DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 08/11/2026 for response to the office action mailed on 05/11/2026. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 7, 14-20 and 23-25 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 21-22 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Main Argument:
… Lei fails to disclose or suggest "a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the first BWP and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB is less than or equal to a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal" as recited in amended claim 1. (Emphases added). As noted above, the Office acknowledges that Islam is deficient regarding these claim elements. Furthermore, none of the other cited references cure this deficiency of Lei, nor does the Office allege as such. ….
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Lei fails to disclose or suggest "a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the first BWP and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB is less than or equal to a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.” This argument is not persuasive.
Lei teaches that a cell-defining SSB is transmitted within a maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced-capability UE (¶0093). Lei further teaches that a non-cell-defining SSB is transmitted within the initial BWP configured for the reduced-capability UE (¶0094). Lei also teaches that the first initial DL BWP has a bandwidth no greater than the lower maximum UE bandwidth. Therefore, Lei places both the first BWP and the SSB within the same frequency-domain bandwidth that the reduced-capability terminal can support. Because the SSB is contained within the BWP, rather than occupying an additional frequency range outside of the BWP, the frequency-domain bandwidth supported by the first BWP and the SSB remains within the maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal. Accordingly, Lei teaches or suggests the claimed relationship that the frequency-domain bandwidth occupied by the first BWP together with the bandwidth occupied by the SSB does not exceed the maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal. Therefore, in combination with Islam’s further teaching of a terminal having a maximum supported bandwidth, Lei suggests or teaches configuring the BWP and SSB such that their combined bandwidth does not exceed the maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2023/0054786 A1), Islam hereinafter, and further in view of Lei et al. (US 2023/0074775), Lei hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Islam teaches a channel measurement method, applied to a terminal, the method comprising: in response to that a bandwidth part (BWP) monitored by the terminal is a first BWP and that channel measurement needs to be performed, performing the channel measurement based on a measurement strategy; (Fig. 4, 7, 10-14 & ¶0091 - The RS indication 760 may identify a measurement resource on one of the active downlink BWP, the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP … The measurement resource may be one or more of a SSB, a CSI-RS, or a PRS. The base station 102 may transmit the indicated reference signal 770 on the indicated measurement resource. ¶0092 - In the case where the measurement resource is on the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP, the RS indication 760 may configure measurement gaps on the active DL BWP 470, 550 for the RedCap UE 104 to switch BWPs to perform the measurements. In some implementations, the measurements include neighbor cell measurements based on system information of neighbor cells. Please also see ¶0034-¶0035).
wherein the first BWP carries at least one of following downlink information of the terminal: a system message, a paging message, or an initial access message, (¶0076 - In an aspect, the CD-SSBs 432 include or identify system information for a separate initial DL BWP 450 for RedCap UEs. The separate initial DL BWP 450 may carry non-CD-SSBs 452. The non-CD-SSBs 452 may carry some or all of the information for the cell and information for the separate initial DL BWP 450. The non-CD-SSBs 452 may include information for a separate UL BWP 440 for RedCap UEs … For instance, the RedCap UE 104 may receive the non-CD-SSBs 452 to obtain system information and perform measurements. ¶0100 - The separate initial BWP component 820 may transmit, via transmitter component 872, the non-CD-SSB 720 for a separate initial downlink BWP for RedCap UEs. For example, the non-CD-SSB 710 may include or identify system information specific for RedCap UEs. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
wherein performing the channel measurement based on the measurement strategy comprises performing Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB)-based measurement on the first BWP, (¶0035 - For example, the RedCap UE may measure both the CD-SSBs on the shared initial downlink BWP and the non-CD-SSBs on the separate initial downlink BWP. ¶0091 - The measurement resource may be one or more of a SSB … ¶0092 - In the case where the measurement resource is on the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP, the RS indication 760 may configure measurement gaps on the active DL BWP 470, 550 for the RedCap UE 104 to switch BWPs to perform the measurements. ¶0094 - In some implementations, the active RedCap BWP configuration 740 includes different measurement gaps to measure the CD-SSB 710 of the shared initial downlink BWP and a non-CD-SSB 720 of the separate initial downlink BWP);
is less than or equal a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal (¶0033 - A user equipment (UE) may utilize a subset of total cell bandwidth of a cell referred to as a Bandwidth Part (BWP) … in FR1, a maximum device bandwidth for a non-RedCap device may be 100 MHz, while the maximum device bandwidth for a RedCap device may be 20 MHz. In FR2, the maximum device bandwidth for a non-RedCap device may be 200 MHz, while the maximum device bandwidth for a RedCap device may be 100 MHz. Other maximum device bandwidths may be applicable in other implementations);
Yet, Islam does not explicitly teach and wherein a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the first BWP and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB…
However, in the analogous art, Lei explicitly teaches and wherein a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the first BWP and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB… (Fig. 4, 6-7 & ¶0086 - In some aspects, the reduced capability may not be configured with a non-initial BWP, whether downlink or uplink, that is wider than the maximum bandwidth of the reduced capability UE. ¶0143 - The initial downlink BWP may include a CORESET 0 or a CD-SSB that is configured for the UEs having the first capability and the UEs having the second capability, and wherein the first initial downlink BWP and the initial uplink BWP have a same or different center frequencies and a same or different bandwidth, the bandwidth of the initial DL BWP and the bandwidth of the initial UL BWP being no more than the lower maximum UE bandwidth of the UEs having the first capability. ¶0094 - In some aspects, a reduced capability UE may be configured with a separate initial DL BWP, e.g., which may be different from CORESET 0, rather than the shared initial DL BWP illustrated in FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE … The UE may use the NCD-SSB, received in the BWP configured for the reduced capability UEs, for L1 and L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP measurements, pathloss measurements, radio resource management (RRM) measurements, etc.). Please also see ¶0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lei to the teaching of Islam. The motivation would be because the invention provides configurations and signaling support for reduced capability UEs that enables joint optimization of DL/UL BWP configurations, co-existence of different UE capabilities, power savings for reduced capability UEs, mitigation of resource fragmentation on DL/UL, and/or signaling overhead reduction (¶0098, Lei).
Re. Claim 2, Islam and Lei teach Claim 1.
Islam further teaches the measurement strategy comprises: performing Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB)-based measurement based on a measurement gap configured by a network device; (Fig. 4, 7 10-14 & ¶0035 - Similarly, the configuration of the active BWP may indicate a measurement resource (e.g., for layer 3 measurements) on any of the shared initial BWP, the separate initial BWP, or the active BWP and measurement gaps on the active BWP. ¶0091 - The measurement resource may be one or more of a SSB … ¶0092 - In the case where the measurement resource is on the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP, the RS indication 760 may configure measurement gaps on the active DL BWP 470, 550 for the RedCap UE 104 to switch BWPs to perform the measurements);
wherein performing the channel measurement based on the measurement strategy comprises: performing the SSB-based measurement within the measurement gap (¶0094 - In some implementations, the active RedCap BWP configuration 740 includes different measurement gaps to measure the CD-SSB 710 of the shared initial downlink BWP and a non-CD-SSB 720 of the separate initial downlink BWP).
Re. Claim 8, Islam teaches a channel measurement method, applied to a network device, the method comprising: (Fig. 8);
configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for a terminal, and configuring a measurement strategy for performing channel measurement for the terminal; (Fig. 4, 7, 10-14 & ¶0088 - In some implementations, the base station 102 may transmit BWP-specific uplink parameters 745 … The BWP-specific uplink parameters 745 may be communicated as a BWP configuration or reconfiguration information (e.g., in active RedCap BWP configuration 740). ¶0091 - The base station 102 may transmit a reference signal (RS) indication 760. The RS indication 760 may identify a measurement resource on one of the active downlink BWP, the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP … The measurement resource may be one or more of a SSB, a CSI-RS, or a PRS. The base station 102 may transmit the indicated reference signal 770 on the indicated measurement resource. ¶0092 - In the case where the measurement resource is on the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP, the RS indication 760 may configure measurement gaps on the active DL BWP 470, 550 for the RedCap UE 104 to switch BWPs to perform the measurements. In some implementations, the measurements include neighbor cell measurements based on system information of neighbor cells. Please also see ¶0034-¶0035).
wherein the first BWP is used to carry at least one of following downlink information of the terminal: a system message, a paging message, or an initial access message, (¶0076 - In an aspect, the CD-SSBs 432 include or identify system information for a separate initial DL BWP 450 for RedCap UEs. The separate initial DL BWP 450 may carry non-CD-SSBs 452. The non-CD-SSBs 452 may carry some or all of the information for the cell and information for the separate initial DL BWP 450. The non-CD-SSBs 452 may include information for a separate UL BWP 440 for RedCap UEs … For instance, the RedCap UE 104 may receive the non-CD-SSBs 452 to obtain system information and perform measurements. ¶0100 - The separate initial BWP component 820 may transmit, via transmitter component 872, the non-CD-SSB 720 for a separate initial downlink BWP for RedCap UEs. For example, the non-CD-SSB 710 may include or identify system information specific for RedCap UEs. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
wherein configuring the measurement strategy for performing the channel measurement for the terminal comprises configuring the first BWP for the terminal to perform Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB)-based measurement, (¶0035 - For example, the RedCap UE may measure both the CD-SSBs on the shared initial downlink BWP and the non-CD-SSBs on the separate initial downlink BWP. ¶0091 - The measurement resource may be one or more of a SSB … ¶0092 - In the case where the measurement resource is on the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP, the RS indication 760 may configure measurement gaps on the active DL BWP 470, 550 for the RedCap UE 104 to switch BWPs to perform the measurements. ¶0094 - In some implementations, the active RedCap BWP configuration 740 includes different measurement gaps to measure the CD-SSB 710 of the shared initial downlink BWP and a non-CD-SSB 720 of the separate initial downlink BWP);
is less than or equal to a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal (¶0033 - A user equipment (UE) may utilize a subset of total cell bandwidth of a cell referred to as a Bandwidth Part (BWP) … in FR1, a maximum device bandwidth for a non-RedCap device may be 100 MHz, while the maximum device bandwidth for a RedCap device may be 20 MHz. In FR2, the maximum device bandwidth for a non-RedCap device may be 200 MHz, while the maximum device bandwidth for a RedCap device may be 100 MHz. Other maximum device bandwidths may be applicable in other implementations);
Yet, Islam does not explicitly teach and wherein a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the first BWP and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB…
However, in the analogous art, Lei explicitly teaches and wherein a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the first BWP and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB… (Fig. 4, 6-7 & ¶0086 - In some aspects, the reduced capability may not be configured with a non-initial BWP, whether downlink or uplink, that is wider than the maximum bandwidth of the reduced capability UE. ¶0143 - The initial downlink BWP may include a CORESET 0 or a CD-SSB that is configured for the UEs having the first capability and the UEs having the second capability, and wherein the first initial downlink BWP and the initial uplink BWP have a same or different center frequencies and a same or different bandwidth, the bandwidth of the initial DL BWP and the bandwidth of the initial UL BWP being no more than the lower maximum UE bandwidth of the UEs having the first capability. ¶0094 - In some aspects, a reduced capability UE may be configured with a separate initial DL BWP, e.g., which may be different from CORESET 0, rather than the shared initial DL BWP illustrated in FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE … The UE may use the NCD-SSB, received in the BWP configured for the reduced capability UEs, for L1 and L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP measurements, pathloss measurements, radio resource management (RRM) measurements, etc.). Please also see ¶0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lei to the teaching of Islam. The motivation would be because the invention provides configurations and signaling support for reduced capability UEs that enables joint optimization of DL/UL BWP configurations, co-existence of different UE capabilities, power savings for reduced capability UEs, mitigation of resource fragmentation on DL/UL, and/or signaling overhead reduction (¶0098, Lei).
Re. Claim 9, Islam and Lei teach Claim 8.
Islam further teaches configuring the measurement strategy for performing channel measurement for the terminal comprises: configuring a measurement gap for performing Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB)-based measurement (Fig. 4, 7 10-14 & ¶0035 - For example, the RedCap UE may measure both the CD-SSBs on the shared initial downlink BWP and the non-CD-SSBs on the separate initial downlink BWP. ¶0091 - The measurement resource may be one or more of a SSB … ¶0092 - In the case where the measurement resource is on the separate initial downlink BWP, or the shared initial downlink BWP, the RS indication 760 may configure measurement gaps on the active DL BWP 470, 550 for the RedCap UE 104 to switch BWPs to perform the measurements. ¶0094 - In some implementations, the active RedCap BWP configuration 740 includes different measurement gaps to measure the CD-SSB 710 of the shared initial downlink BWP and a non-CD-SSB 720 of the separate initial downlink BWP).
Re. Claim 21, Islam and Lei teach Claim 1.
Islam further teaches a channel measurement device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (Fig. 9 & ¶0105).
Re. Claim 22, Islam and Lei teach Claim 8.
Islam further teaches a channel measurement device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 8 (Fig. 8 & ¶0095).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam and Lei, as applied to Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 21-22 above, and further in view of Kazmi et al. (US 2024/0098540), Kazmi hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Islam and Lei teach Claim 2.
Yet, Islam and Lei do not explicitly teach performing the SSB-based measurement within the measurement gap comprises: in response to determining that a measurement gap configuration condition is met, performing the SSB-based measurement within the measurement gap.
However, in the analogous art, Kazmi explicitly teaches performing the SSB-based measurement within the measurement gap comprises: in response to determining that a measurement gap configuration condition is met, performing the SSB-based measurement within the measurement gap (Fig. 2, 7-8 & ¶0088 - receiving, from a network node, information that indicates one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns; ¶0089 - determining that a first set of one or more conditions for using a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied, the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being one of the one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns; ¶0090 - determining a time instance at which to start using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern; and ¶0091 - starting performance of measurements using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern at the determined time instance. Please also see ¶0081 and ¶0191).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kazmi to the teachings of Islam and Lei. The motivation would be because the invention describes systems and methods for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps are disclosed (Abstract, Kazmi).
Re. Claim 10, Islam and Lei teach Claim 9.
Yet, Islam and Lei do not explicitly teach configuring the measurement gap for performing the SSB-based measurement comprises: in response to determining that a measurement gap configuration condition is met, configuring the measurement gap for performing the SSB-based measurement.
However, in the analogous art, Kazmi explicitly teaches configuring the measurement gap for performing the SSB-based measurement comprises: in response to determining that a measurement gap configuration condition is met, configuring the measurement gap for performing the SSB-based measurement (Fig. 2, 7-8 & ¶0088 - receiving, from a network node, information that indicates one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns; ¶0089 - determining that a first set of one or more conditions for using a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied, the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being one of the one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns; ¶0090 - determining a time instance at which to start using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern; and ¶0091 - starting performance of measurements using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern at the determined time instance. Please also see ¶0081 and ¶0191).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kazmi to the teachings of Islam and Lei. The motivation would be because the invention describes systems and methods for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps are disclosed (Abstract, Kazmi).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam and Lei and Kazmi, as applied to Claims 3 and 20 above, and further in view of Teyeb et al. (US 2019/0173634 A1), Teyeb hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Islam and Lei and Kazmi teach Claim 3.
Yet, Islam and Lei and Kazmi do not explicitly teach the measurement gap configuration condition being met comprises at least one of: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; a control resource set 0 and a SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; or a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Teyeb explicitly teaches the measurement gap configuration condition being met comprises at least one of: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0053 - In some embodiments, the method includes determining that wireless device will only measure FR2 and configuring the wireless device with a measurement gap configuration for FR2 frequencies. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
a control resource set 0 and a SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3;
or a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Teyeb to the teachings of Islam Lei and and Kazmi. The motivation would be because there currently exist certain challenges associated with measurement gap configuration (¶0089, Teyeb).
Re. Claim 11, Islam and Lei and Kazmi teach Claim 10.
Yet, Islam and Lei and Kazmi do not explicitly teach the measurement gap configuration condition being met comprises at least one of: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; a control resource set 0 and SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; or a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Teyeb explicitly teaches the measurement gap configuration condition being met comprises at least one of: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0053 - In some embodiments, the method includes determining that wireless device will only measure FR2 and configuring the wireless device with a measurement gap configuration for FR2 frequencies. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
a control resource set 0 and SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3;
or a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Teyeb to the teachings of Islam and Lei and Kazmi. The motivation would be because there currently exist certain challenges associated with measurement gap configuration (¶0089, Teyeb).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam and Lei, as applied to Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 21-22 above, and further in view of Cui et al. (US 2022/0303842 A1), Cui hereinafter.
Re. Claim 5, Islam and Lei teach Claim 1.
Islam further teaches and wherein performing the channel measurement based on the measurement strategy comprises: performing the CSI-RS-based measurement within the first BWP (Fig. 4, 7 10-14 & ¶0091 - The base station 102 may transmit a reference signal (RS) indication 760. The RS indication 760 may identify a measurement resource on one of the active downlink BWP … The measurement resource may be one or more of … a CSI-RS ... The base station 102 may transmit the indicated reference signal 770 on the indicated measurement resource);
Yet, Islam and Lei do not explicitly teach the measurement strategy comprises: not supporting SSB-based measurement, and allowing a network device to configure Channel State Information (CSI)- Reference Signal (RS)-based measurement,
However, in the analogous art, Cui explicitly teaches the measurement strategy comprises: not supporting SSB-based measurement, and allowing a network device to configure Channel State Information (CSI)- Reference Signal (RS)-based measurement (Fig. 7-11 & ¶0017 - The exemplary aspects relate to a user equipment (UE) performing additional synchronization to perform CSI-RS measurements on a target cell when an associated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) is absent from a measurement configuration. ¶0033 - For example, when the gNB 120A is a serving cell for a UE, the engines may include a CSI-RS RRM configuration engine 335 for providing the UE 110 with configuration information for performing CSI-RS measurements, including CSI-RS measurements of target cells, e.g., the gNB 120B. Fig. 5 & ¶0039 - In this case, the UE 110 may measure the CSI-RS resource even if SS/PBCH block(s) with cellId in the CSI-RS-CellMobility IE 520 are not detected. Please also see ¶0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cui to the teachings of Islam and Lei. The motivation would be because the invention describes CSI-RS radio resource management (RRM) signaling and measurements with in a 5G NR network (¶0019, Cui).
Re. Claim 12, Islam and Lei teach Claim 8.
Yet, Islam and Lei do not explicitly teach configuring the measurement strategy for performing the channel measurement for the terminal comprises: configuring not to support SSB-based measurement and configuring to perform Channel State Information (CSI)-Reference Signal (RS)-based measurement.
However, in the analogous art, Cui explicitly teaches configuring the measurement strategy for performing the channel measurement for the terminal comprises: configuring not to support SSB-based measurement and configuring to perform Channel State Information (CSI)-Reference Signal (RS)-based measurement (Fig. 7-11 & ¶0017 - The exemplary aspects relate to a user equipment (UE) performing additional synchronization to perform CSI-RS measurements on a target cell when an associated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) is absent from a measurement configuration. ¶0033 - For example, when the gNB 120A is a serving cell for a UE, the engines may include a CSI-RS RRM configuration engine 335 for providing the UE 110 with configuration information for performing CSI-RS measurements, including CSI-RS measurements of target cells, e.g., the gNB 120B. Fig. 5 & ¶0039 - In this case, the UE 110 may measure the CSI-RS resource even if SS/PBCH block(s) with cellId in the CSI-RS-CellMobility IE 520 are not detected. Please also see ¶0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cui to the teachings of Islam and Lei. The motivation would be because the invention describes CSI-RS radio resource management (RRM) signaling and measurements with in a 5G NR network (¶0019, Cui).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam and Lei and Cui, as applied to Claims 5 and 12 above, and further in view of Sakhnini et al. (US 2022/0361178 A1), Sakhnini hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Islam and Lei and Cui teach Claim 5.
Yet, Islam and Lei do not explicitly teach the measurement strategy comprises: not supporting the SSB-based measurement in a case where a preset condition is met, and wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; a control resource set 0 and a SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; or a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Cui explicitly teaches the measurement strategy comprises: not supporting the SSB-based measurement (Fig. 7-11 & ¶0017 - The exemplary aspects relate to a user equipment (UE) performing additional synchronization to perform CSI-RS measurements on a target cell when an associated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) is absent from a measurement configuration. ¶0033 - For example, when the gNB 120A is a serving cell for a UE, the engines may include a CSI-RS RRM configuration engine 335 for providing the UE 110 with configuration information for performing CSI-RS measurements, including CSI-RS measurements of target cells, e.g., the gNB 120B. Fig. 5 & ¶0039 - In this case, the UE 110 may measure the CSI-RS resource even if SS/PBCH block(s) with cellId in the CSI-RS-CellMobility IE 520 are not detected. Please also see ¶0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cui to the teachings of Islam and Lei. The motivation would be because the invention describes CSI-RS radio resource management (RRM) signaling and measurements with in a 5G NR network (¶0019, Cui).
Yet, Islam and Lei and Cui do not explicitly teach in a case where a preset condition is met, and wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; a control resource set 0 and a SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; or a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Sakhnini explicitly teaches in a case where a preset condition is met, (¶0010 - In one aspect, a frequency bandwidth of at least one of the SS, the PBCH, the CORESET, or the SIB may be preconfigured) and wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2;
a control resource set 0 and a SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; (Fig. 6-7, 9 & ¶0082 - In some aspects, the SSB symbol and the CORESET0 symbol for FR2 may be multiplexed to have various multiplexing patterns … In another aspect, the SSB symbol and the CORESET0 symbol may use different SCSs, and may be frequency-division multiplexed and time-division multiplexed, i.e., using multiplexing pattern 2. In another aspect, the SSB symbol and the CORESET0 symbol may use the same SCS and may be frequency-division multiplexed, i.e., using multiplexing pattern 3. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”).
or a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Sakhnini to the teachings of Islam and Lei and Cui. The motivation would be because the invention generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to wireless communication including initial access structures (¶0001, Sakhnini).
Re. Claim 13, Islam and Lei and Cui teach Claim 12.
Yet, Islam and Lei do not explicitly teach configuring not to support the SSB-based measurement and configuring to perform the CSI-RS-based measurement comprises: in response to determining that a preset condition is met, configuring not to support the SSB-based measurement and configuring to perform the CSI-RS-based measurement, and wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; a control resource set 0 and SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Cui explicitly teaches configuring not to support the SSB-based measurement and configuring to perform the CSI-RS-based measurement comprises: configuring not to support the SSB-based measurement and configuring to perform the CSI-RS-based measurement, (Fig. 7-11 & ¶0017 - The exemplary aspects relate to a user equipment (UE) performing additional synchronization to perform CSI-RS measurements on a target cell when an associated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) is absent from a measurement configuration. ¶0033 - For example, when the gNB 120A is a serving cell for a UE, the engines may include a CSI-RS RRM configuration engine 335 for providing the UE 110 with configuration information for performing CSI-RS measurements, including CSI-RS measurements of target cells, e.g., the gNB 120B. Fig. 5 & ¶0039 - In this case, the UE 110 may measure the CSI-RS resource even if SS/PBCH block(s) with cellId in the CSI-RS-CellMobility IE 520 are not detected. Please also see ¶0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cui to the teaching of Islam and Lei. The motivation would be because the invention describes CSI-RS radio resource management (RRM) signaling and measurements with in a 5G NR network (¶0019, Cui).
Yet, Islam and Lei and Cui do not explicitly teach in response to determining that a preset condition is met, and wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2; a control resource set 0 and SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Sakhnini explicitly teaches in response to determining that a preset condition is met, (¶0010 - In one aspect, a frequency bandwidth of at least one of the SS, the PBCH, the CORESET, or the SIB may be preconfigured) and wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: an operating frequency band of the terminal is frequency band 2;
a control resource set 0 and SSB in the first BWP are frequency division multiplexed in pattern 2 or pattern 3; (Fig. 6-7, 9 & ¶0082 - In some aspects, the SSB symbol and the CORESET0 symbol for FR2 may be multiplexed to have various multiplexing patterns … In another aspect, the SSB symbol and the CORESET0 symbol may use different SCSs, and may be frequency-division multiplexed and time-division multiplexed, i.e., using multiplexing pattern 2. In another aspect, the SSB symbol and the CORESET0 symbol may use the same SCS and may be frequency-division multiplexed, i.e., using multiplexing pattern 3. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”).
a sum of a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the control resource set 0 and a frequency domain bandwidth occupied by the SSB in the first BWP is greater than a maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Sakhnini to the teachings of Islam and Lei and Cui. The motivation would be because the invention generally relates to communication systems, and more particularly, to wireless communication including initial access structures (¶0001, Sakhnini).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2429 /AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429