DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application: Claims1-8, 10,12-20, 22 and 24 are present for examination at this time.
Claims1-2, 5, 8, 10, 13-14, 17, 20, and 22 are rejected.
Please refer to Forms 892 of record in this application and/or submitted IDSes to resolve any possible discrepancies in the listed reference numbers, titles, and/or author or inventor names.
Applicant is reminded that claim mapping is provided as a courtesy to the applicant, but applicant should consider a reference as a whole, as the entire reference gives context to mapped sections.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign/domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119/120 is acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 15, 16, 18, 19 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. All obviousness rationales stated below are rationales that would have been obvious prior to the earliest effective filing date of the application.
35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 10, 13, 14, 17, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Change Of Tracking Area Code For Wireless Networks” by Shrestha, Phuyal, Rico, and Wang US2021/0321357A1 (“Rico”) in view of “Selective Reporting Of Tracking Area Identity To Core Network In Non-Terrestrial Networks” by Rune and Määttänen US2024/0188026 A1 “Rune” which traces its effective filing back to provisional application 63/169,713 filed April 1, 2021
With respect to Claims 1 and 13 while Rico discloses a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (and related WTRU),the method comprising: receiving information indicating a first tracking area code (TAC) (Rico at ¶¶113,114 where the system receives first and second tracking area indicators) registering with a network using the first TAC (Rico at ¶¶113,114 where the system receives first and second tracking area indicators, and monitors the first cell to which it is registered. Also see ¶51 where these are used for registering on a particular cell); receiving information indicating a second TAC and second TAC validity time information (Rico at ¶¶113,114 where the system receives first and second tracking area indicators along with validity time for the second Tracking Area Indicator);
Rico does not explicitly state that which is known in the art as taught by Rune. Rune discloses [that there is] and first TAC validity time information; determining, based on the first TAC validity time information and the second TAC validity time information, a time period during which both the first TAC and second TAC are valid; selecting a time within the time period; and transmitting, at the selected time, a connection request (Rune at ¶¶67 and 68 where the system reports a time that both the old and new Tracking Area Indicator are valid and ¶¶79,80 where that TAI information is used to select a given cell. Also see Rico at ¶¶113,114 where the validity time of the second TAI is used to pick between the first tracking area and second tracking area for a connection).
Reasons to Combine/Modify:
Both Rico and Rune are analogous to the claimed invention in that they are from the same field of endeavor, using Tracking Area Indicators to establish a connection when deciding from multiple tracking areas. Rune at ¶¶103,106 mentions using the TAI techniques therein to optimize the TAI list and Rune at ¶243 mentions using the techniques therein to improve the random access speed and/or reduce random access failures. Having multiple TAIs to choose from and choose the best effects this. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine Rico with Rune for the foregoing reasons to improve random access in Rico.
Differences in Claim 13: Claim 1 is drawn to a mobile unit (WTRU) that contains a transceiver and processor configured to carry out the steps of the method of claim 1. This concept is disclosed in Rico at ¶7 where it is stated that the apparatus for the steps described in ¶¶113, 114 inter alia is a user equipment with a processor coupled to a memory, wherein said memory contains instructions that cause the user equipment to carry out the method steps.
With respect to Claims 2 and 14 Rico in view of Rune the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 13, wherein the selecting the time within the time period is includes randomly selecting the time (Examiner notes this is an inherent feature of Rico and also Rune. When phones are being used in the mobile world they generally arrive at a given location at relatively random times. It is highly improbable that the same device is showing up at the same location during the exact same microsecond-millisecond window on a regular basis, let alone as part of a plan. There is a reason this process is called random access.
With respect to Claims 5 and 17 Rico in view of Rune discloses the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 13, wherein the time period is scaled (Rico at ¶64 where the time intervals “may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit.”)
With respect to Claims 8 and 20 Rico in view of Rune discloses the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 13, wherein the information indicating the first TAC and the first TAC validity time information is received from a moving network node (Rico at ¶105 where the TAI validity time information comes from a moving satellite).
With respect to Claims 10 and 22 Rico in view of Rune discloses the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 13, wherein the information indicating the second TAC and the second TAC validity time information is received from a moving network node (Rico at ¶105 where the TAI validity time information comes from a moving satellite). (Rico at ¶105 where the TAI validity time information comes from a moving satellite)..
Response to Arguments
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 7/28/2026 has/have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file. Examiner finds the arguments unpersuasive. Applicant argues at page 2 of their remarks that the Tracking Area Codes are not used by the WRTU. Examiner relied upon Rico for the WRTU performing most of the receiving and processing of TACs. However, there is a specific type of TAC analysis not present in Rico. For this Rune was relied upon. An attack that Rico fails to disclose the entire limitation or all of claim 1 is a specious argument. The techniques from Rico relate to using tracking area codes/ Rico need not completely teach every manner of using Tracking Area Codes in a single device to combine with Rune. Limiting Rune in such a way seems akin to a piecemeal attack on the references. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments about “overlap” are not commensurate in scope with the claim. The claim does not use the word overlap. The claim does not state “simultaneously valid”. The claim limitation states: “a time period during which both the first TAC and second TAC are valid; selecting a time within the time period; and transmitting, at the selected time, a connection request.” Rune teaches selecting when the first TAI is valid with then the following time when the second TAI is valid. Those two together, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of time period, make up one time period. Per dictionary.com during has two definitions: 1. “throughout the duration, continuance, or existence of. 2. at some time or point in the course of.” Based on the definitions, specifically 2. Rune is a disclosing reference. At some point in that time period the first TAC is valid. At some point in that time period the second TAC is valid. Thus “during” that time there is validity for both TAC. The claim does not say that both are valid during the entire time. Applicant’s arguments at page 5 regarding that the randomization fall within the overlapping period, fail for the reasons above with respect to overlapping not being required under a broadest reasonable interpretation of “during”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSHUA SCHWARTZ whose telephone number is (571)270-7494. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:30-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuwen “Kevin” Pan can be reached at 571-272-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOSHUA L SCHWARTZ/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649