DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadaschik et al (2019/0074973) in view of Adams (2019/0342105).
As per claim 16, a method for wireless communications at a second wireless device, comprising:
communicating one or more messages associated with an authentication scheme for communications with a first wireless device, the authentication scheme comprising one of a symmetric authentication scheme or an asymmetric authentication scheme based at least in part on a capability of the first wireless device, a second capability of the second wireless device, or both (Hadaschik: transmit an initialization message uses cryptographic method (i.e. authentication scheme) to decrypt the encrypted message based on the capability of the second
wireless device (i.e. receiver) because the receiver has to have the decryption key in order to decrypt the initialization message); and
Hadaschik does not explicitly disclose; however, Adams discloses transmitting a signal via a set of resources associated with the authentication scheme (Adams: para. 0056, 0059, authenticating the device may include outputting a signal indicating whether the device has been authenticated as a valid device. The authentication signal may be provided to any one or more additional devices), the signal comprising a set of authentication bits generated based at least in part on the authentication scheme and at least one key associated with the authentication scheme (Adams: para. 0041, 0056, the first input keys and second input keys, obtaining a physically unclonable function value comprising a plurality of bits representing a digitized value of a signal generated by a PUF circuitry coupled to the device, generating a device encryption key using the PUF value, decrypting at least some of the first input keys using the device encryption key to obtain decrypted keys).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting a signal via a set of resources associated with the authentication scheme, the signal comprising a set of authentication bits generated based at least in part on the authentication scheme and at least one key associated with the authentication scheme of Adams with the system/method of Hadaschik, the motivation is that it is a security measure of authenticating the device by outputting a signal indicating whether the device has been authenticated as a valid device (Adams: para. 0056).
As per claim 30, an apparatus for wireless communications at a second wireless device, comprising: a processor (Adams: para. 0069); memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to (Adams: para. 0068): communicate one or more messages associated with an authentication scheme for communications with a first wireless device, the authentication scheme comprising one of a symmetric authentication scheme or an asymmetric authentication scheme based at least in part on a capability of the first wireless device, a second capability of the second wireless device, or both (Hadaschik: transmit an initialization message uses cryptographic method (i.e. authentication scheme) to decrypt the encrypted message based on the capability of the second wireless device (i.e. receiver) because the receiver has to have the decryption key in order to decrypt the initialization message).
Hadaschik does not explicitly disclose; however, Adams discloses transmit a signal via a set of resources associated with the authentication scheme, the signal comprising a set of authentication bits generated based at least in part on the authentication scheme and at least one key associated with the authentication scheme (Adams: para. 0041, 0056, the first input keys and second input keys, obtaining a physically unclonable function value comprising a plurality of bits representing a digitized value of a signal generated by a PUF circuitry coupled to the device, generating a device encryption key using the PUF value, decrypting at least some of the first input keys using the device encryption key to obtain decrypted keys).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting a signal via a set of resources associated with the authentication scheme, the signal comprising a set of authentication bits generated based at least in part on the authentication scheme and at least one key associated with the authentication scheme of Adams with the system/method of Hadaschik, the motivation is that it is a security measure of authenticating the device by outputting a signal indicating whether the device has been authenticated as a valid device (Adams: para. 0056).
Claim Objections
Claims 17-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of Hadaschik nor Adams disclose or suggest, the limitations of claims 17-29.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowable. The prior art of Hadaschik nor Adams disclose or suggest, “communicating one or more messages associated with an authentication scheme for communications with a second wireless device, the authentication scheme comprising one of a symmetric authentication scheme or an asymmetric authentication scheme, the authentication scheme based at least in part on a capability of the first wireless device, a second capability of the second wireless device, or both; receiving a signal via a set of resources associated with the
authentication scheme; and performing an authentication procedure on the signal to determine an authenticity of the signal based at least in part on at least one key associated with the authentication scheme and a set of bits generated based at least in part on the authentication scheme, wherein the authenticity indicates whether the signal is from the second wireless device or another wireless device”. Furthermore, the non-patent literature of Melki and UMTS do not teach or suggest, the claim limitations above.
Conclusion
3/7/2026
/J.E.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2499
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499