DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-3 and 7-9 in the reply filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-6 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 reciting “varnish” are indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claimed “varnish” is unclear. Is the meaning of the recited “varnish” a “varnish composition” or “the act of applying a coat/varnish”.
Examiner will treat the recitations as “varnish composition”.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either i) include “composition”, or ii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claim 1 lines 1-2 reciting “on the basis of silicone-acrylate-urethane thermosetting polymer” is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the recitation is unclear (see MPEP 608.01(i)). Is the meaning of the recited “on the basis of” according to, because of, based on, or comprising of?
Examiner will treat the recitation as “comprising of”.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either i) replace “on the basis of” with “comprising of”, or ii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Regarding claim 1 lines 4-5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Examiner is treating claim 1 as requiring “characterized in that it comprises an added biocidal preparation designed to protect films and coatings against microbial degradation or algae growth or to preserve fibrous or polymer materials” as claimed.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either: i) remove the additional preferential limitation; ii) amend the claim so as to incorporate the narrower preferential limitations as desired; or iii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claims 1 and 3 reciting “biocidal preparation” are indefinite because it is not clear if the recitation is a biocide composition or a method of making a biocide.
Examiner is treating the recitation as “biocide composition”.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either i) replace “biocidal preparation” with “biocide composition”, or ii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claim 2 line 2 reciting “characterized in that the silicone-acrylate-urethane thermosetting polymer matrix” is indefinite because the claimed “matrix” is not recited in claim 1.
Examiner is treating the recitation as “silicone-acrylate-urethane thermosetting polymer”.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either i) delete “matrix”, or ii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claim 3 reciting “the standard” is indefinite because the claimed “the standard” is not recited in claim 1.
Examiner is treating the recitation as “biocide composition”.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either i) replace “the standard biocidal preparation” with “biocide composition”, or ii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claim 7 lines 1-2 reciting “on the basis of” is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim preamble is unclear (see MPEP 608.01(i)). Is the meaning of the recited “on the basis of” according to, because of, based on, or comprising of?
Examiner will treat the recitation as “comprising of”.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either i) replace “on the basis of” with “comprising of”, or ii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claim 8 is indefinite because the claim is dependent on two (2) claims (i.e., claims 7 and 4) (see MPEP 608.01(n)).
Examiner will treat claim 8 to be dependent on claim 4.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either i) choose the dependency of claim 8, or ii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claim 9 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horálek et al. (CZ 304812 (B6), with reference to the machine translation) (“Horalek” hereinafter) in view of Karásková et al. (CZ305659 (B6), with reference to the machine translation when referring to the text, and with reference to the original when referring to the figure) (“Karaskova” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Horalek teaches the water-borne hybrid varnish composition comprising of silicone-acrylate-urethane thermosetting polymer (see Horalek at [0017] teaching method of using a photoactive microdispersion of titanium dioxide for coating systems… nanosized titanium dioxide in the form of an aqueous microdispersion is used for these applications, see Horalek at [0018] teaching hybrid thermoactive silicone acryl urethane polymers, where the synthesis of the basic… polymer is carried out in the presence of (meth)acrylate monomers, see Horalek at [0119] teaching the coating… can be used in… varnishes… on porous and non-porous substrates). The hybrid thermoactive silicone acryl urethane polymers is taken to meet the claimed hybrid varnish composition, characterized in that it comprises,
an added biocide composition designed to protect films and coatings against… microbial degradation (see Horalek at [0005]-[0006] teaching self-cleaning coatings of natural or synthetic materials containing photoactive components based on metal oxides, especially titanium dioxide and zinc oxide… metal oxide precursors are applied to this surface… thin layer of nanoparticles of the respective oxides… these then have an antimicrobial effect).
Horalek does not explicitly teach “a photoactive component based on a phthalocyanine derivative with the central atom of aluminium or zinc being in the form of aqueous dispersion with the size of particles ranging from 100 to 200 nm, or being bound in the varnish via a reactive bond in the polymer matrix at a concentration ranging from 0.05 to 1.0% by weight”.
Like Horalek, Karaskova teaches a coating composition (see Karaskova at [0003] teaching a coating material, see Karaskova at [0015] teaching a coating material… based on a polymer carrier to which at least one photoactive phthalocyanine derivative FTC(X) is bound, where X denotes a central atom of… Al… photoactive phthalocyanine derivative FTC(X) is bound by an ionic bond). Photoactive phthalocyanine derivative FTC(X) wherein X is Al is taken to meet the claimed “a photoactive component based on a phthalocyanine derivative with the central atom of… aluminium… ”. Additionally, the photoactive phthalocyanine derivative FTC(X) wherein X is Al is expected to be “photoactive”.
Karaskova further teaches the polymer system contains a photoactive phthalocyanine compound in an amount of from 0.1% to 1% by weight, based on the solid polymer fraction (see Karaskova at [0026]), which is taken to meet the claimed “a photoactive component based on a phthalocyanine derivative… being bound in the varnish via a reactive bond in the polymer matrix at a concentration ranging from 0.05 to 1.0% by weight”.
Moreover, Karaskova teaches the principle of antimicrobial protection of the polymer system is based on the photoactive effect exhibited by a suitable combination of phthalocyanine photosensitizers and polymer carriers… phthalocyanine, as a functional dye, not only colors the polymer carrier, but also has the ability to produce reactive oxygen species… by interacting with light and diatomic oxygen… protecting materials against microbial attack (see Karaskova at [0015]).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Karaskova teaches that 0.1% to 1% by weight phthalocyanine in the polymer fraction that protect materials against microbial attack, and seek those advantages by adding 0.1% to 1% by weight phthalocyanine in the polymer as taught by Horalek.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add 0.1% to 1% by weight phthalocyanine as taught by Karaskova in the polymer as taught by Horalek so as to protect materials against microbial attack.
Regarding claim 2, Horalek in view of Karaskova teach the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Karaskova further teaches characterized in that the silicone-acrylate-urethane thermosetting polymer comprises a reactive group to bind the phthalocyanine derivative selected from the following group… secondary amine (see Karaskova at [0016] teaching where the polymer forms an ionic bond with a phthalocyanine photosensitizer of the general formula FTC(X), where X denotes the central atom… Al… anchoring the phthalocyanine compound on the surface of the core latex, where the acidic centers… schematically shown in Scheme 1, see Karaskova at Scheme 1, with Examiner annotation below).
Claims 3, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horalek in view of Karaskova as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rolfe et al. (US 2017/0354143 A1) (“Rolfe” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Horalek in view of Karaskova teach the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and as mentioned, Horalek teaches the coating system… can be used in particular for impregnation or coating applications… for the formulation of paints, varnishes and enamels on porous and non-porous substrates (see Horalek at [0119])… metal oxide precursors are applied to the surface… create a thin layer of nanoparticles of the respective metal oxides… these then have an antimicrobial effect (see Horalek at [0006]). Additionally, Karaskova teaches that polymeric coatings are product that, after application, create a solid, continuous coating that serves to protect various surfaces… paint formulations contain a significant number of components combined so that their final composition leads to the best possible coating characteristics… to protect against microbial attack on polymer coating materials, so-called industrial biocides are used, which are added as additives either to the base polymer or to the coating formulation based on it (see Karaskova at [0005]).
However, Horalek in view of Karaskova do not explicitly teach that the biocide composition comprises a biocidal agent selected from the following group: 1-[[2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-4-propyl-1,3-dioxolan-2- yl]methyl]-1H-1,2,4-triazole, azoxystrobin, 1,2-benzisothiazole-3(2H)-on, (benzothiazole- 2-ylthio)methyl thiocyanate, bronopol, 2-butyl-benzo[d]isothiazol-3-on, carbendazim; p- chloro-m-cresol, 4,5-dichloro-2-octylisothiazole-3(2H)-on, 4,5-dichloro-2-octyl-2H- isothiazole-3-on, dimethyloctadecyl[3-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl]ammonium chloride, dimethyltetradecyl[3-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl]ammonium chloride, fludioxonil; 3-iodo-2-propynylbutylcarbamate, N-(trichloromethylthio)phthalimide, 2-octyl-2H-isothiazol-3-on, pyridine-2-thiol 1-oxide, zinc pyrithione, sodium pyrithione, silver nanoparticles, mixture of silver chloride and titanium dioxide, silver adsorbed on silicon dioxide, silver zinc zeolite, sodium dimethyldithiocarbamate, 2-thiazol-4-yl-1 H-benzoimidazole, lactic acid, sodium acetate, sodium benzoate, (+)-tartaric acid, acetic acid, propionic acid, ascorbic acid, oct- 1-en-3-ol, (Z,E)-tetradec-9,12-dienyl acetate, iron citronellal or sulphate.
Like Horalek and Karaskova, Rolfe teaches coating compositions comprising polymer and antimicrobial compositions (see Rolfe at [0005] teaching an antimicrobial composition comprising: a polymer support matrix; and antimicrobial nanoparticles).
Rolfe further teaches a number of inorganic antimicrobial agents exhibit antimicrobial properties… the inorganic antimicrobial agent comprises silver and zinc together or separately… silver-containing nanoparticles exhibit antimicrobial properties… the antimicrobial nanoparticles are at most 100 nm in size (see Rolfe at [0033]-[0034] and [0036]). Silver nanoparticles is taken to meet the claimed “the biocidal composition comprises a biocidal agent selected from the following group… silver nanoparticles”.
Additionally, MPEP states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination” (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that silver nanoparticles is suitable for its intended use.
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Rolfe teaches that silver nanoparticles is a suitable microbial agent for polymers, and seek those advantages by replacing zinc oxide antimicrobial agent in the composition as taught by Horalek in view of Karaskova.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace zinc oxide antimicrobial agent as taught by Rolfe in the composition as taught by Horalek in view of Karaskova because silver nanoparticles is a suitable microbial agent for polymers.
Regarding claim 7, Rolfe teaches a touch film (see Rolfe at [0046] teaching the antimicrobial composition is formed into an antimicrobial transparent film or sheet… antimicrobial films are useful in imparting antimicrobial properties to surfaces, such as… touch-screens), comprising
… polyethylene terephthalate (see Rolfe at [0013] teaching conventional screen protectors are normally based on polyethylene terephthalate (PET)).
Rolfe does not explicitly teach that polyethylene terephthalate is characterized in that its surface is fitted with the water-borne hybrid varnish according to claim 1.
However, Horalek teaches the coating system… can be used in particular for impregnation or coating applications… for the formulation of paints, varnishes and enamels on porous and non-porous substrates (see Horalek at [0119])… metal oxide precursors are applied to the surface… create a thin layer of nanoparticles of the respective metal oxides… these then have an antimicrobial effect (see Horalek at [0006]). Additionally, Karaskova teaches that polymeric coatings are product that, after application, create a solid, continuous coating that serves to protect various surfaces… paint formulations contain a significant number of components combined so that their final composition leads to the best possible coating characteristics… to protect against microbial attack on polymer coating materials, so-called industrial biocides are used, which are added as additives either to the base polymer or to the coating formulation based on it (see Karaskova at [0005]). Moreover, see claim 1 rejection based on Horalek in view of Karaskova outlining a coating composition.
Additionally, MPEP states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination” (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the composition as taught by Horalek in view of Karaskova as outlined in claim 1 is suitable for its intended use.
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Horalek teaches that the coating system can be used in particular for coating applications for the formulation of varnishes on porous and non-porous substrates, and seek those advantages by fitting the composition as taught by Horalek in view of Karaskova on the antimicrobial transparent film as taught by Rolfe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to fit the composition as taught by Horalek in view of Karaskova on the antimicrobial transparent film as taught by Rolfe because the coating system can be used in particular for coating applications for the formulation of varnishes on porous and non-porous substrates, and the coating composition is suitable for its intended use.
Regarding claim 9, Horalek in view of Karaskova and Rolfe teach the limitations as applied to claim 7 above, and Rolfe further teaches the touch film is transparent (see Rolfe at [0046] teaching antimicrobial transparent film).
Conclusion
/MARITES A GUINO-O UZZLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1731