DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14, 17-19, 30 and 33-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (US 2023/0135270) in view of Szabo (US 2023/0345521) and Kwon (US 2012/0082116).
2. As per claim 1, Meng teaches an apparatus for wireless communication with at least one device, comprising: at least one processor capable of communicating deterministic traffic (Meng, ¶0002-0005 “… TSN … processor”);
While Meng doesn’t explicitly mention, Szabo configured to: obtain configuration values based on estimated quality of each of a plurality of subchannels between the apparatus and the at least one device (Szabo, ¶0066 “channel quality”); adjust the configuration values such that variance in quality of the plurality of subchannels is minimized (Szabo, ¶0071); and transmit data to the at least one device receiver node via the plurality of subchannels in accordance with the adjusted configuration values (Szabo, ¶0066. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art to obtain estimated quality of plurality of subchannels and to adjust configuration such as according to subchannel condition, priority and/or type of service for a successful communication system according to required service – see Kwon US 2012/0082116 for example ¶0064- 0065). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Meng, Szabo and Kwon as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the benefit of adjusting configuration such as according to subchannel condition, priority and/or type of service for a successful communication system according to required service.
3. Claim 17 is similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above.
4. As per claim 2, Meng in view of Szabo and Kwon teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is configured to: estimate quality of each of the plurality of subchannels by determining a signal strength perceived by each of the plurality of subchannels (Know, ¶0064); and transmit, to the apparatus, the configuration values based on the signal strength perceived by each of the plurality of subchannels (Szabo, ¶0066).
5. Claim 18 is similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reason discussed above.
6. As per claim 3, Meng in view of Szabo and Kwon teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one device is configured to determine the signal strength perceived by each of the plurality of subchannels based on a pilot signal received from the apparatus via the plurality of subchannels (Kwon, ¶0019 “reference signal”).
7. Claim 19 is similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reason discussed above.
8. As per claim 14, Meng in view of Szabo and Kwon teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein adjusting the configuration values comprises at least one of adjusting a frequency or a time slot used to transmit the data to the at least one device; or adjusting adjust a modulation and coding scheme from among a plurality of modulation and coding schemes used to transmit the data to the at least one device (Kwon, ¶0045).
9. Claim 30 is similarly analyzed as claim 14 for obviousness reason discussed above.
10. As per claim 33, Meng in view of Szabo and Kwon teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the variance is computed based on a linear average of signal strengths perceived by the plurality of subchannels (Kwon, ¶0045).
11. Claim 35 is similarly analyzed as claim 33 for obviousness reason discussed above.
12. As per claim 34, Meng in view of Szabo and Kwon teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device is configured to transmit, to the apparatus, the configuration values via a report of channel state information (CSI) (Kwon, ¶0045); and the report of CSI is sent to the apparatus in response to a known training sequence periodically transmitted by the apparatus (Kwon, ¶0007).
13. Claim 36 is similarly analyzed as claim 34 for obviousness reason discussed above.
14. As per claim 36, Meng in view of Szabo and Kwon teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the at least one device is configured to transmit, to the apparatus, the configuration values via a report of channel state information (CSI); and the report of CSI is sent to the apparatus in response to a known training sequence periodically transmitted by the apparatus.
15. As per claim 37, Meng teaches a device, comprising: at least one processor capable of communicating deterministic traffic (Meng, ¶0002-0005 “… TSN … processor”).
While Meng doesn’t explicitly mention, Szabo configured to: estimate quality of each of a plurality of subchannels between the device and an apparatus (Szabo, ¶0066 “channel quality”); transmit, to the apparatus, configuration values based on the estimated quality of each of the plurality of subchannels, wherein the configuration values are adjusted by the apparatus (Szabo, ¶0071); and receive data from the apparatus via the plurality of subchannels in accordance with the adjusted configuration values (Szabo, ¶0066. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art to obtain estimated quality of plurality of subchannels and to adjust configuration such as according to subchannel condition, priority and/or type of service for a successful communication system according to required service – see Kwon US 2012/0082116 for example ¶0064- 0065). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Meng, Szabo and Kwon as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the benefit of adjusting configuration such as according to subchannel condition, priority and/or type of service for a successful communication system according to required service.
16. Claim 38 is similarly analyzed as claim 37 for obviousness reason discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claims 4-7, 10, 20-23 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635