DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment received on 12/18/2025. Claims 8-9 have been cancelled, claims 1-7, 10-12 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. 10,222,474 in view of Ichikawa 2022/0030684.
Regarding claim 1, Raring discloses an automotive lighting device (LIDAR system) comprising: a first light source (first laser beam of laser diode) configured to emit light with a first peak wavelength intended to contribute to a fight lighting function, with the light source including at least a first light emitting diode [abstract] [col 3, l. 56- col 8, l. 18]; at least a second light source ( excited emission ) configured to emit light with at least a second peak wavelength different from the first peak wavelength, the at least one second light source contributing to at least a second lighting function [abstract] [col 3, l. 56- col 8, l. 18]; at least an optical element (bean shaper/beam projector) to project the light of the first light source [col 6, l. 37-40] [col 7, l. 16-21]; at least one sensor (detector) configured to acquire a portion of a reflection of the light project4ed by the optical element in a wavelength comprised between 0.9 and 1.1 times the first peak wavelength [col 7, l. 40- col 8, l. 18]; a processing unit (receiver) configured to control the operation of the light source and to receive data from the sensor [col. 7, l. 45-49] [col. 9, l. 11- col 10, l. 32].
Raring implicitly discloses a “luminous sensor” as optical sensors are used in LIDAR systems, and the system of Raring utilizes a LIDAR system, [abstract] [col 31, l. 65- col 32, l. 19].
Further, while Raring discloses a second light source, Raring does not explicitly disclose that the second light source including at least a second light emitting diode.
Ichikawa discloses a first LED light source (semiconductor light source 202) and a second LED light source (semiconductor light source 204) [10-14] [24-31] that emits different wavelengths. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Ichikawa discloses, “This prevents the automotive lamp 200 from presenting erroneous information to traffic participants in the vicinity, thereby providing improved safety.” [030].
Regarding claim 2, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Raring further discloses the first peak wavelength is comprised between 470 nm and 500 nm [col 5, l. 15-21].
Regarding claim 3, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitation of claim 1. Raring further discloses the first peak wavelength is comprised between 485 nm and 495 nm (Raring discloses blue light [col 7, l. 50-55] and the wavelength of 485-495 still falls under the blue wavelength. Further regulation is changing for this particular wavelength to be an industry standard to indicate autonomous driving.)
Regarding claim 4, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitation of claim 2. Raring further discloses the first light source includes phosphor configured to add a wavelength peak so that the light emitted by the first light source is white [abstract] [col. 6, l. 14-15] [col. 5, l. 15-21] [col. 20, l. 4-15].
Regarding claim 5, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitation of claim 1. Raring further discloses a third light source contributing to a third lighting function. [FIG 37A] [col. 11, l. 3-32].
Regarding claim 6, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitation of claim 1. Raring further discloses where the first lighting function is daytime running light or front-position light [ col. 5, l. 12-14] [col 14, l. 9-13] [col. 11, l. 55-67].
Regarding claim 7, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitation of claim 1. Raring further discloses where the at least one second lighting function comprises one of passing-beam headlamp function and driving-beam headlamp function [FIG 22B] [FIG 26-27] [col 28, l. 23-35].
Regarding claim 10, Raring discloses an automotive lighting device (LIDAR system) including: a first light source (first laser beam of laser diode) configured to emit light with a first peak wavelength intended to contribute to a fight lighting function with the light source including at least a first light emitting diode [abstract] [col 3, l. 56- col 8, l. 18]; at least a second light source ( excited emission ) configured to emit light with at least a second peak wavelength different from the first peak wavelength, the at least one second light source contributing to at least a second lighting function [abstract] [col 3, l. 56- col 8, l. 18]; at least an optical element (bean shaper/beam projector) to project the light of the first light source [col 6, l. 37-40] [col 7, l. 16-21]; at least one sensor (detector) configured to acquire a portion of a reflection of the light project4ed by the optical element in a wavelength comprised between 0.9 and 1.1 times the first peak wavelength [col 7, l. 40- col 8, l. 18]; a processing unit (receiver) configured to control the operation of the light source and to receive data from the sensor [col. 7, l. 45-49] [col. 9, l. 11- col 10, l. 32].
Raring implicitly discloses a “luminous sensor” as optical sensors are used in LIDAR systems, and the system of Raring utilizes a LIDAR system, [abstract] [col 31, l. 65- col 32, l. 19].
Further, while Raring discloses a second light source, Raring does not explicitly disclose that the second light source including at least a second light emitting diode.
Ichikawa discloses a first LED light source (semiconductor light source 202) and a second LED light source (semiconductor light source 204) [10-14] [24-31] that emits different wavelengths. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Ichikawa discloses, “This prevents the automotive lamp 200 from presenting erroneous information to traffic participants in the vicinity, thereby providing improved safety.” [030].
Regarding claim 11, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Raring further discloses a fourth light source contributing to a fourth lighting function [ FIG 37A] [col. 11, l. 3-32].
Regarding claim 12, Raring in view of Ichikawa discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Raring further discloses the solid-state light sources include laser diodes [col 1, l. 40-41].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 10-12have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to clarify the first and second light sources to be independently, electrically generated sources, thus overcome the rejection of Raring. However, upon further search and consideration, the Examiner has provided a new 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of Raring in view of Ichikawa. Ichikawa explicitly discloses two distinct light sources (#202, #204) that produce different wavelengths (different colors), thus the combination of Raring and Ichikawa discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and its dependencies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASIFA HABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876