DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 10-23 in the reply filed on 04/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/22/2026.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/082300 filed 11/17/2022. This application further claims benefit to foreign application FR2114141 filed 12/21/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted were filed on 06/19/2024, 09/25/2025, and 02/02/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“said sensor or infrared camera” should be corrected to:
“said infrared sensor or camera” to match the language of claim 14.
Claims 16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“(COVT)” should be corrected to: “(TVOC)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144).
Regarding claim 10, Shyu teaches a system (100) for determining risk of an airborne disease in an individual in a closed room (Figs. 1A-1B, [0026], “The systems and methods may be applied to assessing health risk in an environment of airborne diseases”, [0027], [0032]), comprising:
at least one contactless multiparameter sensor (102), placed in a room, for measurements characterizing the environment (Figs. 1A-1B, [0029], [0032], “…mounted in a room or a closed space and measure environmental data of the area”),
a remote server (104, 108) for processing collected information (Figs. 1A-1B, [0028], [0031-0032], [0039]), and
non-wired means for transmitting the information processed by the remote server (104, 108), either to the individual or to another person (110) ([0032], [0037], “The proximity monitoring assembly 101 may communicate with… the health risk assessment computing device 104 through wired or wireless communication”, [0039], wherein a cloud-based server 104 sending recommendations, alerts, and/or commands to the user computing device 110 such as a smart phone comprises a non-wired means for transmitting processed information by the remote server to the individual),
wherein said system is configured for establishing two functions of:
a measurement of transmissibility in the air ([0041-0043]), and
a measurement of the potential survival of a virus in the air ([0051-0055], [0053], “In some embodiments, the sensor readings are translated into the viral half-life via a plot resembling a parabolic curve. Equation (2) below may be used to approximate the half-life of the virus…”, [0054], “The environmental risk score depends on the expected viral half-life. The expected viral half-life may influence the environmental risk score…”).
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein the system is for determining an occurrence of the airborne disease, in particular a respiratory infection, and wherein said remote server preferably comprises an artificial intelligence algorithm making it possible to recognize a cough.
In an analogous system relating to airborne diseases field of endeavor, Khanzada teaches such a feature. Khanzada teaches employing algorithms configured to detect diseases such as the flu, the common cold, covid, and other respiratory conditions ([0036], [0041]). Khanzada teaches wherein an individual may be evaluated by camera via smartphone or medical devices including temperature sensors, microphones, and etc. ([0023]). Khanzada teaches wherein the determination may be performed server side ([0084]). Khanzada further teaches wherein the embodiments of their invention may be executed or implemented on a remote server ([0017-0018], [0084]). Khanzada teaches wherein the controller (12) of the system (100) may include an artificial intelligence module (14), such as one implementing a machine-learning model, with multiple modality classifiers (16) such as a cough classifier ([0019]). Khanzada teaches receiving an audio stream received via a microphone and developing and training a machine learning pattern recognition engine to identify patterns of a cough for detecting an instance of a cough in the audio stream ([0069-0070]). Khanzada therefore further teaches a remote server comprising an artificial intelligence algorithm making it possible to recognize a cough.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to further detect airborne respiratory diseases such as covid and the flu as taught by Khanzada ([0023], [0036], [0041]) and to have the remote server comprise an artificial intelligence algorithm configured to recognize a cough as further taught by Khanzada ([0017-0019], [0069-0070], [0084]). By detecting the disease, the individual may predictably be alerted and take appropriate actions such as isolating themselves to prevent the spread. Moreover, by using AI to detect coughs, the AI may further use the cough to distinguish between diseases the individual may have as recognized by Khanzada ([0019], [0067], [0070]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the at least one contactless multiparameter sensor combines measurements of physiological symptoms and measurements characterising the environment, and wherein the system is further configured for establishing a third function of: a measurement of physiological symptoms.
In an analogous monitoring system field of endeavor, Morgan teaches such a feature. Morgan teaches an indoor air quality (IAQ) sensor system for a building ([0006], [0044]). Morgan teaches an IAQ sensor module (304) which includes a temperature sensor (308) a humidity sensor (312), a particulate sensor (316, a volatile organic compounds (VOC) sensor (320), and a carbon dioxide sensor (324) (Fig. 3A, [0081]). Morgan further teaches wherein the IAQ sensor module (304) includes a microphone (370) configured to record audio, a camera (374), and an infrared (IR) sensor (378) ([0088]). Morgan teaches wherein the IAQ sensor module (304) may detect coughing, wheezing, watery eyes, and sneezing ([0007], [0047], [0088]). Moreover, Morgan teaches wherein the system may indicate the occurrence of a user coughing or sneezing ([0007], [0019]). Morgan therefore teaches a multiparameter sensor (IAQ sensor module 304) which in combination measures physiological symptoms (i.e. coughing and sneezing) and measures the environment (i.e. temperature, humidity, CO2, etc.). Moreover, Morgan teaches measurement of physiological symptoms (detecting and indicating occurrences of coughing and sneezing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to have the multiparameter sensor measure physiological symptoms in combination with measuring the environment as taught by Morgan (Fig. 3A, [0007], [0081], [0088]). The measured physiological symptoms may be correlated with the measured environmental conditions (Abstract, [0149-0150]) and mitigative actions may be performed to help prevent further occurrence of the symptom, i.e. coughing, in the future as recognized by Morgan ([0150-0151]).
Regarding claim 17, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein said multiparameter sensor (102) further comprises a geographic position sensor ([0030], “The location sensor may be integrated with one or more of the environmental sensors 102… The location sensor may include a global position system (GPS) receiver or a wireless beacon”).
Regarding claim 20, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein the at least one multiparameter sensor (102) further comprises processing means (104) for the collected information ([0028-0029], [0031-0032], [0039]).
Regarding claim 21, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein the at least one multiparameter sensor further comprises non-wired means adapted for transmitting the collected information, raw or processed, to the remote server (104, 108) (Figs. 1B & 4, [0028], [0032], “The room-level sensors 102 directly communicate with the server computing device 108 and upload signals and data detected and/or stored in the room-level sensors 102”, [0071-0072], “For example, the communication interface 1015 may receive data from the proximity monitoring computing device 160 and the environmental sensors 102, via the Internet”).
Regarding claim 22, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein the multiparameter sensor (102) comprises memory means for transmitting the collected information in a delayed manner ([0028], [0032], [0039], [0044], “The data may be stored on the environmental sensors 102. The data may be transmitted to a server computing device in real time or in a time interval”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Peltz (US20130130227).
Regarding claim 11, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein the function of measuring physiological symptoms comprises the measurement of body temperature of the individual, the detection of coughs and sneezes.
In an analogous system for detecting infectious diseases field of endeavor, Peltz teaches such a feature. Peltz teaches an infectious disease detection system (Title, [0002]). Peltz teaches identifying body temperature of individuals by using an infrared camera (208) ([0044], [0060]). Moreover, Peltz teaches wherein images (210) taken by a visible light camera (206) may be used by an image analyzer (308) to determine whether an individual has coughed or sneezed ([0044], [0058]). Peltz therefore teaches measuring the body temperature of individuals and detecting whether they have coughed or sneezed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to further measure body temperature along with detecting coughing and sneezing as taught by Peltz ([0044], [0058], [0060]). By measuring body temperature and actions such as coughing or sneezing, contagious diseases may be detected or identified as recognized by Peltz ([0034], [0070]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Dutta (US20220034763).
Regarding claim 12, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein the function of measuring the transmissibility in the air comprises the detection of the presence of air flow ([0043], wherein carbon-dioxide data is collected, carbon dioxide reflects ventilation, and ventilation comprises air flow).
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein the function of measuring the transmissibility in the air further comprises the detection of the presence of aerosols and droplets.
In an analogous detection of pathogens field of endeavor, Dutta teaches such a feature. Dutta teaches sampling viral particles, pathogen detection, and running medical diagnostics in the air ([0002]). Dutta teaches several respiratory viruses including COVID-19 and influenza are known to be transmitted through aerosols and droplets generated during coughing, sneezing, talking, and breathing by infected individuals ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to further detect aerosols and droplets as taught by Dutta ([0029]). Respiratory viruses including COVID and influenza are transmitted through aerosol and droplets as recognized by Dutta ([0029]). Shyu teaches measuring transmissibility of airborne diseases ([0041-0043], [0051-0052], [0058]) and determining risk scores based on transmissibility ([0041]). Therefore, Shyu modified by the teachings of Dutta would predictably result in further measuring the presence of aerosols and droplets as these factor into transmissibility and risk.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Federspiel (US20210318010).
Regarding claim 13, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein the function of measuring the potential survival of a virus in the air comprises the detection of temperature and of humidity in the air ([0041], “Virus decay exhibits a U-shaped dependence on relative humidity, where virus decays two to five times faster at 65% relative humidity than at 40% and 100% humidity”, [0042], “Air temperature data may also be collected… For example, median estimated viral half-life is more than 24 hours at 10° C. (50° F.) with 40% relative humidity, while the half-life is approximately one hour and a half at 27° C. (80° F.) and 65% relative humidity, where virus decays roughly five to ten times faster”, [0052], “For example, the relationship between viral decay and temperature may be characterized by the Arrhenius equation as shown below…”, [0053], “For humidity, an empirically observed U-shaped relationship with viral half-life may be used to estimate the airborne viral load… Equation (2) below may be used to approximate the half-life of the virus T.sub.1/2 in an environment having a relative humidity (RH) ranging from 50% to 90% at a temperature of 10° C”).
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein the function of measuring the potential survival of a virus in the air further comprises the detection of ultraviolet rays.
In an analogous defense against pathogens field of endeavor, Federspiel teaches such a feature. Federspiel teaches a system and method for controlling an HVAC in a building to defend against pathogens by inactivating them ([0002], [0019]). Federspiel teaches the United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) developed a model relating the half-life of SARS-Cov-2 virus to temperature, relative humidity, and UV index ([0023]). Federspiel therefore teaches wherein UV rays affect the half-life or survival of viruses in the air such as SARS-Cov-2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to further account for UV index or use the DHS’s model as taught by Federspiel ([0023]). The model of a virus’s half-life includes UV index in addition to temperature and humidity as recognized by Federspiel ([0023]), thus teaching that half-life is affected by UV light or UV rays. Therefore, Shyu modified by the teachings of Federspiel would result in further detecting and relating of the UV index (UV rays) to the half-life or decay of viruses.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Peltz (US20130130227) and Orlovsky (US20220293276).
Regarding claim 14, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein said measurement of physiological symptoms are performed by the following sensor: an infrared sensor or camera adapted for measuring a temperature remotely, in particular the temperature of the individual.
In an analogous system for detecting infectious diseases field of endeavor, Peltz teaches such a feature. Peltz teaches an infectious disease detection system (Title, [0002]). Peltz teaches identifying body temperature of individuals by using an infrared camera (208) ([0044], [0060]). Peltz teaches an elevated body temperature may indicate the presence of an infectious disease ([0034], [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to use an infrared camera to measure the body temperature of individuals as taught by Peltz ([0044], [0060]). Elevated body temperatures may indicate the presence of infectious diseases as recognized by Peltz ([0034], [0070]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein said measurement of physiological symptoms are further performed by the following sensor: a microphone adapted for being connected to processing means implementing an artificial intelligence algorithm making it possible to recognize a cough.
In an analogous system relating to airborne diseases field of endeavor, Khanzada teaches such a feature. Khanzada teaches employing algorithms configured to detect diseases such as the flu, the common cold, covid, and other respiratory conditions ([0036], [0041]). Khanzada teaches wherein an individual may be evaluated by camera via smartphone or medical devices including temperature sensors, microphones, and etc. ([0023]). Khanzada teaches wherein the determination may be performed server side ([0084]). Khanzada further teaches wherein the embodiments of their invention may be executed or implemented on a remote server ([0017-0018], [0084]). Khanzada teaches wherein the controller (12) of the system (100) may include an artificial intelligence module (14), such as one implementing a machine-learning model, with multiple modality classifiers (16) such as a cough classifier ([0019]). Khanzada teaches receiving an audio stream received via a microphone and developing and training a machine learning pattern recognition engine to identify patterns of a cough for detecting an instance of a cough in the audio stream ([0069-0070]). Khanzada therefore further teaches a microphone adapted for being connected to processing means implementing an artificial intelligence algorithm making to possible to recognized a cough.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to use a microphone connected to processing means implementing an AI algorithm to detect coughing as taught by Khanzada ([0019], [0069-0070]). By using AI to detect coughs via the microphone, the AI may further use the cough to distinguish between diseases the individual may have as recognized by Khanzada ([0019], [0067], [0070]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein said measurement of physiological symptoms are further performed by the following sensor: a radar or lidar adapted for measuring a number of people present in the room and the distance between people.
In an analogous prevention of viral transmission field of endeavor, Orlovsky teaches such a feature. Orlovsky teaches systems and methods for radar-based viral transmission prevention for a protected space (Abstract, [0002]). Orlovsky teaches wherein the social distancing monitoring system comprises a radar sensor array configured to count the number of people in an area and determine the separation between the people in the area within the protected space ([0016], [0119], [0134], [0142-0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to include a radar for counting a number of people present and the distance between them as taught by Orlovsky ([0016], [0119], [0134], [0142-0144]). The number of people in a room and the distance between them (e.g. proximity) may influence transmission as recognized by Orlovsky ([0006-0007]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), Morgan (US20210116144), Peltz (US20130130227) and Orlovsky (US20220293276) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Shimizu (US20130081034).
Regarding claim 15, Shyu in view of Khanzada, Morgan, Peltz, and Orlovsky teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 14.
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein said sensor or infrared camera is adapted for measuring a temperature in several angular sectors.
In an analogous measurement of temperature in a room field of endeavor, Shimizu teaches such a feature. Shimizu teaches an infrared camera (411) configured to rotate and thereby monitor (measure) temperature of air intake surfaces of several servers (402) in a room (Fig. 4, [0038]). Because the infrared camera (411) rotates to measure temperature of several spatially placed servers (Fig. 4), the infrared camera is adapted for measuring a temperature in several angular sectors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to have the infrared camera be configured to rotate as taught by Shimizu (Fig. 4, [0038]). By having the infrared camera be configured to rotate, the temperature of several objects or individuals that are spatially spread out in a room may predictably be measured.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of LeBoeuf (US20080146892) and Uchiyama (US20230215263).
Regarding claim 16, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein said measurement of environmental parameters are performed by the following sensors:
a sensor (116) adapted for measuring a concentration of carbon dioxide (CO2) ([0029], wherein measuring level of carbon-dioxide in the environment comprises measuring a concentration of CO2, [0039], [0058], carbon dioxide levels are measured in parts per million (PPM));
an ambient air temperature sensor (112) ([0029]);
a relative humidity sensor (114) for the ambient air ([0029], [0041-0042], [0053]).
However, Shyu fails to teach a sensor adapted for measuring a number and size of particles and/or aerosols in the air; a sensor adapted for measuring a concentration of volatile organic compounds; and a barometric pressure sensor.
In an analogous health monitoring field of endeavor, LeBoeuf teaches such a feature. LeBoeuf teaches an invention directed to health monitoring ([0002]). LeBoeuf teaches monitoring physiological functions using a physiological sensor (11) and monitoring the environment using a environmental sensor (12) ([0080-0081]). LeBoeuf teaches wherein the environmental sensor (12) may monitor airborne particle density and airborne particle size ([0081], wherein monitoring airborne particle density includes measuring a number of particles in the air). LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the sensor (12) may monitor volatile organic chemicals (VOCs) and barometric pressure ([0081], wherein volatile organic chemicals (VOCs) comprise volatile organic compounds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to further include sensors which measure airborne particle density and size, volatile organic chemicals (VOCs) concentration, and barometric pressure as taught by LeBoeuf ([0081]). Environmental factors such as those measured by LeBoeuf may be correlated with disease spread and/or health issues.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the volatile organic compounds were in particular ethanol, dihydrogen (H2) or total volatile organic compounds (COVT).
In an analogous monitoring of the environment field of endeavor, Uchiyama teaches such a feature. Uchiyama teaches a space monitoring system configured to monitor droplet infection risk (Abstract, [0005], [0037]). Uchiyama teaches air quality sensors (20) made of one or more sensors, which include a total volatile organic compound (TVOC) sensor (32) ([0028]). Uchiyama teaches the TVOC sensor (32) measures a concentration of total volatile organic compounds in the air within the area covered by the sensor, that is, a level of contamination of various volatile organic compounds (VOCs) ([0029]). Uchiyama therefore teaches wherein the volatile organic compounds were in particular total volatile organic compounds (COVT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to measure the concentration of total volatile organic compounds in the area with the sensor as taught by Uchiyama ([0028-0029]). The concentration of total volatile organic compounds may be a factor in droplet infection risk as recognized by Uchiyama ([0037], [0028-0029]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Peltz (US20130130227) and LeBoeuf (US20080146892).
Regarding claim 18, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Shyu further teaches wherein the multiparametric sensor (102) comprises:
a sensor (116) for measuring a concentration of carbon dioxide (CO2) ([0029], wherein measuring level of carbon-dioxide in the environment comprises measuring a concentration of CO2, [0039], [0058], carbon dioxide levels are measured in parts per million (PPM));
an ambient air temperature sensor (112) ([0029]); and
a relative humidity sensor (114) for the ambient air ([0029], [0041-0042], [0053]).
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein the multiparametric sensor further comprises: an infrared sensor or camera.
In an analogous system for detecting infectious diseases field of endeavor, Peltz teaches such a feature. Peltz teaches an infectious disease detection system (Title, [0002]). Peltz teaches identifying body temperature of individuals by using an infrared camera (208) ([0044], [0060]). Peltz teaches an elevated body temperature may indicate the presence of an infectious disease ([0034], [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to use an infrared camera to measure the body temperature of individuals as taught by Peltz ([0044], [0060]). Elevated body temperatures may indicate the presence of infectious diseases as recognized by Peltz ([0034], [0070]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the multiparametric sensor further comprises: a microphone.
In an analogous system relating to airborne diseases field of endeavor, Khanzada teaches such a feature. Khanzada teaches employing algorithms configured to detect diseases such as the flu, the common cold, covid, and other respiratory conditions ([0036], [0041]). Khanzada teaches wherein an individual may be evaluated by camera via smartphone or medical devices including temperature sensors, microphones, and etc. ([0023]). Khanzada teaches wherein the determination may be performed server side ([0084]). Khanzada further teaches wherein the embodiments of their invention may be executed or implemented on a remote server ([0017-0018], [0084]). Khanzada teaches wherein the controller (12) of the system (100) may include an artificial intelligence module (14), such as one implementing a machine-learning model, with multiple modality classifiers (16) such as a cough classifier ([0019]). Khanzada teaches receiving an audio stream received via a microphone and developing and training a machine learning pattern recognition engine to identify patterns of a cough for detecting an instance of a cough in the audio stream ([0069-0070]). Khanzada therefore further teaches a microphone adapted for being connected to processing means implementing an artificial intelligence algorithm making to possible to recognized a cough.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to have the sensor include a microphone as taught by Khanzada ([0019], [0069-0070]). By using AI, coughs may be detected via the microphone as recognized by Khanzada ([0019], [0067], [0070]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the multiparametric sensor further comprises: a sensor for measuring a number and size of particles and/or aerosols in ambient air; and a barometric pressure sensor.
In an analogous health monitoring field of endeavor, LeBoeuf teaches such a feature. LeBoeuf teaches an invention directed to health monitoring ([0002]). LeBoeuf teaches monitoring physiological functions using a physiological sensor (11) and monitoring the environment using an environmental sensor (12) ([0080-0081]). LeBoeuf teaches wherein the environmental sensor (12) may monitor airborne particle density and airborne particle size ([0081], wherein monitoring airborne particle density includes measuring a number of particles in the air). LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the sensor (12) may monitor barometric pressure ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to further include sensors which measure airborne particle density and size, and to include a barometric pressure sensor as taught by LeBoeuf ([0081]). Environmental factors such as those measured by LeBoeuf may be correlated with disease spread and/or health issues.
Regarding claim 19, Shyu in view of Khanzada, Morgan, Peltz, and LeBoeuf teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 18.
However, Shyu fails to teach wherein the multiparametric sensor further comprises: a radar or lidar which makes it possible to measure the number of people present and the distance between people; and/or a sensor for measuring a concentration of volatile organic compounds, in particular ethanol, dihydrogen (H2) or total volatile organic compounds (COVT); and/or an air flow sensor; and/or an ultraviolet rate sensor.
In an analogous system for detecting infectious diseases field of endeavor, Peltz teaches such a feature. Peltz teaches an infectious disease detection system (Title, [0002]). Peltz teaches a contagion management system (106) including a sensor system (114) configured to collect information (120) about an environment (107) within a zone (108) (Fig. 1, [0030-0031]). Peltz teaches the sensor (114) may include an airflow detector (204) configured to provide information about airflow in the zone (108) for analysis/identification of airflow patterns (Fig. 2, [0040], [0052], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to have the multiparametric sensor further include an airflow detector as taught by Peltz (Figs. 1-2, [0040], [0052], [0066]). Airflow patterns measured with an airflow detector may be used by a threat assessor to identify projected spread of contagions in a zone and also establish a threat level as recognized by Peltz ([0066], [0068], [0073]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US20220246304), Khanzada (US20220037022), and Morgan (US20210116144) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Nasis (US20210018210).
Regarding claim 23, Shyu in view of Khanzada and Morgan teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
However, Shyu fails to teach the invention further comprising at least three multiparameter sensors.
In an analogous environment monitoring field of endeavor, Nasis teaches such a feature. Nasis teaches an environment quality monitoring device (100) including a plurality of sensors (110) configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing the ambient environment (Fig. 1A, [0048]). Nasis teaches wherein the environment quality monitoring device (100’) may include sensors (110a-110g) including a particulate sensor (110a), a VOC sensor (110b), a CO2 sensor (110c), a pressure sensor (110f), a humidity sensor (110g) and so on (Fig. 1B, [0050]). Nasis therefore teaches wherein the environment quality monitoring device comprises a multiparameter sensor. Nasis further teaches a system in which three or more environment quality monitoring devices (100) may communicate with a cloud network or server (620) (Fig. 6, [0006], [0136]). Figure 6 shows wherein the system comprises three multiparameter sensors (610) and therefore wherein Nasis teaches at least three multiparameter sensors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shyu to include three or more multiparameter sensors as taught by Nasis (Figs. 1A-1B & 6, [0006], [0048-0050], [0136]). Using three or more multiparameter sensors may predictably expand coverage or increase the amount of people being monitored. By monitoring a greater area or a greater amount of people, more information may predictably be gathered for analysis such as for the study of epidemiology or disease spread.
Conclusion
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797