DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 11,918,287 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 56-59, 62-70 and 73-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segre et al. (US 2022/0057651; already of record) in view of Okayama et al. (US 2018/0096461; already of record), and further in view of Peli (US 2018/0261003; already of record).
Regarding claim 56, Segre discloses, a device for image processing and display (Figs. 1-9B), comprising:
a computer processor (415) functionally associated with a display screen (405, 420, 600, 605) and an eye tracker (Para. 0034, 0044 and see 410, 425), said eye tracker configured for determining a gaze direction of a first eye (Para. 0034 and 0044) of a person viewing an image on said display screen and for providing a determined gaze direction to said computer processor (Para. 0034, 0044 and see 410, 425); said computer processor configured:
to generate a display image from a received digital base image based on a gaze direction of the first eye received from said eye tracker (Para. 0034-0036 and 0044), wherein:
a central-vision portion (620) of said display image that corresponds to a portion of the field of view of the first eye that includes said determined gaze direction (Para. 0043-0044), wherein the central vision portion is either modified or unmodified compared to a corresponding portion in said base image (620);
ii. a non-central vision portion (625) of said display image that is different from said central-vision portion that is modified (Para. 0038; note, discloses different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted) so that visual characteristics of said non-central vision portion of said display image are changed compared to corresponding visual characteristics of a corresponding portion in said base image (Para. 0043-0044),
wherein as a result of said generation, an image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is lower (Para. 0039 and 0043-0044; note, discloses the non-central vision portion is blurred) than the image quality of said central-vision portion of said display image (see 620 and 625); and
to display said generated display image on said display screen so that the first eye of the person views said display image on said display screen (Para. 0036-0040 and see 405, 420, 605, 620),
wherein said computer processor is configured to modify a base image so that visual characteristics of a non-central vision portion of a generated display image are changed compared to corresponding visual characteristics of a corresponding portion in the base image (Para. 0025, 0038 and 0043-0044;note, discloses different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted ),
wherein the changes to said visual characteristics of said non-central vision portion of said display image are not-homogeneous (Para. 0025, 0038 and 0044; note, discloses different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted).
Segre does not explicitly disclose the computer processor is configured to modify a base image so that the modification degrades the image quality of the non-central vision portion relative to the corresponding portion in the base image.
Okayama teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a device for image processing and display (Figs. 1-18) that it would have been desirable to make the computer processor (12) is configured to modify a base image so that the modification degrades the image quality of the non-central vision portion relative to the corresponding portion in the base image (Para. 0106, 0117, 0131 and 0167; note, discloses a high quality image is displayed in the central vision portion and the computer processor dynamically modifies and changes the image quality of the central and non-central vision portions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the computer processor is configured to modify a base image so that the modification degrades the image quality of the non-central vision portion relative to the corresponding portion in the base image as taught by the device for image processing and display of Okayama in the device for image processing and display of Segre since Okayama teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display for the purpose of providing a low cost, effective and efficient device for image processing and display.
Segre in view of Okayama does not explicitly disclose the modification of said base image is a gradient where the degree of modification is selected from the group consisting of: increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the closer to said central vision portion; and increasingly greater farther from said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion.
Peli teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a device for image processing and display that it would have been desirable to make the modification of said base image is a gradient (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user) where the degree of modification is selected from the group consisting of: increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the closer to said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user); and increasingly greater farther from said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the modification of said base image is a gradient where the degree of modification is selected from the group consisting of: increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the closer to said central vision portion; and increasingly greater farther from said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion as taught by the device for image processing and display of Peli in the combination of Segre in view of Okayama since Peli teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display for the purpose of providing a device for image processing and display with reduced possibility of visually induced motion sickness and enlarged field of view.
Regarding claim 57, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Peli further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a device for image processing and display that it would have been desirable to make the modification is a gradient where the degree of modification is increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user), so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image greater the closer to said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the device for image processing and display of Peli in the combination of Segre in view of Okayama since Peli teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display for the purpose of providing a device for image processing and display with reduced possibility of visually induced motion sickness and enlarged field of view.
Regarding claim 58, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Peli further teaches, the modification is a gradient where the degree of modification is increasingly greater farther from said central-vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user), so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the device for image processing and display of Peli in the combination of Segre in view of Okayama since Peli teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display for the purpose of providing a device for image processing and display with reduced possibility of visually induced motion sickness and enlarged field of view.
Regarding claim 59, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, non-central vision portion has n distinct parts (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the first part to be the portion of 625 that is abutting/surrounding 620 and the second part is the portion of 625 that is closest to 610 and is the outer periphery portion of 605), n being an integer greater than one, each distinct part having a different modification (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner points out that different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted).
Regarding claim 62, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, the non-central vision portion makes up at least 1% and not more than about 80% of the area of said display image that is not said central-vision portion (Para. 0038, 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 63, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, the non-central vision portion of said display image has a ring shape (see 625) having an inner dimension (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the inner dimension to be the portion of 625 that is abutting/surrounding 620) and an outer dimension (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the outer dimension is the portion of 625 that is closest to 610 and is the outer periphery portion of 605), such that the difference between said outer dimension and said inner dimension is between a minimum value and a maximum value (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the first part to be the portion of 625 that is abutting/surrounding 620 and the second part is the portion of 625 that is closest to 610 and is the outer periphery portion of 605).
Regarding claim 64, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, the minimum value is about 3[Symbol font/0xB0] and about 25 minimum value is about 30 and about 25[Symbol font/0xB0] (see portion of 625 that is abutting/surrounding 620).
Regarding claim 65, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, a third portion of said display image that is neither a central vision portion nor said non-central vision portion (see portion of 615 surrounding 605).
Regarding claim 66, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, the third portion is not modified (see portion of 615 surrounding 605).
Regarding claim 67, Segre discloses, a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject (Fig. 1-9B), comprising:
a. determining a gaze direction of a first eye of a subject (Para. 0034, 0044 and see 410, 425) viewing an image on a display screen (405, 420, 600, 605) and providing said determined gaze direction to a computer processor (415);
b. subsequent to 'a', based on said determined gaze direction of the first eye (Para. 0034, 0044 and see 410, 425), with a computer processor generating a display image for display to the first eye on said display screen from a received digital base image (Para. 0034-0036), wherein:
i. a central-vision portion (620) of said display image that corresponds to a portion of the field of view of the first eye that includes said determined gaze direction (Para. 0043-0044), wherein the central-vision portion is either: modified or unmodified compared to a corresponding portion in said base image (620); and
ii. a non-central vision portion (625) of said display image that is different from said central-vision portion is modified (Para. 0038; note, discloses different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted) so that visual characteristics of said non-central vision portion of said display image are changed compared to corresponding visual characteristics of a corresponding portion in said base image (Para. 0043-0044),
wherein as a result of said generating, an image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is lower (Para. 0039 and 0043-0044; note, discloses the non-central vision portion is blurred) than the image quality of said central-vision portion of said display image (see 620 and 625); and
c. displaying said generated display image on said display screen so that the first eye of the subject views said display image on said display screen (Para. 0036-0040 and see 405, 420, 605, 620),
wherein said non-central vision portion of said base image is modified so that visual characteristics of said non-central vision portion of said generated display image are changed compared to corresponding visual characteristics of a corresponding portion in said base image (Para. 0025, 0038 and 0043-0044; note, discloses different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted),
wherein the changes to said visual characteristics of said non-central vision portion of said display image are not-homogeneous (Para. 0025, 0038 and 0044; note, discloses different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted).
Segre does not explicitly disclose the computer processor is configured to modify a base image so that the modification degrades the image quality of the non-central vision portion relative to the corresponding portion in the base image.
Okayama teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject (Figs. 1-18) that it would have been desirable to make the computer processor (12) is configured to modify a base image so that the modification degrades the image quality of the non-central vision portion relative to the corresponding portion in the base image (Para. 0106, 0117, 0131 and 0167; note, discloses a high quality image is displayed in the central vision portion and the computer processor dynamically modifies and changes the image quality of the central and non-central vision portions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the computer processor is configured to modify a base image so that the modification degrades the image quality of the non-central vision portion relative to the corresponding portion in the base image as taught by the a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject of Okayama in the a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject of Segre since Okayama teaches it is known to include these features in a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject for the purpose of providing a low cost, effective and efficient a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject.
Segre in view of Okayama does not explicitly disclose the modification of said base image is a gradient where the degree of modification is selected from the group consisting of: increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the closer to said central vision portion; and increasingly greater farther from said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion.
Peli teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a device for image processing and display that it would have been desirable to make the modification of said base image is a gradient (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user) where the degree of modification is selected from the group consisting of: increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the closer to said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user); and increasingly greater farther from said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the modification of said base image is a gradient where the degree of modification is selected from the group consisting of: increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the closer to said central vision portion; and increasingly greater farther from said central-vision portion, so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion as taught by the device for image processing and display of Peli in the combination of Segre in view of Okayama since Peli teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display for the purpose of providing a device for image processing and display with reduced possibility of visually induced motion sickness and enlarged field of view.
Regarding claim 68, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Peli further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a device for image processing and display that it would have been desirable to make the modification is a gradient where the degree of modification is increasingly greater closer to said central-vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user), so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the closer to said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the device for image processing and display of Peli in the combination of Segre in view of Okayama since Peli teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display for the purpose of providing a device for image processing and display with reduced possibility of visually induced motion sickness and enlarged field of view.
Regarding claim 69, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Peli further teaches, the modification is a gradient where the degree of modification is increasingly greater further from said central-vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user), so that said degradation of the image quality of said non-central vision portion of said display image is greater the farther from said central vision portion (Para. 0051 and 0055; note, discloses an image is gradually reduced from an original contrast such that the contrast is less reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to an edge of the foveal view of the user and more reduced in the at least a portion of the area closest to the outer edge of the peripheral view of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the device for image processing and display of Peli in the combination of Segre in view of Okayama since Peli teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display for the purpose of providing a device for image processing and display with reduced possibility of visually induced motion sickness and enlarged field of view.
Regarding claim 70, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, non-central vision portion has n distinct parts (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the first part to be the portion of 625 that is abutting/surrounding 620 and the second part is the portion of 625 that is closest to 610 and is the outer periphery portion of 605), n being an integer greater than one, each distinct part having a different modification (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner points out that different types of blurring of the non-central vision portion of the display image that is dynamic and revised/adjusted).
Regarding claim 73, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, the non-central vision portion makes up at least 1% and not more than about 80% of the area of said display image that is not said central-vision portion (Para. 0038, 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 74, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, the non-central vision portion of said display image has a ring shape (see 625) having an inner dimension (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the inner dimension to be the portion of 625 that is abutting/surrounding 620) and an outer dimension (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the outer dimension is the portion of 625 that is closest to 610 and is the outer periphery portion of 605), such that the difference between said outer dimension and said inner dimension is between a minimum value and a maximum value (Para. 0043-0044 and see Fig. 6; note, the Examiner interprets the first part to be the portion of 625 that is abutting/surrounding 620 and the second part is the portion of 625 that is closest to 610 and is the outer periphery portion of 605).
Regarding claim 75, Segre, Okayama and Peli discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Segre further discloses, a third portion of said display image that is neither a central vision portion nor said non-central vision portion (see portion of 615 surrounding 605).
Claims 60 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segre et al. (US 2022/0057651; already of record) in view of Okayama et al. (US 2018/0096461; already of record) in view of Peli (US 2018/0261003; already of record) as applied to claims 59 and 70 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0209998).
Segre, Okayama and Peli remains as applied to claims 59 and 70 above.
Segre, Okayama and Peli does not disclose the non-central-vision portion includes two annular parts, an inner annular part with a first type of modification and an outer annular part with a second type of modification different from the first type of modification.
Wang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a device for image processing and display and a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject that it would have been desirable to make the non-central-vision portion includes two annular parts, an inner annular part with a first type of modification and an outer annular part with a second type of modification different from the first type of modification (Para. 0061-0064 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the non-central-vision portion includes two annular parts, an inner annular part with a first type of modification and an outer annular part with a second type of modification different from the first type of modification as taught by the device for image processing and display and a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject of Wang in the combination of Segre, Okayama and Peli since Wang teaches it is known to include these features in a device for image processing and display and a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject for the purpose of providing a low cost device for image processing and display and a method useful for the treatment of existing refractive errors and/or prevention of the development of refractive errors in a human subject with improved image quality and enhanced resolution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 56-60, 62-71 and 73-75 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jarvenpaa et al. (US 2021/0174768) and Shousha (US 2019/0094552) discloses a device for image processing and display that it would have been desirable to make the modification of a base image is a gradient where the degree of modification is selected from the group consisting of: increasingly greater closer to a central-vision portion, so that a degradation of the image quality of a non-central vision portion of a display image is greater the closer to a central vision portion.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/20/2026