DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10-13, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clarke et al. (US 2022/0136656) (hereinafter Clarke).
Regarding Claim 1
Clarke teaches an inner and outer tank connection device (below – Fig. 6 and 7) for a cryogenic storage tank, the cryogenic storage tank comprising an inner tank (142a/144a) and an outer tank (142b/144b), the outer tank wrapping around the inner tank; wherein the inner and outer tank connection device comprises: a suspension belt (156); a first connection assembly (140) for connecting to the outer tank, wherein the first connection assembly comprises a first connection seat (164) and a first connection member (162), and the first connection seat is configured for connecting the outer tank and the first connection seat is provided with a first limiting seat (left panel, shown below), wherein the first connection member is rotatably connected to one end of the suspension belt, and the first connection member is provided with a first limiting portion (170), and the first limiting portion fits with the first limiting seat to limit the first connection member from twisting on the first connection seat with the suspension belt as a rotation axis; and a second connection assembly (146) for connecting to the inner tank, wherein the second connection assembly is rotatably connected to another end of the suspension belt (Paragraphs [0073]-[0079]).
[AltContent: textbox (First limiting seat)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 2
Clarke teaches the first limiting seat (shown above) is provided with a limiting guide groove fitting with the first limiting portion (170), and the first connection member (162) is provided with an adjusting structure (172) for driving the first limiting portion to move along the limiting guide groove to adjust a distance between the first connection member (162) and the second connection assembly (146).
Regarding Claim 6
Clarke teaches the suspension belt (156) is in the form of a ring, wherein the first connection assembly further comprises a first pin (shown below in an expanded view of Fig. 7), and the first pin is passed through the first connection member; wherein the second connection assembly comprises a second connection member (152) and a second pin (shown below), and the second connection member is fixed to the inner tank; and wherein the second pin is passed through the second connection member and is provided parallel to the first pin, and two ends of the suspension belt are respectively sleeved on the first pin and the second pin, and the two ends are correspondingly rotatable about the first pin and the second pin.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second pin)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First pin)]
Regarding Claim 7
Clarke teaches the first connection assembly (140) further comprises a first shaft sleeve (shown below), and the second connection assembly further comprises a second shaft sleeve (shown below), wherein one end of the suspension belt is sleeved on the first pin through the first shaft sleeve, and another end of the suspension belt is sleeved on the second pin through the second shaft sleeve.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second shaft sleeve)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First shaft sleeve)]
Regarding Claim 8
Clarke teaches the first shaft sleeve (shown above) is provided with a first stop portion and a second stop portion (i.e. the inner surfaces), wherein the first stop portion and the second stop portion are spaced apart along an axis of the first pin, and an end of the suspension belt is sleeved between the first stop portion and the second stop portion, and wherein the second shaft sleeve (shown above) is provided with a third stop portion and a fourth stop portion (i.e. the inner surfaces), wherein the third stop portion and the fourth stop portion are spaced apart along an axis of the second pin, and another end of the suspension belt is sleeved between the third stop portion and the fourth stop portion.
Regarding Claim 10
Clarke teaches the suspension belt (156) is made of a fiber-reinforced resin composite material (Paragraph [0075]).
Regarding Claim 11
Clarke teaches fibers in the fiber-reinforced resin composite material are aramid fibers wherein a resin in the fiber-reinforced resin composite material is an epoxy resin (Paragraph [0075]).
Regarding Claim 12
Clarke teaches a cryogenic storage tank, comprising an inner tank (142a/144a), an outer tank (142b/144b), and an inner and outer tank connection devices according to claim 1, wherein the outer tank wraps around the inner tank, and wherein the inner and outer tank connection device connects the inner tank and the outer tank; and wherein the inner and outer tank connection device is provided at an end portion of the inner tank.
Regarding Claim 13
Clarke teaches the first limiting seat (shown above) is provided with a limiting guide groove fitting with the first limiting portion (170), and the first connection member is provided with an adjusting structure (172) for driving the first limiting portion to move along the limiting guide groove to adjust a distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly.
Regarding Claim 19
Clarke teaches a plurality of inner and outer tank connection devices provided at the end portion of the inner tank and spaced apart along a circumferential direction of the inner tank (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding Claim 20
Clarke teaches at least two inner and outer tank connection devices provided on an upper side of a horizontal axis plane of the inner tank (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding Claim 4
Clarke teaches an inner and outer tank connection device (Fig. 6 and 7) for a cryogenic storage tank, the cryogenic storage tank comprising an inner tank (142a/144a) and an outer tank (142b/144b), the outer tank wrapping around the inner tank; wherein the inner and outer tank connection device comprises: a suspension belt (156); a first connection assembly (140) for connecting to the outer tank, wherein the first connection assembly comprises a first connection seat (164) and a first connection member (162), and the first connection seat is configured for connecting the outer tank and the first connection seat is provided with a first limiting seat (left panel, shown above), wherein the first connection member is rotatably connected to one end of the suspension belt, and the first connection member is provided with a first limiting portion (170), and the first limiting portion fits with the first limiting seat to limit the first connection member from twisting on the first connection seat with the suspension belt as a rotation axis; and a second connection assembly (146) for connecting to the inner tank, wherein the second connection assembly is rotatably connected to another end of the suspension belt, wherein a locking projection (outer surface shown below) is provided convexly in the first limiting seat, and the first connection member is provided with a locking table (face shown below), wherein the locking table is abutted against the locking projection when a distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly is adjusted to a maximum (Paragraphs [0073]-[0079]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Locking table)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Locking projection)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Locking projection)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Locking projection)]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claims 5 and 9 were previously indicated as allowable subject matter. Even with the new art cited above, the closest prior art does not teach: the first connection seat is provided with a plurality of second through holes, and the first through hole on the first connection member is aligned with a corresponding second through hole of the plurality of second through holes in different positions; and wherein the first through hole and the corresponding second through hole are configured to receive a screw to adjust the distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly (claim 5); and the second connection assembly further comprises a second connection seat, the second connection seat is provided with a second limiting seat, and the second connection member is provided with a second limiting portion, wherein the second limiting portion fits with the second limiting seat to limit the second connection member from twisting on the second connection seat with the suspension belt as the rotation axis, and the second connection member is connected to the inner tank through the second connection seat (claim 9).
Claims 3 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closest prior art – Clarke (cited above) teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However…
Regarding claims 3 and 14: the closest prior art does not teach the adjusting structure comprises an adjusting nut and an adjusting screw projected from the first connection member, wherein the adjusting screw is passed through the limiting guide groove, and the adjusting screw fits with the adjusting nut to enable the adjusting screw to drive the first limiting portion to move along the limiting guide groove to adjust the distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly. Claims 15, 17, and 18 depend from claim 14.
Regarding claim 16: the closest prior art does not teach the first connection seat is provided with a plurality of second through holes, and the first through hole on the first connection member is aligned with a corresponding second through hole of the plurality of second through holes in different positions; and wherein the first through hole and the corresponding second through hole are configured to receive a screw to adjust the distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 6/26/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 15 September 2026