DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply with the certified English translations filed 07/21/2026 for the instant application has been acknowledged. Therefore, the benefit accords to the foreign applications, KR10-2021-0185222 and KR10-2021-0192947, with filing dates 12/22/2021 and 12/30/2021, respectively.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 with respect to claim(s) 31 and 39 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument:
On pg. 11, Applicant argues that Abdelghaffar does not disclose amended limitation “wherein, in the FD time resource, the UE assumes that the CSI-RS is transmitted only in resource blocks (RBs) that are both in active downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and in a downlink subband.” Because Abdelghaffar teaches in [0114] the UE “may fall back to half duplex mode to generate a CSI report” and in [0116]-[0118] the UE “relies on the base station’s explicit puncturing or muting of specific resources to handle non-contiguity.” Applicant then explains that “the present claims do not rely on the base station explicitly “puncturing” or “muting” resources. Instead, in the present claims, the UE takes a contiguous configuration (e.g., a start RB and a number of RBs) and autonomously “filters” the transmission RBs by assuming that the CSI-RS exists only in RBs that are both in an active downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and in a downlink subband.” Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that the amended limitation does not explicitly teach (1) the UE cannot fall back to half duplex mode to generate a CSI report, and (2) the UE takes a contiguous configuration and autonomously filters the transmission RBs by assuming that the CSI-RS exists only in RBs that are both in an active downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and in a downlink subband. The amended claims merely require “wherein, in the FD time resource, the UE assumes that the CSI-RS is transmitted only in resource blocks (RBs) that are both in active downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and in a downlink subband.” Whether the UE falls back to half-duplex mode is not excluded from the claim language. For example, the UE may fall back but still use FD time resource. Furthermore, the claim language also only requires the UE to assume the CSI-RS is transmitted in RBs in an active DL BWP and in a downlink subband. The claim language does not require the UE to filter the transmission RBs, let alone perform the filter automatically. In view of the amendment, Examiner reconsiders the reference to Abdelghaffar and submits that Abdelghaffar teaches the amended limitation. For example, Abdelghaffar discloses in Fig. 9, [0110]: “As illustrated at 914, the UE 902 may generate a single CSI report for the downlink channel 912 based on the multiple CSI reference resources.” Fig. 11, [0117]: “a base station may transmit CSI-RS on a single CSI reference resource 1142 for an active bandwidth part 1110 of a UE. The CSI reference resource 1142 may be for a sub-band full duplexed slot, and the base station may transmit the CSI-RS on a first set of resources 1151 and a second set of resources 1153 in the downlink channel.” [0118]: “The CSI resource configuration may include a start resource block (RB) index and a number of RBs associated with the CSI reference resource 1142 which may define the resources of the CSI reference resource 1142.” [0120]: “a UE may be configured with multiple resource bandwidths in the active bandwidth part for the UE.” As can be seen, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE receives a start RB index and a number of RBs associated with a CSI reference resource for an active BWP which may be for a sub-band full duplexed slot that includes a first set of resources and a second set of resources in the downlink channel. The start RB index and the number of RBs associated with the CSI reference resource define the resources of the CSI reference resource. Based on the received information (i.e., start RB index and number of RBs), the UE is then capable of determining to generate single CSI report based on multiple CSI resources. In this case, the CSI-RS is transmitted in the first and second sets of resources in the downlink channel. Therefore, the rejection based on Abdelghaffar and Abotabl is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-36, 38-44, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2023/0198725 A1) in view of Abotabl et al. (US 2021/0307010 A1).
Regarding claims 31 and 39, Abdelghaffar discloses A method comprising (claim 1) and A user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one memory; and at least one processor operatively connected to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (claim 39) (Fig. 3, [0080], [0083]: UE 350 in an access network includes TX/RX 354, memory 360 storing program, and processor 359):
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a full duplex (FD) configuration message, wherein the FD configuration message informs a FD time resource, a downlink (DL) frequency resource used for DL(Fig. 9, [0113]: The base station 904 may transmit the FD indication 924 to the UE 902. The FD indication 924 may indicate whether a downlink channel associated with the FD indication 924 is sub-band full duplex or non-full duplex (e.g., half duplex) for an associated slot. For example, the downlink channel 912 may be sub-band full duplex, so the FD indication 924 may indicate to the UE 902 that the downlink channel 912 is sub-band full duplex); and
receiving, by the UE, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration message, wherein the CSI-RS configuration message informs a CSI-RS frequency resource for a CSI-RS by a starting resource block and a number of resource blocks (Fig. 9, [0109]: A base station 904 may transmit a sub-band full duplexed downlink channel 912 to a UE 902. Fig. 10, [0116]: A base station may transmit the downlink channel to the UE, and may include CSI-RS on a symbol 1025 of the first slot 1024. The CSI-RS may be received on a single CSI reference resource 1042 for the downlink channel in the entire active bandwidth 1010 of the slot 1024. [0117]: As discussed with respect to FIG. 10 , a base station may transmit CSI-RS on a single CSI reference resource 1142 for an active bandwidth part 1110 of a UE. [0118]: The CSI resource configuration may include a start resource block (RB) index and a number of RBs associated with the CSI reference resource 1142 which may define the resources of the CSI reference resource 1142);
receiving, by the UE, the CSI-RS (Fig. 9, [0109]: A base station 904 may transmit a sub-band full duplexed downlink channel 912 to a UE 902. The downlink channel 912 may be noncontiguous (e.g., another channel such as an uplink channel and guard band may be interposed between tow portions of the downlink channel 912. The downlink channel 912 may include CSI-RS transmitted on multiple CSI reference resources (e.g., CSI-RS or CST-IM), with one CSI reference resource on each noncontiguous portion of the downlink channel 912. [0110]: The UE 902 may receive the downlink channel 912 and the CSI-RS on the multiple CST reference resources); and
measuring, by the UE, the CSI-RS (Fig. 9: [0110]: As illustrated at 914, the UE 902 may generate a single CSI report for the downlink channel 912 based on the multiple CSI reference resources),
wherein, in the FD time resource, the UE assumes that the CSI-RS is transmitted only in resource blocks (RBs) that are both in active downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and in a downlink subband (Fig. 9, [0110]: As illustrated at 914, the UE 902 may generate a single CSI report for the downlink channel 912 based on the multiple CSI reference resources. Fig. 11, [0117]: a base station may transmit CSI-RS on a single CSI reference resource 1142 for an active bandwidth part 1110 of a UE. The CSI reference resource 1142 may be for a sub-band full duplexed slot, and the base station may transmit the CSI-RS on a first set of resources 1151 and a second set of resources 1153 in the downlink channel. [0118]: The CSI resource configuration may include a start resource block (RB) index and a number of RBs associated with the CSI reference resource 1142 which may define the resources of the CSI reference resource 1142. [0120]: a UE may be configured with multiple resource bandwidths in the active bandwidth part for the UE).
Abdelghaffar does not disclose, but Abotabl discloses FD configuration message informs a FD time resource, a downlink (DL) frequency resource used for DL in the FD time resource, and an uplink (UL) frequency resource used for UL in the FD time resource (Fig. 8, [0146]: UE 815 may receive a frequency configuration indication 811 for a slot for full-duplex communication. Frequency configuration indication 811 may be a frequency configuration indication (aka, frequency band configuration indication) in accordance with any of the examples described herein, alone or in combination, and may indicate at least one downlink frequency band for downlink communications and at least one uplink frequency band for uplink communications within the slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FD indication 924, as taught by Abdelghaffar, to indicate downlink frequency band for downlink communications and uplink frequency band for uplink communications within the slot for full-duplex communication, as taught by Abotabl.
Doing so allows the UE to decode the frequency configuration indication, receive within the slot, at least one downlink communication within an indicated downlink frequency band, and transmit, within the slot, at least one uplink communication within an indicated uplink frequency band (Abotabl: [0146]).
Regarding claims 33 and 41, Abdelghaffar in view of Abotabl discloses all features of claim 31 and 39 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar discloses wherein, in the FD time resource, the CSI-RS is received and measured only on the non-contiguous CSI-RS frequency resource among the contiguous CSI-RS frequency resource (Fig. 9, [0114]: the slot may be configured for sub-band full duplex, including resources allocated to an uplink channel and resources allocated to a downlink channel… The LE 902 may determine that the uplink channel is not being used in the slot, and may fall back to half duplex mode, generating a CSI report based on a single CSI reference for the entire sub-band full duplexed slot. Fig. 10, [0116]: The CSI-RS may be received on a single CSI reference resource 1042 for the downlink channel in the entire active bandwidth 1010 of the slot 1024).
Regarding claims 34 and 42, Abdelghaffar in view of Abotabl discloses all features of claim 31 and 39 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar discloses wherein frequency resources other than the DL frequency resource in the FD time resource are determined to be a DL unavailable frequency resource ([0109]: The downlink channel 912 may be noncontiguous (e.g., another channel such as an uplink channel and guard band may be interposed between tow portions of the downlink channel 912. [0114]: the slot may be configured for sub-band full duplex, including resources allocated to an uplink channel and resources allocated to a downlink channel. However, the base station 904 may determine not to schedule an uplink data transmission in the uplink channel. The LE 902 may determine that the uplink channel is not being used in the slot).
Regarding claims 35 and 43, Abdelghaffar in view of Abotabl discloses all features of claim 34 and 42 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar discloses wherein, in frequency resources that overlap with the DL unavailable frequency resource among the contiguous CSI-RS frequency resource, the UE assumes that the CSI-RS is not transmitted (Fig. 9, [0114]: the slot may be configured for sub-band full duplex, including resources allocated to an uplink channel and resources allocated to a downlink channel… The LE 902 may determine that the uplink channel is not being used in the slot, and may fall back to half duplex mode, generating a CSI report based on a single CSI reference for the entire sub-band full duplexed slot. Fig. 10, [0116]: A base station may transmit the downlink channel to the UE, and may include CSI-RS on a symbol 1025 of the first slot 1024. The CSI-RS may be received on a single CSI reference resource 1042 for the downlink channel in the entire active bandwidth 1010 of the slot 1024. However, the base station may not transmit CSI-RS on resources of the CSI reference resource 1042 that are not included in the downlink channel (e.g., may puncture the resources or may mute the resources)).
Regarding claims 36 and 44, Abdelghaffar in view of Abotabl discloses all features of claim 31 and 39 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar discloses wherein the UE is operated in a specific bandwidth part (BWP) (Fig. 10, [0115]: A UE may have an active bandwidth part 1010).
Regarding claims 38 and 46, Abdelghaffar in view of Abotabl discloses all features of claim 31 and 39 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar discloses wherein, in time resources other than the FD time resource, the contiguous CSI-RS frequency resource informed by the CSI-RS configuration message is determined as CSI-RS frequency resource for the CSI-RS (Fig. 10, [0115]: FIG. 10 is a diagram 1000 illustrating a CSI-RS for a sub-band full duplexed downlink channel. [0116]: A base station may transmit the downlink channel to the UE, and may include CSI-RS on a symbol 1025 of the first slot 1024. The CSI-RS may be received on a single CSI reference resource 1042 for the downlink channel in the entire active bandwidth 1010 of the slot 1024).
Claim(s) 37 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2023/0198725 A1) in view of Abotabl et al. (US 2021/0307010 A1), He et al. (US 2022/0312350 A1), and Choi et al. (US 2023/0180287 A1).
Regarding claims 37 and 45, Abdelghaffar in view of Abotabl discloses all features of claim 31 and 39 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar does not disclose, but He discloses further comprising:
performing a cell search, wherein the cell search is a procedure in which the UE acquires time and frequency synchronization with a cell and detects a cell identity (ID) of the cell, based on a primary synchronization signal, a secondary synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the cell ([0023]: A cell may transmit multiple SSBs within a DRS window. Those skilled in the art will understand that an SSB may enable the UE to acquire time and frequency synchronization with a cell. For example, a cell of the 5G NR network may periodically transmit multiple SSBs. Each SSB may include contents such as, but not limited to, a physical cell ID (PCI), at least one primary synchronization signal (PSS), at least one secondary synchronization signal (SSS), at least one physical broadcast channel (PBCH) demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) and PBCH data. During a cell search, the UE may receive one or more of the SSBs. The contents of the SSBs may enable the UE to acquire time and frequency synchronization with the cell);
obtaining system information of the cell from a base station ([0068]: Q value may be indicated as part of the system information block (SIB). For example, the cell 120A may configure the SIB to include an indication of the Q value. [0029]: The UE 110 may connect to the 5G NR RAN 120 via a cell 120A);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Abdelghaffar, to perform a cell search by receiving SSBs and acquiring time and frequency synchronization with a cell based on the SSB including PCI, PSS, SSS, and PBCH DM-RS, and receive a Q value indicated as part of a SIB and configured by a cell 120 of a 5G NR RAN, as taught by He.
Doing so allows the UE to perform a cell search and obtain synchronization information of the cell (He: [0023]).
Abdelghaffar does not disclose, but discloses performing a random access procedure with the base station, wherein the random access procedure includes i) transmitting a random access preamble to the base station, ii) receiving a random access response from the base station, iii) performing scheduled transmission using a scheduled uplink grant in the random access response, and iv) receiving a contention resolution message (Fig. 6: preamble, RA response, Message 3, Message 4. [0123]: upon completion of cell search, the UE transmits a random access preamble for random access to the base station... a contention-based random access procedure is performed. [0124] The UE receives a random access response. [0125]: the UE processes information included in the random access response and performs scheduled transmission to the base station… the UE transmits data stored in a buffer of the UE or newly generated data to the base station using the UL grant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Abdelghaffar, to perform a contention-based random access procedure with a base station after a cell search is completed, as taught by Choi.
Doing so allows a UE to perform cell search and random access procedures in order to access a base station and perform communication (Choi: [0112]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov