DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1012) in the reply filed on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (WO 2013042604).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses an antenna extender (i.e. antenna booster) (See fig. 1A), comprising: a body having a supporting structure 22 configured to receive a smart card 10 (See fig. 1B); a first antenna 31R electrically connected to a second antenna 31C, the first antenna 31R configured to inductively couple with a near field communication (NFC) antenna on a host device (i.e. a communication partner), the second antenna 31C configured to inductively couple with an NFC antenna 12 on the smart card 10 (See figs. 1A, 1B, 6A, 6B, Abstract and provided English translation).
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses as cited in claim 1. Kato further discloses the first antenna 31R and the second antenna 31C are different sizes (See figs. 1B, 4A-4C).
Regarding claim 5, Kato discloses as cited in claim 1. Kato further discloses the body is integrated with a device case 41 (See figs. 1A-1B, 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses as cited in claim 1. Kato further discloses the body is integrated with a receptacle 21 configured to align the NFC antenna 12 on the smart card with the second antenna 31C (See figs. 1B, 9A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (WO 2013042604) in view of Suzuki (8,643,473).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Kato discloses as cited in claim 1. However, Ko does not explicitly mention that the first antenna and the second antenna are resonantly tuned using a passive component. Since Suzuki suggests a similar system (See figs 3, 5), wherein the first antenna 31 and the second antenna 32 are resonantly tuned using a passive component (i.e. capacitor) (See figs, 3, 5 and col. 15 lines 26-42); therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify, as suggested by Suzuki, the Kato’s system with using a passive component such as capacitor to resonantly tune the antennas, for the advantage of improving coupling between devices.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (WO 2013042604) in view of Thompson (11,710,989).
Regarding claims 7-9, Kato discloses as cited in claims 1 and 6. However, Kato does not explicitly mention that a magnet or a magnetic material proximate to the first antenna, wherein the host device comprises a magnet or magnetic material configured to align with the magnet or magnetic material associated with the first antenna and wherein the receptacle is configured to be releasably attached to the host device. Since Thompson suggests magnetic positioning for alignment of antenna coils coupling between two devices, wherein an electronic device comprises a magnet or a magnetic material proximate to its antenna coil configured to align with the magnet or magnetic material associated with a counterpart device’s antenna coil (See figs. 1, 14A, 15 and col. 26 lines 21-42); therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the Thompson’s teaching in modifying the Kato’s system with a magnet or a magnetic material proximate to the first antenna of the antenna extender as well as the NFC antenna of the host device (by doing so, the antenna extender with its receptacle is releasably attached to the host device), for the advantage of properly aligning the antennas for proper coupling.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (WO 2013042604) in view of Suzuki (8,643,473) & Mackin (2021/0034834).
Regarding claim 11, Kato discloses as cited in claim 1. However, Kato does not explicitly mention that the antenna extender is configured to provide NFC signal energy from the host device to the smart card, and one or more of the host device and the smart card comprise an NFC signal strength indicator. Since Suzuki suggests a similar system, wherein the antenna extender (i.e. antenna booster) is configured to provide NFC signal energy from the host device (i.e. communication partner or reader) to the smart card (See fig. 5 and col. 7 lines 24-30, col. 17 line 55 to col. 18 line 5), and wherein the smart card comprise an NFC signal strength indicator is known in the art as suggested by Mackin (See figs. 10-12 and par [0195]); therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify, as suggested by Suzuki & Mackin, the Kato’s system, for the advantage of expanding the capability of the system to various types of passive smart card as well as guiding user (by signal strength indicator) to position the smart card properly for enhanced coupling (enhanced communication quality).
Claim 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (WO 2013042604).
Regrading claim 10, Kato discloses as cited in claim 1. Kato further discloses the supporting structure is located in a housing having a recess configured to receive the smart card (See fig. 1A). However, Kato does not explicitly mention that the housing having a recess configured to receive the host device. Since housing having a recess to receive an attached counterpart device is known in the art (Official Notice taken by the examiner); therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to configure the antenna extender with a recess to receive the host device, for the advantage of providing secure alignment between two attached devices.
Regarding claim 12, Kato discloses as cited in claim 1. However, Kato does not explicitly mention that the supporting structure is flexible and the first antenna and the second antenna are printed conductive ink. Since Official Notice taken by the examiner that flexible PCB and antenna fabricated by printed conductive ink are commonly known in the art; therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize antenna fabricated by printed conductive ink and/or flexible PCB for the system disclosed by Kato, for the advantage of providing a greater degree of freedom in constructing circuitry in order to accommodate the design intention.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892 for a listing of cited prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/TUAN A TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648