DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 12-14, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laskaris (US 4492090) in view of Mann et al. (US 8393163) (hereinafter Mann).
Regarding Claim 1
Laskaris teaches an inner and outer tank connection device for a cryogenic storage tank (below – Fig. 4, 6A, and 7A), the cryogenic storage tank comprising an inner tank (111) and an outer tank (110), the outer tank wrapping around the inner tank; wherein the inner and outer tank connection device comprises: a suspension belt (113a-c); a first connection assembly for connecting to the outer tank, wherein the first connection assembly comprises a first connection seat (155) and a first connection member (152/153/154/156), and the first connection seat is configured for connecting the outer tank and the first connection seat is provided with a first limiting seat (shown below), wherein the first connection member is rotatably connected to one end of the suspension belt, and the first connection member is provided with a first limiting portion (153/154), and the first limiting portion fits with the first limiting seat; and a second connection assembly (115) for connecting to the inner tank, wherein the second connection assembly is rotatably connected to another end of the suspension belt (Col. 8, Ln. 35 – Col. 9, Ln. 57).
[AltContent: textbox (First limiting seat)][AltContent: arrow]
Laskaris further appears to teach, but does not specifically state the first limiting portion fits with the first limiting seat to limit the first connection member from twisting on the first connection seat with the suspension belt as a rotation axis.
Mann teaches an inner and outer tank connection device for a cryogenic storage tank (below – Fig. 1 and 2), the cryogenic storage tank comprising an inner tank and an outer tank, the outer tank wrapping around the inner tank; wherein the inner and outer tank connection device comprises: a suspension element (10); a first connection assembly (34) for connecting to the outer tank, wherein the first connection assembly comprises a first connection seat and a first connection member, and the first connection seat is configured for connecting the outer tank and the first connection seat is provided with a first limiting seat (26), and the first connection member is provided with a first limiting portion (36), and the first limiting portion fits with the first limiting seat to limit the first connection member from twisting on the first connection seat with the suspension member as a rotation axis (Col. 4, Ln. 62 – Col. 6, Ln. 53).
Laskaris and Mann are analogous inventions in the field of connection and suspension mechanisms. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the first limiting portion and the first limiting seat of Laskaris with the teachings of the first limiting portion and the first limiting seat of Mann in order to prevent the twisting of the connection and suspension device during adjustment (Col. 3, Ln. 58-59).
Regarding Claim 2
Laskaris in view of Mann (hereinafter “modified Laskaris”) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches the first limiting seat is provided with a limiting guide groove (shown below) fitting with the first limiting portion, and the first connection member is provided with an adjusting structure (154/156) for driving the first limiting portion to move along the limiting guide groove to adjust a distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly.
[AltContent: textbox (Limiting guide groove)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches the adjusting structure comprises an adjusting nut (156) and an adjusting screw (154) projected from the first connection member, wherein the adjusting screw is passed through the limiting guide groove, and the adjusting screw fits with the adjusting nut to enable the adjusting screw to drive the first limiting portion to move along the limiting guide groove to adjust the distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly.
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches the suspension belt (113c) is in the form of a ring, wherein the first connection assembly further comprises a first pin (152), and the first pin is passed through the first connection member (153); wherein second connection member (115) is fixed to the inner tank; and wherein the second connection member is provided parallel to the first pin, and two ends of the suspension belt respectively sleeved on the first pin and the second connection member, and the two ends are correspondingly rotatable about the first pin and the second connection member.
Laskaris does not teach the second connection assembly comprises a second connection member and a second pin, and the and wherein the second pin is passed through the second connection member and is provided parallel to the first pin, and two ends of the suspension belt are sleeved on the first pin and the second pin, and are rotatable about the first pin and the second pin.
While Laskaris teaches the second connection assembly includes a boss (115) for connecting to the suspension belt, it would appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the mechanism of the first connection member (153) [which includes a connection member and a pin, and the and wherein the pin is passed through the connection member], which also is used for connecting to the suspension belt, would be considered a functional equivalent. Because both the boss (115) and connection member (153) are used for holding the ends of the suspension belt, it would have appeared obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to substitute the second connection assembly (115) currently shown with the connection member (153), in order to achieve the predictable result of holding the end of the suspension belt. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Further, it would be obvious to modify the current second connection assembly (115) to have the configuration of the connection member (153), in order to help prevent the suspension belt accidentally sliding off the second connection assembly by providing an enclosed space.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as shown above. Modified Laskaris further teaches the first connection assembly further comprises a first shaft sleeve (shown below in an expanded view of Fig. 6A), and the modified second connection assembly further comprises a second shaft sleeve, wherein one end of the suspension belt is sleeved on the first pin (152) through the first shaft sleeve, and another end of the suspension belt is sleeved on the second pin through the second shaft sleeve.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Shaft sleeve)]
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 7 as shown above. Modified Laskaris further teaches the first shaft sleeve (shown above) is provided with a first stop portion (left) and a second stop portion (right), wherein the first stop portion and the second stop portion are spaced apart along an axis of the first pin, and an end of the suspension belt is sleeved between the first stop portion and the second stop portion, and wherein the second shaft sleeve is provided with a third stop portion and a fourth stop portion, wherein the third stop portion and the fourth stop portion are spaced apart along an axis of the second pin, and another end of the suspension belt is sleeved between the third stop portion and the fourth stop portion.
Regarding Claim 12
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Modified Laskaris further teaches a cryogenic storage tank, comprising an inner tank (111), an outer tank (110), and an inner and outer tank connection device according to claim 1, wherein the outer tank wraps around the inner tank, and wherein the inner and outer tank connection device connects the inner tank and the outer tank; and wherein the inner and outer tank connection device is provided at an end portion of the inner tank, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches the first limiting seat is provided with a limiting guide groove (shown above) fitting with the first limiting portion, and the first connection member is provided with an adjusting structure (154/156) for driving the first limiting portion to move along the limiting guide groove to adjust a distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly.
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches the adjusting structure comprises an adjusting nut (156) and an adjusting screw (154) projected from the first connection member, wherein the adjusting screw is passed through the limiting guide groove, and the adjusting screw fits with the adjusting nut to enable the adjusting screw to drive the first limiting portion to move along the limiting guide groove to adjust the distance between the first connection member and the second connection assembly.
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 14 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches an opening (shown at 114, Fig. 7A) and a sealing plate (150) are provided on a side of the first connection seat far away from the suspension belt (113c); and when the suspension belt is adjusted by the adjusting screw (154) fitting with the adjusting nut (156), the opening is covered by the sealing plate to seal the side of the first connection seat far away from the suspension belt.
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches a plurality of inner and outer tank connection devices provided at the end portion of the inner tank and spaced apart along a circumferential direction of the inner tank, as can be seen in Fig. 4 above.
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches at least two inner and outer tank connection devices provided on an upper side of a horizontal axis plane of the inner tank, as can be seen in Fig. 4 above.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Laskaris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niemann et al. (US 4325530) (hereinafter Niemann).
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Laskaris teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Laskaris further teaches the suspension belt is made of a fiber-reinforced material (Col. 6, Ln. 19-27)
Modified Laskaris does not teach the suspension belt includes a resin.
Niemann teaches an inner and outer tank connection device for a cryogenic storage tank (below – Fig. 1), the cryogenic storage tank comprising an inner tank and an outer tank, the outer tank wrapping around the inner tank; wherein the inner and outer tank connection device comprises: a suspension belt (10); a first connection assembly (shown at 16) for connecting to the outer tank, wherein the first connection member is rotatably connected to one end of the suspension belt; and a second connection assembly (shown at 14) for connecting to the inner tank, wherein the second connection assembly is rotatably connected to another end of the suspension belt; wherein the suspension belt is made of a fiber-reinforced resin composite material (Col. 1, Ln. 55 – Col. 2, Ln. 40).
Modified Laskaris and Niemann are analogous inventions in the field of cryogenic tank suspension systems. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the suspension belt of modified Laskaris with the teachings of a fiber-reinforced resin composite material in order to provide a suspension belt that exhibits high tensile strength at low cryogenic temperatures and has a low heat conductance (Col. 2, Ln. 33-35).
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Laskaris in view of Niemann teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as stated above. Niemann further teaches fibers in the fiber-reinforced resin composite material are glass fibers, wherein a resin in the fiber-reinforced resin composite material is an epoxy resin (Col. 2, Ln. 3-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9, 15, 16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 4, 5, 9, 15, 16, and 18 were all previously indicated as allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limiting of the twisting of the first connection seat with the suspension belt as a rotation axis of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection is presented.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 20 March 2026