DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-13, 31-35, 37-38, and 40-42 are currently amended.
Claims 3, 7, 11, 14-30, 36, and 39 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-13, 31-35, 37-38, and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as
being unpatentable by Ullrich et al. US Pub.: US 20030078635 A1, hereinafter Ullrich in view of Seiverd et al. US Pat.: US 4444189 A, hereinafter Seiverd.
Regarding claim 1, Ullrich teaches a device for radiating UV and/or IR radiation to a human body
comprising: an upright housing (1) comprising a circumferential wall (1d, rectangular circumference) and a rear wall (1a, 1b, and 1c) connected to said circumferential wall (1d), wherein said upright housing defines an accommodating space (fig. 3-4; paragraph 46-47);
at least one radiation unit (tanning radiator) accommodated within said accommodating space, wherein each radiation unit (tanning radiator) comprises at least one radiation source for radiating UV and/or IR radiation (fig. 9; paragraph 27-29 and 52); The radiation filter may be ultraviolet and/or infrared.
and at least one reflector (3a-3b), and at least one radiation transmitting wall (radiation filters 2a-2b) covering said at least one radiation unit (tanning radiator), and connected to the circumferential wall (1d) of the housing (1) to close the accommodating space at least partially (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 46-47);
wherein said housing (1) comprises a plurality of intercoupled housing segments (1a-d), wherein each housing segment comprises a circumferential wall segment (1d), a rear wall segment (1a, 1b, 1c) (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 46-47 and 51-52);
and wherein, in coupled condition of housing segments (1a-d), the circumferential wall segments (1d) of said housing segments (1a-d) overlap partially, and the rear wall segments (1a, 1b, 1c) of said housing segments (1a-d) overlap partially (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The coupling profile, defined by the lips 14b and 14d, allows the segments to overlap partially. Lips are well-known to be small, projecting edges, rims, or ledges that extends beyond a surface for functional purposes.
However, Ullrich does not teach at least one coupling profile configured to couple said housing segment to at least one adjacent housing segment.
Seiverd, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one coupling profile (50, 26, and 52) configured to couple said housing segment (12, 14, 16, and 18) to at least one adjacent housing segment (12, 14, 16, and 18) (figs. 2-5; col. 2, lines 35-62). Each wall segment is connected with an extension, a flange and a fastener. For example wall segment 16 is connected to wall segment 12 through an extension 50, which overlaps a flange 26 on the wall 12 and is releasably coupled thereto by fasteners 52.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the edges of Ullrich using the mechanism from Seiverd for the benefit of adjusting and aligning walls for optimal light exposure.
Regarding claim 2, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein the housing (1) comprises one top housing segment, one bottom housing segment, and at least one intermediate housing segment situated in between with said top housing segment and said bottom housing segment (fig. 8; paragraph 46-47).
Regarding claim 4, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Seiverd further
teaches wherein the partial overlap is such that the circumferential wall segment and the rear wall segment of an higher located housing segment partially encloses the circumferential wall segment and the rear wall segment of an adjacent, lower located housing segment (figs. 2-5; col. 2, lines 35-62). Each wall segment is connected with an extension, a flange and a fastener. For example wall segment 16 is connected to wall segment 12 through an extension 50, which overlaps a flange 26 on the wall 12 and is releasably coupled thereto by fasteners 52.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the edges of Ullrich using the mechanism from Seiverd for the benefit of adjusting and aligning walls for optimal light exposure.
Regarding claim 5, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Seiverd further
teaches wherein at least one coupling profile (50, 26, and 52) is present at a-least one coupling edge defined by both the circumferential wall segment and the rear wall segment (figs. 2-5; col. 2, lines 35-62). Each wall segment is connected with an extension, a flange and a fastener. For example wall segment 16 is connected to wall segment 12 through an extension 50, which overlaps a flange 26 on the wall 12 and is releasably coupled thereto by fasteners 52.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the edges of Ullrich using the mechanism from Seiverd for the benefit of adjusting and aligning walls for optimal light exposure.
Regarding claim 6, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein the coupling profiles of the housing (1) comprises a first coupling profile (14b) and a complementary second coupling profile (14b), wherein said first coupling profile (14b) comprises at least one locking element and wherein said second coupling profile (14b) comprises at least one complementary counter locking element, wherein, in coupled condition of adjacent housing segments (shown in claim 40), said at least one locking element and said at least one counter locking element are configured to mutually lock said housing segments (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). It is known that lip coupling structures feature a lock and counter lock mechanism to ensure security and prevent accidental disconnection.
Regarding claim 8, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Seiverd further
teaches wherein at least one coupling profile (50, 26, and 52) is configured to be partially enclosed by an adjacent coupling profile
(figs. 2-5; col. 2, lines 35-62). Each wall segment is connected with an extension, a flange and a fastener. For example wall segment 16 is connected to wall segment 12 through an extension 50, which overlaps a flange 26 on the wall 12 and is releasably coupled thereto by fasteners 52.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the edges of Ullrich using the mechanism from Seiverd for the benefit of adjusting and aligning walls for optimal light exposure.
Regarding claim 9, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein each upwardly directed coupling profile (14b and 14d) is a male coupling profile, and wherein each downwardly directed coupling profile is a female (14b and 14d) coupling profile (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The coupling profile is shown to be include upward and downward coupling.
Regarding claim 10, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein intercoupled coupling profiles (14b and 14d) define a seam, wherein said seam has a non-linear cross-section (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). Figure 8 shows the coupling to be non-linear.
Regarding claim 12, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein coupling profiles (14b and 14d) of adjacent housing segments are configured to realize a snap connection (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The lip coupling profile equates to a snap connection.
Regarding claim 13, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein opposing inner surfaces of the circumferential wall are provided with support elements for supporting at least one wall (fig. 3-4; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). Intake plate 10 provide structural support for the circumferential wall (1d) to keep the housing from collapsing inwards.
Regarding claim 13, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein the outer surface of the housing is a substantially smooth surface (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The housing shown in figure 8 is shown to be a smooth surface.
Regarding claim 32, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein the device comprises an outer casing configured to enclose the housing at least partially, wherein said casing is configured to be encased in a wall of a humid room (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The housing is configurable to be attached or enclosed in a tanning room. Therefore an outer casing of a tanning room is partially enclosing the housing.
Regarding claim 33, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein a plurality of said housing segments are positioned on top of each other to form said upright housing (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The housing segments may be upright vertical or horizontal based on positioning. The non-linear coupling supports both configurations. This may be shown below.
Regarding claim 34, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein a plurality of said housing segments (1a-d) together enclose and/or define a single accommodating space for accommodating at least one radiation unit (tanning radiator) (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 27-29, 46-47 and 51-52).
Regarding claim 35, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein at least one radiation unit (tanning radiator) is enclosed by a plurality of housing segments (1a-d) and/or wherein at least one reflector (3a and 3b) is enclosed by a plurality of housing segments (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 27-29, 46-47 and 51-52).
Regarding claim 37, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein said radiation transmitting wall (radiation filters 2a-2b) engages a plurality of housing segments (1a-d), wherein said radiation transmitting wall (radiation filters 2a-2b) is preferably made out of a single piece (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 27-29, 46-47 and 51-52). The radiation transmitting wall is a singular piece for each housing that houses a radiation unit.
Regarding claim 38, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein the height of the upright housing exceeds the width of the upright housing and/or wherein said accommodating space defined by said upright housing is elongated and extends in a direction which is substantially parallel to the direction in which at least one radiation unit extends (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The housing segments may be upright vertical or horizontal based on positioning. The non-linear coupling supports both configurations. This may be shown in claim 33.
Regarding claim 40, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein said housing segment comprises a circumferential wall segment (1d), a rear wall segment (1a, 1b, 1c), and at least one coupling profile (lips 14b and 14d) configured to couple said housing segment to at least one adjacent housing segment (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The coupling profile, defined by the lips 14b and 14d, allows the segments to overlap partially. Lips are well-known to be small, projecting edges, rims, or ledges that extends beyond a surface for functional purposes.
Regarding claim 41, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein said housing (1) comprises a plurality of intercoupled housing segments (shown in claim 40 figure), wherein each housing segment (shown in claim 40 figure), comprises a circumferential wall segment (1d), a rear wall segment (1a, 1b, 1c), and at least one coupling profile (14b and 14d) configured to couple said housing segment (shown in claim 40 figure) to at least one adjacent housing segment (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52). The coupling profile, defined by the lips 14b and 14d, allows the segments to overlap partially to intercoupled housing segments.
Regarding claim 42, Ullrich in view of Seiverd teaches the claimed invention and Ullrich further
teaches wherein said kit comprises a plurality of intercouplable housing segments (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52); This configuration is shown in claim 40.
wherein each housing segment (figure in claim 40) comprises a circumferential wall segment (1d), a rear wall segment (1a, 1b, 1c) (fig. 3-4; paragraph 46-47);
and at least one coupling profile (14b and 14d) configured to couple said housing segment to at least one adjacent housing segment for composing an upright housing (1) which encloses an accommodating space (fig. 8 and 9; paragraph 46-47 ad 51-52); The coupling profile, defined by the lips 14b and 14d, allows the segments to overlap partially to intercoupled housing segments. This configuration is shown in claim 33.
at least one radiation unit (tanning radiator) to be accommodated within said accommodating space, wherein each radiation unit (tanning radiator) comprises at least one radiation source for radiating UV and/or IR radiation (fig. 9; paragraph 27-29 and 52); The radiation filter may be ultraviolet and/or infrared.
and at least one reflector (3a-b) (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 46-47);
and at least one radiation transmitting wall (2a and 2b), configured to cover said at least one radiation unit (tanning radiator) once accommodated within the accommodating space, and connectable to the housing (1) to close the accommodating space at least partially (fig. 3-4 and 9; paragraph 27-29, 46-47 and 51-52).
Conclusion
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792