DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai USPGPub 20200332221 and Mellerup USPGPub 20160227809.
Regarding claims 1-6, 8-16, 19 and 20, Hirai teaches a method of removing impurities from vegetable oils comprising subjecting raw, unrefined oil to short path evaporation (SPE). [0023,0044] The SPE of Hirai is performed under the following conditions:
Pressure: 0.1000 Pa or less (0.001 mbar or less) [0034]
Evaporator temperature: 80°C-270°C [0028]
Feed rate: 1.00 kg/h*m2 to 30.0 kg/h*m2 [0030]
The ranges of pressure, evaporator temperature and feed rate disclosed by Hirai overlap or encompass the values for these parameters recited in claims 1, 8-10, 13 and 19. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
The process of Hirai yields a retentate and a distillate.[0023] Hirai does not require the refining steps recited in claims 1, 3, 4, 12, 14-16 and 20. The process of Hirai is disclosed to reduce the content of free fatty acids as recited in claims 5 and 19 and diacylglycerides as recited in claim 6.[0023]
Hirai is silent regarding shea butter, cocoa butter, sal oil and illipe oil.
Mellerup teaches short path distillation can be used for purification of vegetable oils including shea butter, cocoa butter, sal oil and illipe oil. [0009,0015]
Hirai and Mellerup are both directed towards removing contaminants from plant oils using SPE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have used SPE as disclosed by Hirai to remove contaminants from shea butter, cocoa butter, sal oil and illipe oil because these oils are shown by Mellerup to benefit from purification by SPE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have used shea butter, cocoa butter, sal oil and illipe oil in their raw, unrefined states since Hirai specifically discloses that refinement is not necessary before subjecting plant oils to the SPE disclosed. As such, Hirai modified with Mellerup renders obvious the limitations of claims 1-6, 8-16, 19 and 20.
Regarding claim 7, Hirai teaches the same SPE method claimed and disclosed by applicant to yield the recited Aroma index improvement and therefore it necessarily follows that the method of Hirai would yield the same result.
Regarding claim 18, Hirai in view of Mellerup yields and oil which reads on claim 18.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai USPGPub 20200332221 and Mellerup USPGPub 20160227809 as applied to claim 17 above in further view of Meursing “Cocoa mass, cocoa butter, cocoa powder”, Industrial Chocolate Manufacture and Use, S.T. Beckett ed. Springer Science, 1994, pg. 70-82.
Regarding claim 17, Hirai teaches what has been recited above but is silent regarding filtration.
Meursing teaches that pure press cocoa butter needs no cleaning at all besides filtration. (Pg. 76)
Hirai and Meursing are both directed towards processing of plant lipids. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have used pure press cocoa butter that had only been filtered as the unrefined starting material in Hirai since Mellerup evidences that cocoa butter was known to be suitable for refinement by SPE. This modification of Hirai would produce a method consisting of filtering the starting cocoa butter material followed by SPE processing as claimed. As such, the limitations of claim 17 are rendered obvious by Hirai, Mellerup and Meursing.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18721669 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application teach all of the limitations of the instantly pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18721672 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application teach all of the limitations of the instantly pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793