DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. In this case, the present title too long. See MPEP 606.01. The following title is suggested: --A substrate processing system--.
Specification
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the present Abstract filed on 06/18/2024, contains multiple paragraphs. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 5: the limitation: “…in the oxidation step, …the inert gas is removed to oxidize…”, is indefinite because it is unclear: in the oxidation step, is it required to have the inert gas or not? Since claim 1 does require both inert gas and gas containing oxygen. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kodama et al. (US 20180369945 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kodama discloses
A welding method (consumable electrode type gas shield arc welding method, abstract, and fig.3A) comprising:
a melting step (shielding gas G1, fig.3A) of melting a bonding portion (molten pool 8, fig.3A) of a welding target material by arc discharge while blowing an inert gas (shielding gas G1) to the bonding portion (molten pool 8); and
an oxidation step (oxidation promotion gas G2, fig.3A) of oxidizing the bonding portion (molten pool 8) by supplying the inert gas (shielding gas G1) and a gas containing oxygen [Abstract cited: “…consumable electrode type gas shield arc welding method includes performing arc welding while a shielding gas having an oxygen…”] to the bonding portion (molten pool 8) in a state where a portion of the melted bonding portion (molten pool 8) is solidified and the other portion is melted.
Regarding claim 2, Kodama discloses
a welding torch (welding torch 1, fig.3A) is installed to face a surface of the bonding portion (molten pool 8, fig.3A) of the welding target material, in the melting step (shielding gas G1, fig.3A), the inert gas (shielding gas G1) is supplied in a direction from the welding torch (welding torch 1) toward the welding target material, and melting of the bonding portion (molten pool 8) starts from the surface of the welding target material, and in the oxidation step (oxidation promotion gas G2, fig.3A), at least the surface of the bonding portion (molten pool 8) facing the welding torch (welding torch 1) is oxidized.
Regarding claim 3, Kodama discloses
the oxidation step (oxidation promotion gas G2, fig.3A) is performed when a temperature of a surface of the welding target material is 400° C. or higher [Par.0077 cited: “…temperature is equal to or lower than the melting point of iron (approximately 1,500° C.) is present as stable CO.sub.2, there by acting as an inert gas…”].
Regarding claim 4, Kodama discloses
in the melting step (shielding gas G1, fig.3A), two end portions (two ends of molten pool 8, fig.3A) of the welding target material are melted.
Regarding claim 5, Kodama discloses
in the oxidation step (oxidation promotion gas G2, fig.3A), when the two end portions (two ends of molten pool 8, fig.3A) of the welding target material are melted, the inert gas (oxidation promotion gas G2, fig.3A) is removed to oxidize the end portions (two ends of molten pool 8) of the welding target material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Clover et al. (US 20210086279 A1) is considered as the relevant prior art in field of ignition device component produced by cold metal transfer process, as shown in fig.1, with a laser welding, a mechanical bonded, a welding torch, and arc discharge, but does not explicitly the steps as claim…
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
10/28/2026