DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 16 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niederloehner et al. (US 2016/0025869 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2016).
Regarding claim 1, Niederloehner et al. disclose: A detection system, comprising: a semiconductor layer for converting photons or particles into charge carriers (fig.1 item 14, para. [0038]-[0039])); and a light emitting layer for generating light from the charge carriers (fig.1 item 12, para. [0038]-[0039])).
Regarding claim 2, Niederloehner et al. disclose: the semiconductor layer coverts x-rays into the charge carriers (para. [0038]-[0039])).
Regarding claim 3, Niederloehner et al. disclose: the semiconductor layer is amorphous selenium (a-Se), GaAs, CdZnTe, CdTe, or perovskite crystal (ABX3) (para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Niederloehner et al. disclose: the light emitting layer is an organic light emitting diode (OLED), GaAs, AlGaAs, InGaAs, CdTe or CdZnTe (para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Niederloehner et al. disclose: A detection method, comprising: converting photons or particles into charge carriers in a semiconductor layer; and generating light from the charge carriers (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Niederloehner et al. disclose: the semiconductor layer coverts x-rays into the charge carriers (para. [0004] describes the same materials as that claimed in claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Niederloehner et al. disclose: the semiconductor layer is amorphous selenium (a-Se), GaAs, CdZnTe, CdTe, or perovskite crystal (ABX3) (para. [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 10-11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niederloehner et al. (US 2016/0025869 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2016) in view Schwarzman et al. (US 2014/0070109 A1; pub. Mar. 13, 2014).
Regarding claim 5, Niederloehner et al. are silent about: The detection system of claim 1 further comprising layers or structures that improve light outcoupling towards one or more detectors.
In a similar field of endeavor Schwarzman et al. disclose: The detection system of claim 1 further comprising layers or structures that improve light outcoupling towards one or more detectors (para. [0021], [0037]) motivated by the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current (Schwarzman et al. para. [0022]).
In light of the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current as taught Schwarzman et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Niederloehner et al. with the teachings Schwarzman et al.
Regarding claim 6, Schwarzman et al. disclose: the layers or structures include a reflective layer, a Bragg grating, a surface structure, and/or microlens over the semiconductor layer (para. [0021], [0037]) motivated by the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current (Schwarzman et al. para. [0022]).
In light of the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current as taught Schwarzman et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Niederloehner et al. with the teachings Schwarzman et al. to have a reflective layer, a Bragg grating, a surface structure, and/or microlens between the semiconductor layer and the light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 10, Niederloehner et al. are silent about: improving light outcoupling towards one or more detectors.
In a similar field of endeavor Schwarzman et al. disclose: improving light outcoupling towards one or more detectors (para. [0021], [0037]) motivated by the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current (Schwarzman et al. para. [0022]).
In light of the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current as taught Schwarzman et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Niederloehner et al. with the teachings Schwarzman et al.
Regarding claim 11, Schwarzman et al. disclose: improving the light outcoupling with a reflective layer, a Bragg grating, a surface structure, and/or microlens (para. [0021], [0037]) motivated by the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current (Schwarzman et al. para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Niederloehner et al. disclose: the light emitting layer is an organic light emitting diode (OLED), GaAs, AlGaAs, InGaAs, CdTe or CdZnTe (para. [0025]) motivated by the benefits for an improved X-ray radiation detector with simplified structure and/or an improved method for the measurement of X-ray radiation (Niederloehner et al. para. [0007]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjostrom et al. (US 2015/0230767 A1; pub. Aug. 20, 2015) in view of Niederloehner et al. (US 2016/0025869 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2016).
Regarding claim 12, Sjostrom et al. disclose: An x-ray microscopy system, comprising: an x-ray source (para. [0052]-[0053]) for generating an x-ray beam; an object holder (para. [0097]) for holding an object in the x-ray beam; and an x-ray detection system including a detector comprising a semiconductor layer for converting x-rays from the x-ray beam into charge carriers (para. [0037]) and a camera for detecting the light from the light emitting lay (para. [0052]-[0053]).
Sjostrom et al. are silent about: a light emitting layer for generating light from the charge carriers.
In a similar field of endeavor Niederloehner et al. disclose: a light emitting layer for generating light from the charge carriers (para. [0025]) motivated by the benefits for an improved X-ray radiation detector with simplified structure and/or an improved method for the measurement of X-ray radiation (Niederloehner et al. para. [0007]).
In light of the benefits for an improved X-ray radiation detector with simplified structure and/or an improved method for the measurement of X-ray radiation as taught Niederloehner et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sjostrom et al. with the teachings Niederloehner et al.
Regarding claim 13, Niederloehner et al. disclose: the semiconductor layer is amorphous selenium (a-Se), GaAs, CdZnTe, CdTe, or perovskite crystal (ABX3) (para. [0004]) motivated by the benefits for an improved X-ray radiation detector with simplified structure and/or an improved method for the measurement of X-ray radiation (Niederloehner et al. para. [0007]).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjostrom et al. (US 2015/0230767 A1; pub. Aug. 20, 2015) in view of Niederloehner et al. (US 2016/0025869 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2016) and further in view Schwarzman et al. (US 2014/0070109 A1; pub. Mar. 13, 2014).
Regarding claim 15, the combined references are silent about: layers or structures that improve light outcoupling toward the camera.
In a similar field of endeavor Schwarzman et al. disclose: layers or structures that improve light outcoupling toward the camera (para. [0021], [0037]) motivated by the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current (Schwarzman et al. para. [0022]).
In light of the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current as taught Schwarzman et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sjostrom et al. and Niederloehner et al. with the teachings Schwarzman et al.
Regarding claim 16, Schwarzman et al. disclose: the layers or structures include a reflective layer, a Bragg grating, a surface structure, and/or microlens between the semiconductor layer and the light emitting layer (para. [0021], [0037]) motivated by the benefits for improved response time of the detector, energy and spatial resolution, stability and homogeneity of the multi-pixel detector response, increase the signal-to-noise ratio, and decrease the cross talks, without sufficiently increasing thermal noise and dark current (Schwarzman et al. para. [0022]).
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884