DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims PCT/CN2022/078803 , International Filing Date: 03/02/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 06/09/2024 and 12/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 remain pending
in the application. Claims 7, 17, 19, 20, 27, and 30 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section
122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another
inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mahalingam et al. (US20240114456A1) hereinafter “Mahalingam”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Mahalingam discloses,‘ A method for wireless communications at a passive user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, an initial access trigger message comprising an indication of a first type of passive UE of a plurality of types of passive UEs’; (A WTRU implements a passive transceiver/ZE while harvesting-energy [0119]. The ZE transceiver are required for energy and resource efficient RACH operations between a NW/BS-WTRUs, the WTRUs is a plurality of WTRUs [0121]. The Wake-up receiver (WUR) receive wake-up signals from the serving access node [0124] and trigger-alert from the NW/BS [0127]. The preamble used by receiving ZE-WuRs for synchronization, wake-up signaling/command determined by the ZE-WuR-AP [0146-0147, 0153]. Passive/zero-energy-receivers used as wake-up radios to trigger internal wake-up [0095-0096]. Preamble in Fig. 7,);
And discloses, ‘selecting one or more initial access resources based at least in part on the passive UE being the first type of passive UE’ (“The PCR of the STA configures the preambles and the priorities at the ZE-WuR AP 704.” [0149]. Disclosure claim 1, performed by a STA receives the ZE-frame indicates an energy harvesting EH-window indicated by the ZE preamble and initiates UL-access-attempt, disclosure Claim 2-3. In Fig. 9, WuR-identification enables ZE-WuRs to determine to whether WuP is addressed to [0155]. The WuR selects a distinct ZE-WuR signature out of many pre-configured for the ZE-WuR and transmits the selected WuP for the ZE-WuR [0198]. In Fig. 20, ZE-WuR preamble includes WuR-type/class and WuP-signature for specific WuR [0215].).
And discloses, ‘and transmitting, to the network entity on the one or more initial access resources, an initial access response message comprising an identifier associated with the passive UE.’ (The ZE-WuR-AP determine response latency. In Fig. 19 illustrates the NW receive responses. ZE-WuR-AP estimates the probability of WuP by a ZE-WuR [0205]. In Fig. 26 illustrates WUR-frame includes ZE-preamble. And, uses frame-format between the access-point and the STA. The STA monitor channel uses the identifier [0258-0259]. Fig. 20, ZE-WuR preamble includes WuR-type/class, ZE-WuR identifier and WuP-signature for specific WuR [0215].)
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity based at least in part on transmitting the initial access response message, an initial access acknowledgment message comprising the identifier associated with the passive UE’ (In Fig. 19 illustrates a channel access between the ZE-WUR-AP and ZE-WUR and perform poll to receive the response [0205-0206]. );
And discloses, ‘and transmitting, based at least in part on the initial access acknowledgment message, a data message to the network entity.’ (In Fig. 12 and Fig. 13 communication between the WUR-AP and the WUR. A PCR(i.e. a radio of WUR) transmits a short Poll-PDU to the WuR-AP to inform for the data-message [0188]. )
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein transmitting the initial access response message comprises:
transmitting the initial access response message according to a muting ratio associated with the first type of passive UE, wherein the first type of passive UE is associated with sensor data transmissions of a first priority level and a second type of passive UE is associated with pre-stored sensor data transmissions of a second priority level that is lower than the first priority level.’ (transmits a short Poll-PDU to the WuR-AP to inform for the data-message [0188]. In Fig. 19, the transmits the response to the WuR-AP [0206]. The latency incurred during the channel access [0205]. And, the priority assigned to STA includes higher priority with shorter time-window [0212]. The ZE-WuR receive a MAC-PDU, decodes the MAC-PDU and stores to act on store-information at later time. An example of such a wake-up configuration of PCR include sensor-data [0170]. When type-4 WuP received, the ZE-WuR-AP indicates lower-priority procedure is pending for the STA [0169]. In Fig. 18 illustrates priority in the channel access and priorities between the WuRs i.e. receivers ZE-WuR (recvr-3 and recvr-2) [0201]. Fig. 18)
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The method of claim 3’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
selecting, based at least in part on an amount of time in a timing budget for transmitting a data message, the muting ratio from a plurality of candidate muting ratios of a plurality of candidate muting ratios,
each muting ratio of the plurality of candidate muting ratios indicating a respective ratio between a number of initial access response messages and a set of periodic initial access trigger messages comprising the initial access trigger message, wherein the data message comprises high priority sensor data.’ (In Fig. 19 illustrates response latency and response offset determination [0029]. In Fig. 19 illustrates the latency in channel access. Upon reception of the wake-up-preamble i.e. the WuP in a WuP-pack (number of initial access/WuP), the ZE-WuR wakes up the PCR. The ZE-WuR also indicates to the PCR (associated ZE-WuR [0146]], the number of WuPs that it has received so far within the pack. The PCR of having woken up estimates the latency in channel access, for example due to DCF. The number of WuPs counted positively within the WuP Pack and the access latency are determined immediately prior to sending of message from PCR to ZE-WuR AP [0204]. In Fig. 19 includes an access latency count and WuP count, then send to WuR-AP.)
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The method of claim 4’ (disclosed above),
And disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of the plurality of candidate muting ratios.’
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the [[then]] network entity, a first configuration message indicating a periodicity of a plurality of access frames associated with the first type of passive UE and a number of available access frames of the plurality of access frames during a first period, wherein a first access frame of the plurality of access frames comprises the one or more initial access resources, wherein the first type of passive UE is associated with pre-stored sensor data transmissions of a first priority level and a second type of passive UE is associated with sensor data transmissions of a second priority level that is higher than the first priority level.’(the access point configures the STA frames to access channel [0133]. Estimates periodically to fine-tune and rebalance [0205]. In Fig. 20 illustrates preamble and ZE-WuR-discovery includes BSS/ESS carries WuP-signatures configured [0215]. And, the configuration at the STA monitors. And, low priority and high priority STA timeframe [0212]. Configured for WuR [0198].)
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The method of claim 7’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
determining the first access frame from the plurality of access frames based at least in part on an identifier associated with the passive UE, the periodicity, the number of available access frames, or a combination thereof’ (A windowed duration indicated by Seed window starting from the seed may be defined to be the timeframe during which the ZE-WuR-AP aims to transmit the WuP to appropriate ZE-WuRs [0212]. The uses identifiers/functions and WuP sequences/energy signatures, assignment of a set of unique and/or group identifiers) and detects preamble associated to the AP-STA [0271]. Preamble-identification, the ZE-WuR to determine whether the WuR addressed to [0155]. In Fig. 19, the WuR indicates the number of WuPs within the WuP pack [0204].);
And discloses, ‘and randomly selecting the one or more initial access resources from a set of time resources associated with the first access frame, a set of frequency resources associated with the first access frame, or both.’ (In Fig. 19, the WuR indicates the number of WuPs within the WuP pack [0204]. the time/frequency resource [0197-0198] and Fig. 17.)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The method of claim 7’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity, a second configuration message comprising an indication of a number of time resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during the first period, a number of frequency resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during the first period, or a combination thereof.’ (In Fig. 7 illustrates the configuration for the wake-up preamble and preamble sequence [0148]. Estimates receive probability and latency/congestion, performed periodically to fine-tune WuP pack [0205]. And the receivers are configured to receive period beacon [0213] and configured EH periodically [0266]. In Fig. 17 illustrates resource determination of time/frequency resources [0198].)
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The method of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity, a third configuration message comprising an indication of a second number of time resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during a second period, a second number of frequency resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during the second period, or a combination thereof.’ (The ZE-WuR-AP configures the set of time/frequency resources for receiving WuP at each STA [0197]. In FIG. 19 illustrates how the ZE-WuR-AP may estimate receive probability of WuP by a ZE-WuR and the latency/congestion in channel access by the PCR. These estimates are performed periodically or opportunistically by the ZE-WuR-AP to fine tune the WuP pack size and the congestion. The ZE-WuR-AP may use this information to rebalance the WuP-preambles [0205]. And, in Fig. 17 illustrates resource determination for WuP [0198] are configured during the association and/or wake-up Mode setup procedure [0199], seed window indicates range in time (short/long) and the WuP transmission can be aperiodic [0191-0192] and Fig. 18.)
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity, a second initial access trigger message comprising a second indication of the first type of passive UE’ (the receivers are configured to receive period beacon [0213] and configured EH periodically [0266]. In Fig. 17 illustrates resource determination of time/frequency resources [0198]. In Fig. 27, an automatic detection sequence includes EH level/availability, harvesting scheme two levels energy and non-energy. And, perform sync [0250-0251]. Also the wake-up trigger configuration repeated.);
And discloses, ‘and refraining from transmitting a second initial access response message based at least in part on transmitting the initial access response message.’ (The ZE-WuR determines the maximum deferred time before which the PCR of the WuR must be woken up [0189] and Fig. 13. Receive response poll-PDU, Fig. 19.)
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The method of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
adjusting a response rate, a muting ratio, or a combination thereof, based at least in part on transmitting the initial access response message, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the adjusting.’ (The radio/PCR WuR estimates the latency in channel access the number of WuPs are counted and the access latency are determined immediately prior sending response to the WuR-AP [0204], tune [0205] and in Fig. 19. In Fig. 26 illustrates WuR frame include ZE-preamble. The WuR receive the WuR sync and compared to expected sequence. The WuP preamble, a N-bit preamble [0154])
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity based at least in part on transmitting the initial access response message, an instruction to retransmit the initial access response message’ (transmit query request and repeat the query request until an active period of query response transmission is achieved based on the considered preamble/energy signature [0268].);
And discloses, ‘and retransmitting the initial access response message to the network entity based at least in part on the instruction.’ (The STA received the configured preamble and the STA transmit the query request and repeat until an active period [0268].)
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The method of claim 13’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, in the instruction to retransmit the initial access response message, an indication of a subset of retransmission resources of a plurality of retransmission resources during which the passive UE is permitted to retransmit the initial access response message’ (the initial access procedure discloses above. In Fig. 25 illustrates contention for the access and the access point contend at least twice to deliver the channel [0241]. The WuR receives a set of M WuP (wake-up preamble packets) [0138]. And, deliver ZE-preamble for a certain duration. Perform ZE-sync and re-sync after a certain duration [0242].);
And discloses, ‘and determining a response rate for a retransmission of the initial access response message wherein retransmitting the initial access response message comprises retransmitting the initial access response message according to the response rate using one or more of the subset of retransmission resources.’ (Upon receiption of the WuP in a WuP pack, the ZE-WuR wakes their radio/PCR indicates the number of the WuPs that being received. The PCR of the WuR estimates the latency in channel access the number of WuPs are counted and the access latency are determined immediately prior sending response to the WuR-AP [0204] and in Fig. 19. )
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein transmitting the initial access response message comprises:
modulating a first carrier signal associated with the initial access trigger message’ (the ZE device harvesting energy from ambient/dedicated sources. And, modulate-backscatter [0123]. the WTRU perform backscattering based on Rach [0120]. the ZE WuR backscatter time-frequency resources [0142]);
And discloses, ‘and backscattering a second carrier signal based at least in part on the modulated first carrier signal, wherein the second carrier signal comprises the initial access response message.’ (the WuR receives WuR sync applied to carriers and N-bit preambles sequence )
Regarding Claim 17,
Mahalingam discloses, ‘A method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a first passive UE, an initial access trigger message comprising an indication of a first type of passive UE of a plurality of types of passive UEs’ (The Wake-up receiver (WUR) receive wake-up signals from the serving access node [0124]);
Similar to method Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘and receiving, from the first passive UE based at least in part on the first passive UE being the first type of UE, an initial access response message on one or more initial access resources that are associated with the first type of passive UE and differentiate, by the indication in the initial access trigger message, from one or more initial access resources associated with a second type of the plurality of type of passive UEs, the initial access response message comprising an identifier associated with the passive UE.’ (In Fig. 18 illustrates priority in the channel access and priorities between the WuRs i.e. receivers ZE-WuR (recvr-3 and recvr-2) [0201]. In Fig. 19 illustrates ZE-WuR-AP estimates the probability of WuP by a ZE-WuR [0205]. Estimates performed periodically/opportunistically fine-tune WuP-pack-size to rebalance. Fig. 20, ZE-WuR preamble includes WuR-type/class, ZE-WuR identifier and WuP-signature for specific WuR [0215]. )
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The method of claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
transmitting, to the first passive UE based at least in part on receiving the initial access response message, an initial access acknowledgment message comprising the identifier associated with the first passive UE;
and receiving, based at least in part on the initial access acknowledgment message, a data message from the first passive UE.’
Regarding Claim 19,
‘The method of claim 17, further comprising:
transmitting, to the first passive UE, an indication of a plurality of candidate muting ratios associated with the first type of passive UE, each muting ratio of the plurality of candidate muting ratios indicating a respective ratio between a number of initial access response messages and a set of periodic initial access trigger messages comprising the initial access trigger message, wherein receiving the initial access response message is based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the plurality of candidate muting ratios, and wherein the first type of passive UE is associated with pre-stored sensor data transmissions of a first priority level and a second type of passive UE is associated with sensor data transmissions of a second priority level that is lower than the first priority level.’
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The method of claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
transmitting, to the first passive UE, a first configuration message indicating a periodicity of a plurality of access frames associated with the first type of passive UE and a number of available access frames of the plurality of access frames during a first period, wherein a first access frame of the plurality of access frames comprises the one or more initial access resources, wherein the first type of passive UE is associated with pre-stored sensor data transmissions of a first priority level and a second type of passive UE is associated with sensor data transmissions of a second priority level that is higher than the first priority level.’
Regarding Claim 21,
‘The method of claim 20’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 9 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
transmitting, to the first passive UE, a second configuration message comprising an indication of a number of time resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during the first period, a number of frequency resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during the first period, or a combination thereof.’
Regarding Claim 23,
‘The method of claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 12 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
transmitting, to the first passive UE, an instruction to adjusting a response rate, a muting ratio, or a combination thereof, based at least in part on receiving the initial access response message.’
Regarding Claim 24,
‘The method of claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 13 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
transmitting, to the first passive UE based at least in part on a failure to receive the initial access response message during a first time period, an instruction to retransmit the initial access response message, wherein receiving the initial access response message is based at least in part on transmitting the instruction.’ (The ZE-WuR-AP estimate on the probability of successful reception transmits more than once [0185].)
Regarding Claim 25,
‘The method of claim 24’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 14 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
including, in the instruction to retransmit the initial access response message, an indication of a subset of retransmission resources of a plurality of retransmission resources during which the passive UE is permitted to retransmit the initial access response message, wherein receiving the initial access response message comprises receiving the initial access response message during at least one of the subset of retransmission resources.’
Regarding Claim 26,
‘The method of claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 15 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
transmitting, to the first passive UE, an indication of a supported frequency shift for subcarrier modulation by the first passive UE, wherein receiving the initial access response message is based at least in part on the indication of the supported frequency shift.’
Regarding Claim 27,
‘The method of claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 11 disclosed above, ‘further comprising:
transmitting, to a second passive UE, a second initial access trigger message comprising an indication of [[a]] the second type of passive UE of the plurality of types of passive UEs; and
receiving, from the second passive UE based at least in part on the second passive UE being the second type of UE, a second initial access response message on the one or more initial access resources associated with the second type of passive UE, the second initial access response message comprising an identifier associated with the second passive UE.’
Regarding Claim 28,
Similar to method Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘An apparatus for wireless communications at a passive user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor;
and memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity, an initial access trigger message comprising an indication of a first type of passive UE of a plurality of types of passive UEs;
select one or more initial access resources based at least in part on the passive UE being the first type of passive UE;
and transmit, to the network entity on the one or more initial access resources, an initial access response message comprising an identifier associated with the passive UE.’
Regarding Claim 29,
‘The apparatus of claim 28’ (disclosed above),
Similar to method Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the network entity based at least in part on transmitting the initial access response message, an initial access acknowledgment message comprising the identifier associated with the passive UE; and
transmit, based at least in part on the initial access acknowledgment message, a data message to the network entity.’
Regarding Claim 30,
Similar to method Claim 17 disclosed above, ‘An apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
at least one processor; and
memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a first passive UE, an initial access trigger message comprising an indication of a first type of passive UE of a plurality of types of passive UEs; and
receive, from the first passive UE based at least in part on the first passive UE being the first type of UE, an initial access response message on one or more initial access resources that are associated with the first type of passive UE and differentiate, by the indication in the initial access trigger message, from one or more initial access resources associated with a second type of the plurality of type of passive UEs,, the initial access response message comprising an identifier associated with the passive UE.’ ([0273])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Mahalingam et al. in view of Lee et al. (US20160239692A1) hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The method of claim 3’ (disclosed above),
Mahalingam discloses, ‘wherein transmitting the initial access response message comprises:
‘a slot number associated with the one or more initial access resources from a set of slot numbers’ (The WuR receives subframe/slots from the WuR-AP [0202]. The ZE-WuR seed window indicates the range in time within which the ZE-WuR may expect to receive its WuP [0192].),
‘wherein the initial access trigger message comprises an indication of the set of slot numbers’ (A windowed duration indicated by Seed window starting from the seed may be defined to be the timeframe during which the ZE-WuR-AP aims to transmit the WuP to appropriate ZE-WuRs [0212]. And, in Fig. 24 illustrates the WuP-preambles in the time duration/occupancy time.),
And didn’t disclose, ‘generating a slot number’ that is associated with the one or more initial access resources from a set of slot numbers’;
Lee in the relevant art discloses, the reader receives a query and a number of slots in configured-frame then selects. And, in Fig. 2 identifies the success-slot and identification of receiver associated success-slots in Fig. 3 includes plurality of receivers.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Mahalingam and to include with that of Lee to come up with the claim invention,
Mahalingam motive to allocate time/frequency resources for the WuR and the configure their respective ZE-WuR with WuP signatures [0197]. Also perform WuP transmission aperiodic [0191] and determines WuR successfully detects the WuP when receiver wake-up PCR [0116]. The successful detection procedure are complemented by Lee specifically identifies the slots whether successfully received [0048].
Mahalingam motive to scale/adjust the allocation of initial access resources/preamble. Determine the response reception to increase the successful reception increases confidence, success and reliability [0183]. Estimate reception of WuP, to fine-tune and rebalance [0205]. Lee complements in Fig. 6 illustrates successful reception includes collision-recovery [0085].
Mahalingam discloses, ‘and transmitting the initial access response message when the generated slot number satisfies a condition.’ (In Fig. 19 illustrates transmitted access response.)
Regarding Claim 22,
‘The method of claim 21, further comprising:
detecting a number of’ resources ‘during the first period between a plurality of passive UEs comprising the first passive UE, a number of idle resources of the number of time resources, the number of frequency resources, or both, or any combination thereof’ (Disclosed above in Claim 9. And, sync between the WuR-AP and preambles associated per STA. Mapped to a group of STAs and the ZE-WuR-AP wake several PCRs at the same time [0153]. In FIG. 8 illustrates the availability of the preambles. the length of M-sequence, also unusable/usable [0151]. );
And didn’t disclose, ‘detecting a number of collisions during the first period between a plurality of passive UEs’,
Lee in the relevant art discloses, anti-collision procedure identifies specifically the slots successfully received, collision slot and collision recovery.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Mahalingam and to include with that of Lee to come up with the claim invention,
Mahalingam motive to implement CSMA/CA to channel-sensing complemented by Lee identifies collision slot and perform the recovery procedure for the collision-slot in Fig. 3 that can improve time performance and maximize throughput [0104] and in Fig.7.
Disclosed above in Claim 9 above, ‘and transmitting, to the plurality of passive UEs based at least in part on the detecting, a third configuration message comprising an indication of a second number of time resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during a second period, a second number of frequency resources associated with each respective access frame of the plurality of access frames during the second period, or a combination thereof.’
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Mahalingam et al. in view of Jianzhi et al. (US20240310508A1) hereinafter “Jianzhi”.
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Mahalingam discloses, ‘further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a supported frequency shift for subcarrier modulation’ (The WuR receives from the NW a WuP supports frequency/phase shift. That includes PHY/MAC framed format [0127].);
the ZE device harvesting energy backscattering technique. And, modulate-backscatter [0123]. There is also a cyclic shift applied to the 13 subcarriers on which the WuR SYNC is transmitted. The WuR wakes-up the PCR to perform the MAC-PDU decoding [0154]. The SYNC performed in Fig. 27.
And didn’t discloses ‘and performing, based at least in part on the supported frequency shift and a number of frequency channels indicated for the one or more initial access resources in the initial access trigger message, a subcarrier modulation procedure, wherein transmitting the initial access response message is based at least in part on the subcarrier modulation procedure.’
Jianzhi in the relevant discloses, a first device that is a sensor to communication device in Fig. 12. The first device that is the sensor perform frequency modulation by frequency shift [0229, 0232]. Modulates the carrier wave [0248-0249, 0269], backscattered sensing [0251] and in Fig. 2. The sensing configuration includes a waveform, a sub-carrier [0596]. And in Fig. 6 includes a process of sensing received [0435-0436].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Mahalingam and to include with that of Jianzhi to come up with the claim invention,
Mahalingam motive to optimize the energy and uses backscattering technique to modulate-backscatter [0123] as part of EH procedure. The access scheme, channel sensing and the backscatter technique is enhanced by Jianzhi, modulated backscattered CW. This would improve the data rate while perform wake-up packet modulation on/off keying, Mahalingam in Fig. 6 [0116].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Arguments and Examiners response:
Regarding applicant’s argument page-10 to page-11, 35 USC 102 rejections, Independent Claims 1 and 28, “Mahalingam does not disclose all the features…”, “Mahalingam is directed to "targeted wake-up and frame enhancement for energy harvesting…”, and "selecting one or more initial access resources based at least in part on the passive UE being the first type of passive UE”, examiner respectfully disagree in view of the presented prior art disclosures,
Let us analyze the Claim subject matter and the claims,
Passive-UE[Wingdings font/0xE0]receive from NW [Wingdings font/0xE0] initial access trigger
first type passive-UE of plurality type
select one/more initial access resources of first type
transmitting to NW initial access resource, a response associated to an identifier
Definition of Passive-UE applicant spec [0004], “A receiving PUE i.e. Passive-UE harvest energy from the initial access trigger message for transmitting an initial access response message including an identifier for the receiving PUE ”. the initial access response includes an identifier. In contrast of the claims, Mahalingam discloses,
A method performed by a STA receiving ZE-frame from an access-point indicates EH-window indicates a ZE-preamble, disclosure Claim 1 and 2. Passive/zero-energy-receivers used as wake-up radios to trigger internal wake-up [0095-0096]. The ZE-WuRs associated with the ZE-WuR access-point uses the WuP preamble [0166], Fig. 6 and Fig. 7. Includes WuP-signature consists of preamble and identifier [0165] and Fig. 20 WuR-type and WuR-identifier. The WuP-signatures five types acts synch [0166]. The WuR selects a distinct ZE-WuR signature out of many pre-configured for the ZE-WuR and transmits the selected WuP for the ZE-WuR [0198]. Regarding the disclosure, [0149], “The PCR of the STA configures the preambles and the priorities at the ZE-WuR-AP.” Regarding the selection, The WuR selects a distinct ZE-WuR signature out of many pre-configured for the ZE-WuR and transmits the selected WuP for the ZE-WuR [0198].
This also addresses applicant’s argument, page-12, “Office Action describe operations performed by the ZE-WuR AP, not "a method for wireless communications at a passive user equipment (UE)" that includes "selecting one or more initial access resources based at least in part on the passive UE being the first type of passive UE…”, disclosure, [0149] “The PCR of the STA configures the preambles and the priorities at the ZE-WuR AP” and ZE-WuR selects a distinct [0198].
Regarding applicant’s argument page-13, 35 USC 102 rejections, Independent Claims 17 and 30 specific to amended claim limitations,
“one or more initial access resources that are associated with the first type of passive UE and differentiate, by the indication in the initial access trigger message, from one or more initial access resources associated with a second type of the plurality of type of passive UEs, the initial access response message comprising an identifier associated with the passive UE”, examiner provided relevant disclosures and amended claim limitations disclosed by prior art. Fig. 20, ZE-WuR preamble includes WuR-type/class, WuR-identifier, and WuP-signature for specific WuR [0215]. In Fig. 18 illustrates priority in the channel access and priorities between the WuRs i.e. receivers ZE-WuR (recvr-3 and recvr-2) [0201]. The ZE-WuR-AP determines latency responses [0203], estimates reception, latency in channel-access and performed periodically to fine-tune and rebalance WuP-assignments [0205]. This also addresses the applicant argument, “Amended independent claim 17 now recites that the "initial access response message" is received "on one or more initial access resources.”
Regarding applicant’s argument to dependent claims, page-14, 35 USC 102 rejections, examiner presented relevant disclosures in page-5 to page-25 above.
Regarding applicant’s argument to dependent claims, page-15, 35 USC 103 rejections, examiner presented Mahalingam et al. in view of Lee et al. (US20160239692A1) for Claim 6 and 22. And, Mahalingam et al. in view of Jianzhi et al. (US20240310508A1) for Claim 15 in page-21 to page-25 above.
Examiner thanks applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
F. Z. Djiroun and D. Djenouri, "MAC Protocols With Wake-Up Radio for Wireless Sensor Networks: A Review," in IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, vol. 19, no. 1, pp. 587-618 (Year: 2017); beacon-enabled framed slotted Aloha MAC protocol.
Li, Y., Chi, Z., Liu, X. and Zhu, T., 2018, November. Passive-zigbee: Enabling zigbee communication in iot networks with 1000x+ less power consumption. In Proceedings of the 16th ACM conference on embedded networked sensor systems (pp. 159-171). (Year: 2018).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466