DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement filed on June 18, 2024 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Drawings
3. Figure 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated, see Specification, page 1, paragraphs [0003]-[0004]. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear whether limitation “a delay amount” in line 2 is the same “a delay amount” as recited in line 2 of claim 6. If it is, the examiner suggests that applicant can amend “a delay amount” in line 2 of claim 7 to read “the delay amount” to overcome this problem.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear whether limitation “a delay amount” in line 2 is the same “a delay amount” as recited in line 2 of claim 10. If it is, the examiner suggests that applicant can amend “a delay amount” in line 2 of claim 11 to read “the delay amount” to overcome this problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 5-6, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140086425 (hereinafter, “Jensen”) in view of Sugiyama U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110175676.
Regarding claim 5, Jensen teaches a cancellation device comprising processing circuitry (An embodiment of the invention is a portable personal listening audio device having ANC circuitry that uses multiple reference signals. These are from multiple reference microphones that together can cover a larger spatial area over which the background acoustic noise can be picked up, par [0006]; FIG. 4 is a block diagram of an ANC processor in accordance with yet another embodiment of the invention, par [0032], see Jensen) configured to:
convert a noise signal (via A/Ds on left side of Fig. 4, see Jensen), which is a signal of noise acquired by a reference microphone for acquiring noise (The use of multiple reference signals, derived from multiple reference microphones 2a, 2b, respectively, may allow the background noise to be captured more robustly at the same time, at different positions on the external housing of the personal audio device (see Fig. 1), par [0026]; FIG. 4 is a block diagram of an ANC processor in accordance with yet another embodiment of the invention. Here, the combiner 7 is to produce a weighted sum of the reference microphone signals (rather than the component anti-noise signals), to produce a single, weighted sum reference signal at the reference input of the W(z) adaptive filter 4 as shown, see also reference microphones 2a, 2b, 2c in Fig. 4, par [0032], see Jensen), into a digital signal (via A/Ds on left side of Fig. 4, see Jensen);
convert (via supposed A/D (shown as D/A), from error microphone 3 in right side of Fig. 4) an error signal (error microphone 3 , FIG. 4, par [0032], see Jensen) obtained by an error microphone (see error microphone, Fig. 4) arranged in a region in which noise is to be suppressed into a digital signal (see signal from error microphone 3 to PreAmp then to supposed A/D (shown as D/A), see in Fig. 4).The adaptive filter 4 thus produces an anti-noise signal using the weighted sum reference signal, which is then converted into anti-noise sound through the speaker 5. The adaptive filter controller 9 (here, an LMS engine) adjusts the adaptive filter 4 based on input from the weighted sum reference signal, as filtered through an S(z) copy filter block 11, and based on an error signal. The latter is derived from the output of the error microphone 3 , FIG. 4, par [0032], see Jensen);
generate a cancellation signal for suppressing the noise (via the adaptive filter 4. Fig. 4 of ANC processor 1, Figs. 1, 2, 4; FIG. 1 shows a conceptual block diagram of an example personal audio listening device in which an embodiment of the invention may be implemented, as an ANC processor 1 that uses multiple reference microphones 2. FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ANC processor 1 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention (Figs. 1, 2, par [0026], see Jensen); FIG. 4 is a block diagram of an ANC processor in accordance with yet another embodiment of the invention (FIG. 4, par [0032], see Jensen) based on the digital signal of the noise and the digital signal of the error signal (see signal from D/A to the speaker 5 and signal from error microphone 3 to PreAmp then to supposed A/D (shown as D/A), see in Fig. 4; The adaptive filter 4 thus produces an anti-noise signal using the weighted sum reference signal, which is then converted into anti-noise sound through the speaker 5. The adaptive filter controller 9 (here, an LMS engine) adjusts the adaptive filter 4 based on input from the weighted sum reference signal, as filtered through an S(z) copy filter block 11, and based on an error signal. The latter is derived from the output of the error microphone 3, FIG. 4, par [0032], see Jensen);
convert (via D/A having output signal to speaker 5, Fig. 4) the cancellation signal into an analog signal and causes a cancellation speaker to emit sound based on the analog signal of the cancellation signal (referring to Fig. 4, the combiner 7 is to produce a weighted sum of the reference microphone signals (rather than the component anti-noise signals), to produce a single, weighted sum reference signal at the reference input of the W(z) adaptive filter 4 as shown. The weighted sum reference signal is in this case pre-filtered by the S filter block 11 (in accordance with the filtered-x adaptive algorithm) and may optionally be pre-shaped by a pre-shaping filter (not shown), before arriving at the reference input of the adaptive controller 9. If pre-shaping is applied to the reference input, then a suitable pre-shaping filter should also be applied to the signal at the error input of the controller 9, to maintain balance of the adaptive algorithm engine. The adaptive filter 4 thus produces an anti-noise signal using the weighted sum reference signal, which is then converted into anti-noise sound through the speaker 5. The adaptive filter controller 9 (here, an LMS engine) adjusts the adaptive filter 4 based on input from the weighted sum reference signal, as filtered through an S(z) copy filter block 11, and based on an error signal, FIG. 4, par [0032], see Jensen).
However, Jensen does not explicitly disclose dynamically control an internal parameter to be used in AD conversion or DA conversion by the processing circuitry according to a statistical feature of the noise.
Sugiyama teaches signal processing method, signal processing device, and signal processing program (see Title) in which the embodiments of the present invention will be explained in details by using FIG. 1 to FIG. 18. It is now assumed to use a two-channel acoustic echo canceller having a first received signal and a second received signal that cancels the acoustic echoes caused by received signals propagating from loudspeakers to microphones via spatial acoustic paths (par [0038], see Sugiyama). A difference with the second embodiment explained by using FIG. 7 to FIG. 9 lies in a point that a frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 600 (including an internal parameter) is provided upstream of the delay processing circuit 301, and that a frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 610 is provided upstream of the DA converters 18 and 19 as well as downstream of the AD converters 20 and 21. Hence, all of the delay processing circuit 301, the adapter (i.e., dynamic) filters 121, 122, 123, and 124, and the subtracters 129 and 130 are operative in response to band-divided narrow band signals. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 600 (see Fig. 16) band-divided the received signals 1 and 2, and transmits them to the delay processing circuit 301. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 600 (see Fig. 16) also band-synthesizes the outputs of the subtracters 129 and 130, and constitutes all-band output signals 16 and 17. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 610 band-synthesizes the outputs of the delay processing circuit 301, and transmits them to the DA converters 18 and 19. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 610 also band-divides the outputs of the AD converters 20 and 21, and transmits them to the subtracters 129 and 130. The delay processing circuit 301 adds the delays to the band-divided signals, and outputs them as band-divided delayed received signals (Figs. 7, par [0125], see Sugiyama). In addition, the frequency analysis function of the frequency analysis synthesizing circuits 600 and 610 (see Fig. 16) may be configured of a band-division filter bank. The band-division filter bank is configured of a plurality of band-pass filters. An interval of each frequency band of the band-division filter bank could be equal in a certain case, and unequal in another case. Carrying out the band division at an unequal interval makes it possible to lower/raise a time resolution, that is, the time resolution can be lowered by carrying out the division into narrows bands with regard to a low-frequency area, and the time resolution can be raised by carrying out the division into wide bands with regard to a high-frequency area. As a typified example of the unequal-interval division, there exists an octave division in which the band gradually halves toward the low-frequency area, a critical band division that corresponds to an auditory feature of a human being, or the like. After dividing into the frequency bands having an equal interval, a hybrid filter bank may be used for furthermore carrying out the band division only with regard to a low-frequency area in order to enhance the frequency resolution of the frequency bands in a low-frequency area (Figs. 7, par [0128], see Sugiyama).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the signal processing method, signal processing device, and signal processing program taught by Sugiyama with the cancellation device of Jensen such that to obtain dynamically control an internal parameter to be used in AD conversion or DA conversion by the processing circuitry according to a statistical feature of the noise for purpose of providing improvement in the subjective sound quality as suggested by Sugiyama in paragraph [0125].
Regarding claim 6, Jensen in view of Sugiyama teaches the cancellation device according to claim 5. Jensen in view of Sugiyama, as modified, further teaches wherein the internal parameter is at least one of a delay amount, time resolution, and frequency resolution (It is now assumed to use a two-channel acoustic echo canceller having a first received signal and a second received signal that cancels the acoustic echoes caused by received signals propagating from loudspeakers to microphones via spatial acoustic paths (par [0038], see Sugiyama). A difference with the second embodiment explained by using FIG. 7 to FIG. 9 lies in a point that a frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 600 is provided upstream of the delay processing circuit 301, and that a frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 610 is provided upstream of the DA converters 18 and 19 as well as downstream of the AD converters 20 and 21. Hence, all of the delay processing circuit 301, the adapter (i.e., dynamic) filters 121, 122, 123, and 124, and the subtracters 129 and 130 are operative in response to band-divided narrow band signals. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 600 (see Fig. 16) band-divided the received signals 1 and 2, and transmits them to the delay processing circuit 301. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 600 (see Fig. 16) also band-synthesizes the outputs of the subtracters 129 and 130, and constitutes all-band output signals 16 and 17. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 610 band-synthesizes the outputs of the delay processing circuit 301, and transmits them to the DA converters 18 and 19. The frequency analysis synthesizing circuit 610 also band-divides the outputs of the AD converters 20 and 21, and transmits them to the subtracters 129 and 130. The delay processing circuit 301 adds the delays to the band-divided signals, and outputs them as band-divided delayed received signals (Figs. 7, par [0125], see Sugiyama). In addition, the frequency analysis function of the frequency analysis synthesizing circuits 600 and 610 (see Fig. 16) may be configured of a band-division filter bank. The band-division filter bank is configured of a plurality of band-pass filters. An interval of each frequency band of the band-division filter bank could be equal in a certain case, and unequal in another case. Carrying out the band division at an unequal interval makes it possible to lower/raise a time resolution, that is, the time resolution can be lowered by carrying out the division into narrows bands with regard to a low-frequency area, and the time resolution can be raised by carrying out the division into wide bands with regard to a high-frequency area. As a typified example of the unequal-interval division, there exists an octave division in which the band gradually halves toward the low-frequency area, a critical band division that corresponds to an auditory feature of a human being, or the like. After dividing into the frequency bands having an equal interval, a hybrid filter bank may be used for furthermore carrying out the band division only with regard to a low-frequency area in order to enhance the frequency resolution of the frequency bands in a low-frequency area (Figs. 7, par [0128], see Sugiyama)).
Regarding claim 8, Jensen in view of Sugiyama teaches the cancellation device according to claim 5. Jensen in view of Sugiyama, as modified, further teaches wherein the processing circuitry determines the internal parameter according to a use scene (two-way real-time or live audio communications session with a far-end user (including a video call which allows simultaneous audio), Fig. 7, par [0049], see Jensen).
Regarding claim 9, this claim merely reflects the method to the apparatus claim of Claim 5 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, this claim merely reflects the method to the apparatus claim of Claim 6 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, this claim merely reflects the method to the apparatus claim of Claim 8 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, this claim merely reflects a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program for causing a computer to perform as each step of the cancellation method according to claim 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons. It is noted that Jensen in view of Sugiyama teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a signal processing program for causing a computer to execute a receiving process of receiving a plurality of received signals, and an echo reducing process of reducing a plurality of echoes that are generated by said plurality of received signals (see claim 23 on page 16, right-hand column of Sugiyama).
10. Claims 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140086425 (hereinafter, “Jensen”) in view of Sugiyama U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110175676, and further in view of Horibe U.S. Patent Application Publication 20100226507.
Regarding claim 7, Jensen in view of Sugiyama teaches the cancellation device according to claim 6. Jensen in view of Sugiyama, further teaches the relative delay amount (relative delay) of the delayed received signal to the received signal can be set to an integer multiple of a sampling period. In this case, the minimum value is equalized to the sampling period (par [0044], see Sugiyama).
However, Jensen in view of Sugiyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the internal parameter is a delay amount, and the processing circuitry determines the delay amount that is smaller as a magnitude or temporal change of the noise is larger.
Horibe teaches microphone unit (see Title) in which note that the noise reduction effect is required to be 6 dB or more from a practical point of view, more specifically, to allow a user to feel in view of human auditory perception that the noise is effectively reduced. It can be understood from the results of actual measurements shown in FIG. 8 that a smaller (larger) amount of delay D causes an increase (decrease) in the noise reduction effect. A result of actual measurement was obtained that a noise reduction effect of 6 DB or more can be obtained when the amount of delay D is 10 .mu.s or smaller (Fig. 8, par [0049], see Horibe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the microphone unit taught by Horibe with the cancellation device of Jensen in view of Sugiyama such that to obtain wherein the internal parameter is a delay amount, and the processing circuitry determines the delay amount that is smaller as a magnitude or temporal change of the noise is larger in order to increase the detection sensitivity to sound emitted from a null point while reducing far-field noise as suggested by Horibe in paragraph [0010].
Regarding claim 11, this claim merely reflects the method to the apparatus claim of Claim 7 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/C.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695