DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
The word count exceeds the 150-word limit.
A transitional phrase is missing between clauses a) through g). Examiner suggests to add “and” or “or”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 105, 107 - 108, 110, 114 - 115 and 117 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 105, line 39, “to generate the magnetic field, wherein, after” should read -- to generate the magnetic field, and wherein, after --.
Claim 105, lines 1 - 2, “to body tissue” should read --to a body tissue--.
Claims 105 and 114 - 115, the instances of “the first and fourth switching devices” should read --the first switching device and fourth switching device--.
Claims 105 and 114 – 115, “the second and third switching devices” should read --the second switching device and third switching device--.
Claim 107, line 2, “a dial or touchscreen” should read -- a dial or a touchscreen --.
Claim 107, line 2, “a user or manufacturer” should read -- a user or a manufacturer--.
Claim 108, line 2, “comprising analog circuitry” should read --comprising an analogy circuitry--.
Claim 110, lines 8 - 9, “or -a triode for alternating current (TRIAC) or” should read --
Claim 115, line 1, “to body tissue” should read --to a body tissue--.
Claim 116, line 2, “with body tissue” should read --with the body tissue--.
Claim 117, line 2, “tissue so as to” should read --tissue --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 105 – 120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 105 recites the limitation “body tissue" in line 11. It is unclear if this is the same or different than the previously recited in lines 1 – 2 of claim 1.
Claim 105, line 11, it is unclear if “a magnetic field for application to body tissue” is the same or different as “a magnetic field for application to body tissue” referenced in claim 105, line 1.
Claims 105 and 115, the limitation “caused by the electrical energy provided by the DC source arrangement” is unclear as it raises the question what is being caused. Further clarification should be provided.
Claim 109, the two instance of “in particular” raise the question as what is meant by this recitation and whether the preceding or proceeding limitations are required by the claim.
Claims 110, the two instance of “one or more passive electrical circuit elements, in particular one or more of:” raise the question as what is meant by this recitation and whether the preceding or proceeding limitations are required by the claim.
Claims 112 and 118, the limitation “in particular” raises the question as what is meant by this recitation and whether the preceding or proceeding limitations are required by the claim.
Claim 114, line 2, it is unclear if “an apparatus according to claim 105” is the same or different than the previously recited in claim 105. Examiner suggests amending to “the apparatus according to claim 105”.
Claim 115, line 12, it is unclear if “a magnetic field for application to body tissue” is the same or different as “a magnetic field for application to body tissue” referenced in claim 115, lines 1 - 2.
Claim 115, line 11, it is unclear if “an inductor” is the same or different as referenced in claim 115, line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 105 – 106, 109 – 112 and 114 - 120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sorkhabi et al (June 2021, hereinafter “Sorkhabi”).
Regarding claim 105, Sorkhabi teaches an apparatus (abstract) for generating a magnetic field for application to body tissue (“implemented TMS device can generate consecutive rectangular pulses with a predetermined time interval, widths and polarities, enables the synthesis of a wide range of magnetic stimuli” abstract), the apparatus (abstract) comprising:
a first series combination (Figures 2 and 6) of a first switching device (Figures 2 and 6) and a second switching device (Figures 2 and 6), the first switching device (Figures 2 and 6) being electrically connected to the second switching device (Figures 2 and 6) at a first connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
a second series combination (Figures 2 and 6) of a third switching device and a fourth switching device (Figures 2 and 6), the third switching device (Figures 2 and 6) being electrically connected to the fourth switching device (Figures 2 and 6) at a second connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
a DC source arrangement (Figures 2 and 6) comprising at least one DC source (Figures 2 and 6) for providing electrical energy (Figures 2 and 6); and
an inductor (Figures 2 and 6) for generating a magnetic field for application to body tissue (abstract);
wherein the first series combination (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected in parallel (Figures 2 and 6), at a third connection point and a fourth connection point (Figures 2 and 6), with the second series combination (Figures 2 and 6) such that the first switching device (Figures 2 and 6) and the third switching device (Figures 2 and 6) are electrically connected at the third connection point (Figures 2 and 6) and such that the second switching device (Figures 2 and 6) and the fourth switching device (Figures 2 and 6) are electrically connected at the fourth connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
wherein a first terminal (Figures 2 and 6) of the inductor (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected to the third connection point (Figures 2 and 6) and a second terminal (Figures 2 and 6) of the inductor (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected to the fourth connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
wherein the DC source arrangement (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected between the first connection point (Figures 2 and 6) and the second connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
wherein the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are configured to be changed from a substantially non-conductive state to a conductive state so that, from a first point in time, the first and fourth switching devices are both in the conductive state while the second and third switching devices are both in a substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
wherein the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are configured to be changed from the conductive state to the substantially non-conductive state so that, from a second point in time after the first point in time, the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are both in the substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
wherein the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are configured to be changed from the substantially non-conductive state to a conductive state so that, from a third point in time at or after the second point in time, the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are both in the conductive state while the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are both in the substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
wherein, between the first and second points in time, electrical current is arranged to flow through the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) and through the inductor in a first current direction of current flow with respect to the inductor, caused by the electrical energy provided by the DC source arrangement, thereby causing the inductor to generate the magnetic field (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7),
wherein, after the third point in time, electrical current is arranged to flow through the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) and through the inductor in a second current direction of current flow with respect to the inductor opposite the first current direction of current flow, caused by the electrical energy provided by the DC source arrangement (Figures 2 and 6), thereby causing the inductor to generate the magnetic field (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 106, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 106. Sorkhabi teaches the apparatus further comprising at least one controller (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. Page 1848, right column paragraph 7) for controlling one or more of the first, second, third and fourth switching devices to change between the substantially non-conductive state and the conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 109, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 105. Sorkhabi teaches the apparatus further comprising at least one further electrical circuit element (“To control the pulse width of the stimulus, the idea of replacing the thyristor with an IGBT” page 1856, right column, last two lines; Figure 6),
wherein the at least one further electrical circuit element is configured to change, or to be changed, from a substantially non-conductive state to a conductive state (“To control the pulse width of the stimulus, the idea of replacing the thyristor with an IGBT” page 1856, right column, last two lines, Figure 6), in particular when a voltage between certain points in the apparatus exceeds a selected or predetermined voltage value, in particular when a voltage at any one or more of the first to fourth switching devices and/or at the inductor exceeds a selected or predetermined voltage value (page 1856, right column, last two lines, Figure 6; Examiner interprets the IGBT or thyristor is configured to change from a substantially non-conductive state to a conductive state).
Regarding claim 110, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 109. Sorkhabi teaches the at least one further electrical circuit element comprises one or more passive electrical circuit elements, in particular one or more of:
- a spark gap
- a transient-voltage-suppression diode
- a Zener diode
- a Shockley diode or
- a triode for alternating current (TRIAC) or
- a thyristor (“To control the pulse width of the stimulus, the idea of replacing the thyristor with an IGBT” page 1856, right column, last two lines; Figure 6).
Regarding claim 111, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 109. Sorkhabi teaches the at least one further electrical circuit element is connected in parallel to one or more of the first to fourth switching devices and/or the inductor (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 112, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 105. Sorkhabi teaches the apparatus further comprising one or more further inductors, in particular wherein the one or more further inductors are connected in parallel to said inductor or in series with said inductor (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 114, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 105. Sorkhabi teaches a method of generating a magnetic field (“implemented TMS device can generate consecutive rectangular pulses with a predetermined time interval, widths and polarities, enables the synthesis of a wide range of magnetic stimuli” abstract), the method comprising:
providing an apparatus (see claim 105 rejection above) according to claim 105;
changing the first and fourth switching devices from the substantially non-conductive state to the conductive state at a first point in time while the second and third switching devices are both in the substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
changing the first and fourth switching devices from the conductive state to the substantially non-conductive state at a second point in time after the first point in time (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
changing the second and third switching devices from the substantially non-conductive state to the conductive state at a third point in time at or after the second point in time while the first and fourth switching devices are both in the substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 115, Sorkhabi teaches an apparatus (abstract) for use with an inductor (Figures 2 and 6) for generating a magnetic field for application to body tissue (“implemented TMS device can generate consecutive rectangular pulses with a predetermined time interval, widths and polarities, enables the synthesis of a wide range of magnetic stimuli” abstract), the apparatus comprising:
a first series combination (Figures 2 and 6) of a first switching device and a second switching device (Figures 2 and 6), the first switching device (Figures 2 and 6) being electrically connected to the second switching device (Figures 2 and 6) at a first connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
a second series combination (Figures 2 and 6) of a third switching device (Figures 2 and 6) and a fourth switching device (Figures 2 and 6), the third switching device (Figures 2 and 6) being electrically connected to the fourth switching device (Figures 2 and 6) at a second connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
a DC source arrangement (Figures 2 and 6) comprising at least one DC source (Figures 2 and 6) for providing electrical energy (Figures 2 and 6); and
a first terminal (Figures 2 and 6) and a second terminal (Figures 2 and 6) for connection to an inductor (Figures 2 and 6) for generating a magnetic field for application to body tissue (“implemented TMS device can generate consecutive rectangular pulses with a predetermined time interval, widths and polarities, enables the synthesis of a wide range of magnetic stimuli” abstract);
wherein the first series combination (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected in parallel (Figures 2 and 6), at a third connection point and a fourth connection point (Figures 2 and 6), with the second series combination (Figures 2 and 6) such that the first switching device (Figures 2 and 6) and the third switching device (Figures 2 and 6) are electrically connected at the third connection point (Figures 2 and 6) and such that the second switching device (Figures 2 and 6) and the fourth switching device (Figures 2 and 6) are electrically connected at the fourth connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
wherein the first terminal (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected to the third connection point (Figures 2 and 6) and the second terminal (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected to the fourth connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
wherein the DC source arrangement (Figures 2 and 6) is electrically connected between the first connection point (Figures 2 and 6) and the second connection point (Figures 2 and 6);
wherein the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are configured to be changed from a substantially non-conductive state to a conductive state so that, from a first point in time, the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are both in the conductive state while the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are both in a substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
wherein the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are configured to be changed from the conductive state to the substantially non-conductive state so that, from a second point in time after the first point in time, the first and fourth switching devices are both in the substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
wherein the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are configured to be changed from the substantially non-conductive state to a conductive state so that, from a third point in time at or after the second point in time, the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are both in the conductive state while the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) are both in the substantially non-conductive state (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7);
wherein, between the first and second points in time, electrical current is arranged to flow through the first and fourth switching devices and through the inductor via the first and second terminals when the inductor is connected to the apparatus via the first and second terminals, caused by the electrical energy provided by the DC source arrangement, thereby causing the inductor to generate the magnetic field (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7), wherein the electrical current flowing through the first and fourth switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) represents a first current direction of current flow with respect to the inductor (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7); and
wherein, after the third point in time, electrical current is arranged to flow through the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) and through the inductor via the first and second terminals (Figures 2 and 6) when the inductor is connected to the apparatus via the first and second terminals (Figures 2 and 6), caused by the electrical energy provided by the DC source arrangement (Figures 2 and 6), thereby causing the inductor to generate the magnetic field (abstract, Figures 2 and 6),
wherein the electrical current flowing through the second and third switching devices (Figures 2 and 6) represents a second current direction of current flow with respect to the inductor opposite the first current direction (“The H-bridge circuit and control block are illustrated in Fig. 2(a)-(b). This block converts and controls the electromagnetic energy flow between the DC capacitors and the stimulation coil. The transistors in the H-bridge operate as switches, either in the fully-conducting state (near-zero resistance, ON) or fully-blocking state (near-infinite resistance, OFF) states.” Page 1848, right column paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 116, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 114. Sorkhabi teaches the method further comprising bringing the inductor into proximity with body tissue (abstract, page 1847, whole left column), or bringing the body tissue into proximity with the inductor (abstract, page 1847, whole left column), so that the magnetic field is present in said body tissue (abstract, page 1847, whole left column; Examiner interprets the method of applying TMS reads on this limitation).
Regarding claim 117, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 116. Sorkhabi teaches the method further comprising varying the magnetic field in the body tissue (“The voltage generated by the H-bridge causes a current to flow in the TMS coil to produce a time-varying magnetic field. According to the Faraday Henry law, current flows in a conductor (including the nervous tissues) exposed to a time-varying magnetic field.” Page 1848 right column paragraph 7) so as to generate a voltage in the body tissue or to cause a movement of charges in the body tissue (“This electrical current leads to the activation of neurons and ultimately causes the excitation/inhibition of central or peripheral nerves.” Page 1848 right column paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 118, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 117. Sorkhabi teaches the voltage or the movement of charges in the body tissue is sufficient to cause a neural reaction or a cellular physiological reaction, in particular a muscle reaction, in the body tissue (“This electrical current leads to the activation of neurons and ultimately causes the excitation/inhibition of central or peripheral nerves.” Page 1848 right column paragraph 7; Examiner interpret “the excitation/inhibition of central or peripheral nerves” affects muscle activity.).
Regarding claim 119, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 117. Sorkhabi teaches the voltage or the movement of charges in the body tissue is sufficient to cause a muscle reaction in the body tissue (“This electrical current leads to the activation of neurons and ultimately causes the excitation/inhibition of central or peripheral nerves.” Page 1848 right column paragraph 7; Examiner interpret “the excitation/inhibition of central or peripheral nerves” affects muscle activity.).
Regarding claim 120, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 117. Sorkhabi teaches the voltage or the movement of charges is sufficient to cause a therapeutic effect (“This electrical current leads to the activation of neurons and ultimately causes the excitation/inhibition of central or peripheral nerves.” Page 1848 right column paragraph 7; Examiner interpret “the excitation/inhibition of central or peripheral nerves” affects muscle activity.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 107 - 108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorkhabi in view of Lee et al (US 20090024189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 107, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 106. Sorkhabi does not teach the at least one controller comprises an interface, such as a dial or touchscreen, via which a user or manufacturer can specify any one or more of the first to fourth points in time.
However, Lee discloses a “method, electrical tissue stimulation system, and programmer for providing therapy to a patient are provided” (abstract) and teaches at least one controller comprises an interface, such as a dial or touchscreen (“the display screen 102 has touchscreen capabilities” [0079] Figure 17; “dedicated up/down buttons can be provided for each stimulation parameter. Rather than using up/down buttons, any other type of actuator, such as a dial, slider bar, or keypad, can be used to increment or decrement the stimulation parameter” [0080]).
The limitation “via which a user or manufacturer can specify any one or more of the first to fourth points in time” is intended use. Since Lee teaches the device may “provide for the adjustment or setting of stimulation parameters” ([0079]), the device of Lee is capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sorkhabi such that the at least one controller comprises an interface, such as a dial or touchscreen, via which a user or manufacturer can specify any one or more of the first to fourth points in time, as taught by Lee, for the benefit of providing “the adjustment or setting of stimulation parameters” (Lee: [0079]) during treatment.
Regarding claim 108, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 105. Sorkhabi does not teach the apparatus further comprising analog circuitry for controlling one or more of the first, second, third and fourth switching devices to change between the substantially non-conductive state and the conductive state.
However, Lee discloses a “method, electrical tissue stimulation system, and programmer for providing therapy to a patient are provided” and teaches analog circuitry (“analog shaping circuits 69(1)-69(3)” [0063] Figure 14).
The limitation “via which a user or manufacturer can specify any one or more of the first to fourth points in time” is intended use. Since Lee teaches the device may provide for the adjustment or setting of stimulation parameters ([0063]), the device of Lee is capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sorkhabi to incorporate an analog circuitry, as taught by Lee, for the benefit of providing “the adjustment or setting of stimulation parameters” (Lee: [0079]) during treatment.
Claim 113 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorkhabi in view of Williams et al (US 20060155345 A1, hereinafter “Williams”).
Regarding claim 113, Sorkhabi teaches all limitations of claim 105. Sorkhabi does not explicitly teach the at least one DC source comprises at least one of:
- a battery
- a solar panel or solar module
- a fuel cell.
However, Williams discloses an “implantable neuromodulation system and method of treating a patient through neuromodulation of a patient's body tissue” and teaches at least one DC source comprises at least one of:
- a battery (“DC battery power source” [0035])
- a solar panel or solar module
- a fuel cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sorkhabi such that at least one DC source comprises at least one of: - a battery - a solar panel or solar module - a fuel cell, as taught by Williams, for the benefit of “generating the alternating magnetic field pulses” or stimulation (Williams: [0035]) during treatment.
Conclusion
/JULIE THI TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791