DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Rejections
Independent Claims 22 and 46 (currently mislabeled as claim 47)
Applicant’s first argument is that Xia only describes woven textile construction types and Messer only describes a braided textile construction type, so the combination does not teach combining a braided sleeve with a knitted sleeve as now required. This argument is persuasive. As pointed out by Applicant, neither Xia nor Messer teaches knitted sleeves for optical fibers.
Applicant’s second argument is that the combination of Xia and Messer would not suggest combining different textile construction types for the two sleeves; however, this argument is not persuasive. It would have been obvious to replace one of the sleeves of Xia with another known type that serves an equivalent function of providing strength or that has a predictable tradeoff that may be favorable in particular circumstances. On the other hand, neither of the textile construction types are knitted, which is now required for one of the sleeves, so those two references do not teach the combination that is now claimed.
The rejections to claims 22, 46, and their dependent claims are overcome by amendment.
Independent Claim 31
Applicant’s first argument is that Parker describes using an increased cladding to reduce the effects of stress caused by a metallic coating and impede the effect of gas diffusion into the fiber so does not teach improved vibration insensitivity; however, this argument is moot. Xia teaches a system designed to protect the optical fiber from a variety of harsh conditions, including high-vibration environments (paragraph 35 of Xia).
Applicant’s second argument is that one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine a fiber designed to wind tightly around a spool (as taught by Newport) with a thicker cladding that would make the fiber stiffer and more difficult to bend (as taught by Parker); however, this argument is moot. The present action does not rely on the combination of Parker and Newport to teach the relevant limitations. Instead, the present action relies on Maida to teach a single-mode optical fiber with a particularly thick cladding. Maida motivates thickening the cladding, citing several advantages, including ease of handling and reduced risk of damage from bending (paragraph 25 of Maida), which is compatible with the desire of Newport to make a fiber with improved minimum bend radius.
Applicant’s third argument is that bend-insensitive fiber is for use in fiber gyroscopes in contrast with the claimed invention; however, this argument is not persuasive. Maida also discusses the issues caused by bending, including increased loss and potential damage to the fiber. The context of Maida is fibers used in sensing applications in harsh environments in which using a thicker, stiffer optical fiber is helpful. As before, 80 µm optical fibers are not relied on in this action.
As claim 31 is not allowed, its dependent claims are not automatically allowable.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 37-50 have been renumbered 36-49.
It appears that an extra canceled claim may have been inserted after claim 33, improperly incrementing the claim numbers of all claims that follow. Note that all claim numbers cited herein refer to the corrected claim numbers (or, equivalently, to the earlier claim numbers) rather than the improper numbers from the most recent filing, following the example of Applicant’s remarks dated 9/30/2026 (which treat claim 46 as an independent claim rather than a canceled claim, for example).
The dependencies in the renumbered claims are interpreted as written rather than being similarly renumbered. Specifically, claim 38 (mislabeled as 39) depends on claim 37, the immediately previous claim, which provides antecedent basis for “the one or more optical cavities”, and claims 47 and 48 (mislabeled as 48 and 49) depend on claim 46 (mislabeled as 47), which is the third of the uncanceled independent claims. This interpretation avoids rewriting Applicant’s claims, rejections due to antecedent basis issues, and dependence on a canceled claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the fiber core" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term is interpreted as a fiber core.
Claims 32-33 are indefinite for depending on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US patent document 20090074348) in view of Maida (US patent document 20140147074), further in view of Newport (non-patent literature “Optical Fiber, Singlemode, 1310/1550 nm, Bend Insensitive”).
Regarding claim 31, Xia teaches an optical sensor for detecting one or more measurands, comprising: a probe light source arranged to generate probe light (paragraph 51, broadband tunable laser 148);
a sensor head arranged to receive the probe light from the probe light source and impose on the probe light an interference signal responsive to the one or more measurands (FIG. 11, at least one of the high temperature fiber Bragg grating sensors 146);
an interrogator arranged to receive the probe light from the sensor head (FIG. 11, interrogator 148), measure the imposed interference signal, and determine the one or more measurands from the measured interference signal (FIG. 11, temperature measurements 151); and
a single mode optical fibre arranged to carry the received probe light at least some of the way from the sensor head to the interrogator (FIG. 7, ceramic fabric wrapped sensing fiber cable 82, part of fiber sensing cable package 86. Paragraph 52 states that the fibers may be single mode fibers), wherein the optical fibre is configured to suppress vibration induced artifacts by confining the probe light in the fibre core (paragraph 35 includes conditions of high vibration as a type of harsh environment to configure an optical fiber to survive).
Xia does not go into details regarding the diameter of the cladding of the sensing fibers used, so does not explicitly teach a cladding having an outside diameter of at least 150 µm and a mode field diameter of no more than 8.0 µm at a central wavelength of the probe light.
In the same field of endeavor of ruggedized optical fiber sensing, Maida does teach that the single mode optical fibre comprises a cladding having an outside diameter of at least 150 µm (paragraph 24 describes how thick optical fibers with increased cladding, which Maida refers to as cane waveguides, have cladding diameters in the range of 0.3 mm (300 µm) to 4 mm (4000 µm), which is entirely within the claimed range while still having core diameters appropriate for a single mode fiber). By using a thicker cladding diameter, Maida produces a waveguide with higher rigidity that is easier to handle, easier to manufacture, and more suitable to harsh sensing environments than a typical 125 µm optical fiber (paragraph 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor of Xia with the thicker cane-style cladding of Maida to gain the predictable benefit of making the waveguide easier to handle and better able to stand up to harsh sensing conditions, including high vibrations (paragraph 35 of Xia) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Xia is silent as to the mode field diameter of the fiber used, so does not explicitly teach that the optical fibre has a mode field diameter of no more than 8.0 µm at a central wavelength of the probe light.
In the same field of endeavor of optical fibers, Newport teaches a type of optical fiber that has a mode field diameter of no more than 8.0 µm (disclosed as 6.7 µm or 7.5 µm, depending on wavelength) at a central wavelength of the probe light. By choosing that parameter for the optical fiber, Newport is able to make the fiber relatively insensitive to bending, reducing losses and reducing risk of damage while handling or in harsh sensing environments (see paragraph 25 of Maida).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fiber sensor of Xia, as modified by Maida, with the mode field diameter of Newport in order to reduce sensitivity to bending in the optical fiber, reducing losses and reducing risk of damage while handling or in harsh sensing environments (see paragraph 25 of Maida).
Regarding claim 32, Xia, as modified by Maida and Newport, teaches or renders obvious the optical sensor of claim 31 (as described above).
Xia further teaches that the optical fibre is disposed within a protective conduit (FIG. 7, cylinder 84).
Regarding claim 33, Xia, as modified by Maida and Newport, teaches or renders obvious the optical sensor of claim 31 (as described above).
Xia is silent as to the core diameter and numerical aperture of the fiber used, so does not explicitly teach that the optical fibre has a core diameter of from 5 µm to 7 µm, and a numerical aperture of from 0.16 to 0.20.
In the same field of endeavor of optical fibers, Newport teaches a type of optical fiber such that the optical fibre has a core diameter of from 5 µm to 7 µm (disclosed as 6.0 µm), and a numerical aperture of from 0.16 to 0.20 (disclosed as .16). By choosing those parameters for the optical fiber, Newport is able to make the fiber relatively insensitive to bending, allowing a wider value of applications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fiber sensor of Xia, as modified by Maida and Newport, with the core diameter and numerical aperture of Newport in order to reduce sensitivity to bending in the optical fiber, allowing a wider variety of applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 24, 28-30, 36-43, and 46-48 are allowed.
Note that, as described above, the amendment filed 9/30/2026 improperly misnumbers claims 36-43 and 46-48 as 37-44 and 47-49. This action uses the numbering from previous filings and used in Applicant’s remarks of 9/30/2026 (“Thus, claims 22, 24, 28-33, 36-43 and 46-48 are now pending, including independent claims 22, 31, and 46.”).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 22, the prior art, taken individually or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious an optical sensor comprising a probe light source to generate probe light; a sensor head to receive the probe light and impose an interference signal on it based on the measurands to be measured; an interrogator to receive the probe light from the sensor head, measure the interference signal, and determine the measurands; at least two flexible sleeves in a conduit; and an optical fiber to carry the probe light for at least part of its path inside of the two sleeves, wherein the two sleeves are coaxial with each other and comprise an inner first sleeve made of specifically a braided textile and an outer second sleeve specifically made of a knitted textile, where those braided and knitted textiles are different types, all in the manner claimed.
The closest prior art of record, Xia (US patent document 20090074348), teaches an optical sensor for detecting one or more measurands, comprising:
a probe light source arranged to generate probe light (paragraph 51, broadband tunable laser 148);
a sensor head arranged to receive the probe light from the probe light source and impose on the probe light an interference signal responsive to the one or more measurands (FIG. 11, at least one of the high temperature fiber Bragg grating sensors 146);
an interrogator arranged to receive the probe light from the sensor head (FIG. 11, interrogator 148),
measure the imposed interference signal, and determine the one or more measurands from the measured interference signal (FIG. 11, temperature measurements 151);
at least two flexible sleeves disposed within a conduit (FIG. 7, high temperature ceramic fabrics 78 and 80 inside cylinder 84); and
an optical fibre arranged to carry the received probe light at least some of the way from the sensor head to the interrogator, the optical fibre being disposed within the at least two flexible sleeves (FIG. 7, ceramic fabric wrapped sensing fiber cable 82, part of fiber sensing cable package 86),
wherein the at least two flexible sleeves are coaxial with one another (FIG. 7, the two ceramic fabrics 78 and 80 end up sharing an axis located at or near fiber cable 76 as parts of ceramic fabric wrapped sensing fiber cable 82) and comprise:
a first flexible sleeve (FIG. 7, ceramic fabric 78) formed of a first textile construction type, wherein the first flexible sleeve is an inner one of the coaxial flexible sleeves and is formed of a textile construction type (paragraph 47, ceramic woven materials),
a second flexible sleeve (FIG. 7, ceramic fabric 80) formed of a second textile construction type, wherein the second flexible sleeve is an outer one of the coaxial flexible sleeves and is formed of a textile construction type (paragraph 47, ceramic woven materials).
Xia fails to teach that the textile construction type of the first flexible sleeve is of a braided textile construction type, instead teaching woven textiles only. Likewise, Xia fails to teach the knitted textile construction type required of the second sleeve. Further, while Xia lists several varieties of textiles, including “fabrics, tapes, sleevings and cloths”, Xia does not distinguish any of those as outside the category of woven textiles, so do not fully meet the limitation of different textile construction types. Because woven textiles are materially different from braided and knitted textiles both structurally (see page 17 of the specification) and functionally (see Applicant’s remarks of 9/30/2026), the woven textiles of Xia do not render the claimed invention obvious.
Messer (US patent document 20170357069) also teaches a reinforced fiber optic cable with multiple layers of shielding of various kinds. One of those layers is of a braided textile (strength member 68, as described in paragraph 39). On the other hand, Messer also fails to teach a knitted textile construction type. Even substituting one of the woven layers of Xia for a braided layer would not render the claim as a whole obvious.
Sayegh (US patent 5293442) also teaches an optical fiber that is reinforced with braided materials and likewise fails to teach a knitted sleeve.
Regarding claim 46, the prior art, taken individually or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a method of providing an optical sensor for detecting measurands comprising providing an optical fiber to take probe light from a sensor head to an interrogator to measure an interference signal imposed on the probe light due to the measurands and providing at least two flexible sleeves with the optical fiber inside the sleeves in a protective conduit, wherein the at least two sleeves are coaxial with each other and comprise an inner first sleeve specifically of a braided textile and an outer second sleeve specifically of a knitted textile, where those braided and knitted textiles are different types, all in the manner claimed.
The closest prior art for claim 46 is the same as for claim 22 with similar deficiencies.
Dependent claims 24, 28-30, 36-43, and 47-48 are allowed due to depending on at least one allowed claim.
Conclusion
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877