DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant' s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 5-10) in the reply filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the locking mechanism of Claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a locking mechanism in claim 9
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
(A) the term “mechanism” is a generic placeholder,
(B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “locking”), and
(C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function. No corresponding structure is described in the specification as a corresponding structure for a locking mechanism nor is a structure or element shown in the drawings disclosed in Application specification, since no specific structure is described as to what a locking mechanism actually entails, see 112b rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Specification does not describe the structure of “a locking mechanism” and its resulting inherent “locking” ( or provide a correlation between “structure and its “method” properties) in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, especially when the Specification does not provide any disclosure of how a locking mechanism locks. In other words, the claims and the Specification appear to set out a desired functional result of the locking mechanism, without sufficiently identifying how the invention achieves the claimed functional result. See Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 692 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (citing Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349) (explaining that the written description requirement is not met if the Specification merely describes a "desired result"). The Specification provides no guidance or example as to what is necessary in order to provide a locking mechanism having the capability of locking. Without any such guidance or example in the Specification as to what is the structure that achieves the functional limitation, the Specification does not demonstrate that Applicant possessed the functionally-defined a locking mechanism recited in the claims. Claim 9 is thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph, as failing to meet the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 9, as stated above claim limitation “a locking mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding structure is described in the specification as corresponding structure for the locking mechanism. For purposes of examination: in order to expedite prosecution, the terms are defined as: “a locking mechanism” is a structure that locks its equivalents. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzmann (EP3943259) in view of Choi (KR20210002661U).
In re Claim 5, Holzmann discloses A container (10) being a hollow container (inside of 10) provided above a hollow column (31) provided around a liquefied gas pump (See [0042]: a pumping device),
wherein the container (10) comprises a glove box (100) provided on a side wall of the container (13) and configured to allow a user to insert his or her hand from outside the container ([0039]: the container wall 13 contains openings that form glove passages 15),
the glove box (100) comprising: a fixed frame (15) fixed to the side wall of the container (13),
However, Holzmann does not explicitly teach, a movable frame attached to the fixed frame so as to be movable inward of the hollow container via bellows, a handle provided so as to protrude outward of the hollow container from the movable frame.
On the other hand, Choi teaches a movable frame (126) attached to the fixed frame (120) so as to be movable inward of the hollow container (110) via bellows (116), a handle (126b) provided so as to protrude outward of the hollow container (110) from the movable frame (126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Holzmann and to have modified them by having a movable frame attached to the fixed frame so as to be movable inward of the hollow container of Holzmann via bellows as taught by Choi, and a handle provided so as to protrude outward of the hollow container of Holzmann from the movable frame as taught by Choi, in order to o slide while being fitted in the first opening of the shielding booth, i.e., hollow container (See Choi [0025-0026]), without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 6, Modified Holzmann teaches wherein the side wall (Choi 124) is provided with a guide shaft (Choi 126a) which guides the movement of the movable frame (Choi 120).
In re Claim 7, Modified Holzmann teaches wherein the movable frame (126) has a bearing (128) that support the movable frame (126) so that it can slide along the guide shaft (Choi [0027]).
In re Claim 8, Modified Holzmann teaches wherein the position and length of the guide shaft (126a) is set at a location () where it does not come into contact with a pump (Holzmann [0042]: a pumping device) passing inside the container (10).
In re Claim 9, Modified Holzmann teaches wherein the bearing (128) and the guide shaft (126a) is provided with a locking mechanism (Choi [0027-0028]).
In re Claim 10, Modified Holzmann teaches a pump system (Holzmann[0042] and 10) comprising: a liquefied gas pump (See Holzmann [0042]: a pumping device); and the container (10) according to claim 5.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763