DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “dematerialization module” in claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brzozowski et al., US 2022/0319270.
In Reference to Claims 1, 9, 10, and 11
Brzozowski et al. teaches a dematerialization module, a gaming system comprising a dematerialization module of a player, a computer program recorded on a non-transitory media executable by a processor and a method for dematerializing game receipts (Fig. 1, Par. 17-20, Par. 61-64) comprising the following steps, implemented by a game receipt dematerialization module of a processor-based server: creating an electronic vault and associating the created electronic vault with a personal device of a player (Fig. 2 and Par. 26. Particularly step 422-424 where the server stores the data for the digital ticket purchase. See also Par. 27 which teaches storing the digital ticket information. And Par. 38 which teaches that the players telephone number can also be stored by the server in association with the ticket); recording at least one electronic coupon in the electronic vault, upon request from the personal device of the player, an electronic coupon comprising data of a bet to be placed on a game managed by a game engine (Fig. 2 ref. 422. And Par. 26 which teach storing the digital ticket by the server. Fig. 3 and Par. 27 which teach that the ticket is a digital lottery ticket constituting a wager on a lottery game); according to a list of said at least one electronic coupon recorded in the electronic vault, placing at least one bet with at least one game engine (Fig. 3, Par. 27 and Par. 33 “lottery game” and “winning digital lottery ticket”); and receiving, from each game engine with which a bet has been placed, a message confirming the placement of said bet and recording an electronic receipt in the electronic vault (Fig. 2 ref. 424, Fig. 3 and Par. 26-27 which teaches where the server acknowledges the placement of the lottery ticket wager and sends an image of the purchases digital lottery ticket to the user’s mobile telephone based on the provided telephone number).
In Reference to Claim 5
Brzozowski et al. teaches each electronic receipt is recorded in the electronic vault in association with an electronic vault access code associated with the personal device of the player (Fig. 4A 502-510 Par. 27, 36-39 which teaches that the terminal scans a bar code on the ticket to access their lottery ticket for redemption which allows the server to check the scanning information against stored lottery tickets stored with that ticket ID code and telephone number).
In Reference to Claim 6
Brzozowski et al. teaches wherein each electronic coupon is recorded in the electronic vault in association with the electronic vault access code associated with the personal device of the player (Par. 36-39).
In Reference to Claim 7
Brzozowski et al. teaches generating the electronic vault access code in response to a request for activation received from a point-of-sale application; and
transmitting the electronic vault access code to the personal device (Fig. 2-3 and Par. 26-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brzozowski et al., US 2022/0319270, in view of Smith, US 10,755,297.
In Reference to Claim 2
Brzozowski et al. teaches obtaining, from each game engine associated with each electronic receipt recorded in the electronic vault, win data associated with the electronic receipt (Fig. 4B ref. 528 “winning digital ticket” see also Par. 33); in case of winning, transmitting the win data to a point-of-sale application (Fig. 4c ref. 536 where examiner considers redemption approval to constitute “win data” since tickets must be winning to be approved); and obtaining payment of the win from the game engine (Fig. 4C ref. 538 and Par. 51).
However, Brzozowski et al. does not explicitly teach receiving a confirmation from the point-of-sale application.
Smith teaches a point of sale based redemption system which includes the system server receiving a confirmation from the point-of-sale application (Col. 5 lines 60-62 “Confirmation of redemption may be communicated from the POS terminal 50 to the digital promotion server 40.”).
It would be desirable to include a confirmation of redemption and payment of the lottery ticket of Brzozowski et al. by particular point of sale terminal as taught by Smith in order to receive confirmation that a particular point of sale terminal had actually provided the winning for the ticket for record keeping and dispute resolution and to ensure reimbursement of particular retail accounts for the balance of lottery ticket sales and redemption if necessary.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include a confirmation of redemption and payment of the lottery ticket of Brzozowski et al. by particular point of sale terminal as taught by Smith.
In Reference to Claim 3
Brzozowski et al. teaches managing a status associated with each stored electronic receipt; and in case of winning, changing the corresponding status (Fig. 4A ref. 516 and Fig. 4B ref. 518 and Par. 39-41 which teaches that the system tracks whether the digital lottery ticket has already been redeemed or not. Where redemption occurs for winning tickets as shown in Fig. 4B and 4C).
In Reference to Claim 4
Brzozowski et al. teaches in case of winning, generating a temporary payment code (Fig. 4B ref. 518-520); transmitting the generated temporary payment code to the personal device the temporary payment code comprising the win data (Fig. 4B ref. 520 where the code is win validation data); and receiving a request to change said status from the point-of-sale application (Fig. 4B ref. 524-532 and 536 which teaches that the code is entered into the point-of-sale terminal in order to generate a redemption request that is sent to the server).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brzozowski et al., US 2022/0319270, in view of Gotlieb et al., US 2022/0148371.
In Reference to Claim 8
Brzozowski et al. teaches displaying the electronic vault access code, said electronic vault access code allowing reading thereof by a point-of-sale application (Fig. 3, Fig. 4 ref. 504 and Par. 27 and 34). However, Brzozowski et al does not explicitly teach where the access code is a QR code.
Gotlieb et al. teaches a lottery ticket sales system where the redemption code displayed on a device (Fig. 1B) can be either a bar code or a QR code (Par. 69).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Brzozowski et al. to include a QR Code for the scannable access code as taught by Gotlieb et al. in order to include more data in the scanned code such as both the ticket ID and the user telephone number and to allow for improved error correction to help prevent mistakes in scans.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Brzozowski et al. to include a QR Code for the scannable access code as taught by Gotlieb et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CARL V LARSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3715