Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ in accordance with a determination that the first TCI state is different from the previous indicated TCI state, causing a BFR to be skipped after one of: an application timing of the first TCI state in the PDCCH; a reception timing of the first TCI state; a fifth timing for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request; a predetermined number of symbols after a last symbol of the PDCCH; or successfully decoding the PDCCH” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “causing a BFR to be skipped, in accordance with a determination that an application timing or a reception timing of the first TCI state is before a scheduling request or a transmission of a BFR medium access control control element (MAC CE) to the network device” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “replacing at least one quasi co-location (QCL) parameters of the previous indicated TCI state with the ones associated with the first reference signal on the first CC after a predetermined number of symbols from a beam recover response request; or replacing at least one reference signals included in the previous indicated TCI state with the first reference signal on the first CC after a predetermined number of symbols from a beam recover response request; and applying the first TCI state on the first CC based on an activation or an indication from the network device”. when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
3. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 USC § 101 for claim language "a computer-readable medium". The claim language does not exclude transitory medium e.g. signal, carrier wave, etc. Examiner suggests the applicant to amend the claims as “A non-transitory computer-readable medium….”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0044723, hereinafter Cirik) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0152235, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Cirik discloses a communication method, comprising:
detecting, at a terminal device, a beam failure on a first cell (para 0090; 0235; 0435, 0437 and 0446; a wireless device may be configured with beam failure recovery (BFR) parameters. The BFR parameters may comprise one or more first reference signals for beam failure detection for a serving cell);
receiving, from a network device, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (para 0199; and 0201; A base station may configure a wireless device with one or more TCI-States by higher layer signaling. A number of the one or more TCI states may depend on a capability of the wireless device. The wireless device may use the one or more TCI-states to decode a PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH); and
applying at least one quasi co-location (QCL) parameters as the ones associated with a first reference signal for downlink reception on the first cell until a first timing (Para 0101; 0199; 0201-0202 and 0213; the wireless device may use one or more TCI-States according to a value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location. The wireless device may assume that the antenna ports of one DM-RS port group of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with one or more RS(s) in the RS set with respect to the QCL type parameter(s) given by the indicated TCI state if the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than a threshold Threshold-Sched-Offset), or applying a spatial domain filter as the one associated with the first reference signal (para 0163 and 0182) or as for a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission for uplink transmission on the first cell until the first timing.
Cirik does not explicitly disclose that the cell corresponds to a component carrier (CC).
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses that the cell corresponds to a component carrier (CC) (para 0108; each serving cell correspond to a component carrier (CC)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik’s method/system by having Zhou’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation of a communications system.
Regarding claim 14, Cirik discloses a terminal device comprising:
a processor (para 0062; a processor); and
a memory (para 0062; a memory) coupled to the processor and storing instructions thereon, the instructions, when executed by the processor, causing the terminal device to perform the method steps of claim 1 (para 0062-0063).
Regarding claim 15, Cirik discloses a computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed on at least one processor, causing the at least one processor to perform the method steps of claim 1 (para 0065 and 0070; software stored in the memory to be executed by the processor).
Regarding claims 2, and 16, Cirik discloses wherein the first timing is an application timing of the first TCI state in the PDCCH (para 0152 and 0182; and 0202; TCI state indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Cirik disclose the method of claim 1.
Cirik does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
in accordance with a determination that at least one condition is fulfilled, applying the first TCI state for downlink reception and/or uplink transmission on the first CC after the first timing;
in accordance with a determination that the at least one condition is unfulfilled, causing applying the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing to be skipped;
in accordance with a determination that the at least one condition is unfulfilled,
determining to not apply or ignore the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing; and
in accordance with a determination that the at least one condition is unfulfilled,
continuing to apply the at least one QCL parameters for downlink reception on the first CC after the first timing, or
continuing to apply the spatial domain filter for uplink transmission on the first CC after the first timing.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses in accordance with a determination that at least one condition is fulfilled, applying the first TCI state for downlink reception and/or uplink transmission on the first CC after the first timing (para 0044);
in accordance with a determination that the at least one condition is unfulfilled, causing applying the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing to be skipped (Para 0043);
in accordance with a determination that the at least one condition is unfulfilled,
determining to not apply or ignore the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing; and
in accordance with a determination that the at least one condition is unfulfilled,
continuing to apply the at least one QCL parameters for downlink reception on the first CC after the first timing, or
continuing to apply the spatial domain filter for uplink transmission on the first CC after the first timing (para 0071 and 0075). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik’s method/system by having Zhou’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation of a communications system.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Cirik does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one condition comprises one or more of:
the first TCI state is activated or indicated;
the first TCI state is different from a previous indicated TCI state;
a source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the first TCI state is different from a source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the previous indicated TCI state;
the source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the first TCI state and the source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the previous indicated TCI state are not quasi co-located with typeD;
the first TCI state is different from a TCI state associated with the beam failure detected on the first CC; the source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the first TCI state is different from a source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the TCI state associated with the beam failure detected on the first CC;
the source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the first TCI state and the source RS corresponding to QCL-Type with typeD in the TCI state associated with the beam failure detected on the first CC are not quasi co-located with typeD;
the first TCI state is indicated in downlink control information on a second CC;
the first TCI state is indicated in downlink control information on the first CC;
the first CC is a secondary cell;
the first CC is not a reference CC;
the first timing is no earlier or later than a second timing for applying the candidate beam;
a third timing of the reception of the first TCI state is no earlier or later than a fourth timing for a reception of a beam failure recovery request (BFRR); or
the third timing of the reception of the first TCI state is no earlier or later than the second
timing for applying the at least one QCL parameters or the spatial domain filter.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses:
the first TCI state is activated or indicated (para 0004; and 0033-0034 – activated TCI state);
the first TCI state is different from a previous indicated TCI state (para 0118 -0119; new TCI state);
the first CC is a secondary cell (para 0035 and 0108; secondary cell);
the first timing is no earlier or later than a second timing for applying the candidate beam (para 0010 and 0012). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik’s method/system by having Zhou’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation of a communications system.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Cirik does not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state is different from the previous indicated TCI state, and wherein the method further comprises: applying the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses wherein the first TCI state is different from the previous indicated TCI state (para 0040; 0043-0044; and 0115), and wherein the method further comprises: applying the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing (para 0119; 0135; 0137; applying TCI state after predetermined number of symbols). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik’s method/system by having Zhou’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation of a communications system.
Regarding claim 7, Cirik does not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state is same as the previous indicated TCI state, and wherein the method further comprises at least one of: causing applying the first TCI state on the first CC to be skipped; determining to not apply or ignore the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing; and continuing to apply the at least one QCL parameters for downlink reception on the first CC after the first timing, or continuing to apply the spatial domain filter for uplink transmission on the first CC after the first timing.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses wherein the first TCI state is same as the previous indicated TCI state, and wherein the method further comprises at least one of: causing applying the first TCI state on the first CC to be skipped (para 0043); determining to not apply or ignore the first TCI state on the first CC after the first timing (para 0127 and 0135). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik’s method/system by having Zhou’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation of a communications system.
5. Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik/Zhou in view of Bai et al. (US 2021/0105759, hereinafter Bai).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Cirik/Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first CC is a reference CC or a primary cell or a primary secondary cell, and the method further comprises:
applying the at least one QCL parameters or the spatial domain filter on a third CC after an predetermined symbol from a BFRR, wherein there is no control resource set (COREST) configuration or a beam failure recovery (BFR) configuration for the third CC.
In an analogous art, Bai discloses wherein the first CC is a reference CC or a primary cell or a primary secondary cell, and the method further comprises:
applying the at least one QCL parameters or the spatial domain filter on a third CC after
an predetermined symbol from a BFRR (para 0047; 0053; 0058; QCL), wherein there is no control resource set (COREST) configuration or a beam failure recovery (BFR) configuration for the third CC (para 0055-0056; determining BFD RSs for a cell configured without a CORESET). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik/Zhou’s method/system by having Bai’s disclosure in order to expedite the detection of beam failure and taking the corrective measures to improve the quality of service.
6. Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik/Zhou in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0149922, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Cirik/Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein applying the at least one quasi co- location (QCL) parameters or the spatial domain filter on the first CC until the first timing comprises: applying the at least one quasi co-location (QCL) parameters or the spatial domain filter on the first CC until a reception of a MAC CE activation.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses wherein applying the at least one quasi co- location (QCL) parameters or the spatial domain filter on the first CC until the first timing comprises: applying the at least one quasi co-location (QCL) parameters (para 0218; QCL) or the spatial domain filter on the first CC until a reception of a MAC CE activation (para 0217; the UE may assume the same antenna port quasi-collocation parameters as the ones associated with index q.sub.new until the UE receives by higher layers an activation for a TCI state or any of the parameters TCI-StatesPDCCH-ToAddlist and/or TCI-StatesPDCCH-ToReleaseList. After the UE detects a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI in the search space set provided by recoverySearchSpaceId, the UE may continue to monitor PDCCH candidates in the search space set provided by recoverySearchSpaceId until the UE receives a MAC CE activation command for a TCI state). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik/Zhou’s method/system by having Wang’s disclosure in order to expedite the detection of beam failure and taking the corrective measures to improve beam failure recovery process to provide a reliable service.
7. Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik/Zhou in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0116094, hereinafter Wang II).
Regarding claim 12, Cirik/Zhou does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a scheduling request or a BFR MAC CE is transmitted on a second CC, monitoring a BFRR or downlink control information on the second CC or a third CC based on at least one quasi co-location (QCL) parameters as the ones associated with a first reference signal or based on the first TCI state.
In an analogous art, Wang II discloses in accordance with a scheduling request or a BFR MAC CE is transmitted on a second CC (para 0050; and 0053; BFR MAC-CE transmitted on PCell), monitoring a BFRR or downlink control information on the second CC or a third CC based on at least one quasi co-location (QCL) parameters as the ones associated with a first reference signal or based on the first TCI state (Para 0049; If the BFRQ for SCell by MAC-CE or PUCCH contains only one candidate beam for the corresponding SCell, the UE can monitor the dedicated CORESET over the SCell using the spatial Quasi co-location (QCL) assumption as identified in the MAC-CE). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik/Zhou’s method/system by having Wang II’s disclosure in order to expedite the detection of beam failure and taking the corrective measures to improve beam failure recovery process to provide a reliable service.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik/Zhou in view of Rehman (US 2021/0185647, hereinafter Rehman).
Regarding claim 13, Cirik/Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein a downlink TCI state and an uplink TCI state are separated, and wherein the method further comprises:
in accordance with a determination that the beam failure is detected based on the
downlink TCI state, transmitting at least one of: a scheduling request or BFR MAC CE based on the uplink TCI state; and monitoring a BFRR or PDCCH after a sixth timing based on at least one QCL parameters as the ones associated with the uplink TCI state.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses wherein a downlink TCI state (para 0127; DL-TCI) and an uplink TCI state are separated (para 0121; UL TCI and UL TCI), and wherein the method further comprises: in accordance with a determination that the beam failure is detected based on the downlink TCI state (para 0131 and 0135; beam failure), transmitting at least one of: a scheduling request (para 0080; and 0082) or BFR MAC CE based on the uplink TCI state (para 0100; 0130-0131); and monitoring a BFRR or PDCCH after a sixth timing based on at least one QCL parameters as the ones associated with the uplink TCI state (para 0137-0138 and 0172-0174). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirik/Zhou’s method/system by having Rahman’s disclosure in order to improve channel reporting process during the communication to control and address failures dynamically.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462