DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 95-114 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabutov et al. (“Karabutov”) (US Pub. No.: 2021/0337208 A1) in view of Hendry (“Hendry”) (US Pub. No.: 2025/0203103 A1), and further in view of Li et al. (“Li”) (US Pub. No.: 2022/0353500 A1).
In regards to claims [95], [101], [0107], and [111], Karabutov discloses a device (see fig. 2 unit 20) and method for video decoding (see paragraphs [0169] and [0171]) and a device for video encoding (see fig. 2 unit 20) comprising: a processor (see fig. 1B unit 46, paragraph [0093]) configured to: generate a motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161], e.g., “reordering MMVD distance table”) based on at least Motion Vector Predictors (MVP) associated with a current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249], e.g., “MVP candidate of a current block of a current picture”); and decode the current block (see fig. 2 and/or fig. 3, paragraph [0132] and [0189]).
Yet, Karabutov fails to explicitly disclose modifying a merge candidate motion vector of the current block as specified in the amended claim.
However, Hendry teaches the well-known concept of modifying a merge candidate motion vector of the current block (see paragraph [0175] and [0291]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains could recognize the advantage of modifying the proposed teachings of Karabutov above by incorporating the proposed teachings of Hendy above to perform such a modification to provide a method and apparatus for encoding/decoding that is capable of implementing wherein modifying a merge candidate motion vector of the current block as well as to the solve the problem in a case where there is growing demand on high-resolution, high-quality images such as High Definition (HD) images and Ultra High Definition (UHD) images in various application fields as taught by Hendry (see Hendry, paragraph [0002]), thus enhancing video quality and improving video compression efficiency.
Although Karabutov discloses a device (see fig. 2 unit 20) and method for video decoding (see paragraphs [0169] and [0171]) and a device for video encoding (see fig. 2 unit 20) comprising: a processor (see fig. 1B unit 46, paragraph [0093]) configured to: generate a motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161], e.g., “reordering MMVD distance table”) based on at least Motion Vector Predictors (MVP) associated with a current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249], e.g., “MVP candidate of a current block of a current picture”); and decode the current block (see fig. 2 and/or fig. 3, paragraph [0132] and [0189]), the combination of teachings of Karabutov and Hendry fails to explicitly disclose such that to generate a new motion information refinement table comprising modified values based on at least Motion Vector Predictors (MVP) associated with a current block as specified in the amended claim.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li further teaches the well-known concept to generate a new motion information refinement table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], where the new motion refinement table is one of a merged motion vector difference (MMVD) distance table or a MMVD direction table, which is equivalent to the applicants teaching) comprising modified values (see paragraphs [0124] and [0140], e.g., “modified distance or direction values”) based on at least Motion Vector Predictors (MVP) associated (see fig. 13 unit S1330 and unit S1340 paragraphs [0151-0152], e.g., “motion vector predictions for the first and second part of a block can be determined”) with a current block (see fig. 13 unit S1310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains could recognize the advantage of modifying the proposed combination of teachings of Karabutov and Hendry above by further incorporating the proposed teachings of Li above to perform such a modification to provide a method and apparatus for encoding/decoding that is capable of implementing to generate a new motion information refinement table comprising modified values based on at least Motion Vector Predictors (MVP) associated with a current block as well as to the solve the problem in a case where MV prediction itself can be lossy, for example because of rounding errors when calculating a predictor from several surrounding MVs as taught by Li et al. (see Li, paragraph [0007]), thus improving video compression efficiency even more.
As per claim [96], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 95. In addition, Karabutov discloses the device of claim 95 (see the above rejection of claim 95), wherein the processor (see fig. 1B unit 46, paragraph [0093]) configured to generate the motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161]) based on at least MVP associated with the current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249]) is further configured to generate the motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161]) based on at least MVP associated with the current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249]) and motion information (see fig. 12 unit 1210) comprising a motion map associated with the current block (see fig. 6 and/or fig. 7, paragraph [0154] and [0177]).
Yet, the combination of teachings of Karabutov and Hendry fails to explicitly disclose such that to generate a new motion information refinement table comprising modified values based on at least MVP associated with the current block as specified in the amended claim.
However, Li further teaches to generate a new motion information refinement table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], which is equivalent to the applicants teaching) comprising modified values (see paragraphs [0124] and [0140]) based on at least MVP associated (see fig. 13 unit S1330 and unit S1340 paragraphs [0151-0152], e.g., “motion vector predictions for the first and second part of a block can be determined”) with a current block (see fig. 13 unit S1310). Same motivation as to claim 95 applies here.
As per claim [97], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 95. In addition, Karabutov the device of claim 95 (see the above rejection of claim 95), wherein the processor (see fig. 1B unit 46, paragraph [0093]) configured to generate the motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161]) based on at least MVP associated with the current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249]) is further configured to generate the motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161]) based on at least MVP associated with the current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249]) and depth information comprising a depth map associated with the current block (see paragraph [0098]).
Yet, the combination of teachings of Karabutov and Hendry fails to explicitly disclose such that to generate a new motion information refinement table comprising modified values based on at least MVP associated with the current block as specified in the amended claim.
However, Li further teaches to generate a new motion information refinement table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], which is equivalent to the applicants teaching) comprising modified values (see paragraphs [0124] and [0140]) based on at least MVP associated (see fig. 13 unit S1330 and unit S1340 paragraphs [0151-0152], e.g., “motion vector predictions for the first and second part of a block can be determined”) with a current block (see fig. 13 unit S1310). Same motivation as to claim 95 applies here.
As per claim [98], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 95. In addition, Karabutov discloses the device of claim 95 (see the above rejection of claim 95), wherein the processor (see fig. 1B unit 46, paragraph [0093]) configured to generate the motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161]) based on at least MVP associated with the current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249]) is further configured to generate the motion information refinement table (see paragraph [0161]) based on at least MVP associated with the current block (see paragraph [0049] and [0249]), motion information (see fig. 12 unit 1210) comprising a motion map associated with the current block (see fig. 6 and/or fig. 7, paragraph [0154] and [0177]), and depth information comprising a depth map associated with the current block (see paragraph [0098]).
Yet, the combination of teachings of Karabutov and Hendry fails to explicitly disclose such that to generate a new motion information refinement table comprising modified values based on at least MVP associated with the current block as specified in the amended claim.
However, Li further teaches to generate a new motion information refinement table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], which is equivalent to the applicants teaching) comprising modified values (see paragraphs [0124] and [0140]) based on at least MVP associated (see fig. 13 unit S1330 and unit S1340 paragraphs [0151-0152], e.g., “motion vector predictions for the first and second part of a block can be determined”) with a current block (see fig. 13 unit S1310). Same motivation as to claim 95 applies here.
As per claim [99], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 95. Yet, the combination of teachings of Karabutov and Hendry fails to explicitly disclose the device of claim 95, wherein the new motion information refinement table is one of a merged motion vector difference (MMVD) distance table or a MMVD direction table as specified in the amended claim.
However, Li further teaches the device of claim 95 (see the above rejection of claim 95), wherein the new motion information refinement table is one of a merged motion vector difference (MMVD) distance table or a MMVD direction table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], which is equivalent to the applicants teaching). Same motivation as to claim 95 applies here.
As per claim [100], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 95. Yet, the combination of teachings of Karabutov and Hendry fails to explicitly disclose such that to generate a new motion information refinement table comprising modified values based on at least MVP associated with the current block is configured to re-order the new motion information refinement table as specified in the amended claim.
However, Li further teaches to generate a new motion information refinement table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], which is equivalent to the applicants teaching) comprising modified values (see paragraphs [0124] and [0140]) based on at least MVP (see fig. 13 unit S1330 and unit S1340 paragraphs [0151-0152], e.g., “motion vector predictions for the first and second part of a block can be determined”) associated with the current block (see fig. 13 unit S1310) is configured to re-order (see paragraphs [0124] and [0140], e.g., “modified distance or direction values”) the new motion information refinement table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], which is equivalent to the applicants teaching). Same motivation as to claim 95 applies here.
As per claim [102], the method of claim 101, is analogous to claim 96, which is performed by claim 102.
As per claim [103], the method of claim 101, is analogous to claim 97, which is performed by claim 103.
As per claim [104], the method of claim 101, is analogous to claim 98, which is performed by claim 104.
As per claim [105], the method of claim 101, is analogous to claim 99, which is performed by claim 105.
As per claim [106], the method of claim 101, is analogous to claim 100, which is performed by claim 106.
As per claim [108], the device of claim 107, is analogous to claim 96, which is performed by claim 108.
As per claim [109], the device of claim 107, is analogous to claim 97, which is performed by claim 109.
As per claim [110], the device of claim 107, is analogous to claim 98, which is performed by claim 110.
As per claim [112], the method of claim 111, is analogous to claim 102, which is performed by claim 112.
As per claim [113], the method of claim 111, is analogous to claim 103, which is performed by claim 113.
As per claim [114], the method of claim 111, is analogous to claim 104, which is performed by claim 114.
Response to Amendment
5. The applicant's amendment received on 02/23/2026 in which claims 95-114 were (AMENDED) and claims 1-94 (Canceled), has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant(s) asserts with arguments (on pages 7-9) that neither Karabutov, Hendry nor Li, taken individually or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest the features of “generate a new motion information refinement table comprising modified values based on at least Motion Vector Predictors (MVP) associated with a current block” as required by amended independent claims 95, 101, 107, and 111.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that applicant’s specification paragraphs [0003] and [0166-0167]) as well as dependent claim 99 explicitly states that “wherein the new motion information refinement table is one of a merged motion vector difference (MMVD) distance table or a MMVD direction table.” Taking that into account, the examiner merely further introduced Li to teach the well-known concept of to “generate a new motion information refinement table (see TABLE 3 and/or TABLE 4, paragraphs [0112-0113], where the new motion refinement table is one of a merged motion vector difference (MMVD) distance table or a MMVD direction table, which is equivalent to the applicants teaching) comprising modified values (see paragraphs [0124] and [0140], e.g., “modified distance or direction values”) based on at least Motion Vector Predictors (MVP) (see fig. 13 unit S1330 and unit S1340 paragraphs [0151-0152], e.g., “motion vector predictions for the first and second part of a block can be determined”) associated with a current block” (see fig. 13 unit S1310).
Accordingly, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejections and applicability of the prior art used. Rejections of claims 95-114 are sustained for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0195948 A1) discloses method and apparatus for signaling of multi-hypothesis for skip and merge mode and signaling of distance offset table in merge with motion vector difference.
Lee (US Pub. No.: 2023/0370631 A1) discloses method for encoding/decoding video signal, and apparatus.
/R.B.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2485
/JAYANTI K PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2485
May 20, 2026