Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, page 6 line 27 through page 7 lines 1 – 7, filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Chen et al.’s second umbrella portion, arc extension 304, utilizes a dove tailed groove 304a to completely enclose and encompass first umbrella portion, protrusion 305, from the circumferential direction. However, shown below in annotated Chen et al. Fig. 4, the dove tailed groove 304a of the arc extension 304 does not cover all of the protrusion 305, such that it is exposed in the direction of the yoke 301.
Applicant's arguments, page 7 line 8 through page 9 whole page, filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “This structural arrangement allows the first umbrella portion to be designed radially thin to maximize the coil winding space within the slot, without sacrificing the mechanical coupling strength between the cores”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 10, and 13 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a stator core (30) comprising a first core (yoke 301) and a second core (arc extension 304) included in a tooth portion (winding portion 303) (Chen et al. Fig. 4), the second core being connected to a radially inner side of the first core (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
wherein in at least one slot between a plurality of the tooth portions adjacent to each other in a circumferential direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
the first core includes a first umbrella portion (protrusion 305) at a radially inner end portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
the first umbrella portion being located on both sides of the slot in the circumferential direction and protruding in the circumferential direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
and the second core includes a second umbrella portion (also arc extension 304) at a radially inner end portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
the second umbrella portion being located on both sides of the slot in the circumferential direction and protruding in the circumferential direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
wherein the first umbrella portion and the second umbrella portion radially overlap each other (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
and circumferential end portions of the first umbrella portion are exposed (see below in annotated Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen et al. discloses the stator core according to claim 1, wherein an entire circumferential width of the first umbrella portion overlaps the second umbrella portion in a radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen et al. discloses the stator core according to claim 1, wherein the first umbrella portion faces the second umbrella portion in a radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen et al. discloses the stator core according to claim 1, wherein one of the first core and the second core has a recess (dovetailed groove 304A) recessed in the radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4 discloses the plurality of arc extension portions has a dovetailed groove 304A),
and another of the first core and the second core has a protrusion (also protrusion 305) protruding in the radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4 discloses the winding portions 203 has a protrusion 305),
and the protrusion is disposed in a recessed portion of the recess and is brought into contact with the recess (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a stator core (30) (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
the method comprising a step of connecting a second core (arc extension 304) to a radially inner side of a first tooth portion of a first core (yoke 301) (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
wherein in at least one slot between a plurality of the tooth portions (winding portions 303) adjacent to each other in a circumferential direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4), the first core includes a first umbrella portion (protrusion 305) at a radially inner end portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4), the first umbrella portion being located on both sides of the slot in the circumferential direction and protruding in the circumferential direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4), and the second core includes a second umbrella portion (also arc extension 304) at a radially inner end portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4), the second umbrella portion being located on both sides of the slot in the circumferential direction and protruding in the circumferential direction (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
wherein the first umbrella portion and the second umbrella portion radially overlap each other (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
and circumferential end portions of the first umbrella portion are exposed (see above in annotated Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen et al. discloses the stator core according to claim 1, wherein a circumferential width of the second umbrella portion is larger than a circumferential width of the first umbrella portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen et al. discloses the stator core according to claim 1, wherein the first umbrella portion and the second umbrella portion are in contact with each other (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen et al. discloses the stator core according to claim 1, wherein the second umbrella portion has a protruding portion (also arc extension 304) protruding in the circumferential direction from the first umbrella portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen et al. discloses the method of manufacturing a stator core according to claim 10, wherein a circumferential width of the second umbrella portion is larger than a circumferential width of the first umbrella portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen et al. discloses the method of manufacturing a stator core according to claim 10, wherein the first umbrella portion and the second umbrella portion are in contact with each other (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Chen et al. discloses the method of manufacturing a stator core according to claim 10, wherein the second umbrella portion has a protruding portion (also arc extension 304) protruding in the circumferential direction from the first umbrella portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Mongeau et al.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen et al. discloses the stator core according to claim 4.
Chen et al. does not disclose:
wherein the first core has a recess recessed outward in the radial direction,
the second core has a protrusion protruding outward in the radial direction,
and the protrusion is disposed in a recessed portion of the recess and is brought into contact with the recess.
Mongeau et al. discloses:
wherein the first core (radial tooth 33) has a recess (41) recessed outward in the radial direction (Mongeau et al. Fig. 3(c)),
the second core (tip 19) has a protrusion (stem 57) protruding outward in the radial direction (Mongeau et al. Fig. 6),
and the protrusion is disposed in a recessed portion of the recess and is brought into contact with the recess (Mongeau et al. Fig. 6).
Chen et al. and Mongeau et al. disclose a plurality of teeth with teeth extensions therefore, Mongeau et al. constitutes as prior art. Mongeau et al. discloses a plurality of teeth that have recesses and a plurality of tooth tips that have protrusions to fit into each of the recesses, respectively. . It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first core has a recess recessed outward in the radial direction, the second core has a protrusion protruding outward in the radial direction, and the protrusion is disposed in a recessed portion of the recess and is brought into contact with the recess of Mongeau et al. for the purpose of securing the second core to the first core.
Regarding Claim 11, Chen et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a stator (30) (Chen et al. Fig. 4),
the method (Chen et al. Fig. 4) comprising:
a step of manufacturing a stator core by the method of manufacturing the stator core according to claim 10;
a step of manufacturing a stator core by the method of manufacturing the stator core according to claim 10 (see above in rejection of claim 10).
Chen et al. does not disclose:
a step of arranging a wedge in at least one slot between the plurality of tooth portions adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction,
wherein the step of connecting is performed after the step of arranging the wedge.
Mongeau et al. discloses:
and a step of arranging a wedge (block 88) (Mongeau et al. Fig. 6) in at least one slot (31) between the plurality of tooth portions (33) adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction (Mongeau et al. Fig. 3(b)),
wherein the step of connecting is performed after the step of arranging the wedge (Mongeau et al. Para [0056] lines whole paragraph).
Chen et al. and Mongeau et al. discloses a plurality of tooth portions therefore, Mongeau et al. constitutes as prior art. Mongeau et al. discloses a plurality of wedge are inserted between teeth and individual attachments are coupled to the tooth portions after arranging the wedges. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a step of arranging a wedge in at least one slot between the plurality of tooth portions adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction, and wherein the step of connecting is performed after the step of arranging the wedge of Mongeau et al. for the purpose of firmly retaining the stator windings in a radial direction.
Regarding Claim 12, Chen et al. and Mongeau et al. discloses the method of manufacturing the stator according to claim 11,
the method further comprises a step of inserting a coil into a slot formed by the first core (Chen et al. Fig. 6B),
and in the step of inserting the coil (Chen et al. Fig. 6B).
Chen et al. does not disclose:
wherein the first core has a recess that is recessed radially outward,
the second core includes a protrusion disposed in the recess and protruding radially outward,
at least a part of a blade that holds the coil is arranged in the recess.
Mongeau et al. discloses:
wherein the first core (radial tooth 33) has a recess (41) that is recessed radially outward (Mongeau et al. Fig. 3(c)),
the second core (tip 19) includes a protrusion (stem 57) disposed in the recess and protruding radially outward (Mongeau et al. Fig. 6),
at least a part of a blade (tooth tip 19) that holds the coil (copper windings 49) is arranged in the recess (41) (Mongeau et al. Fig. 6).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a part of a blade that holds the coil is arranged in the recess of Mongeau et al. for the purpose of having the coil be radially packed within each slot (see Mongeau et al. Para [0062] last sentence).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Yamaguchi.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen et al. discloses a stator (30) (Chen et al. Fig. 4) comprising:
the stator core according to claim 1 (see above in rejection of claim 1).
Chen et al. does not disclose:
a wedge disposed on a radially inner side of the slot,
wherein the wedge includes:
a first shape portion extending in the circumferential direction;
two second shape portions extending radially outward;
and a bent portion connecting both ends of the first shape portion and a radially inner end of the second shape portion,
and the bent portion is brought into contact with the first umbrella portion.
Yamaguchi discloses:
a wedge (36) disposed on a radially inner side of the slot (39) (Yamaguchi Fig. 3),
wherein the wedge (Yamaguchi Fig. 3) includes:
a first shape portion (main body piece 36a) extending in the circumferential direction (Yamaguchi Fig. 3);
two second shape portions (a pair of side pieces 36B) extending radially outward (Yamaguchi Fig. 3);
and a bent portion (corner portion 36c) connecting both ends of the first shape portion and a radially inner end of the second shape portion (Yamaguchi Fig. 3),
and the bent portion is brought into contact with the first umbrella portion (Yamaguchi Fig. 3 discloses protruding portion 33e of umbrella portion 33d is in contact with corner portion 36c).
Chen et al. and Yamaguchi discloses a plurality of teeth with an umbrella portion, respectively, therefore, Yamaguchi constitutes prior art. Yamaguchi discloses a plurality of wedges that are in contact with a umbrella portion of a plurality of stator teeth. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wedge disposed on a radially inner side of the slot, wherein the wedge includes: a first shape portion extending in the circumferential direction; two second shape portions extending radially outward; and a bent portion connecting both ends of the first shape portion and a radially inner end of the second shape portion, and the bent portion is brought into contact with the first umbrella portion of Yamaguchi for the purpose of radially supporting and protecting coils within slots between the plurality of stator teeth.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen et al. and Yamaguchi disclose the stator according to claim 6, wherein in the at least one slot (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Chen et al. does not disclose:
a maximum width in the circumferential direction between the bent portions is equal to or larger than an interval between the first umbrella portions in the circumferential direction.
Yamaguchi discloses:
a maximum width in the circumferential direction between the bent portions is equal to or larger than an interval (gap dimension d of open end 39a) between the first umbrella portions in the circumferential direction (Yamaguchi Fig. 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a maximum width in the circumferential direction between the bent portions is equal to or larger than an interval between the first umbrella portions in the circumferential direction of Yamaguchi for the purpose of circumferentially covering the slot to protect the stator windings.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Yamaguchi and further in view of Lindbery et al.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen et al. and Yamaguchi discloses the stator according to claim 6.
Chen et al. and Yamaguchi do not disclose:
wherein the wedge is brought into contact with the second umbrella portion.
Lindbery discloses:
wherein the wedge (31) is brought into contact with the second umbrella portion (tooth tip 15) (Lindbery Fig. 2).
Chen et al., Yamaguchi, and Lindbery disclose umbrella portions therefore, Lindbery constitutes prior art. Lindbery discloses a plurality of tooth tips that are in contact with a wedge, respectively. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the wedge is brought into contact with the second umbrella portion of Lindbery for the purpose of radially supporting the stator windings through both the wedge and the second umbrella portion.
Regarding Claim 9, Chen et al. and Yamaguchi discloses the stator according to claim 6, wherein the second umbrella portion includes a protruding portion (also arc extension 304) protruding in the circumferential direction from the first umbrella portion (Chen et al. Fig. 4).
Chen et al. and Yamaguchi do not disclose:
a length of the protruding portion is equal to or larger than a thickness of the wedge.
Lindbery discloses:
a length of the protruding portion (also tooth tip 15) is equal to or larger than a thickness of the wedge (Lindbery Fig. 2).
Chen et al., Yamaguchi, and Lindbery disclose umbrella portions therefore, Lindbery constitutes prior art. Lindbery discloses a tooth tip having a length that is larger than a thickness of a wedge member. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a length of the protruding portion is equal to or larger than a thickness of the wedge of Lindbery for the purpose of reducing the circumferential width of the gap between teeth such that there is a decrease of magnetic reluctance and an increase in magnetic flux density.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834