Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: The preamble of the claim reads “The machine of 4claim6”. Please change the preamble to —The machine of claim 6—. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 14, the phrases “for instance” and "such as" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 7, the phrase “for instance” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Furthermore, Claim 7 recites the limitation "said driving slide". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, claim 7 recites “optionally one or more transmission members connecting the driving slide(s) to the first and second capsule handlers, to relatively move the capsule handlers between the capsule transfer configuration and the capsule processing configuration, the driving slide(s) being actuated by said actuator, for instance by being connected to said translational transmission member cooperating via a groove and pin with said driving slide(s)” (emphasis added). It is unclear what is being optionally claimed. Are just the “one or more transmission members connecting the driving slide(s) to the first and second capsule handlers, to relatively move the capsule handlers between the capsule transfer configuration and the capsule processing configuration” being optionally claimed, or are “the driving slide(s) being actuated by said actuator, for instance by being connected to said translational transmission member cooperating via a groove and pin with said driving slide(s)” optionally claimed as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryser (WO 2015/173124).
Regarding Claim 1, Ryser discloses a capsule processing machine (1) for preparing a beverage from a capsule (4) having a body containing an ingredient by circulating a liquid into such capsule and centrifugally driving such capsule (see pg. 5, lines 31-32), comprising:
a first capsule handler (19) and a second capsule handler (22) that are movable one relative to the other from:
a capsule transfer configuration for receiving said capsule by the first and second capsule handlers and/or releasing said capsule from the first and second capsule handlers (pg. 8, lines 3-7) ; to
a capsule processing configuration for centrifuging said capsule by rotation about a processing axis (l) of the first and second capsule handlers (pg. 8., lines 3-7; and
a capsule insertion passage (9) associated with one or more capsule insertion guides (36, edge of 15)configured to guide said capsule of said capsule , towards a capsule holding position in a space between the first and second capsule handlers in their transfer configuration, for instance the space being associated with a holding device, such as one or more stop members, configured to hold said capsule in the space prior to being held by at least one of the first and second capsule handlers relatively moving towards and/or into the capsule processing configuration,
a machine frame and/or housing (8) which is stationary when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation and which supports the first and second capsule handlers,
the capsule insertion guide(s) (edge of 15) comprise(s) at least a rotatable portion that is stationary relative to at least one of the first and second capsule handlers and rotates therewith when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation
Regarding Claim 2, Ryser discloses wherein the capsule insertion guide(s) comprise(s) a non-rotatable portion (36) that is stationary relative to the machine frame and/or housing when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation.
Regarding Claim 3, Ryser discloses a handler support device (20,23) for supporting the first and second capsule handlers , the handler support device being configured to be and remain angularly fixed relative to the first and second capsule handlers and to rotate therewith about the processing axis when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation.
Regarding Claim 4, Ryser discloses comprises an actuator (57) that is configured to actuate the first and/or second capsule handlers to relatively move the first and second capsule handlers between the capsule transfer and processing configurations,
Regarding Claim 5, Ryser discloses which comprises a driving device (13,14) connected to the first and second capsule handlers to relatively move the capsule handlers between the capsule transfer configuration and the capsule processing configuration (see pg. 15, lines 7-27)
Regarding Claim 6, Ryser discloses wherein a driving device (13,14) connects the first capsule handler and the second capsule handler via the handler support device (see pg. 15, lines 7-27).
Regarding Claim 7, Ryser discloses wherein the driving device (13 and 14) comprises said driving slide , and optionally one or more transmission members connecting the driving slide(s) to the first and second capsule handlers , to relatively move the capsule handlers between the capsule transfer configuration and the capsule processing configuration, the driving slide(s) being actuated by said actuator , for instance by being connected to said translational transmission member cooperating via a groove and pin with said driving slide(s) (see pg. 15, lines 7-27).
Regarding Claim 8, Ryser discloses wherein: the first and second capsule handlers in their processing configuration delimit a capsule processing chamber configured to enclose said capsule and at least one handler of the first and second capsule handlers comprises or is associated with an inlet for guiding a liquid carrier to said capsule when said capsule is being centrifuged by rotation (see Figs. 16-18)
Regarding Claim 9, Ryser discloses wherein the capsule insertion passage is covered by a lid or a gate (2, see Fig. 2) when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation.
Regarding Claim 10, Ryser discloses wherein the handler support device is pivotally supported by the machine frame or housing via a first bearing.
Regarding Claim 12, Ryser discloses a positioning device (13, 14) configured to position at least one of the first and second capsule handlers at a predetermined angular position about the processing axis when the first and second capsule handlers are in the capsule transfer configuration (see pg. 9, lines 3-6; and pg. 11, lines 3-9)
Regarding Claim 13, Ryser discloses a system (1) comprising a capsule processing machine for preparing a beverage from a capsule having a body containing an ingredient by circulating a liquid into such capsule and centrifugally driving such capsule, comprising:
a first capsule handler (19) and a second capsule handler (22) that are movable one relative to the other from:
a capsule transfer configuration for receiving said capsule by the first and second capsule handlers and/or releasing said capsule from the first and second capsule handlers (see pg. 8, lines 3-7); to
a capsule processing configuration for centrifuging said capsule by rotation about a processing axis of the first and second capsule handlers (see pg. 8, lines 3-7); and
a capsule insertion passage (9) associated with one or more capsule insertion guides (36, edge of 15)) configured to guide said capsule towards a capsule holding position in a space between the first and second capsule handlers in their transfer configuration, for instance the space being associated with a holding device, such as one or more stop members configured to hold said capsule in the space prior to being held by at least one of the first and second capsule handlers relatively moving towards and/or into the capsule processing configuration,
a machine frame and/or housing (8) which is stationary when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation and which supports the first and second capsule handlers,
the capsule insertion guide(s) comprise(s) at least a rotatable portion (edge of 15) that is stationary relative to at least one of the first and second capsule handlers and rotates therewith when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation and a capsule (4) having a body containing an ingredient, the capsule being handled by the capsule insertion guide(s) associated with the machine's capsule insertion passage , the rotatable portion of the insertion guide(s) being configured to rotate with the machine's first and second capsule handlers in their capsule processing configuration when the capsule is centrifuged.
Regarding Claim 14, Ryser discloses method of preparing in a machine a beverage from a capsule having a body containing an ingredient by circulating a liquid into such capsule and centrifugally driving such capsule, comprising:
a first capsule handler (19) and a second capsule handler (22) that are movable one relative to the other from:
a capsule transfer configuration (see Fig. 19) for receiving said capsule by the first and second capsule handlers and/or releasing said capsule from the first and second capsule handlers; to
a capsule processing configuration for centrifuging said capsule by rotation about a processing axis of the first and second capsule handlers (see Fig. 10); and
a capsule insertion passage (9) associated with one or more capsule insertion guides (36 and edge of 15) configured to guide said capsule towards a capsule holding position in a space between the first and second capsule handlers in their transfer configuration, for instance the space being associated with a holding device, such as one or more stop members configured to hold said capsule in the space prior to being held by at least one of the first and second capsule handlers relatively moving towards and/or into the capsule processing configuration,
a machine frame and/or housing (8) which is stationary when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation and which supports the first and second capsule handlers,
the capsule insertion guide(s) comprise(s) at least a rotatable portion (edge of 15) that is stationary relative to at least one of the first and second capsule handlers and rotates therewith when the first and second capsule handlers are rotated for centrifugation, a beverage from a capsule (4) having a body containing an ingredient, the method comprising:
transferring the capsule to the first and second capsule handlers in their transfer configuration to receive the capsule via the capsule insertion guide(s) associated with the capsule insertion passage (see Fig. 10);
bringing the first and second capsule handlers into the capsule processing configuration (see Fig. 16); and
centrifuging the capsule handled by the first and second capsule handlers that are rotated with the capsule insertion guide(s) about the processing axis and circulating the liquid into the capsule to form the beverage (see pgs. 5-6, lines 31-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619