Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “®” needs to be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 9, line 4, recitation is made to “the structure, which is disposed” without specifically referring to which of the aforementioned structures is intended (e.g., the latching structure, the counter-latching structure, or both). Further, the language “structure, which is disposed farther radially outward, then the latching is reinforced” is unclear. To what entity is the “structure” (Examiner noting also that “structure” still needs clarification) disposed farther radially outward? Additionally, mention of “the radially inward structure” in line 5 also does not have antecedent basis and the phrase “against direct mechanical contact from outward by an outer face” is also unclear. Examiner requests clarification/correction.
In claim 18, recitation is made of a diameter “of at least 2 cm”. This phrasing amounts to an unbounded range which is not described sufficiently in the claims or disclosure (i.e., can the opening be 10 cm, 20 cm, 100 cm?) and therefore amounts to an indefinite limitations. Examiner requests clarification/correction.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: COMPONENT FOR A LIQUID FILTER HAVING A COVER, END CAP AND COMPENSATION ELEMENT ARRANGEMENT.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “elastically reversible compensation element” in claims 1-6, 13; “latching structure” and “counter-latching structure” in claims 7-9; “coupling structure” and “counter-coupling structure” in claims 10-11; “sealant” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kocksch (US 11,351,485).
Claim 1: Kocksch discloses a component for a liquid filter (Figs. 1-6) which comprises a housing (14), said component comprising a cover (note 16, but Examiner also noting that cover could be expanded to additional include additional elements such as 44 or even 54/88) for installation on the housing; a filter element (20) comprising a first end cap (70) facing the cover which has a first opening (note opening within 70), a second end cap (68) facing away from the cover (32), and a filter medium (62) arranged along an axial direction between the first end cap and the second end cap with a hollow interior (Fig. 1); an elastically reversible compensation element (30), which is in the interior (Fig. 1); wherein the cover comprises a cover lower face (note bottom portion/surface of 16) facing the first end cap, wherein the first end cap (70) comprises an upper face (note top surface/portion of 70) facing the cover, wherein the cover, the filter element, and the compensation element are captively coupled to one another (Fig. 1).
Claim 2: Kocksch further discloses that the cover, the filter element, and the compensation element are separate elements from one another (Figs. 1-6), wherein the coupling of the cover, the filter element, and the compensation element is configured to be force-locking, and/or frictional, and/or interlocking (Examine noting the frictional, interlocking fits between the cover, filter element and compensation element).
Claim 3: Kocksch further discloses that the first end cap is attached to the cover such that it cannot be detached without causing damage (Examiner notes that first end cap cannot be removed independent of removal of cover), wherein the first end cap (2) features a clearance (note 94) relative to the cover in the axial direction and/or in a circumferential direction that is circumferential about the axial direction, and/or wherein the compensation element is retained in a clamped manner between the cover and the first end cap (Fig. 1, note clamped arrangement between 16 and 70).
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10, 15-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN206867831U).
Claim 1: Zhang discloses a component for a liquid filter (Figs. 1-4) which comprises a housing (1), said component comprising a cover (2) for installation on the housing; a filter element comprising a first end cap (31) facing the cover which has a first opening (note opening within 31), a second end cap (32) facing away from the cover (32), and a filter medium (33) arranged along an axial direction between the first end cap and the second end cap with a hollow interior (Fig. 1); an elastically reversible compensation element (4), which is in the interior (Fig. 1); wherein the cover comprises a cover lower face (note bottom portion/surface of 2) facing the first end cap, wherein the first end cap (31) comprises an upper face (note top surface/portion of 31) facing the cover, wherein the cover, the filter element, and the compensation element are captively coupled to one another (Fig. 1).
Claim 5: Zhang further discloses that the compensation element is, when viewed in a radial direction (Fig. 1), clamped between the first opening and a collar element (note lower element around 21 in Fig. 2) that projects from the cover (2) and into the first opening (see Fig. 1).
Claim 6: Zhang further discloses that an end cap element (Fig. 4, note top portion of 31 or stem of 34) projecting in the axial direction towards the cover, is formed on the first end cap (see Figs. 1 and 4), wherein the compensation element is clamped between the end cap element and the collar element when viewed in the radial direction (Fig. 1).
Claim 7: Zhang further discloses that the cover comprises a latching structure (23), wherein the first end cap comprises a counter-latching structure (34) complementary to the latching structure (Fig. 1), wherein the cover and the first end cap are captively coupled to each other by interaction between the latching structure and the counter-latching structure (Fig. 1).
Claim 8: Zhang further discloses that the latching structure projects from the lower face of the cover parallel to the axial direction towards the first end cap, and/or wherein the lower face of the cover comprises an outer collar, which projects from the latter towards the first end cap parallel to the axial direction and which comprises the latching structure, and/or wherein the counter-latching structure (34) projects from the upper face of the first end cap in the axial direction towards the cover (see Figs. 1 and 4).
Claim 10: Zhang further discloses that the lower face of the cover comprises a coupling structure (23), wherein the upper face of the first end cap comprises a counter-coupling structure (34),wherein the coupling structure and the counter-coupling structure are coupled to one another (Fig. 1) such that a torque acting on the cover is transmitted from the cover to the filter element by the coupling of the coupling structure and the counter-coupling structure (as can be appreciated from Fig. 1), wherein the counter-coupling structure is connected by a structural rib (note rib structure of 34), to an end cap element projecting radially farther inward from the upper face (Fig. 3, note portion of 34 the projects radially inward).
Claim 15: Zhang further discloses a liquid filter (Fig. 1) comprising a housing (1) comprising a housing interior (note interior of 1) and comprising an inlet (11) and an outlet (12), a component according to claim 1 (Fig. 1, note discussion above), wherein the housing and the component are in particular connected to each other (Fig. 1).
Claim 16: Zhang further discloses that the component for a liquid filter is for a DENOX filter (note English translation that the filter is intended within a SCR system).
Claim 19: Zhang further discloses that the end cap element (stem of 34) projecting in the axial direction (A) towards the cover (32) includes a first connecting piece (note tip hooks at end of 34).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9, 11, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arias (DE102020204098A1).
Claim 1: Arias discloses a component for a liquid filter (Figs. 2-7) which comprises a housing (2), said component comprising a cover (3) for installation on the housing; a filter element comprising a first end cap (21) facing the cover which has a first opening (note opening within 21), a second end cap (22) facing away from the cover, and a filter medium (23) arranged along an axial direction between the first end cap and the second end cap with a hollow interior (Fig. 2a); an elastically reversible compensation element (Fig. 3, note 41), which is in the interior (Fig. 2a); wherein the cover comprises a cover lower face (note bottom portion/surface of 3) facing the first end cap, wherein the first end cap (21) comprises an upper face (note top surface/portion of 21) facing the cover, wherein the cover, the filter element, and the compensation element are captively coupled to one another (Fig. 3).
Claim 4: Arias further discloses that an outer face of the compensation element comprises a latching lug (Fig. 3, note 47), wherein the compensation element comprises a radial section (note portion of 44 adjacent 60), which is at a distance from the latching lug in the axial direction and extends radially outwards (Fig. 3), wherein the compensation element is retained in the first opening by the latching lug and the radial section (Fig. 3).
Claim 7: Arias further discloses that the cover comprises a latching structure (Fig. 6, note 15/16), wherein the first end cap comprises a counter-latching structure (Fig. 5, note 34/37) complementary to the latching structure (Fig. 4), wherein the cover and the first end cap are captively coupled to each other by interaction between the latching structure and the counter-latching structure (Figs. 3-4).
Claim 9: Arias further discloses that the latching structure (15/16) and the counter-latching structure (34/37) are configured such that, when mechanical force is exerted in a direction from radially outward to radially inward on the structure (note Fig. 5, a mechanical force in said direction will occur when the hook inserted into 37 is rotated into narrow grooves 34, during which a pressing force from the sides will occur, one of which will satisfy the limitation direction), which is disposed farther radially outward (the structure of the hooks will be disposed farther radially), then the latching is reinforced, wherein the radially inside structure is shielded against direct mechanical contact from radially outward by an outer face (note portion of 32 outside of structure at within 32) of the first end cap and/or by the radially farther outward structure (Fig. 5).
Claim 11: Arias further discloses that the lower face of the cover comprises a coupling structure (15/16), wherein the upper face of the first end cap comprises a counter-coupling structure (34/37), wherein the coupling structure and the counter-coupling structure are coupled to one another such that a torque acting on the cover is transmitted from the cover to the filter element by the coupling of the coupling structure and the counter-coupling structure (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2a), wherein the counter-coupling structure is connected by a structural rib (note rib end of 15/16 that inserts into the counter-coupling structure), to an end cap element projecting radially farther inward from the upper face (Fig. 4), wherein the counter-coupling structure is configured such that, and/or wherein the coupling structure is configured such that, when the filter element and the cover are coupled, the counter-coupling structure comes into mechanical contact with the lower face of the cover (Fig. 2a), and/or the coupling structure comes into mechanical contact with the upper face of the first end cap before the counter-latching structure comes into contact with the lower face of the cover and/or before the latching structure comes into contact with the upper face of the first end cap, thus preventing in particular a further axial displacement of the cover and filter element towards each other (Fig. 2a).
Claim 15: Arias further discloses a liquid filter (Fig. 2a) comprising a housing (2) comprising a housing interior (note interior of 2) and comprising an inlet (4) and an outlet (5), a component according to claim 1 (Fig. 2a, note discussion above), wherein the housing and the component are in particular connected to each other (Fig. 2a).
Claim 16: Zhang further discloses that the component for a liquid filter is for a DENOX filter (note English translation that the filter is intended for a DENOX context).
Claim 17: Arias further discloses that the latching lug (47) is a circumferential latching lug (Fig. 3), wherein the radial section is a circumferential radial section (Fig. 3), and wherein the compensation element is buttoned in the first opening by the circumferential latching lug and the circumferential radial section (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746