DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract contains improper use of reference characters in parenthesis. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01(b).
In line 2, the phrase “innovative” refers to purported merit or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. See MPEP 608.01(b).
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the same flange" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (Japanese Patent Application JP2008056482A).
Regarding Claim 13, Takahashi teaches Washing and also sanitizing device (10a, 10b), of the spray and orientable type, for a conveyor belt (200) of an automatic handling installation (20) with supporting structure (201) with side rails (204),(Figure 2: Conveyor 1 with frame 1c) which device (10) has two tubular spray bars provided with atomising nozzles, integral and parallel to each other, which can be positioned horizontally above and below it without touching it so that the sprays of the nozzles simultaneously hit one of its portions of both external and internal surface, in all its width (200, L); (Figure 2: Nozzle heads 4 and 5)said washing device (10a, 10b), with a single inlet (130) of the washing fluids to connect to an external flow network (205) with continuous flow; (Page 4, lines 200-203: "As illustrated in FIGS. 5 to 7, the washing water supply means 8 includes a high-pressure pump and high-temperature water generation means (not shown) for supplying high-temperature and high-pressure hot water to the nozzle heads 4 and 5. They are built in, mounted on the carriage 8b, and can be connected to and disconnected from the joint 7 of the communication pipe 3 with a hose. ")said washing device (10a, lOb), being joinable to said supporting structure of the installation (20, 201) in an integral way, with fixing means of the mechanical type; (Figure 2: Attachment member 6)said washing device (10a, 10b), consisting of a single tubular and coplanar structure, open on one side like a fork, with a first upper spray bar (101) and a second lower spray bar (102) which are parallel to each other and are joined on one side to a common riser of supply (103) of the washing fluids arranged orthogonally to them, while on the opposite side they are individually closed and terminate without junctions;(Figure 2: Nozzle heads 4 and 5 connected by communicaiton pipe 3) and where said supply riser (103) has a monodirectional flow from the bottom upwards, with the inlet (130) in correspondence with the lower end and with the opposite end bent like an elbow (132) which is butt-joined horizontally to said first spray bar (101), while said second spray bar (102) is connected orthogonally to said riser (103) with a connection; (Page 4, lines 192-198: "With the above configuration, the pair of upper and lower nozzle heads 4 and 5 can be inserted and removed with the front end side of the bifurcated fork shape from the side of the conveyor frame 1c toward the upper surface and the lower surface of the traveling body 1a. Further, the communication pipe 3 can be connected to a washing water supply means 8 or an air supply means 9 configured as a separate unit from the conveyor washing unit 2 via a joint 7 so that high-temperature / high-pressure washing water or It is possible to switch and supply the drying air. The joint 7 employs a one-touch coupling for easily connecting and disconnecting the hose.")and where the washing flow enters from the bottom perpendicularly (103, 130, 131) to said spray bars (101, 102) and continues therein exiting the atomizing nozzles (104) which are aligned;(Page 4, lines 200-203: "As illustrated in FIGS. 5 to 7, the washing water supply means 8 includes a high-pressure pump and high-temperature water generation means (not shown) for supplying high-temperature and high-pressure hot water to the nozzle heads 4 and 5. They are built in, mounted on the carriage 8b, and can be connected to and disconnected from the joint 7 of the communication pipe 3 with a hose. ") and where said fork-like (101, 102) washing device (1Oa, 1Ob) can be joined into said supporting structure (201) by inserting it sideways and fixing only one spray bar through at least one fixing means to support it and lock it to the conveyor belt (200) in correspondence with a side rail, and thus fixing the entire device (10a, lOb) in an integral and removable way, in operative position; and where the other spray bar is self-supporting, being joined on one side to said supply riser (103) with said connection;(Page 4, lines 183-190: "The attachment member 6 is configured so that the pair of upper and lower nozzle heads 4 and 5 can be easily attached to the conveyor frame 1c so as to be at an appropriate height position with respect to the traveling body 1a of the conveyor 1. In this embodiment, the lower nozzle head 5 can be attached to the conveyor frame 1c on both sides in the width direction of the traveling body 1a. The attachment member 6 in the present embodiment is composed of clamp pieces 6a and 6b divided into upper and lower parts, and the upper clamp piece 6a is attached to the conveyor frame 1c with a fastener 6c such as a bolt and a nut, and the upper clamp piece 6a. On the other hand, the lower nozzle head 5 is clamped and fixed by the upper and lower clamp pieces 6a and 6b by attaching the lower clamp piece 6b with a fastener 6d such as a bolt and a nut.") said washing device (10a, lOb), characterized in that the first upper spray bar (101) is provided with at least one preassembled fixing group (106), of the bracket type with clamp, (Pages 3-4, lines 172-181: " The vertical distance between the nozzle heads 4 and 5 can be set and changed by appropriately selecting the length of the communication pipe 3 according to each conveyor 1. The lengths of the upper and lower nozzle heads 4 and 5 are set to be longer than the width direction dimension of the traveling body 1a of the conveyor 1, and may be the same length in the upper and lower directions. The bottom side is long. Thus, by shortening the upper side and elongating the lower side, the mounting holes 1d for the upper nozzle head 4 need only be provided in the conveyor frame 1c on one side in the width direction of the traveling body 1a of the conveyor 1. In addition, the lower nozzle head 5 can be stably mounted and supported in a both-end supported state via a mounting member 6 on the lower surface of the conveyor frame 1c on both sides in the width direction of the traveling body 1a of the conveyor 1. . In addition, the attachment method of the nozzle heads 4 and 5 to the conveyor frame 1c can be suitably changed according to the shape of each conveyor frame 1c.", wherein switching the attachment method of the nozzle heads to the frame can be changed according to the shape, therefore the attacthment member could easily be located on the upper nozzle head 4)and wherein the washing device (10a, lOb) can be oriented in its positioning with respect to the belt (200), oscillating (102, 103, 133) around the longitudinal axis of the first spray bar (101, 125) until said fixing group (106) is completely tightened in such a way as to lock the supply riser (103, 134) and the second spray bar (102) in the desired position.(Page 4, lines 218-223: "The spray angle of the spray nozzles 4a and 5a can be changed to a predetermined angle by rotating the nozzle heads 4 and 5 around the tube axis with respect to the communication tube 3. Moreover, although the said injection nozzle 4a, 5a has illustrated the case where three are installed with respect to a pair of upper and lower nozzle heads 4, 5 in this embodiment, the number of installation is not limited to three. It is set as appropriate according to the widthwise dimension of the traveling body 1a.")
Regarding Claim 14, Takahashi teaches washing device according to claim 13, as seen above. Takahashi further discloses characterized in that at least said second spray bar (102) can be oriented independently of the aforementioned positioning with respect to the belt (133, 134, 200), being connected to said supply riser (103) with a swivelling connection (105) which allows it to rotate around its own axis (102, 123, 124), directing the nozzles (104) as needed.(Page 4, lines 218-223: "The spray angle of the spray nozzles 4a and 5a can be changed to a predetermined angle by rotating the nozzle heads 4 and 5 around the tube axis with respect to the communication tube 3. Moreover, although the said injection nozzle 4a, 5a has illustrated the case where three are installed with respect to a pair of upper and lower nozzle heads 4, 5 in this embodiment, the number of installation is not limited to three. It is set as appropriate according to the widthwise dimension of the traveling body 1a.")
Regarding Claim 16, Takahashi teaches washing device according to claim 13, as seen above. Takahashi further discloses characterized in that there are two fixing groups (106) in the same first spray bar (101), identical to each other but opposite each other, being symmetrically positioned at the opposite ends of the bar (101) to be fixed to said supporting structure (201, 204) on both sides of the conveyor belt (200).(Figure 2: Attachment members 6 on both sides)
Regarding Claim 17, Takahashi teaches washing device according to claim 13, as seen above. Takahashi further discloses characterized in that said first bar (101) is fixed with said fixing group (106, 204) only on the side of the supply riser (103), while its opposite end is constrained to the supporting structure (201) only by insertion inside a hole as a centering.(Figure 2: Nozzle head 4 only attatched to connection pipe 3 on one side)
Regarding Claim 19, Takahashi teaches washing device according to claim 13, as seen above. Takahashi further discloses characterized in that said supply riser (103) is joined to said first spray bar (101) in structural and fluidic continuity, like a one-piece element.(Pages 3-4, lines 172-181: " The vertical distance between the nozzle heads 4 and 5 can be set and changed by appropriately selecting the length of the communication pipe 3 according to each conveyor 1. The lengths of the upper and lower nozzle heads 4 and 5 are set to be longer than the width direction dimension of the traveling body 1a of the conveyor 1, and may be the same length in the upper and lower directions. The bottom side is long. Thus, by shortening the upper side and elongating the lower side, the mounting holes 1d for the upper nozzle head 4 need only be provided in the conveyor frame 1c on one side in the width direction of the traveling body 1a of the conveyor 1. In addition, the lower nozzle head 5 can be stably mounted and supported in a both-end supported state via a mounting member 6 on the lower surface of the conveyor frame 1c on both sides in the width direction of the traveling body 1a of the conveyor 1. . In addition, the attachment method of the nozzle heads 4 and 5 to the conveyor frame 1c can be suitably changed according to the shape of each conveyor frame 1c.", wherein different attachment method of the nozzle heads to the connection pipe are common and obviously known in the art)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (Japanese Patent Application JP2008056482A) in view of Lee (Korean Patent Application KR20200060983A).
Regarding Claim 22, Takahashi discloses washing device according to claim 13, as seen above.
However, Takahashi does not disclose characterized in that said spray bars (101, 102) have a round tubular section, with said atomising nozzles (104) which are screwed onto them by interposing a shaped support and sealing gasket (127), which is flat (128) towards the nozzle and concave (129) towards the bar in such a way as to connect in continuity and formal coherence to the curved external surface of the bars, sealing all the interstices.
Lee discloses a similar washing device characterized in that said spray bars (101, 102) have a round tubular section, with said atomising nozzles (104) which are screwed onto them by interposing a shaped support and sealing gasket (127), which is flat (128) towards the nozzle and concave (129) towards the bar in such a way as to connect in continuity and formal coherence to the curved external surface of the bars, sealing all the interstices (Page 4, lines 194-196: "The socket screw portion 121 is coupled at a predetermined interval to the nozzle support tube 110, as shown in Figure 3, the nozzle screw portion 123 is rotatably coupled to the socket screw portion 121, the injection hole for air injection (125).", and Page 4, lines 204-207: "The socket screw part 121 and the nozzle screw part 123 may be coupled by screwing, for example, by forming a male screw on the outer circumferential surface of the socket screw part 121 and by forming a female screw on the inner circumferential surface of the nozzle screw 123. Alternatively, they may be formed on the contrary and combined.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi to include the mounting of the nozzles as taught by Lee. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a cleaning device that can easily remove substances remaining on the belt without directly contacting the belt, minimizing and preventing damage to the belt, while extening the life of the belt and miniziming replacement work (Page 2, lines 89-98).
Regarding Claim 23, Takahashi in view of Lee disclsoes washing device according to claim 22, as seen above. Lee further discloses characterized in that said shaped support and sealing gasket (127) is colored.(Figure 1: Shows nozzle screw portion 123 and socket screw portion 121, wherein the portions are the color of whatever material they were made from or coated by).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 18, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 15, 18, 20 and 21, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claim 13, 14 and 15. The art alone or in combination did not teach wherein said fixing group (106) includes opposed perforated disks (107a, 107b) and a coupling disk (108) acting with clamp tightening, with anti-infiltration sealing gaskets (111) and at least one self-locking gasket (112), and with a flat bracket (110) which is interposed between said perforated disks (107a, 107b) and protrudes therefrom, being provided with a main hole (113) which is coaxial to said disks for said first bar (101) and holes for clamping screws (115), and with at least two fixing holes (114) placed in its (110) protruding portion to fix it to said supporting structure (20, 201) without rotations, engaging with screws (116) on corresponding fixing holes of a side rail (204), as through holes and/or threaded seats, made in the proximity of the belt (200) at least on the side of the supply riser (103). The closest prior art of record Takahashi (Japanese Patent Application JP2008056482A) teaches a similar washing device comprising upper and lower spray bars connected by a connection bar, wherein one of the spray bars comprises a fixing group to fix the cleansing structure to the frame of the conveying system, but fails to teach wherein said fixing group (106) includes opposed perforated disks (107a, 107b) and a coupling disk (108) acting with clamp tightening, with anti-infiltration sealing gaskets (111) and at least one self-locking gasket (112), and with a flat bracket (110) which is interposed between said perforated disks (107a, 107b) and protrudes therefrom, being provided with a main hole (113) which is coaxial to said disks for said first bar (101) and holes for clamping screws (115), and with at least two fixing holes (114) placed in its (110) protruding portion to fix it to said supporting structure (20, 201) without rotations, engaging with screws (116) on corresponding fixing holes of a side rail (204), as through holes and/or threaded seats, made in the proximity of the belt (200) at least on the side of the supply riser (103). Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent US 6,478,141 B2 (Virippil, Joseph): Virippil teaches a similar conveyor cleansing system comrpsiing a central control for pumping cleanser, a plurality of spray valves and a plurality of spray bars, as seen in Figure 4.
United States Patent US 2,855,094 (Zebarth, Ralph): Zebarth teaches a similar conveyor cleansing system comprising a spray system with supply pipes, nozzles, and branches as seen in Figure 2.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651