DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 13 recites, “a target boundary definition describing a location in the image buffer”. There is lack of antecedent basis for the term “the image buffer”. “image buffer is not available in any of the previous or parent claim. As a result the scope of the limitation is indefinite.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chougle et al. ( US 2015-0334149 A1”Chougle” included in IDS ) in view of Hoshimo et al ( US patent Publication: 20120163732 A1, “Hoshimo” included in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Chougle teaches, An image processing apparatus comprising (Fig. 9) one or more memories(element 914) storing instructions;
one or more processors (Processors 902) that, upon executing the instructions, are configured to:
obtain one or more video sources of video data; (Fig.3, Step 305 and 315(“[0027] FIG. 3 illustrates a flowchart of a method 300 of presenting a plurality of video feeds of participants in a video conference on a visual display, according to various embodiments. In operation 305, the layout core engine 106 may receive a first value of a first property from a first video feed of a plurality of video feeds of the video conference. The value may be a location such as a city when the property is a geographical property or a position within a company when the first property is a role-based property. In operation 310, the layout core engine 106 may receive a second value of the first property from a second video feed of the plurality of video feeds.”)
specify a layout identifying positions within a frame that the obtained video sources are to be positioned; (Fig. 3 Step 315 and [0028] In operation 315, the layout core engine 106 may receive a request for a layout style for the plurality of video feeds on the visual display. The layout style may identify a layout that has a plurality of positions for the plurality of video feeds.”)
Chougle doesn’t expressly teach, generate one or more pixel mappings for one or more output frame pixel locations the one more pixel mappings map respective sources of video data to the specified layout; obtain an output frame from one or more stream buffers. dynamically render one or more of the output frame pixels from the one or more stream buffers via the respective one or more pixel mappings.
However, Hishino teaches, generate one or more pixel mappings for one or more output frame pixel locations the one more pixel mappings map respective sources of video data to the specified layout; (Pargraph [0124] generates pixel mapping from source image to target image in the blending image layout or output frame. Fig. 7 describes pixel mapping or how source image is converted to target image for the output frame )
obtain an output frame from one or more stream buffers. (blending layouts from blending layout information storage memory ….” [0124] The source necessity information generating unit 108 reads the blending layout information corresponding to the pixel position of the blended information indicated by the counter values of the x-coordinate and the y-coordinate in the output counter 105 from the blending layout information storing memory 107”)
dynamically render one or more of the output frame pixels from the one or more stream buffers via the respective one or more pixel mappings. ([0124] and Fig. 9 describes output frame is created based on pixel mapping of source image to target image.)
Chougle and Hoshino are analogous as they are from the video image generation.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chougle to have included generate one or more pixel mappings for one or more output frame pixel locations the one or more pixel mappings map respective sources of video data to the specified layout; obtain an output frame from one or more stream buffers; dynamically render one or more of the output frame pixels from the one or more stream buffers via the respective one or more pixel mapping as taught by Hoshino by applying Hoshino’s teaching of source image transformation with pixel mapping to output frame to the source video of Chougle to place the transformed source video to an output frame.
The motivation for the modification is to properly transform the source image/video to properly place in a series of output frames.
Claim 8 is directed to a method and its steps are similar in scope and functions of the element of the device claim 1 and therefore claim 8 is rejected with same rationales as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 9, Chougle as modified by Hoshino teaches, wherein the one or more stream buffers includes at least a first stream buffer and a second stream buffer such that the second stream buffer is provided with a subsequent frame of the output video stream while a previous frame of the output video stream is being dynamically rendered. (Hoshino Paragraph [0074] and Fig. 9 shows multiple output frame and Fig.9 displays how outframes are rendered.)
The motivation to include sequentially processing of frames with transformed video image.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Chougle as modified by Hoshino teaches, wherein the one or more pixel mappings for one or more output frame pixel locations each comprise one or more pixel locations of one of the video sources of video data. (Hoshino,[0068] provides address or coordinates for input source image. [0068] The input counter 103 is a counter of the pixel data of the respective source images input to the transform processing unit 1003, and outputs an address which is coordinates indicative of the number of lines in a vertical direction and a pixel position in a horizontal direction on the source image.” The teaching of source image pixel location from Hoshino is applied to source video image video image of Chougle.)
The motivation for the modification is have the pixel location for transformation process.)
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Chougle as modified by Hoshino teaches, wherein the one or more pixel locations of one of the video sources of video data comprise a predetermined number of neighboring pixels in the source video (Hoshino, . [0068] The input counter 103 is a counter of the pixel data of the respective source images input to the transform processing unit 1003, and outputs an address which is coordinates indicative of the number of lines in a vertical direction and a pixel position in a horizontal direction on the source image.” Number of lines provides the predetermined number of pixel)
The motivation for the modification is have the pixel location for transformation process.)
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Chougle as modified by Hoshino teaches, wherein the pixel mapping further includes respective weighting information associated with each of the predetermined number of neighboring pixels in the source video. (Hoshino [0053] “Further, the reason is because the same pixel of the input image before enlargement is repetitively used in generation of the adjacent plural pixels after enlargement according to an enlargement factor in the enlarging process.” Enlargement factor is the weighting weighting information associated with each of the predetermined number of neighboring pixels in the source video. The same is true for shrinking process between source to target pixels
The motivation for the modification is have a relation between source and target pixel.)
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Chougle as modified by Hoshino teaches wherein the specified layout includes
a source boundary definition identifying a portion of a video frame to be included as a respective one of the video sources; (Hoshino, Fig. 6 source image has lyr0, lyr1 each has source boundary)
a target boundary definition describing a location in the image buffer using relative pixel coordinates that the respective one of the video sources is stored; and orientation information identifying an orientation of the respective one of the video sources is viewed in the target frame (Image quality is guided by a target boundary definition . Hoshino, Figure 10: "if there is the filtering process of the image quality adjusting process in the generation of the transformed source image lyr1 (321), a shaded pixel area 324 in FIG. 10 is overwritten by the transformed source image lyr2 (322). However, because the pixel area 324 is necessary for the generating process of boundary pixels between the transformed source image lyrl (321) and the transformed source image lyr2 (322), No. of lyr2 is not overwritten in the pixel arca 324 when the blending layout information is generated").
The motivation to include the modification is to provide limitation on the size of video object on the output frame.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Chougle as modified by Hoshino teaches, calculate source pixel to target pixel transformations using a two dimensional transform that accounts for two dimensional rotation and two dimensional translation from coordinate space for the source pixels to coordinate space for the target pixel. (Hoshino Fig. 7 and [0081-0082] describes transformation and rotation transformation to get target pixel from source pixel.)
The motivation is to include different ways of converting source to target pixel transformation to generate output frame.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Srebnik et al. ( US patent Publication: US 20160364835) Para [0843] discloses converting source pixels to target pixels.
Liu et al. (US 20110170802 A1) Para [0076] disclose pixel mapping to transform to target pixel
/TAPAS MAZUMDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615