Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1A, a battery enclosure comprising only a first impact barrier positioned on the outer surface of the battery enclosure in the reply filed on 09/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species 1B, a battery enclosure comprising both a first and second impact barrier, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply.
Claim Objections
An objection is applied to claim 2, reciting a minor typographical error: “The battery enclosure of claim 1, wherein the impact barrier being made of a material selected from […] and combinations thereof”. The linking verb ‘being’ should be replaced with ‘is’, and is interpreted for examination purposes as reciting such.
An objection is applied to claim 14 for a similar minor typographical error: “The battery enclosure of claim 11, wherein the service access component permits access to the battery storage space inside the battery enclosure”. Preceding claims 1, 10, and 11 do not positively recite or establish the structure of a battery storage space as referenced by claim 14; thus, the article ‘the’ should be replaced with ‘a’ in claim 14. For purposes of examination, this claim is interpreted as reciting such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bluemel (WO2020000090A1, US20210273285A1 cited as U.S. equivalent).
Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28
Regarding claim 1, Bluemel discloses (see Fig. 28) a battery enclosure (battery box 540) comprising:
a. an outer surface (i.e., the surface encircling battery chamber 561, see annotations) of the battery enclosure (540);
b. a first cover component (upper housing 550) and a second cover component (floor plate 570) forming an exterior portion of the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540) ([0089-0090] in US20210273285A1, see Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28 above);
c. an impact barrier (second rail 524) positioned on the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540), the impact barrier comprising a deflection section arranged away from the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540) ([0087], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28)
Regarding claim 2, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 1, wherein the impact barrier (second rail 524) is made of aluminum ([0038]), anticipating the Markush group of claim 2 (“metal alloys, carbon steel, aluminum, stainless steel, carbon fiber, fiber glass and combinations thereof”).
Regarding claim 3, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 1, wherein the impact barrier (524) comprises a plurality of hollow sections (hollow passages 546, 548) ([0091], FIG. 28).
Regarding claim 4, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 1, wherein an open area (interior space 526) is formed between the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540) and the deflection section of the impact barrier (524) (i.e., in the area faced by notch 542; [0091], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 4)
Regarding claim 6, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 1, wherein the impact barrier (524) further comprises a base section (notch 542), the base section (542) being secured to the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540) (i.e., at a peripheral flange 574; [0091], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28).
Regarding claim 7, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 6 wherein the deflection section of the impact barrier (524) extends (see annotations) from the base section (542) ([0091], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28).
Regarding claim 8, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 1, wherein the first cover component (upper housing 550) and the second cover component (floor plate 570) are secured together at an attachment point (i.e., the location where box bolt 558 is received by rim portion 572) ([0089], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28).
Regarding claim 9, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 8, wherein the attachment point is accessible in an open area (526) formed between the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540) and the deflection section of the impact barrier (524) ([0089, 0091], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28)
Regarding claims 10-13, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 1, wherein a service access component (box bolt 558 and rim portion 572 receiving the box bolt) is arranged on the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540) ([0089], FIG. 28) as in claim 10;
the service access component (558, 572) is positioned in an open area (526) formed between the outer surface of the battery enclosure (540) and the deflection section of the impact barrier (524) such that the service access component (558, 572) is accessible through the open area (526) ([0089], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28; [0088 and 0091] shows access of a mounting bolt (592) in the same open area (526)) as in claim 11;
wherein the service access component (558, 572) comprises a fastening device (box bolt 558) ([0089], FIG. 28) as in claim 12, and the fastening device (558) secures the first cover component (550) and the second cover component (570) together that form a portion of the battery enclosure (540) ([0089-0090], FIG. 28) as in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 11 wherein the service access component (box bolt 558 and rim portion 572 receiving the box bolt) permits access to the battery storage space (561) inside the battery enclosure (540) ([0089], FIG. 28)
Regarding claim 15, Bluemel discloses the battery enclosure of claim 6. The deflection section is shown attached at a single end to, and extends (i.e., projects) from, the base section (542) of the impact barrier (524) ([0091], Annotated Bluemel FIG. 28). Thus, under a plain English definition of a cantilever (“a projecting beam or member supported at only one end”, Merriam-Webster Dictionary), the deflection section is broadly and reasonably interpreted as being cantilevered from a base section (542) of the impact barrier (524)
Conclusion
/E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 10/23/2026