DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/19/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 5/19/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because although there is overlap between the process and product, the product of instant Claim 10 has limitations that make it distinct and materially different from the process of Group I such that no dependent claims from Group I contain those distinct limitations of instant Claim 10’s product. The product of claim 10 could’ve been made by another, materially different, process that doesn’t use flakes or the specifically claimed pressure range.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashammer EP_1268378_B1.
1. Regarding Claim 1, Kashammer discloses a process for making neopentyl glycol (Claim 1) that includes forming flakes and pellets (paragraph 0013) and solidification (paragraph 0011). The Examiner respectfully submits that although not explicitly stated, the formation of pellets would inherently involve compacting/compressing to some degree. Kashammer discloses how a variety of containers (corresponds to claimed mold) can be used as part of its solidification process (paragraphs 0022, 0023). Kashammer further discloses that the choice of the type of finished product, be it flakes and/or pellets, and the selection of one of the processes it described for solidifying depends on the circumstances at the production site and on the wishes of the user (paragraph 0024). As such, the Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the compacting pressure based on what degree of solidification is desired in the end-product pellet. Applicants have not indicated how the instantly claimed pressure results in unexpected and surprising properties.
3. Claims 2, 3, and 5-7, Kashammer doesn’t disclose the claimed limitations. However, as the Examiner explained above, these are all specific to what is desired in the end-product. And as explained, Kashammer admits that these are up to the discretion of the maker (see paragraph 0024).
4. Regarding Claim 4, Kashammer discloses a thickness ranging from 1 to 1.5 mm (paragraphs 0021, 0030).
5. Regarding Claim 8, Kashammer discloses a temperature range of 5 to 35C (paragraph 0020).
6. Regarding Claim 9, Kashammer discloses using cooling water to cool (paragraph 0033). It would have been obvious to use a water content needed for sufficient cooling. Applicants have not indicated how the instantly claimed pressure results in unexpected and surprising properties.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 June 1, 2026