DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-17, in the response dated 8/12/2026, is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
1. The Bartolucci film does not contain alginate
2. The Bartolucci film comprises multiple layers and the instant film is only a single layer;
3. The Bartolucci film comprises a paper layer and is therefore not soluble;
4. The Bartolucci film comprises an outer layer of insoluble varnish or wax.
This is not found persuasive for the following reasons: the claimed invention also possesses multiple layers, as set forth in claims and in the instant specification. See page 27: 1-2 of the specification. The instant invention may be in the form of a core-shell arrangement or a sachet, as disclosed in the instant specification (page 44, 24-27).
Bartolucci teaches the layers may contain alginate (pg 13: 5; pg 13:10; pg 13: 13; pg 27:13).
Regarding the presence of an insoluble paper layer or an outside layer comprising varnish or wax taught by Bartolucci, the instant specification discloses an outer part that is water insoluble (page 7: 14-16), and further describes the presence of an insoluble polymeric film enveloping the instant product (pg 21: 2-3).
As best interpreted by the Examiner, the high solubility of the first and second “subproduct” or layers is restricted to those layers, not other elements in the claimed personal care product.
The applicant also argues that the product of Bartolucci is not a personal care product. The Examiner disagrees since Bartolucci teaches the presence in the invention of surfactants for personal care functions (page 28:29-34) and specifically states the invention is useful as a shampoo (page 16:6-10) or a body wash (page 3: 25-27).
It is noted that the claim language implies a two layer product since claim 1 recites “the second subproduct is being adapted to contain the first subproduct.” As such the claim is interpreted by the Examiner to comprise two separate elements, wherein the first subproduct is contained to some extent within the second subproduct.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Claims 13 is cancelled.
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are pending.
Claims 15 and 17-18 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16 are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Indefiniteness Rejection
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is drawn to a personal care product comprising two subproducts, wherein the second subproduct is a water-soluble dried solid film comprising an alginate, at least one thickening agent such as the elected species of psyllium, and at least one humectant.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “psyllium” includes the raw husk of the plant, see the Specification, page 10, lines 19-24, which discloses psyllium as a “water soluble gel-forming mucilage (also known as psyllium hydrocolloid or psyllium seed gum) obtained from the seed husk of Plantago genre plants.” However, as disclosed in the specification, “psyllium” cannot be considered a water-soluble compound since the term “hydrocolloid” is considered to mean the material has insoluble elements that form a viscous gel, since a colloidal system is considered to comprise a solid or semi-solid network that traps a liquid phase, and is therefore not a completely soluble element.
Claim 16 is drawn to a number of water-insoluble polymers, including nylon and polyurethane.
Obviousness Rejection
1) Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braginsky (WO 2009/032325 A1).
Braginsky teaches shaped articles for application to skin and which may contain active and inactive substances including pheromones (Abstract). Braginsky teaches the articles are layered and are suitable for “external application, such as cosmetic or medical pads (pg 19: 8-10). Braginsky teaches freeze-drying of the layers (pg 13: 7-10).
Braginsky teaches the layers may contain alginates such as the water-soluble sodium alginate and/or alkaline earth alginates such as calcium alginates that are less soluble or insoluble in water (pg 3: 20-21). Braginsky further teaches that each layer can be manipulated to release active agents in a controlled manner (pg 19: 20-22).
Braginsky teaches that each of the layers may contain glycerin as a cosmetically effective compound or moisturizer (pg 15: 24-27).
Braginsky further teaches that the layers contain at least one “skeletal-forming agent” or hydrocolloid forming agent such as polyvinyl alcohol (pg 13: 30; pg 23: 25).
Regarding the claim 1 limitation of the water solubility of the first and second subproducts, Braginsky teaches the less soluble layer is less than 10 g/liter at 20 oC (pg 11: 30-31). However, the claim recites a higher temperature (up to 30 oC), and one of ordinary skill would expect higher solubility at a higher temperature. Additionally, applicant recites the term “about” in claim 1 with regard to solubilities and does not appear to apply limits to the term in the Specification; as such, the term “about” is defined broadly. While Braginsky does not teach an exact value for the solubility of the more soluble layer that comprises sodium alginate and glycerin, the solubility of sodium alginate can be optimized by manipulating pH and molecular weight of the polymer.
For claim 2, Braginsky teaches cosmetic applications of the invention. For claim 3, Braginsky teaches cosmetic applications including a moisturizer (pg 20: 10-16).
For claims 4 and 5, Braginsky teaches ingredients including a glycerin and urea as moisturizers (pg 25: 18-19).
For claims 6 and 7, Braginsky teaches ingredients including a buffer (pg 27: 30) and/or inorganic salts such as calcium chloride (pg 4: 1; pg 10: 19-20).
For claim 8, Braginsky teaches mixtures of glycerin and an alginate, as discussed above.
For claim 9, Braginsky teaches compositions comprising alginates (pg 3: 20-21); cellulose as a natural hydrocolloid-forming polymer (pg 13: 29); glycerin; urea (pg 25: 18-19); and xanthan gum (pg 13: 27).
For claim 11, Braginsky teaches or suggests a solid film comprising alginate, glycerol, and polyvinyl alcohol, as discussed above.
Of note is that Braginsky does not teach or suggest a solid film comprising alginate, glycerol, and psyllium.
For claim 14, Braginsky teaches compositions comprising cosmetic active substances (pg 13: 19-22).
The examiner acknowledges that some picking and choosing was used to arrive at the instantly claimed methods in view of Braginsky. However, the claimed combination of components, including the multiple layered construct, the layer comprising alginate and glycerol, and the layer comprising alginate, glycerol, and polyvinyl alcohol, is taught as known and used for administration of cosmetic ingredients to the skin. It would have therefore been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to administer the claimed combination of ingredients, including the cosmetic active, through a topical route of administration with a reasonable expectation of success that the treatment would be efficacious, as taught by Braginsky.
2) Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braginsky (cited above), in view of Harichian (US 2009/0155321 A1)..
The teachings of Braginsky are discussed above.
Braginsky does not teach a product comprising the polymers claimed in claim 16 including a polyhydroxyalkanoate.
Harichian teaches the missing element of Braginsky.
Harichian teaches cosmetic compositions comprising encapsulated coloring agents (Abstract), wherein alginates may comprise the core and shell (pg 2, [0029]). The composition also includes glycerol as a humectant (pg 3, [0058]). Harichian also teaches the bead coating or shell and may comprise an alginate and polyhydroxyethyl methacrylate (pg 2, [0029]), reading on a polyhydroxyalkanoate.
The skilled artisan would have expected success in adding polyhydroxyethyl methacrylate to alginate in a layer of the cosmetic taught by Braginsky since Harichian teaches the combination of polyhydroxyethyl methacrylate and alginate are useful in a matrix surrounding a layer or core comprising a cosmetic active.
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612