DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendment filed 07/22/2026.
Response to Remarks/Amendment
Applicant's remark (page 9-10) filed July 22, 2026, has been fully considered, However, remarks with reference to claims 1, 8, 16 and 23, found not persuasive. Applicant argues that prior art Hosseini does not disclose or suggest, determining that an SL-PRS resource should be canceled or rescheduled, as recited in claims 1, 8, 16 and 23, or sending a sidelink cancellation indication (SLCI) indicating the at least one SL-PRS resource to be cancelled or rescheduled, as recited in claims 1 and 16. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hosseini discloses allocation of allocated resources that define an uplink channel in a first downlink control information (DCI) carried over a downlink channel, receiving an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI), in a second DCI, identifying at least a portion of the allocated resources that are canceled for use as the uplink channel, ….. and canceling any uplink transmission scheduled for the at least the portion of the allocated resources after waiting at least the processing time. It is further disclosed, for example, HARQ feedback information may be transmitted in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) within the slot 310 from the receiving sidelink device to the transmitting sidelink device. In addition, one or more reference signals, such as a sidelink SSB, a sidelink CSI-RS, a sidelink SRS, and/or a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) may be transmitted within the slot 310. A physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) may be used to transmit the DCI. PDCCHs may be located in predefined regions of a radio frame. In one example, each downlink subframe of a UL/DL configuration may include DCI, …… DCI format 2_4, which is a format that may be used to notify a group of scheduled entities (e.g., wireless communication devices, UEs) of the physical resource block(s) (PRB(s)) and OFDM symbol(s) where each respective scheduled entity may assume no transmission is intended for the respective scheduled entity and may also be used to identify the PRB(s) and OFDM symbol(s) that have been canceled for UL use (if previously scheduled by a scheduling entity). In other words, DCI format 2_4 may include an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) that may indicate the cancellation of a scheduled entity's use of a given resource for UL transmissions. A scheduling entity may cancel (or preempt) UL resources previously intended for use by the scheduled entity if, for example, the scheduling entity has other transmissions of a higher priority that it now intends to convey over the resources preempted from use by the scheduled entity.
As noted above, for example, in sidelink communication over a sidelink carrier via a proximity service (ProSe) PC5 interface, the control region 312 of the slot 310 may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by an initiating (transmitting) sidelink device. An OFDM resource grid in fig. 5, shows resources utilized for exemplary uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) according to some aspects of the disclosure of an uplink cancellation indication 500. Note that downlink control information (DCI) and uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) messages that may be used to allocate resources defining uplink channels to one or a group of scheduled entities, and to cancel at least a portion of the allocated resources for the defined uplink channels is exemplified in Fig. 2) (para. 0073, 0077, 0078, 0079). In view of the above provided explanation examiner believes applicant’s attempt to overcome the rejection seems not persuasive, the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosseini et al (hereinafter Hosseini) (US 2021/0329679).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 16, 23, Hosseini discloses a method (apparatus) of wireless communication performed by a network entity, the method comprising:
determining that at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource should be cancelled or rescheduled (for example, in sidelink communication over a sidelink carrier via a proximity service (ProSe) PC5 interface, the control region 312 of the slot 310 may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by an initiating (transmitting) sidelink device. An OFDM resource grid in fig. 5, shows resources utilized for exemplary uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) according to some aspects of the disclosure of an uplink cancellation indication 500) (para. 0073, 0077, 0078); and
sending, to at least one user equipment (UE), a sidelink cancellation indication (SLCI) indicating the at least one SL-PRS resource to be cancelled or rescheduled (the scheduling entity may transmit an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI), in a second DCI, to the group of scheduled entities identifying at least a portion of the allocated resources that are canceled for use as the uplink channel. For example, the ULCI may identify at least some resource blocks and OFDM symbols in the allocated resources that are canceled for use as the uplink channel) (paras. 0071, 0073, 0077-0078, 0151). Hosseini further discloses one or more processors (represented generally by the processor 804), a memory 808, and a transceiver (element 814) (paras. 0131, 0135).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 11, 17, 26, Hosseini discloses determining that the at least one SL-PRS resource should be used instead for a higher priority uplink, downlink, or sidelink communication (A scheduling entity may cancel (or preempt) UL resources previously intended for use by the scheduled entity if, for example, the scheduling entity has other transmissions of a higher priority that it now intends to convey over the resources preempted from use by the scheduled entity) (para. 0079).
Regarding claims 3, 12, 18, 27, Hosseini discloses The method of claim 1, wherein determining that at least one SL-PRS resource should be cancelled or rescheduled comprises determining that the at least one SL-PRS resource should be rescheduled instead of cancelled, based on a determination that:
fewer than a configured number of SL-PRS instances were performed;
the at least one SL-PRS resource is part of an on-demand SL-PRS (feedback information may be transmitted in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) within the slot 310 from the receiving sidelink device to the transmitting sidelink device. In addition, one or more reference signals, such as a sidelink SSB, a sidelink CSI-RS, a sidelink SRS, and/or a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) may be transmitted within the slot 310) (para. 0073); or
the at least one SL-PRS resource is part of a round-trip time (RTT) pair of measurements.
Regarding claims 4, 10, 19, 25, Hosseini discloses wherein sending the SLCI comprises sending the SLCI as part of downlink control information (DCI) (downlink control information (DCI) and uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) messages that may be used to allocate resources defining uplink channels to one or a group of scheduled entities, and to cancel at least a portion of the allocated resources for the defined uplink channels) (paras. 0078, 0139).
Regarding claims 5, 20, Hosseini discloses sending the SLCI to the UE that is configured to transmit SL-PRS signals over the at least one SL-PRS resource (para. 0139).
Regarding claims 6, 21, Hosseini discloses sending the SLCI to a UE that is configured to receive the SL-PRS signals transmitted over the at least one SL-PRS resource (processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel. In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may include one or more hardware components that provide the physical structure that performs processes related to wireless communication (e.g., signal reception and/or signal transmission) and signal processing) (para. 0182).
Regarding claims 7, 15, 22, 30, Hosseini discloses a specific SL-PRS resource; one occasion of a specific SL-PRS resource set; all occasions of a specific SL-PRS resource set; or all SL-PRS resources within a defined window of time (paras. 0099, 0184).
Regarding claims 13, 28, Hosseini discloses wherein cancelling or rescheduling the at least one SL- PRS resource comprises at least one of: cancelling SL-PRS transmissions within the at least one SL-PRS resource (para. 0118); not performing measurements of SL-PRS transmissions within the at least one SL-PRS resource; or discarding measurements previously made of SL-PRS transmissions within the at least one SL-PRS resource.
Regarding claims 14, 24, 29, Hosseini discloses sending, to at least one sidelink peer UE, a sidelink cancellation indication (SLCI) indicating the at least one SL-PRS resource to be cancelled or rescheduled (in sidelink communication over a sidelink carrier via a proximity service (ProSe) PC5 interface, the control region 312 of the slot 310 may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by an initiating (transmitting) sidelink device. An OFDM resource grid in fig. 5, shows resources utilized for exemplary uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) according to some aspects of the disclosure of an uplink cancellation indication 500) (para. 0073, 0077, 0078).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.