DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 07/28/2026 is acknowledged. As a result, claims 1-20 and 22-25 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 14, 15 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please below detailed rejections with new references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9-11, 14, 17, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy (US 20110051642 A1, hereinafter Krishnaswamy) in view SHEN (US 20220386119 A1, hereinafter Shen)
Regarding Claim 1, Krishnaswamy teaches a method comprising: a shared modem separate and distinct from a user device, communicatively coupling to the user device, wherein the user device comprises a subscriber identity module (SIM) device;
(Krishnaswamy [FIG. 1 and FIG. 2] elaborates the architecture of shared modems separate and distinct from a user device (102, 202).
[0028] FIG. 11 illustrates a system that facilitates selection of shared wireless wide area network modems in accordance with one or more of the disclosed aspects.
[0093] At least one processor 226 can be operatively connected to wireless communications apparatus 202 (and/or memory 224) to facilitate analysis of information related to selection of shared wireless wide area network modems in a communication network.)
But Krishnaswamy fails to teach in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmitting, by the shared modem and to the user device, a request for identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device;
in response to receiving identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device, transmitting, by the shared modem, the identification data to a cellular network;
determining, by the shared modem, a registration parameter based on an authentication response received from the cellular network in response to transmitting the identification data;
and transmitting, by the shared modem, a network message received from the cellular network to the user device based on the determined registration parameter.
However, in a similar endeavor, Shen teaches in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmitting, by the shared modem and to the user device, a request for identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device;
(Shen [0030 and FIG. 1] In S110, in response to a first device's requirement for obtaining cellular mobile communication, share request information is sent to a second device through an interactive channel that is established between the first device and the second device through a preset connection manner.)
(Note: First device in the reference reads onto the “shared modem” in the claim limitation.)
in response to receiving identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device, transmitting, by the shared modem, the identification data to a cellular network;
(Shen [0031 and FIG. 1] In S120, SIM card information that is returned by the second device based on the share request information is received.
[0032] In S130, a cellular mobile communication connection with a base station is established according to the SIM card information returned by the second device.)
determining, by the shared modem, a registration parameter based on an authentication response received from the cellular network in response to transmitting the identification data;
(Shen [0047 and FIG. 2A] In S131, a network access request is sent to the base station according to the SIM card information.
[0048] In S132, an authentication request that is returned by the base station based on the network access request is received.
[0049] In S133, an authentication response is obtained based on the authentication request.)
and transmitting, by the shared modem, a network message received from the cellular network to the user device based on the determined registration parameter.
(Shen [0145] In some examples, the method further includes the following steps, as shown in FIG. 4.
[0146] In S230, an authentication request is received through the interactive channel, where the authentication request is generated by the base station based on a network access request and transferred by the first device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and by incorporating Shen to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so efficient and lower-power consumption basis to provide cellular access and authentication for one or more user devices by using shared modem.
Regarding Claim 3, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 1 and Shen further teaches shared modem, communicatively coupling to a second user device that includes a second SIM device;
(Shen [0338] As shown in FIG. 11, an example of the present disclosure provides a SIM card sharing device applied to a second device.)
and transmitting, by the shared modem, identification data stored in the second SIM device to the cellular network.
(Shen [0339] A second receiving module 210 is configured to receive share request information sent, through the interactive channel, by the first device, where the share request information is used to request the SIM card information of the second device. The interactive channel is established between the first device and the second device through a preset connection manner.
[0340] A second sending module 220 is configured to: return the SIM card information to the first device through the interactive channel in response to the share request information, where the SIM card information is at least used by the first device to establish a cellular mobile communication connection with the base station.)
Regarding Claim 5, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 1 and Shen further teaches receiving, by the shared modem, from the user device, a message transmit request;
(Shen [0073, FIG. 2B, S133B and S134] receiving the authentication response returned by the second device based on the authentication request.)
and transmitting, by the shared modem, a second network message to the cellular network based on the message transmit request and the determined registration parameter.
(Shen [0050] In S134, the authentication response is sent to the base station, and the authentication response is used to allow the first device to establish a cellular mobile communication connection with the base station in response to the authentication response passing an authentication verification.)
Regarding Claim 9, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 1 and Shen further teaches wherein the shared modem is disposed in a second user device.
(Shen [0338] As shown in FIG. 11, an example of the present disclosure provides a SIM card sharing device applied to a second device. The SIM card sharing device includes modules described below.)
(Note: SIM card sharing device reads onto the Shared modem of the claim limitation
Regarding Claim 10, Krishnaswamy teaches a method comprising by a shared modem, communicatively coupling to a plurality of user devices, each user device of the plurality of user devices including a respective subscriber identity module (SIM) device;
(Krishnaswamy [FIG. 1 and FIG. 2] elaborates the architecture of shared modems separate and distinct from a user device (102, 202).
[0028] FIG. 11 illustrates a system that facilitates selection of shared wireless wide area network modems in accordance with one or more of the disclosed aspects.
[0093] At least one processor 226 can be operatively connected to wireless communications apparatus 202 (and/or memory 224) to facilitate analysis of information related to selection of shared wireless wide area network modems in a communication network.)
But Krishnaswamy fails to teach and by the shared modem, implementing at least a portion of an authentication process for a cellular network and each user device of the plurality of user devices, implementing the at least a portion of an authentication process for each user device of the plurality of user devices comprising
in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmitting, to the user device, a request for identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device;
transmitting the identification data stored in a respective SIM device associated with the user device to the cellular network;
and determining a registration parameter for a respective user device based on a network message received from the cellular network.
However, in a similar endeavor, Shen teaches and by the shared modem, implementing at least a portion of an authentication process for a cellular network and each user device of the plurality of user devices, implementing the at least a portion of an authentication process for each user device of the plurality of user devices comprising
(Shen [0006, line 9] in response to the share request information, returning the SIM card information to the first device through the interactive channel, where the SIM card information is at least configured to allow the first device to establish a cellular mobile communication connection with a base station.
[0051] For example, the network access request sent to the base station from the first device may at least include: the IMSI of the SIM card of the second device.)
in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmitting, to the user device, a request for identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device;
(Shen [0030 and FIG. 1] In S110, in response to a first device's requirement for obtaining cellular mobile communication, share request information is sent to a second device through an interactive channel that is established between the first device and the second device through a preset connection manner.)
(Note: First device in the reference reads onto the “shared modem” in the claim limitation.)
transmitting the identification data stored in a respective SIM device associated with the user device to the cellular network;
(Shen [0073, FIG. 2B, S133B and S134] receiving the authentication response returned by the second device based on the authentication request.
[0050] In S134, the authentication response is sent to the base station, and the authentication response is used to allow the first device to establish a cellular mobile communication connection with the base station in response to the authentication response passing an authentication verification.)
and determining a registration parameter for a respective user device based on a network message received from the cellular network.
(Shen [0046] The detail process of establishing, based on the SIM card information of the second device, a cellular mobile communication connection between the first device and the base station may refer to a network access registration process in the related technology. An optional network access registration process is provided below. That is, the S130 may include steps described below, as shown in FIG. 2A.
[0208] The base station replies with an authentication request carrying parameters such as authentication token (AUTN) and random number (RAND).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and by incorporating Shen to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so efficient and lower-power consumption basis to provide cellular access and authentication for one or more user devices by using shared modem.
Regarding Claim 11, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 and further teaches wherein a first user device of the plurality of user devices is communicatively coupled to the shared modem using a first communication protocol and a second user device of the plurality of user devices is communicatively coupled to the shared modem using a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol.
(Shen [FIG. 10 and FIG. 11] elaborates the claim limitation.)
Regarding Claim 14, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 and further teaches wherein of the plurality of user devices further comprises: in response to communicatively coupling to a respective user device, generating a user device registration request;
(Shen [0006, line 9] in response to the share request information, returning the SIM card information to the first device through the interactive channel, where the SIM card information is at least configured to allow the first device to establish a cellular mobile communication connection with a base station.
[0051] For example, the network access request sent to the base station from the first device may at least include: the IMSI of the SIM card of the second device.
[0075, line 2] the first device transfers the authentication request to the second device through the interactive channel. After receiving the authentication request, the second device calculates information required for the authentication response based on a part of the SIM card information of the second device that is not sent to the first device, and sends the generated authentication response to the first device through the interactive channel.)
and transmitting the user device registration request to the cellular network.
(Shen [FIG. 1, 0031] In S120, SIM card information that is returned by the second device based on the share request information is received.
[0032] In S130, a cellular mobile communication connection with a base station is established according to the SIM card information returned by the second device.)
Regarding Claim 17, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 and further teaches wherein the shared modem is disposed in at least one user device of the plurality of user devices.
(Shen [FIG. 10 and FIG. 11] elaborates the claim limitation.)
Regarding Claim 22, Shen teaches an apparatus for offloading one or more network messages between a user device and a cellular network, the apparatus comprising: a shared modem communicatively coupleable to one or more user devices and a cellular network;
(Krishnaswamy [FIG. 1 and FIG. 2] elaborates the architecture of shared modems separate and distinct from a user device (102, 202).
[0028] FIG. 11 illustrates a system that facilitates selection of shared wireless wide area network modems in accordance with one or more of the disclosed aspects.
[0093] At least one processor 226 can be operatively connected to wireless communications apparatus 202 (and/or memory 224) to facilitate analysis of information related to selection of shared wireless wide area network modems in a communication network.)
one or more processors;
(Krishnaswamy [0093] At least one processor 226 can be operatively connected to wireless communications apparatus 202 (and/or memory 224) to facilitate analysis of information related to selection of shared wireless wide area network modems in a communication network.)
and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions configured to manipulate one or both of the one or more processors or the shared modem to:
(Krishnaswamy [0086] System 200 can include memory 224 operatively coupled to wireless communications apparatus 202. Memory 224 can be external to wireless communications apparatus 202 or can reside within wireless communications apparatus 202. Memory 224 can retain instructions related to determining if an energy level of wireless communications apparatus 202 is mitigated by usage of a communicator selected from a plurality of communicators 210 and selecting the communicator.)
But Krishnaswamy fails to teach in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmit, to the user device, a request for identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device;
in response to receiving the identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device, transmit the identification data to the cellular network;
determine a registration parameter based on an authentication response received from the cellular network in response to transmitting the identification data;
and provide a network message received from the cellular network for transmission to the user device based on the determined registration parameter.
However, in a similar endeavor, Shen teaches in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmit, to the user device, a request for identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device;
(Shen [0030 and FIG. 1] In S110, in response to a first device's requirement for obtaining cellular mobile communication, share request information is sent to a second device through an interactive channel that is established between the first device and the second device through a preset connection manner.)
(Note: First device in the reference reads onto the “shared modem” in the claim limitation.)
in response to receiving the identification data stored in the SIM device of the user device, transmit the identification data to the cellular network;
(Shen [0073, FIG. 2B, S133B and S134] receiving the authentication response returned by the second device based on the authentication request.
[0050] In S134, the authentication response is sent to the base station, and the authentication response is used to allow the first device to establish a cellular mobile communication connection with the base station in response to the authentication response passing an authentication verification.)
determine a registration parameter based on an authentication response received from the cellular network in response to transmitting the identification data;
(Shen [0046] The detail process of establishing, based on the SIM card information of the second device, a cellular mobile communication connection between the first device and the base station may refer to a network access registration process in the related technology. An optional network access registration process is provided below. That is, the S130 may include steps described below, as shown in FIG. 2A.
[0208] The base station replies with an authentication request carrying parameters such as authentication token (AUTN) and random number (RAND).)
and provide a network message received from the cellular network for transmission to the user device based on the determined registration parameter.
[0208] The base station replies with an authentication request carrying parameters such as authentication token (AUTN) and random number (RAND).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and by incorporating Shen to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so efficient and lower-power consumption basis to provide cellular access and authentication for one or more user devices by using shared modem.
Regarding Claim 24, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach an apparatus of Claim 22 and Shen further teaches wherein the executable instructions further are configured to manipulate one or both of the one or more processors or the shared modem to: communicatively couple the shared modem to a second user device that includes a second SIM device;
(Shen [0338] As shown in FIG. 11, an example of the present disclosure provides a SIM card sharing device applied to a second device.)
and provide identification data stored in the second SIM device for transmission by the shared modem to the cellular network.
(Shen [0339] A second receiving module 210 is configured to receive share request information sent, through the interactive channel, by the first device, where the share request information is used to request the SIM card information of the second device. The interactive channel is established between the first device and the second device through a preset connection manner.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and by incorporating Shen to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled multiple user devices to utilize the shared modem for efficient and energy consumption operation.
Regarding Claim 25, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach an apparatus of Claim 22 and Shen further teaches wherein the shared modem is disposed in a second user device.
(Shen [0338] As shown in FIG. 11, an example of the present disclosure provides a SIM card sharing device applied to a second device. The SIM card sharing device includes modules described below.)
(Note: SIM card sharing device reads onto the Shared modem of the claim limitation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and by incorporating Shen to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled multiple user devices to utilize the shared modem for efficient and energy consumption operation.
Claims 2, 12-13, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy (US 20110051642 A1, hereinafter Krishnaswamy) in view of SHEN (US 20220386119 A1, hereinafter Shen) and in further view of HE et al. (US 20210105862 A1, hereinafter HE)
Regarding Claim 2, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 1 but fails to teach in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmitting a registration request associated with the user device to the cellular network.
However, in a similar endeavor, HE teaches in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, transmitting a registration request associated with the user device to the cellular network.
(HE [0090,13] At 720, the slave UE 302 uses its security credentials to generate, encrypt and transmit the Registration Update message to the master UE 304. At 722, the master UE 304 encapsulates the Registration Update message in its own NAS message and transmits the encapsulated Registration Update message to the core network 308.
(HE [0103] Referring to FIG. 11, at 1106, the master UE 304 transmits an Attach Request to the core network 308 on behalf of the slave UE 302 (e.g., effectively pretending to be the slave UE 302))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating HE to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled registration data drives for subsequent message handling.
Regarding Claim 12, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 but fails to teach receiving a transmit message request from a user device of the plurality of user devices; and determining a network message to transmit to the cellular network based on the transmit message request and a respective registration parameter.
However, in a similar endeavor, HE teaches receiving a transmit message request from a user device of the plurality of user devices; and determining a network message to transmit to the cellular network based on the transmit message request and a respective registration parameter.
(HE [0075, line 17] the offloaded communication function(s) may comprise a relay function whereby the master UE 304 exchanges application-layer data traffic with the access network 306 on the physical layer on behalf of the slave UE 302,and then relays this application-layer data traffic with the slave UE 302 via the D2D connection.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating HE for the system to have registration parameter determination.
The motivation of doing so would have supported message handling after network acceptance.
Regarding Claim 13, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 but fails to teach wherein at least one user device of the plurality of user devices does not include an internal modem.
However, in a similar endeavor, HE teaches wherein at least one user device of the plurality of user devices does not include an internal modem.
(HE [0006, line 11] Many legacy slave UEs were required to be tethered to a master UE so as to obtain cellular network connectivity via the master UE.)
(Note: as such one user device of the plurality of user devices can be a legacy slave UE without an internal modem.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating HE to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled secure connection to a modem not built into the device.
Regarding Claim 18, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 but fails to teach wherein the shared modem is configured to communicatively couple to at least one user device using a communication protocol of a plurality of communication protocols.
However, in a similar endeavor, HE teaches wherein the shared modem is configured to communicatively couple to at least one user device using a communication protocol of a plurality of communication protocols.
(HE [0006] In some designs, a user equipment (UE) (e.g., an NR-Light or RedCap UE, such as a wearable device, or any type of UE with low available processing capacity and/or a low battery condition.) may become tethered to another UE (e.g., a smartphone). In such arrangements, the tethered UE may be characterized as a slave UE, and the UE to which the slave UE is tethered may be characterized as a master UE. The tethering may be implemented via a device-to-device (D2D) connection, which may alternatively be referred to as a personal area network (PAN) connection (e.g., via Bluetooth, LTE-D, WiFi-Direct, etc.))
(Note: User device can utilize any of the communication protocols i.e Bluetooth, LTE-D, WiFi-Direct, etc and as such first user device, for example, a wearable device can use Bluetooth as a communication protocol and so on.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating HE to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have allowed the shared modem to be communicating with a user device by using a communication protocol .
Regarding Claim 23, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 but fails to teach wherein the executable instructions further are configured to manipulate one or both of the one or more processors or the shared modem to: in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, provide a registration request associated with the user device for transmission to the cellular network.
However, in a similar endeavor, HE teaches wherein the executable instructions further are configured to manipulate one or both of the one or more processors or the shared modem to: in response to communicatively coupling to the user device, provide a registration request associated with the user device for transmission to the cellular network.
(HE [0090,13] At 720, the slave UE 302 uses its security credentials to generate, encrypt and transmit the Registration Update message to the master UE 304. At 722, the master UE 304 encapsulates the Registration Update message in its own NAS message and transmits the encapsulated Registration Update message to the core network 308.
(HE [0103] Referring to FIG. 11, at 1106, the master UE 304 transmits an Attach Request to the core network 308 on behalf of the slave UE 302 (e.g., effectively pretending to be the slave UE 302)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating HE to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have forwarded identification data to the cellular network and receives an authentication/registration response.
Claims 4, 6-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy (US 20110051642 A1, hereinafter Krishnaswamy) in view of SHEN (US 20220386119 A1, hereinafter Shen) and in further view of Fletcher et al. (US 20140141772 A1, hereinafter Fletcher)
Regarding Claim 4, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach method of Claim 1 but fail to teach
wherein the user device includes a telephony framework configured to output at least a portion of the network message.
However, in a similar endeavor, Fletcher teaches wherein the user device includes a telephony framework configured to output at least a portion of the network message.
(Fletcher [0014] User device 205 may include one or more devices capable of communicating (e.g., transmitting and/or receiving voice, text, images, and/or multimedia data) via a cellular network. For example, user device 205 may include a radiotelephone)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating Fletcher et al. to accommodate telephony framework to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have made the user device to output a portion of the network message.
Regarding Claim 6, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach method of Claim 1 but fail to teach
wherein the user device includes a telephony framework configured to receive an input.
However, Fletcher teaches wherein the user device includes a telephony framework configured to receive an input.
(Fletcher [0014] User device 205 may include one or more devices capable of communicating (e.g., transmitting and/or receiving voice, text, images, and/or multimedia data) via a cellular network. For example, user device 205 may include a radiotelephone)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating Fletcher to accommodate telephony framework to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have made the user device to receive an input.
Regarding Claim 7 and as applied to Claim 6, Shen further teaches
determining a network message to transmit to the cellular network based on the input and the determined registration parameter.
(Shen [0078, FIG. 2C] S133C, generating the authentication response based on the SIM card information and the authentication request.
[0050] In S134, the authentication response is sent to the base station, and the authentication response is used to allow the first device to establish a cellular mobile communication connection with the base station in response to the authentication response passing an authentication verification.)
The motivation would have enhanced a secured authentication process.
Regarding Claim 8, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach method of Claim 1 but fail to teach wherein the transmitted network message comprises a telephone call.
However, in a similar endeavor, Fletcher teaches wherein the transmitted network message comprises a telephone call.
(Fletcher [0014] User device 205 may include one or more devices capable of communicating (e.g., transmitting and/or receiving voice, text, images, and/or multimedia data) via a cellular network. For example, user device 205 may include a radiotelephone)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating Fletcher to accommodate telephony framework to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have made the user device to be able to make a telephone call.
Regarding Claim 15, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach method of Claim 1 but fail to teach wherein at least one user device of the plurality of user devices includes a telephony framework configured to output a telephone call received from the cellular network.
However, in a similar endeavor, Fletcher teaches wherein at least one user device of the plurality of user devices includes a telephony frame configured to output a telephone call received from the cellular network.
(Fletcher [0014] User device 205 may include one or more devices capable of communicating (e.g., transmitting and/or receiving voice, text, images, and/or multimedia data) via a cellular network. For example, user device 205 may include a radiotelephone)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating Fletcher to accommodate telephony framework to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have made one of the user devices to output a telephone call which is received from the cellular network.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy (US 20110051642 A1, hereinafter Krishnaswamy) in view of SHEN (US 20220386119 A1, hereinafter Shen) and in further view of Overcash (US 20150067815 A1, hereinafter Overcash)
Regarding Claim 16, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 10 but fail to teach wherein at least one user device of the plurality of user devices includes an internal modem in a low-power state.
However, in a similar endeavor, Overcash teaches wherein at least one user device of the plurality of user devices includes an internal modem in a low-power state.
(Overcash [0022] In one example implementation, the modem may use a combination of power savings strategies. For example, the modem may utilize duty-cycle based power savings, where the modem moves into a low-power standby state and periodically wakes up to look for a wake-up signal from access router 22.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating Overcash to accommodate an internal modem to have low-power mode.
The motivation of doing so would have made system energy efficient.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy (US 20110051642 A1, hereinafter Krishnaswamy) in view of SHEN (US 20220386119 A1, hereinafter Shen) and in further view of Morris et al. (US 20040203601 A1, hereinafter Morris)
Regarding Claim 19, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach method of Claim 1 but fail to teach wherein the shared modem is connected to an alternating current (A/C) power source.
However, in a similar endeavor, Morris teaches wherein the shared modem is connected to an alternating current (A/C) power source.
(Morris [0014, line 9] The wireless infrastructure 103 would also include various other components, such as routers, splitters, combiners, modems, alternating current (AC) power distribution systems, and so forth, as would be known by those skilled in the art in order to fully construct an operable infrastructure implementation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating Morris et al. to accommodate modem power source to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have made the shred modem to draw the power from a A/C power source.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy (US 20110051642 A1, hereinafter Krishnaswamy) in view of SHEN (US 20220386119 A1, hereinafter Shen) and in further view of Griffin et al. (US 8718706 B2, hereinafter Griffin)
Regarding Claim 20, Krishnaswamy and Shen teach the method of Claim 1 but fail to teach wherein the identification data includes an authentication key.
However, in a similar endeavor, Griffin teaches wherein the identification data includes an authentication key.
(Griffin [Column 5, line 33] In order to identify the subscriber, SIM 212 contains subscriber identity information parameters such as an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) or similar device identifier(s) and/or subscriber identifier(s) such as, e.g., International Mobile station Equipment Identity (IMEI) parameters, Electronic Serial Number (ESN) parameters, Mobile Identification Number (MIN) parameters, etc.)
(Griffin [Column 10, line 5] to bonding of the client and server, an encrypted link between the client and server, server initiated authentication, link keys, a maximum length encryption key, and a passkey or personal information number. Further, the SIM Access Profile may comply with requirements of the BLUETOOTH.RTM.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Krishnaswamy and Shen and by incorporating Griffin to accommodate identification data having authentication key to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have made the user device to be able to be authenticated by the cellular network. Benefit of doing so is to improve security.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644