas 50) and a triggering means (motion sensor) for triggering the inflator.
For claim 13, the modified Payre teaches the protection device of claim 12, further comprising an attachment means 30 for attaching the protection device to a helmet 3.
For claim 15, the modified Payre teaches the protection device of claim 13, wherein the protection device is configured to be attached to a helmet 3 such that the airbag, in an undeployed state, is substantially located in front of the forehead of the human and deploys in the direction towards the chin. Note that Figure 1 shows the undeployed airbag 4 within housing 30 forming front part 35 of the helmet 3 such that the undeployed airbag is substantially located in front of the forehead of the user and deploys in the direction towards the chin as in Figure 2.
For claim 16, the modified Payre teaches a protection arrangement comprising: a protection device for the head of a human comprising an inflatable airbag 4,4a enclosing a gas space, said airbag covering at least part of the face of said human when in its inflated state (see Figure 2), and a helmet 3 to which said protection device is connected. However, Payre doesn’t teach the airbag comprises a see-through area in form of a hole which is located in front of the eyes when the airbag is inflated, the hole extending through the gas space. Taheri teaches an inflatable protection device covering at least part of the face of a human, the airbag formed of an outer skin (outer layer of transparent plastic as in col.4, lines 6-12) enclosing a gas space. Cook teaches an inflated one piece protective head gear 36 including an airbag portion 32 covering the wearer’s face and including a see through area being a hole extending through the gas space as in Figures 4 and 5. Modifying Payre’s inflatable airbag to include the hole as claimed, would result in the hole bounded by the outer skin so as to form a tunnel though the inflated airbag, as Payre is modified by Taheri to include the outer skin enclosing the gas space. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Payre's airbag to form with an outer skin enclosing the gas space and the airbag when inflated comprising a see-through area positioned in front of the human’s eyes, the see-through area being a hole extending through the gas space and bounded by the outer skin so as to form a tunnel through the inflated airbag, as Taheri teaches the outer skin is resilient as an exterior airbag surface and distensible as is necessary for an airbag intended to be inflated and deflated and Cook teaches that an inflated face covering having a see-through area being a hole extending through the gas space is known in the art, allowing for the airbag wearer to see through the hole.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payre ‘249 in view of Taheri ‘074 and Cook ‘747, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mawhirt et al. (Mawhirt, U.S. 7,225,806). Payre discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Payre doesn’t teach a transparent layer provided in the hole and connected to the outer skin, and the transparent layer is in form of a transparent foil or a transparent fabric and the transparent layer is connected to the tunnel extending through the gas space. Mawhirt teaches a head covering/protector 10 with a transparent layer 12 provided in a hole, the transparent layer connected to the outer plastic enclosure 11 by bonding. The transparent layer 12 is a clear plastic or polyester window enabling a user to see while wearing the head covering, considered equivalent to the claimed transparent foil. The proposed modification of Payre would result in the transparent layer connected to the tunnel extending through the gas space, as an alternative protection device configuration where the airbag doesn’t extend over the wearer’s eyes, potentially distorting vision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Payre to provide a transparent layer provided in the hole and connected to the outer skin, the transparent layer in form of a transparent foil, and the transparent layer connected to the tunnel extending through the gas space, as Mawhirt teaches it’s known to provide a transparent foil and such modification would enable clear vision therethrough when wearing the airbag over the face.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payre in view of Taheri and Cook, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gattamorta (U.S. 5,787,508). Payre discloses the invention substantially as claimed but doesn't teach a protection surface of the outer skin which faces the face of the human when the airbag is inflated is essentially flat, or has the shape of a concave fillet, or is essentially dish-shaped. Gattamorta teaches an inflatable face covering (mask) 10 with a shape of a concave fillet as Gattamorta teaches "This contouring of the mask assembly 10 to the curvature of the wearer's face generally defines a forward, concave, and fully reversible configuration." Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Payre's protection surface of the outer skin intended to face a human's face when the airbag is deployed as having the shape of a concave fillet as Gattamorta teaches that the claimed shape is known in the art and the concavity is expected to better conform to the contours of the wearer's face for providing protection thereto.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response has been received and considered. The rejections have been revised in view of the amendment claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE M MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732