DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/18/2024, 5/9/2025 and 8/26/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 6/18/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taniuchi et al (US 20210305620 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Taniuchi discloses an electrode assembly comprising a plurality of electrodes (10) stacked with a separator (30, solid electrolyte) therebetween; and a plurality of electrode tabs (12a, 12b, 12c, 12d) which are connected to the plurality of electrodes (10), respectively, and welded to each other so as to form a welded portion (300), wherein each outermost electrode tabs of the plurality of electrode tabs is convexly bent outward, wherein the outermost electrode tabs comprises a first section (121) extending from the electrode, and a second section extending (122) from
the first section (121) and having a steeper slope than the first section, wherein the first
section (121) comprises a flat portion (121a) connected to the electrode, and a bending
portion (121b) which connects the flat portion and the second section (122) to each other [Annotated Fig. 1, 2; paragraph 0043-0047].
Regarding claim 12, Taniuchi teaches that in plurality of electrode tabs, electrode tabs disposed further outward are more bent than those electrode tabs disposed further inward [Annotated Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 14, Taniuchi teaches that the outermost electrode tabs further comprises a third section (123) extending from the second section to the welded portion and having a less steep slope than the second section [Annotated Fig. 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pil et al (KR 20190054617 A) in view of Jin et al (KR 20200105272 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Pil discloses an electrode tab welding method and an electrode tab welding device for a secondary battery wherein a plurality of electrode tabs are pressed and joined by a pressing part (20); and the plurality of electrode tabs are welded and thereby bonded to each other. Pil teaches forming a stepped portion on an end of an electrode tab part (130) by pressing the electrode tab part by means of a pair of pressing blocks (21, 22) having rounded edges [Fig. 8-12; paragraph 0088, 0099-0100, 0105; claim 14]. Pil remains silent about a pair of alignment rollers that press a plurality of electrode tabs joined by a pair of tab guides and rotate in the direction in which the outermost electrode is pushed toward an electrode assembly. However, Jin teaches an electrode tab welding method and an electrode tab welding device for a secondary battery wherein a first rotation roll (214) and a second rotation roll (224) are rotatably provided on ends of a first rod (210) and a second rod (220) that press electrode tabs (15) so that the first rotation roll (214) and the second rotation roll (224) rotate and press the electrode tabs (15) when pressing the electrode tabs (15) [Fig. 7-9; paragraph 0061]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Jin teaches that a point at which the pair of aligning rollers press the plurality of electrode tabs is farther away from the electrode assembly than a point at which the pair of tab guides press the plurality of electrode tabs-is relative to the electrode assembly [Fig. 9].
Regarding claims 3-4 and 8-9, Pil teaches a stepped portion is formed on an end of an electrode tab part (130) by pressing the electrode tab part by means of a pair of pressing blocks (21, 22) having rounded edges [Fig. 9-12; paragraphs 0088, 0099] and Jin teaches a first rotation roll (214) and a second rotation roll (224) are rotatably provided on ends of a first rod (210) and a second rod (220) that press electrode tabs (15) so that the first rotation roll (214) and the second rotation roll (224) rotate and press the electrode tabs (15) when pressing the electrode tabs (15) [Fig. 7-8; paragraph 0061]. Therefore, the additional features of claims 3-4 and 8-9 could be easily derived through a design modification of Pil and Jin and would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Jin teaches a first rod (210) and a second rod (220) that press electrode tabs (15) move toward each other with the electrode tab therebetween [Fig. 2-4, 8; paragraph 0033]. Therefore, the additional features of claim 6 could be easily derived through a design modification of Pil and Jin and would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 10, It is within the technical grasp of a skilled artisan to keep the pair of aligning rollers are spaced apart from the plurality of electrode tabs when the welding part welds the plurality of electrode tabs and would have been obvious.
12. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pil et al (KR 20190054617 A) in view of Jin et al (KR 20200105272 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Naoi et al (US 20190074143 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Pil/Jin remains silent about the material of the rollers; however, it is known in the art to utilize elastomer as roller material as taught by Naoi [paragraph 0155, 0160, 0186]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
13. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniuchi et al (US 20210305620 A1) as applied in claim 11 and further in view of Park et al (US 20190148705 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Taniuchi remains silent about how the arrangement of the electrodes tabs is claimed. However, Park teaches a battery electrode arrangement wherein the outermost electrode tabs have an outer end that is stepped inward from an outer end of another electrode tab [Fig. 8-9]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723