DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the preliminary amendment filed on 6/18/2024. Accordingly, Claims 1-18 are pending for consideration on the merits in this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/18/2024 was filed before the first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show divider wall 128 as described in the specification, see at least paragraph 0038. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 2-6, 8 and 9 be found allowable, claims 11-15, 17 and 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8-11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN106918174A) in view of Iwai (JP2007057123A)
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a stand-alone ice making appliance [ice maker, Figure 1; 0048] comprising:
a casing [ice maker body 60, Figure 1; 0048];
a reservoir disposed within the casing [internal water tank 51, Figure 1; 0048];
an ice maker disposed within the casing [where the ice maker body 60 includes an ice maker; 0018];
a pump disposed within the casing [where the ice maker body refers to a machine body in the art that has components such as a water pump; 0044], the pump in fluid communication with the reservoir and the ice maker, the pump operable to flow water from the reservoir to the ice maker [where the working principle of an ice maker is continuously circulating chilled water in the storage tank by a water pump to slowly freeze on the surface of the evaporator; 0004-0005]; and
an auxiliary reservoir [external water tank 50, Figure 1] disposed outside of the casing [where external water tank 50 is outside the ice maker body 60, Figure 1; 0048; where a mounting bracket is used to install and fix the external water tank; 0029], the auxiliary reservoir in fluid communication with the reservoir [via communication channel 52 between external water tank 50 and internal water tank 51; 0048] such that water within the auxiliary reservoir is flowable to the reservoir [where the flow controller is used to open and close channel 52 to draw water from the external water tank into the internal water tank; 0048],
Zhang does not teach where the reservoir comprises a filter, wherein the filter is positioned upstream of the ice maker in a flow direction of water from the reservoir to the ice maker, the filter in the reservoir comprising an activated carbon block and a phosphate material within the carbon block.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the reservoir [water tank 8, Figure 2] comprises a filter [water purification mechanism 12, Figure 2 and Figure 3; 0022], wherein the filter is positioned upstream of the ice maker in a flow direction of water from the reservoir to the ice maker [where pump 9 draws water from the water tank below the outlet of water purification mechanism 12 outlet which is then injected into ice tray 6 to make ice, Figure 3; 0018], the filter in the reservoir comprising an activated carbon block [where the purification mechanism 12 is made of activated carbon arranged in a cylindrical shape in water purification filter 15, Figure 2; 0021] and a phosphate material within the carbon block [where antibacterial glass 19 is made of a soluble phosphate-based glass in the inner surface of cylindrical water purification filter 15, Figure 3; 0022] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zhang to have wherein the filter is positioned upstream of the ice maker in a flow direction of water from the reservoir to the ice maker, the filter in the reservoir comprising an activated carbon block and a phosphate material within the carbon block in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the auxiliary reservoir comprises a base [mounting bracket 602, where a mounting bracket is used to install and fix the external water tank; 002] and a container [external water tank 50, annotated Figure 6], the base attached to the casing, the container removably mounted to the base [where when you need to add water, you only need to take out the external water tank 50, bring it close to the faucet to get the required amount of water, and then put it directly into the inverted conical cavity 601; 0051].
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach where the phosphate material is positioned within a tube, the filter is configured such that the carbon block of the filter is concentric with the tube of phosphate material, wherein water in the reservoir is gravity fed through the carbon block and the tube of phosphate material of the filter from the reservoir to the ice maker.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the phosphate material [antibacterial glass such as phosphate-based glass; 0022] is positioned within a tube [where a germicidal glass (19) is placed on the inner surface of the cylindrical water purification filter (15) via partition 17, Figure 3;0021], the filter is configured such that the carbon block of the filter is concentric with the tube of phosphate material [where the purification filter 15 is made of activated carbon and arranged around partition 17, Figure 3; 0021], wherein water in the reservoir is gravity fed through the carbon block and the tube of phosphate material of the filter from the reservoir to the ice maker [where the holder is integrally formed with water inlet 11 and filter 15 is configured to outlet water through mesh filter cover 16 at the bottom of filter 15, Figure 2; 0033; where pump 9 draws water from the bottom of water tank 8 and injects into ice tray 6, Figure 2; 0018] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, carbon and phosphate-based filtering, to a known device, a water tank, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the phosphate material is positioned within a tube, the filter is configured such that the carbon block of the filter is concentric with the tube of phosphate material, wherein water in the reservoir is gravity fed through the carbon block and the tube of phosphate material of the filter from the reservoir to the ice maker in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of claim 8 and does not teach a first cap and a second cap within the filter, the first and second cap configured to secure the tube and the phosphate material therein within the carbon block.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] a first cap [mesh filter cover 16, Figure 3] and a second cap within the filter [top of partition wall 17, Figure 3], the first and second cap configured to secure the tube and the phosphate material [germicidal glass 19, Figure 3] therein within the carbon block [where by closing the cylindrical opening at the bottom of the activated carbon water purification filter 15 with a mesh filter cover 16, the germicidal glass 19 is placed in the water supply tank 8 while maintaining contact with the ice-making water at a predetermined water level; 0033] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, carbon and phosphate-based filtering, to a known device, an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., maintaining safe concentration levels by securing the phosphate material at a predetermined level [Iwai;0033-0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have a first cap and a second cap within the filter, the first and second cap configured to secure the tube and the phosphate material therein within the carbon block in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., maintaining safe concentration levels by securing the phosphate material at a predetermined level [Iwai;0033-0034].
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang teaches a stand-alone ice making appliance [ice maker, Figure 1; 0048], comprising:
a casing [ice maker body 60, Figure 1; 0048];
a reservoir disposed within the casing [internal water tank 50, Figure 1; 0048];
an ice maker disposed within the casing [where the ice maker body 60 includes an ice maker; 0018]; and
Zhang does not teach where the reservoir comprises a filter, wherein the filter is positioned upstream of the ice maker in a flow direction of water from the reservoir to the ice maker, the filter in the reservoir comprising an activated carbon block and a phosphate material within the carbon block.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the reservoir [water tank 8, Figure 2] comprises a filter [water purification mechanism 12, Figure 2 and Figure 3; 0022], wherein the filter is positioned upstream of the ice maker in a flow direction of water from the reservoir to the ice maker [where pump 9 draws water from the water tank below the outlet of water purification mechanism 12 outlet which is then injected into ice tray 6 to make ice, Figure 3; 0018], the filter in the reservoir comprising an activated carbon block [where the purification mechanism 12 is made of activated carbon arranged in a cylindrical shape in water purification filter 15, Figure 2; 0021] and a phosphate material within the carbon block [where antibacterial glass 19 is made of a soluble phosphate-based glass in the inner surface of cylindrical water purification filter 15, Figure 3; 0022] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zhang to have wherein the filter is positioned upstream of the ice maker in a flow direction of water from the reservoir to the ice maker, the filter in the reservoir comprising an activated carbon block and a phosphate material within the carbon block in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 and further teaches an auxiliary reservoir [external water tank 50, Figure 1] disposed outside of the casing [where external water tank 50 is outside the ice maker body 60, Figure 1; 0048], the auxiliary reservoir in fluid communication with the reservoir [via communication channel 52 between external water tank 50 and internal water tank 51; 0048] such that water within the auxiliary reservoir is flowable to the reservoir [where the flow controller is used to open and close channel 52 to draw water from the external water tank into the internal water tank; 0048], wherein the auxiliary reservoir comprises a base [mounting bracket 602, where a mounting bracket is used to install and fix the external water tank; 0029] and a container [external water tank 50, annotated Figure 6], the base attached to the casing, the container removably mounted to the base [where when you need to add water, you only need to take out the external water tank 50, bring it close to the faucet to get the required amount of water, and then put it directly into the inverted conical cavity 601; 0051].
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 and does not teach where the phosphate material is positioned within a tube, the filter is configured such that the carbon block of the filter is concentric with the tube of phosphate material, wherein water in the reservoir is gravity fed through the carbon block and the tube of phosphate material of the filter from the reservoir to the ice maker.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the phosphate material [antibacterial glass such as phosphate-based glass; 0022] is positioned within a tube [where a germicidal glass (19) is placed on the inner surface of the cylindrical water purification filter (15) via partition 17, Figure 3;0021], the filter is configured such that the carbon block of the filter is concentric with the tube of phosphate material [where the purification filter 15 is made of activated carbon and arranged around partition 17, Figure 3; 0021], wherein water in the reservoir is gravity fed through the carbon block and the tube of phosphate material of the filter from the reservoir to the ice maker [where the holder is integrally formed with water inlet 11 and filter 15 is configured to outlet water through mesh filter cover 16 at the bottom of filter 15, Figure 2; 0033; where pump 9 draws water from the bottom of water tank 8 and injects into ice tray 6, Figure 2; 0018] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, carbon and phosphate-based filtering, to a known device, a water tank, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the phosphate material is positioned within a tube, the filter is configured such that the carbon block of the filter is concentric with the tube of phosphate material, wherein water in the reservoir is gravity fed through the carbon block and the tube of phosphate material of the filter from the reservoir to the ice maker in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 17 and does not teach a first cap and a second cap within the filter, the first and second cap configured to secure the tube and the phosphate material therein within the carbon block.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] a first cap [mesh filter cover 16, Figure 3] and a second cap within the filter [top of partition wall 17, Figure 3], the first and second cap configured to secure the tube and the phosphate material [germicidal glass 19, Figure 3] therein within the carbon block [where by closing the cylindrical opening at the bottom of the activated carbon water purification filter 15 with a mesh filter cover 16, the germicidal glass 19 is placed in the water supply tank 8 while maintaining contact with the ice-making water at a predetermined water level; 0033] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, carbon and phosphate-based filtering, to a known device, an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., maintaining safe concentration levels by securing the phosphate material at a predetermined level [Iwai;0033-0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have a first cap and a second cap within the filter, the first and second cap configured to secure the tube and the phosphate material therein within the carbon block in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., maintaining safe concentration levels by securing the phosphate material at a predetermined level [Iwai;0033-0034].
Claims 3-6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN106918174A) in view of Iwai (JP2007057123A) as applied to claim 2 and 11 above and in further view of Kim (US20100257875A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and does not teach an auxiliary filter disposed within the auxiliary reservoir.
However, Kim teaches a refrigerator and a control method thereof [0001] including a an auxiliary reservoir [second water supply container 231; 0063; 0064] where an auxiliary filter disposed within the auxiliary reservoir [where a second filter 238 and a third filter 249 are disposed at a lower end of the second suction passage 232 and the third suction passage 234 to purify the water within the second water supply container 231 and the third water supply container 233, respectively; 0062] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, filtering water in each reservoir, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., providing clean ice by purifying water stored in the reservoirs [Kim; 0077].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where an auxiliary filter disposed within the auxiliary reservoir in view of the teachings of Kim where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing clean ice by purifying water stored in the reservoirs [Kim; 0077].
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and does not teach where the container defines a first reservoir volume adjacent an inlet of the auxiliary reservoir and a second reservoir volume disposed below the first reservoir volume, wherein a divider wall is disposed between the first reservoir volume and the second reservoir volume within the auxiliary reservoir, and wherein the auxiliary filter is mounted to the divider wall, whereby water in the first reservoir volume is gravity fed through the auxiliary filter from the first reservoir volume to the second reservoir volume.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the container [water tank 8, Figure 2] defines a first reservoir volume [annotated Figure 2] adjacent an inlet of the reservoir [where water filter holder 13 is integrally formed with the water inlet 11, Figure 2; 0021] and a second reservoir volume disposed below the first reservoir volume [annotated Figure 2], wherein a divider wall is disposed between the first reservoir volume and the second reservoir volume within the reservoir [the walls of holder 13, where the opening at the bottom of the water purification filter 15 is closed with a mesh filter cover 16, Figure 2 and Figure 3; 0021], and wherein the filter is mounted to the divider wall [where holder 13 is where holder 13 is connected to and integrally formed with the water purification filter; 0021; Figure 3; 0021], whereby water in the first reservoir volume is gravity fed through the auxiliary filter from the first reservoir volume to the second reservoir volume [where the holder is integrally formed with water inlet 11 and filter 15 is configured to outlet water through mesh filter cover 16 at the bottom of filter 15, Figure 2; 0033] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, an auxiliary reservoir with an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the container defines a first reservoir volume adjacent an inlet of the auxiliary reservoir and a second reservoir volume disposed below the first reservoir volume, wherein a divider wall is disposed between the first reservoir volume and the second reservoir volume within the auxiliary reservoir, and wherein the auxiliary filter is mounted to the divider wall, whereby water in the first reservoir volume is gravity fed through the auxiliary filter from the first reservoir volume to the second reservoir volume in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 and does not teach where the second reservoir volume is larger than the first reservoir volume.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the volume of water outside holder 13 in water tank 8 is larger than the volume in holder 13, annotated Figure 2] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, an auxiliary reservoir with an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing a significant increase in the concentration of silver ions in the water [Iwai;0034]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the second reservoir volume is larger than the first reservoir volume in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing a significant increase in the concentration of silver ions in the water [Iwai;0034]
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 and does not teach where the auxiliary filter comprises a carbon block and a phosphate material inside the carbon block.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where a filter [water purification mechanism 12, Figure 2 and Figure 3; 0022], comprises a carbon block [where the purification mechanism 12 is made of activated carbon arranged in a cylindrical shape in water purification filter 15, Figure 2; 0021] and a phosphate material inside the carbon block [where antibacterial glass 19 is made of a soluble phosphate-based glass in the inner surface of cylindrical water purification filter 15, Figure 3; 0022] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, carbon and phosphate-based filtering, to a known device, an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the auxiliary filter comprises a carbon block and a phosphate material inside the carbon block in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and does not teach an auxiliary filter disposed within the auxiliary reservoir.
However, Kim teaches a refrigerator and a control method thereof [0001] including a an auxiliary reservoir [second water supply container 231; 0063; 0064] where an auxiliary filter disposed within the auxiliary reservoir [where a second filter 238 and a third filter 249 are disposed at a lower end of the second suction passage 232 and the third suction passage 234 to purify the water within the second water supply container 231 and the third water supply container 233, respectively; 0062] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, filtering water in each reservoir, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., providing clean ice by purifying water stored in the reservoirs [Kim; 0077].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where an auxiliary filter disposed within the auxiliary reservoir in view of the teachings of Kim where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing clean ice by purifying water stored in the reservoirs [Kim; 0077].
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and does not teach where the container defines a first reservoir volume adjacent an inlet of the auxiliary reservoir and a second reservoir volume disposed below the first reservoir volume, wherein a divider wall is disposed between the first reservoir volume and the second reservoir volume within the auxiliary reservoir, and wherein the auxiliary filter is mounted to the divider wall, whereby water in the first reservoir volume is gravity fed through the auxiliary filter from the first reservoir volume to the second reservoir volume.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the container [water tank 8, Figure 2] defines a first reservoir volume [annotated Figure 2] adjacent an inlet of the reservoir [where water filter holder 13 is integrally formed with the water inlet 11, Figure 2; 0021] and a second reservoir volume disposed below the first reservoir volume [annotated Figure 2], wherein a divider wall is disposed between the first reservoir volume and the second reservoir volume within the reservoir [the walls of holder 13, where the opening at the bottom of the water purification filter 15 is closed with a mesh filter cover 16, Figure 2 and Figure 3; 0021], and wherein the filter is mounted to the divider wall [where holder 13 is where holder 13 is connected to and integrally formed with the water purification filter; 0021; Figure 3; 0021], whereby water in the first reservoir volume is gravity fed through the auxiliary filter from the first reservoir volume to the second reservoir volume [where the holder is integrally formed with water inlet 11 and filter 15 is configured to outlet water through mesh filter cover 16 at the bottom of filter 15, Figure 2; 0033] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, an auxiliary reservoir with an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the container defines a first reservoir volume adjacent an inlet of the auxiliary reservoir and a second reservoir volume disposed below the first reservoir volume, wherein a divider wall is disposed between the first reservoir volume and the second reservoir volume within the auxiliary reservoir, and wherein the auxiliary filter is mounted to the divider wall, whereby water in the first reservoir volume is gravity fed through the auxiliary filter from the first reservoir volume to the second reservoir volume in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13 and does not teach where the second reservoir volume is larger than the first reservoir volume.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where the volume of water outside holder 13 in water tank 8 is larger than the volume in holder 13, annotated Figure 2] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, an auxiliary reservoir with an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing a significant increase in the concentration of silver ions in the water [Iwai;0034]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the second reservoir volume is larger than the first reservoir volume in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing a significant increase in the concentration of silver ions in the water [Iwai;0034]
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13 and does not teach where the auxiliary filter comprises a carbon block and a phosphate material inside the carbon block.
However, Iwai teaches an automatic ice-making device with a water tank installed [0002] where a filter [water purification mechanism 12, Figure 2 and Figure 3; 0022], comprises a carbon block [where the purification mechanism 12 is made of activated carbon arranged in a cylindrical shape in water purification filter 15, Figure 2; 0021] and a phosphate material inside the carbon block [where antibacterial glass 19 is made of a soluble phosphate-based glass in the inner surface of cylindrical water purification filter 15, Figure 3; 0022] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, carbon and phosphate-based filtering, to a known device, an auxiliary filter, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the auxiliary filter comprises a carbon block and a phosphate material inside the carbon block in view of the teachings of Iwai where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., keeping the water clean by removing residual chlorine and odor components and sterilizing the water [Iwai; 0036].
Claim 7 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN106918174A) in view of Iwai (JP2007057123A) as applied to claim 2 and 12 above and in further view of Zhang (CN219083458U), hereinafter Zhang ‘458.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches where the auxiliary reservoir [external water tank 50, Figure 2] comprises a check valve [elastic sealing component 312 where when in use the spring 20 is compressed state and when drainage is needed push the drain plug 30, Figure 9; 0053] mounted to the container [in drain outlet 501, Figure 6] but does not teach where the check valve is configured such that the check valve is open when the container is mounted to the base and that the check valve is closed when the container is removed from the base.
However, Zhang ‘458 teaches an ice maker with side-water tank supply [0001] where the auxiliary reservoir [water tank body 3, Figure 1, where water tank body 3 is connected to the small water tank inside the ice maker body 1; n0042] comprises a check valve mounted to the container [a flexible check valve 4 in drain hole 31 of water tank body 3, Figure 2], the check valve configured such that the check valve is open when the container is mounted to the base [where under the action of the protrusion 225, the valve stem 43 of valve 4 slides into the interior of the water tank body 3, so that the valve plug 42 does not block the through hole 411. At this time, the spring 44 is compressed by the limiting post 45 and the bottom of the insertion groove 415; n00051] and that the check valve is closed when the container is removed from the base [where the valve plug 42 blocks the through hole 411 under the action of the spring 44, so the water in the water tank body 3 is not easy to leak through the through hole 411, Figure 2; n0052] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing leaking when mounting or removing the auxiliary water tank [Zhang ‘458; n0051-n0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the check valve is configured such that the check valve is open when the container is mounted to the base and that the check valve is closed when the container is removed from the base in view of the teachings of Zhang ‘458 where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing leaking when mounting or removing the auxiliary water tank [Zhang ‘458; n0051-n0052].
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and further teaches where the auxiliary reservoir [external water tank 50, Figure 2] comprises a check valve [elastic sealing component 312 where when in use the spring 20 is compressed state and when drainage is needed push the drain plug 30, Figure 9; 0053] mounted to the container [in drain outlet 501, Figure 6] but does not teach where the check valve is configured such that the check valve is open when the container is mounted to the base and that the check valve is closed when the container is removed from the base.
However, Zhang ‘458 teaches an ice maker with side-water tank supply [0001] where the auxiliary reservoir [water tank body 3, Figure 1, where water tank body 3 is connected to the small water tank inside the ice maker body 1; n0042] comprises a check valve mounted to the container [a flexible check valve 4 in drain hole 31 of water tank body 3, Figure 2], the check valve configured such that the check valve is open when the container is mounted to the base [where under the action of the protrusion 225, the valve stem 43 of valve 4 slides into the interior of the water tank body 3, so that the valve plug 42 does not block the through hole 411. At this time, the spring 44 is compressed by the limiting post 45 and the bottom of the insertion groove 415; n00051] and that the check valve is closed when the container is removed from the base [where the valve plug 42 blocks the through hole 411 under the action of the spring 44, so the water in the water tank body 3 is not easy to leak through the through hole 411, Figure 2; n0052] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing leaking when mounting or removing the auxiliary water tank [Zhang ‘458; n0051-n0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the check valve is configured such that the check valve is open when the container is mounted to the base and that the check valve is closed when the container is removed from the base in view of the teachings of Zhang ‘458 where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing leaking when mounting or removing the auxiliary water tank [Zhang ‘458; n0051-n0052].
Conclusion
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763